paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles

Proto Axis Goggles Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Axis Goggles

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Axis Goggles
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.
# Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custom fit and bite down to secure the strap.
# The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrificing any ear protection.
# Incredibly simple 1/4 turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.
# Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.
# Self venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.
Product Availability 
The Proto Axis Goggles are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
fuzzy99 Sunday, March 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra Thermal
Proto FS mask
Vforce Profiler
Dye Invision (btw stay away from the Dye invisions and i3...horrible masks)
Marker Setup: SP Vision Shocker with Evolve v2 bolt kit, unimount, trniity feedneck, SS freak set, VIRTUE board, FireBallMountain Delrin Blade Trigger
Strengths: Never fogs
Easy to take apart
Damn fine looking
Flexible
Wide field of view
Weaknesses: Chin strap - I cut it off immediately on buying it
Nothin else
Review: Wow, what a great mask!! It's got it all, very protective yet flexible enough to encourage a few bounces while stiff enough to protect the face effectively. The lens quality is great with a wide field of view.

Like all proto masks, it's very easy and quick to take apart or replace lenses which cuts down on cleaning time. Also this mask PROTECTS chin unlike many others where you may find opening your mouth exposes mouth & jaw.

My only gripe with this mask was the chin strap. It's made to the size of a child/youth. I cut the chin strap off right away after buying, makes things much easier.

Lastly, it even looks great!
Conclusion: Buy this mask if you want a comfy, high quality, great looking mask that does its job with grace.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Foltzie88 Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just some Brass Eagle mask, really sucked, but oh well.
Marker Setup: I have 2 that I use.
Spyder Pilot-2 piece CP barrel, Lapco clamping feedneck, CP direct mount on/off, Dye 3 Sticky grips and Flat trigger.
Tippmann 98 Custom, All stock except a 14 inch J&J Ceramic barrel.
I use a clear Empire Revolution B Hopper between them both.
Strengths: Comfortable
Fog Resistant(?)
Can get loads of oxygen in the mask, and out
Weaknesses: Not enough padding around the back of the ear.
Price
Review: This is a excellent piece of equipment right here. Proto has made a mask thats Second to none I would say. The Axis is comfortable, very fog resistant, and padded well. The Axis allows air into your mask keeping you supplied with fresh air. I had 3 down points about this mask. The first one is the price, I bought this not long after it came out and it was nothing cheap at all I think 89.00 or so. I bought it with money out of my own pocket. Ok bad point number 2 is that theres a ton of padding, which soaks up sweat nicely but not too much towards the back of the ear. Yeah, I felt a tad bit of pain after 3 shots there. And the last bad point is the changing of lenses is not for the impatient. Patience is a wonderous thing when you use, I just never do lol. Oh well.
Conclusion: Excellent mask Highly recomend it if you have the money, the price has gone down since it came out so go get one and be happy with a excellent product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrrdog Tuesday, February 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
invisions
Marker Setup: PM5 with WAS
eggy
48/3000 steel tank
Strengths: -They will not fog no matter how hard you try.
-Looks
Weaknesses: None that I could notice
Review: A friend of mine got the axis and one day we were going out to play woodsball when it was raining slightly. He was worried that the moisture would fog up the lense while we were playing so we decided to test it by breathing heavily on the lense. It did not fog. It also looks great and gives you a pretty low profile.
Conclusion: Great mask, would definitly recommend
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Armor mask
Extreme Rage X-ray
Switch EL
Marker Setup: Shocker '03 vision with:
-HE Bolt,
-ShockTech gas thru grip,
-Shocktech feedneck,
-New Designs Roller Trigger
Smart Parts All American two piece 12'' and 14'' with freak kit.
Halo B with Rip Drive
68/5000 Evil Scion HPA with Dye Rhino Cover
Strengths: Style
Fit
Bounce
Ease of switching lense
Weaknesses: Chin can stick out
Review: I had for quite some time used the Switch EL system, and I decided it was time to upgrade. I really liked the switch system for changing lenses so I looked along the lines of Proto masks again. I didnt care for the Switch because it was far more expensive than the Switch EL, but didnt have anything really noticably different that I could see, looked like almost the same mask, little bulkier, with thermal lenses. The Proto Axis really caught my eye. Has the same looks as the Dye Invisions, yet with the ease of lense change. The mask fits great, very firm. The tigertooth strap I find a bit pointless however. I put shaded lenses in mine and it just looks great. The bottom of the mask isnt solid, so it greatly encourages bounces. This mask breathes very well, and you can hear well, yell well, and have a great field of vision. The mask has never fogged on my yet, which is something I greatly look for in a mask.

Only weakness- When you talk your chin sticks out.
Conclusion: Great look, great feel, awesome for bounces, great fit, NO FOGGING, easy to change lense. This is simply one of the best masks on the market right now. If your thinking about the Dye Invision buy the Axis, same style, easier to maintain. The is one of the best masks you can buy, you should really consider it. Shaded lense makes it that much better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

izzyizz_07 Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye I3
Profiler
JT flex7
Marker Setup: don't have this mask yet...
Strengths: Very light
Stays on face dose not move soft cusion
Great view allaround
Weaknesses: None i think it is pertect
Only thing you might want is a mirror lense
Review: A very nice mask light and perfect view... it looks soo cool and in my opinion it looks better than any other mask... and the rubber in the mask is soo soft its unbelievable
the way he color are assorted gives it a great look... you don't see too many people wearing them soo you will be getting some attention... and lets face it paintball is basically all looks... if you look good and play good people love you, if you play good and look bad people don't care who you are...
Conclusion: I am going to buy this mask and i recomend it to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbmylife Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Switch el- harder
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Imulse,Smart Parts blade Trigger, Q Lock Feed Neck, BlackHeart Board, Empire reloader B, Empire revolver kit
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: Chin strap- cut off
Review: This thing is the best mask i have used. I got this for christmas and have played once with it since. I was at a very humid field, but it wont fog. The chinstrap can be a pain, but just cut it off. It is basically the same as a switch, except it ois lighter. Proto once again surpassed my expectations.
Conclusion: Need a high end mask? get this!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RPT Thursday, December 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision i3, JT flex
Marker Setup: 06 Spyder Electra w/ eyes
Dye sticky grips
Veiwloader VLocity
Stiffi 16" Barrel
Strengths: Flex
Looks
Comfort
Weaknesses: Lenes
Review: Pros- the looks are awsome, very comfortable, and a flex. If you like dye and proto goggles you will love. the googgles flex system makes it very comfortable but not to flexible to not protect you. the padding inside is amazing. its like tripple foam. i think these goggles are awsome!

Cons- the stock lenses are nice, but i wish they made upgrade lenses. ther are no other options for this goggle system. other than that A+++
Conclusion: Worth every penny of the money!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jfarabee Sunday, December 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Java Goggles
JT Masks
DYE Invision
Marker Setup: 2k4 WGP Autococker Trilogy (laugh all you want, its sweet for cheap)
WGP Pro Ergo Reg
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Empire Reloader B
J&J All-Star Elite Ceramic
Strengths: Great Vision
Quick Lens Change,
Soft, but Safe
Great sound transmission
Weaknesses: Lens fogs
Can't remove the chin strap.
Review: Well, I have been using this mask for several weeks, and am very happy with it. Its not quite as light as DYE, but overall I think it is better. The lens change system is extremely useful. I get a lot of spray and mask shots, and it is great to be able to pop the lens out for cleaning. There are no little tabs to get lost with the lens out (except the strap, but its big enough to find, and important enough that you wont lose it.) The vision is very clear, and you barely notice the mask on your face. When I first got it, the foam was too much, and it seemed to be pinching my nose and cheeks, but after playing for a while, they have kinda formed to me, so its very comfortable now. It is also very easy to hear, and to be heard with this on. Another nice thing is the vents over the mouth are open enough to make it easy to breathe, but not so open that when you take a round to the face, you get paint in your mouth. The rubber is soft enough to get some bounce on glancing shots, but its also rigid enough to keep balls from slapping your jaw.
Now that I have said all the good things, my question is this: When will someone make a mask for hot and humid climates (ie: Florida.) Every mask I have used down here fogs, has have all the other guys I play with (between all of us, i think we use every make out there.) That being said, this mask fogs up, but not any worse than other brands (keep in mind we play with temps and humidity both in the 90's.) I think its mainly your own sweat that makes it fog, cuz its the inside lens that does it. Anyways, it takes a good 20 minutes for it to fog up, but if you are playing long games, you inevitably lose vision at the worst time. Another negative is the chin strap is on there, whether you like it or not. Personally, I don't use it and would love to take it off, but no dice.
Conclusion: Great mask, love everything about it except it will fog up in hot/humid climate.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

*EGO*GUY* Sunday, December 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce profilers
JT Flex 8
Marker Setup: 05 ego with 06 bolt

Matrix lcd with too many ups to name
Strengths: Small
Tight profile
strap and lens removal is easy
Weaknesses: Foam on the nose is a little restricting
Review: I recieved a pair of proto axis goggles in a trade. The original owner had cut of the top part above the lens and ears. I was amzed at how nice and normal it still looked. Well, in game, they were very nice. i could hear well and the venting was amzing. Wind blew through the vents making my face nice and cool.

The only downside is that the foam in the nose of the googles pinches my nose alittle restricting my breathing a bit. not cool. i am still working on cutting down the padding.


not a strength or weakness, but i soft eared mine and they are super comfy. i guess if you have questions about it, you can post a comment or hit me on pbn-freestyleman.
Conclusion: Nice mask. if you are bored, cut em like mine and soft ear them. and then shave down the foam paddiong on the nose so you can breathe.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 3rd, 2006 at 7:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rp1986 Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
My old Brass Eagle that came with my old Marauder :D
Marker Setup: Rally White SP Ion, 48/300 PE Tank, APE Rampage Board, All American 14", Q-Lock feedneck, stock duckbill asa, Eggy 2 hopper
Strengths: Comfortable
Looks great
Doesn't fog
It's Dye - That should be enough said!
Weaknesses: Lens seems to give off a bit of glare
Review: Well, I just had these arrive today and the first thing I did was head out to the field and try em out in play. I was amazed by the fact that I could not get them to fog whatsoever.

This mask is unbelievably comfortable. I was skeptical about paying so much for my mask but now I realize it was totally worth it. I keep it with a nice snug fit and it holds up very nicely. The ventilation is a plus as well!

Look - You can't match the looks! Check out the pictures above!

Doesn't fog - To put it to the test when I got them I actually breathed warm air onto them to see if I could get any reaction. Nothing. I took them out to the field to see how they stood up during a game and they worked great. No fogging whatsoever.

it's Dye/Proto - Great service, great products, amazing customer service.

The only issue I have with this mask is that there seems to be quite a bit of reflection/glare coming into the thermal lens. I'm considering changing out the lens to a mirrored to see if this helps resolve the problem. It's not a big deal, it's just semi-annoying.
Conclusion: Great product. Due to my pickiness I'm going to give it a 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media