paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles

Proto Axis Goggles Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Axis Goggles

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Axis Goggles
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.
# Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custom fit and bite down to secure the strap.
# The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrificing any ear protection.
# Incredibly simple 1/4 turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.
# Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.
# Self venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.
Product Availability 
The Proto Axis Goggles are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Greenmonster24 Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision with mirror lenses. Comparrison to the two are they never fogged.
Marker Setup: '08 Dangerous Power Fusion F8
Halo loader
Crossfire N2 tank 68/45
Stock board n' barell
Strengths: Never fogged up
looks good
cheap for the performance of it.
Weaknesses: I didnt think there were any. But that is just me
Review: My opinion, the best part about the Proto Axis is the perfomance it had the first day i used it. I have a mirror lense on it so it never once fogged up. No mater how heavely I was breathing or no mater how much i was sweating, it never blured my vision.
The second thing was its maintenance cleaning process Or even installing my Mirror lenses. Not near as hard to install these lenses rather than the Dye invision. The Axis lense installation is almost as easy as the Empire Vents.
The third thing is that it looks good...
Conclusion: I think you should you get these goggles now because the price compared to the performance is extremly low. The Axis, to me, are the best goggles out there for the price, quality, maintenance, quantity, apperance, and i cant stress enough thee amazing performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbmike1888 Monday, September 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap Scott mask
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
SP Q-Lock Feedneck
Crossfire 68/4500 High Output
Empire Reloader B
J&J Edge Kit
Strengths: Comfy
Flexible
Does not Fog
Looks good
Weaknesses: A little on the heavy side
Review: This mask is awesome. Looks great with the chrome tinted lenses. It is very comfortable and has never fogged up on me. It gets a little toasty when you exhale, but it's not too bad.

Good protection and gets some bounces. I got shot in the mouth and i only ate about half of the paintball. I'd say thats pretty good.

Changing the lenses is cake. Just flip up the knobs by the ears and the lenses pop right out. I changed my lenses in about 3 minutes.

The mask doesn't muffle my voice at all, all my teammates can hear me well.

The chinstrap can get kind of annoying after awhile, but I guess you could just cut it off.
Conclusion: Buy this mask. You won't regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p-baller100 Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month34 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J Nvader
jt elite full head shield
various brass eagles
Marker Setup: Ion
Virtue on/off
Tech-T L7 bolt
Redz 14" barrel with .689 back
Virtue eyes
Dye membrane pad
Scenario Dreams T- board
CP twist lock feed neck
Evil Detonator regulator
Qev
ndz autococker breach
lucky stage 2
Draxxus Pulse Loader
48/3000 tank with assault regulator and unique tank cover
cup of love every day
Strengths: Looks
dual pane fog resistent
venting
fit
comfortable
Weaknesses: Alittle wide but not a big deal
Review: I have seen these on ebay for 50 bux but i saw it at my pb store for 60 so i decided to buy them cause i couldnt wait. they only had one of the color i wanted left which was on display and they didnt have the box with the goggle bag or visor just the manual. so i cant tell you anything about that stuff. anyway the foam on this one is very nice. very comfortable and it helps keep the sweet away from your eyes. it also has some padding that fits above your ears and helps cushion the side of your head. it has a nice looking easy to adjust band. all this stuff alows for a nice comfy fit. it looks very very nice. one of the best in my opinion. the venting is very nice i can actually hear more of the people around me than my own voice. it also helps in keeping you cool. this mask is very easy to take apart to replace a lens. i took mine off just to see how it was and it was really easy. refer to your manual on how to take it apart. i have only tried this out outside just to see how the venting was and see the fit and i practiced a little snapshooting at a target with it on just cause. i have not used it in the field yet so i dont know how it will be but i guarntee that it wont fog up. and pretty much all masks can stand up to field use. i mean thats what they are made for. the only thing is it is a little wide but i dont really care its a great mask.
Conclusion: I love this mask i have reaserched all of my gear before i buy it to make sure im getting one of the best things. this is one of those. you can buy for 50 dollars now for nearly a 100 dollar mask. go get one!!! please rate my review and fell free to ask any questions.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

008 Thursday, July 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None that are similar.
Marker Setup: Woodsball:

JT Tac-5 Recon (Stealth Black)
9oz. Co2 tank
JT Supressor Shroud
Viewloader Revolution

Speedball:

Smart Parts Ion
Core color body kit (blue)
Core Breakout trigger
CP on/off asa
Clamping Feedneck
Viewloader eVLution3
48/3000 air tank
Strengths: Very comfortable.
Flexible.
Low profile.
Awesome looking.
NO FOG WHATSOEVER!!
Weaknesses: A little bit heavy. That's it.
Review: This is by far the nicest mask I've ever worn. It is much more comfortable than any JT mask. It is made out of very high quality materials, it is tri-molded. Also, I like that you can take the lens out in about 30 seconds. It fits me perfect and never slips off my face. Since I bought this I have played with it for about 6 months, and in a tournament and have never fogged a single time. I bought this for $59.99 and it came with the fan! Usually it is $59.99 with out the fan, and the fan is $49.99! With the fan, there is never any chance of fogging.
Conclusion: This is by far the nicest, most comfortable mask I've ever worn and for the price I bought it for, it can't be beat. My team uses this mask now and we all love it. I recommend this mask to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 19th, 2007 at 9:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jedianakinsolo Thursday, July 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Invader, and such.
Dye I3 Pro
Tippman standard.
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
- Smart Parts All American 14''
- Custom pistol grip mounting stock
- Custom grips (They're also mounted on the pistol grip, in case you're wondering)
- VL Revolution
- Bob Long Torpedo Reg
- Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Strengths: Comfortable
Doesn't fog easy.
Looks sweet
Cheaper
Lense removal
Weaknesses: Little on the heavy side
Review: Having used the JT Invaders, or such masks for most of 2 years, we were ready for something new. The JT's held up alright through most of a day of woodsball, which was nice, but that last hour where you're trying to squeeze another game in before dark was miserable. Couldn't see your own hand it was fogging up so bad.

So, I went out. I searched for a good mask, and had decided on the Proto Switch FS, and was looking for a good used one on PBNation when I stumbled across a grey Axis, which was the color I needed. Red and yellow suck in the woods.

45 shipped, fan included. And I love it.

First off, right out of the box, it looks great. Aggressive lines, nice flow, just looks cool.

The ease of working on it got me next. The visor being able to pivot, raising up and down is nice. Not mandatory, but it is a nifty little feature. But even better is the lense removal. Two turns of the strap pieces, and the whole assembly pops out. It doesn't get better than that, and the fact that there's a thermal lense sitting in there makes it that much better. My brother has an I3 Pro that he likes, but the lense removal on that is a real hassle. He's rather jealous of that part.

Then I played with it. The fan isn't anything to write home about, but the mask itself more than qualifies. It fits nice, rode nice, and once my neck got used to the extra weight, it was all good.

Then I got to really test it, in that last game with the night falling on us. By then the mask had accumulated lots of paint, and was already distorted some, but not enough to really worry about. And once that game got going, we had to pause it about 5 times so everyone could wipe their masks.

But not mine. I wiped it anyways, but it didn't need it. Didn't hardly fog up a bit, while my brother's I3 Pro was fogged up real bad. And he paid 80$ for his. I paid 45$ for mine. So, Axis for the win.

Conclusion: Love the mask. I'll recommend it any day. It is a little heavy, doesn't fit quite like the I3 Pro does, but it's an excellent mask nonetheless. Kudos to Proto for an awesome product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icantseesquat Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Scott, JT, Dye, name it...
Marker Setup: currently I use an 06 Trilogy S/F Pro, on the side currently sits an F4 Illustrator
Strengths: Comfortable, Great vision, Easy to replace lens, Players seem to hear my voice better also..
Weaknesses: price, but then again, If you want a surplus price...have fun reaping my paint!
Review: I have played for an amount of years that would fathom most players., I've played with the nelson 007's and been around when the stock hopper held 45 rounds., ha!., this sport grows and with it so has quality., young players get engulfed with name brands I'm finding more and more., This proto mask is an exceptional mask, and shouldn't be considered a stepchild of dye., The mask has every quality, style, and function that there is to offer in todays modern masks. I can't give a more accurate report.
Conclusion: Very Comfortable. Great vision, Super easy to change lens, super style, awesome voice admittance, all in all a wonderful piece.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dr Dooom Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
llots of other masks!!!
Marker Setup: Custom pro, crappy c02 tank, r/t, cyclone feed, proto 14" barrel
Strengths: Everything. Protection, no fog, looks, no fog, small profile.
Weaknesses: Absolutley nothin
Review: well, i got this on ebay and i was ver impressed with the product. I got the fan which a greatly reccomended thing. keeps you cool. srry, back to the mask. Great, its light, paded, looks good and it doesn't fog. thats the best part. I was sad tho cuz well im getting a red jersey, but i got the blu, and ya.but still great mask. buy it
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa412 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Armor: no comparison
rental Proto Switch: alright but still nowhere near the Axis
Marker Setup: 98 custom
lapco direct feed
tapco car stock
16" j&j ceramic barrel
red dot sight
Strengths: In review body
Weaknesses: In review body
Review: I got this mask on a Wednesday and had it out in the field the next Saturday, and it performed great. It didn't fog up at all, and I'm a heavy sweater. I got a fair amount of ball bounces off every part except the lens.

Pros:
sweet looking
very comfortable; it doesn't wobble or leave red rings around your eyes
good ball deflection
good ventilation so you don't overheat and the lens doesn't fog up
doesn't muffle your voice
simple to clean and replace the lens
chin strap keeps the mask directly on your face
easy to adjust the straps

Cons: (there won't be many)
slightly heavy
visor sometimes sticks up a little if you're lying prone, which isn't a problem if you lie perfectly flat
Conclusion: A good upgrade from your entry level mask. The only reason I'm not giving it a ten is because I don't believe any product is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 6th, 2007 at 4:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

P 1 IVI P 1 N G Friday, May 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most of the masks out there.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5A2
ProCaps Coiled Remote with Slide Check
Strengths: Comfortable
Does not fog
Easy to change lenses
Easy to adjust and use
Price
Weaknesses: Ventilation is kind of limited.
Review: This is one of the most effective masks I've ever used. It's comfortable, it doesn't fog up at all, and the Switch system is awesome for changing lenses. Two twists of the strap locks and the frame pops right out, allowing you to switch lenses and put it back in very fast. I have four extra lenses for mine, Smoke Fade, Yellow Fade, Blue, and another Clear, and I have to say they are some of the highest-quality lenses I've used. The mask is a bit wide, but that doesn't bother me. It's more for jaw protection, which I like. The mask is soft, so you'll get an occasional bounce, which is always a plus. There's a chin strap, which I've always liked, because if you get your mask caught on a branch while playing Woodsball, your mask won't get pulled off.

These masks won't fog up. I used this mask in 85 degree weather for six hours straight and it didn't fog up. I've also used it in the rain, still no fogging. I bought the fan for it, but I haven't needed to use it.

A key element here is price. The Axis used to be $90, but the price dropped to $60 not too long ago. The replacement lenses are between $20 and $27, depending on the type of lens (thermal, mirrored, tinted). The quality of the mask is amazing, not just "It's amazing for the price," but more like "It rivals more expensive masks."

The only negative I had was ventilation. It gets hard to breathe if you're running a lot, but it's not a big enough difference to lower the score of this mask.
Conclusion: I give the Axis a 10/10. It's definitely one of the best, if not the best, mask on the market. The price is astounding, the mask is comfortable, and the lenses are easy to replace, not to mention the mask doesn't fog. If you're looking for a high-quality mask, but don't want to spend a lot of money, go with the Axis. I'd rather have a good mask than a good marker, I bought this mask, and was in shock as to how well it worked. And I didn't need to dish out a hundered dollars for it. If you want to spend over a hundred dollars on a mask, buy two of these instead. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

qwertyuiopo Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto switch
Marker Setup: ion
fire bolt
all american 14 inc barrel
empire b2
pure energy 48 ci 3000 psi
Strengths: Does not fall of
Comtforable
Does not fog
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: this mask is still in perfect condition after a year.the foam part for your face has not broken.it is the perfect mask and one size fits all.I also like it because it is so lite and it does not get hot while you are playing in a paintball game.
Conclusion: when you get any mask i recomend geting fog off.Because when you get hit and wip the paint off it fogs.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media