paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles / Proto Axis Goggles

Proto Axis Goggles Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Axis Goggles

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Axis Goggles
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
# Deluxe woven goggle strap for comfort and durability.
# Tiger tooth strap buckles will allow you to adjust your strap for a custom fit and bite down to secure the strap.
# The multi-ported ear piece provides unrestricted audible transfer to take place without sacrificing any ear protection.
# Incredibly simple 1/4 turn buckle (patent pending) makes the hassle of changing lenses a thing of the past. Simply turn the locking tabs to the right to unlock your lens frame. Pop out your old lens, drop in a new one, place the frame over the lens into position, and turn your tabs back again to lock it in.
# Multi-directional venting drastically reduces re-ventilated fogging. The venting also assists in keeping you cool and breathing easy.
# Self venting, low profile and removable, the Switch visor is able to pivot up and down for easy lens replacement.
Product Availability 
The Proto Axis Goggles are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Garp Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-force crappy mask
Proto Switch
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Pro - New trigger, bolt etc.
Evolution 2 w/ z board
88 ci/4500 psi pmi tank
Empire barrel kit
Soon- getting an ion
Strengths: Comfortable
Non-Fogging
Low Profile
Nice venting
Weaknesses: Bad for glasses (but they do advertise that on the box)
Review: So I work at a paintball field/store, reffing. I only had a crappy v-force mask and I had to use this incredibly uncomfortable non fogging mask they have. I decided to pick up the axis, and that was a great decision

strengths-
Comfort-First thing I noticed when putting these babies on is that they are incredibly comfortable. It feels great. Personally I didn't like the chinstrap so I cut it off.

Non-Fogging- These are great for playing in any conditions. you definitely won't have to worry about fogging in any but the most extreme situations. I played w/ out my glasses for a few rounds w/ my glasses and thought they were fogging. But then I got anti fog spray for my glasses and they were fine.

Low profile-Extremely tight profile on these. It pretty much hugs your face, and with the strap you don't have to worry about it loosening. Also the plastic is very soft/bouncy, so even if you do get hit it will probably bounce.

Nice Venting- Kinda goes with anti fogging. It also let me project my voice quite a bit, and I could here. No more miscommunications.

Weaknesses
Bad for glasses- kinda self explanatory.

Other than that nothing really
Conclusion: All in all this is a great mask. If you're a rec player/woodsball player it might not be the mask for you, it is a little on the expensive side. But like they say you get what you pay for and this is top of the line. I didn't put looks in the str/weakness category because looks are your own thing, personally I like it. 9.5/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBDUDE93 Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Profiler,360 spectra
Marker Setup: SP ION yellow body kit with new disignz low rise feedneck, and NDZ roller wave trigger (aluminuim). With a Freak barrel kit with all stainless steal inserts with a 14" AA, and a shocktech asa on/off, and a sp black heart board and cp shorty reg.
Strengths: Padding is great
Easy to switch lenses
Weaknesses: Not variety for replacment lenses like invisions both i3's and just invisions
Review: These googles are sweet in yellow and almost any other color. They look sweet with a morriored lense and there smoked to other colored lenses.

Strengths:

Looks great
sweet aftermarket lenses
nice venting holes
easy to take apart (for me)

Weaknesses

Heavy with visor
Padding falls out after 20 uses when wearong a hat or other sort of hat...ear padding bends off...glue is to weak.
price
maskes your voice to much...hard for teammates here ur voice.
Conclusion: If u like dye products buy this!!! Definilty better then Spectra and profiler. Not to good for rec play in woods lens scratches easly.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 17th, 2006 at 5:54 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wombizle Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye invision I3 - almost the same - I like the Dye a little better
Marker Setup: autococker prostock 04 with cp dropfoward, oricle bolt, and an all american barrel, viewloader egg 2, 68/4500 dye throttle

Smart parts ion egg 2, and 68/4500 dye throttle
Strengths: Flex
Switch
Vision
No fog
Vents
Almost everything
Weaknesses: Wider profile than dye I3
Don't like the look as much as the I3
Review: Well the man at the shop told me that the only [real] differences betweenthe proto and the I3 was that the Proto is better for big headed people (they were the same price at my store). I was luckly enough to try both before I baught one (i know the man real well). they performed very similer, almost identical, both had, a lot of bounce, no fog, great vision, excelent venting, and a tight profile. I have an average head, so the proto was a little wider than it needed to be for me. Both masks are good, and either will work, but you need to try them both on, and see what feel better for you. if you have a big head, then get the proto, because it is bigger, but if you have a small or normal head, get the dye. I got more mask hits with the proto, becasue it is wider, but not enough to make a difference. I like the way the I3 fits on my face better, which is why, in the end I got the I3. the only down side of the I3 is changing the lense is hard, but it gets easier after you do it a couple of times, and learn what to do. the Proto is very easy to change the lenses. you just turn the tabs, and out they come, however it can me a little hard to put the lense back in, but it is still pretty easy. Get either, becasue they are almost the same (both the best I have ever used), and the only real way to decide is how it fits your own face.
Conclusion: This mask is amazing, and no mater if you get the I3 or the PRoto, you will be happy. they are almost the same mask, so try both on, and make a decision. This mask wasn't perfect for me, but is came pretty close. IF you are looking for a new mask, and have the money buy this one, or an I3, you won't regret it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ionuser#178 Wednesday, May 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt flex-8
vforce vantage
Marker Setup: ion
checkit uni
evil driver
trinity trigger and feedneck
hybrid lady grips
Strengths: Easy to change lens
Easy to completely disassemble and reassemble
Great airflow
Never fogs
Weaknesses: Clear lens has some glare in certain lighting
Air vents are tough to clean
Review: This is one of the best masks i have bought and i will continue to use this mask for a while. this is one of the most cofortable masks i have ever worn. i played i pretty much any climate and it never fogged, NEVER, and if it looks like it is just clean it cuz its probly smuged paint. the switch system is even easier then the vforce lens replacement which is realy nice, cleaning is a breeze all u do is take out the lens then pell the hard body from the soft body then clean which is fairly easy, the only thing is the air vents are a lil tough to clean i just took some q tips and if those dont work a old toothbrush will take the rest rite off. then just connect the soft body to the hard body when your done, which is simple just follow the holes and tabs then put the lens back on and your ready to play.
Conclusion: One of the best if not the best mask in paintball. a Lil more expensive then the others but worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DuckandCover88 Sunday, May 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some cheap Brass Eagle mask
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot
Empire Reloader B
Dye3 Stickys
CP 2-piece Barrel .689
Lapco Feedneck
Shocktech Superfly Top Cocking
CP 2K5 on/off
Strengths: Fits well
Doesnt Fog
Great pretection
Great airflow
Comfy foam
Weaknesses: Lens can be a pain to get in & out
Review: This is a awesome mask. Ive used this mask in woodsball games that have last 2 to 3 hours apiece and I still havent fogged. This mask fits very comfy around you're head. This mask is has good airflow so you can still get nice fresh air in even in the heat of battle. The foam absorbs alot of sweat which is nice. Then lens though can be a pain to get in and out but if you use patience you'll be fine.
Conclusion: Overal I recomend this mask if you have the money. This mask will keep you satisfied
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 9:57 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

protomatrixkid2 Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
proto switch
Marker Setup: sp vision impulse shocktech drop and on/off asa blade trigger shocktech clamping feed neck evil driver 14 inch barrel
Strengths: Comfy, Thick lenses , Dependable
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: This is the best mask i have ever had. The first time i tried it on i loved it. It is another one of proto's masterpieces. The foam cusion inside the mask is so soft and it feels to natural. the new strap what goes under your neck has a pad what feels like a pillow.
Conclusion: I think that who ever is reading my review should by this product because it is comfy dependable and has a cool look to it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the red terror Friday, February 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Used alot of masks:
morph
vantage pro
v force armour
profilers
gameface skull
spectra
Marker Setup: Smart parts ion,
all american 12"
dye mini drop + 32 deg on/off
freak grips
empire bottle cover
reload2 (in revi shells) , 1.1ltr 5000psi tank
Also eclipse vision impulse and game face vexor

Strengths: Clear, undistorted vision. Completely strippable for cleaning. Very comfy.
Weaknesses: The lenses are quite expensive.
Review: I marshal at my local paintball site and i usualy use morphs, then i saw these and the first thing i thought was "They look absolutely wicked". I got a pair and the first game i marshaled with them i loved them. They have great vision, and they sit very firmly and snug on my face. The foam lining is comfy and the added chin strap helps keep them in place. Also, the fact that you can put the switch fan in them is an added bonus, not that you'd need it as these are very hard to fog up (used for several days marshaling and one day playing so far).
Conclusion: Great goggles, PERIOD! get them and you wont be dissapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

OMIZZY84 Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-FORCESHIELD MASK, EXTREME RAGE 20/20 ECHO MASK
Marker Setup: ANGEL IR3 C+C, A4FLY BOARD(EUROPEAN VERSION FROM AN ANGEL FORCE), FREAK BARREL, DYE VOLUMIZER, COBRA BOLT, FBM DERLIN TRIGGER, DEAD ON PAINTBALL DROP FORWARD W/ON AND OFF.
Strengths: Nice fit to face, stays in place during play
Weaknesses: Price!! but worth every penny
Review: This mask is great it feels as good as it looks you get a good wide view of the playing field, i've yet to see it fog on me during play. also the new switch system makes it so easy to remove lense for cleaning or replacing. if you like previous proto or dye goggles you will love the new axis.
Conclusion: Get one!!! get one!!!! get one!!!! what are you watting for?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stuartd Thursday, February 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye i3, other proto goggles.
Marker Setup: SP Shocker stock, 68 45 crossfire.
SP ION, CP roller trigger, CP REG, SP clamping feedneck, Dye stickys, CP ASA.
Strengths: Comfort, easy hearing, venting, vision, looks.
Weaknesses: NONE... Seriously NONE
Review: This is the best mask Proto has ever come up with. the looks of this mask on the internet ane not exactly spectacular but in person this is one sweet looking mask. Proto has done everything right with this mask, the looks are outstanding, the speach transfer and hearing are out of this world. also the comfort is amazing it just fits snugly on your face and you hardly notice it. the best thing on this mast though is the vision. i have never been a big fan on clear lenses but this has changed my ways, it is soo much clear than other goggles i have used.
Conclusion: If you have the money get this mask, you WILL NOT regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thunderstruckdc Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra, Dye Invision
Marker Setup: '03 Ultimate (68ci 4500psi Max-Flo) Shocker w/ Vision
~New Designz Stinger Bolt Kit
~New Designz Bolt Guide
~New Designz Wave Roller Trigger
~New Designz 15 Degree ASA
~18" Freak Barrel
~Warped Sports Trigger Frame
~Kila Products Reaction Magentic Ball Detents
~Dynasty Shocker Board
~Hybrid Technologies Hedlok K2 Klamp Feed Neck
Strengths: Looks Good
Switch System
Rubber
Thermal Lens
Low Profile
Weaknesses: Air Flow
Kind of hard to adjust strap
Price
Review: Pros:
First off, the mask looks great! In all the pictures i've seen it looks goofy and wide, but those pictures do it no justice. The mask is low profile, so anybody who has used and liked masks like the dye invision or the jt proteus will feel comfortable in this mask. The rubber is nice, because now you can get bounces off of your mask. And the rubber is the right mix of rigidity and flexibility, so you can feel confident about bounces and not worry about not getting smacked in the face. It comes with a clear thermal lens which is nice, but i switched it out to the chrome mirror lens and now it looks absolutely sick. And for anybody who has had to fight an invision, you know what a god send the switch system is. It's really easy, just throw the tabs up, put the lens in, put it back together and go! Also, the strap stays in place once you set it there, which is another bonus.

Cons:
First complaint is that the air flow isn't what i'd like it to be. In my invision, it was like wearing nothing at all, but in this mask the air flow isn't as good. But that being said, it isn't that bad at all, it's just a matter of preferance for me. Also the strap is a little hard to adjust, but once you get it to where you want it, it's not going to go anywhere. This mask is on the expensive side though. But you definately get your money's worth in this case.

Conclusion: Overall, i would reccomend this to anybody in the market for a super nice mask. Looks great, performs great...what else could you ask for?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media