paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap DBX Paintballs / Zap DBX Paintballs / Zap DBX Paintballs

Zap DBX Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap DBX Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap DBX Paintballs
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 36
Average Rating: 4.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
These Zap DBX paintballs offer a durable construction for everyday backyard and field paintball use.
Product Availability 
The Zap DBX Paintballs are older, so they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
the1keyplayer Sunday, March 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Amp- Better
Draxxus- Better
Marker Setup: 89 Custom
Dye Xcel
20 oz co2
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Recommended
Barrels:
My Xcel worked fine
Strengths: Cheap
Value
Weaknesses: Inconsistant
Dimples and Seams
Review: Got these for a very good price $15 for 1000! The bags looked good, no breaks. When I went to futher look at them they had very pronounced seams with lots of dimples. Overall I wasnt expecting much. The shell I found was very brittel and they often broke in my gun barrel. The fill I found was very good, somewhat thick. None however broke in my hopper. I would buy this paint again becasue is was very cheap, and had a good value for the price. They did curve after a break in the barrel, and there was normal curving, probabally about 10 feet, which is pretty bad.
Conclusion: 6 outta 10. This product is just above average. You get what you pay for in paint.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 26th, 2006 at 8:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SouthPark Tuesday, March 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bunch of crap
Marker Setup: Evil Omen 2.0, revy w/ ngines, pmi 72/3000
Recommended
Barrels:
a big barrel. Like .70 of somethin
Strengths: This is really cheap
Weaknesses: Oversized? i think so
Review: i used these in my evil omen 2 because they seemed decent. i got on the field and it jammed my gun. i had to squege it out for 5 minutes. there was so much crap in it. My friend has a spyder which i sold him. He thinks this stuff is great so by it if u gota a low tech gun.
This is only good for low tech.
This is only good for low tech.
This is only good for low tech.
This is only good for low tech.
This is only good for low tech.
Conclusion: Only for low tech
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

meatloaf37 Wednesday, March 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
torque
zap sport series
zap performance series
wild streak
heavy metal
amp
big ball
Marker Setup: e-99 avant
12v revvy with x- board
delrin acs bolt
Strengths: Very cheap (got mine for $17)
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: The paintballs had a watery white fill that was hard to see and broke very easily. While I was shooting the paintballs did not fire straight at all and were literally spiraling. Then they started to break like crazy when stopped shooting it slow and started shooting it fast. The paint broke everywhere, in my hopper in my firering chamber and in my barrel. These are possibly the worst paintballs i have ever seen right next to wild streaks.
Conclusion: I would only buy this if you have a very slow gun or cannot walk fast at all. The only thing reason im giving it a 2 is because they were so cheap.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderwhisperer Tuesday, February 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap Chronic
white box paint
Viewloader
Whack
All kinds of Diablo
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
20oz. CO2
16" Custom Products .689 Barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
dunno
Strengths: Black Box
Cheap
Weaknesses: They break in the bags
Review: I tested these paintballs out and they weren't too bad. I only really had a chance to fire maybe 50. As others said before me, unfortunately the paint breaks in the 500round bags inside of the black case. I spent a good half and hour cleaning off every paintball so that it wouldn't get crap on the inside of my hopper. Each bag had at least four paintballs broken. Other than that the paintballs were alright.
Conclusion: If you get tired of carrying around paint in bags get this paint just for the cool toolbox like box it comes in. Or if you want some cheap paint that is brand name, this is also the way to go.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 21st, 2006 at 7:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AznRevlAzn Sunday, December 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Psychoballistics Super Bolt
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator Chrome
32 Degreees Macro Line twin right elbow kit
Halo B w/ Rip Drive and Z-Board
32 Degrees Carbon Fiber Barrel 14"
PMI PureEnergy HPA Tank 88ci 4500psi
Smart Parts Bottle Armor
Teflon to further seal the threads
New Designz Micro Rail Combo
Slik Lite Cocking Kit
CCM STO NoPro Chrome Feedneck
Recommended
Barrels:
If it helps, try matching it with a bore sizer, you won't have much help/luck :P
Strengths: -Cheap
-Good for:
Practice
Timing
Rec
F^cking around
Weaknesses: Cheap
seams are horrid
Every bag has moisture
very inconsistent.
Review: Well just like the guy said before me, these balls do suck. But they have a few good points. They are cheap, good for practice, timing, rec, messing around... ...and thats about it.

Now, he went and got the balls with the black case as i did use to 2 years ago. I have about 5 black cases of these DBX's and they are good for storage/porn/money/anything you can think of. Now i went and just got a fresh batch from Dicks, they just got the shipment yesterday night yay. This time i went for the 1000 unit set. Now i did expect a difference in this unit. The Balls were magenta this time instead of blue (the ones in the black cases are blue normally unless they mess up on a batch). The black normally have blue balls with blue fill (or a variant of blue) and the ones in teh 1000 count unit boxes are Magenta with magenta fill (or a variant of it)

The Balls come in like any other paintballs, just with that annoying moisture factor Zap has and needs to deal with :(
Conclusion: Aside from the quallity of the paint, it's all good with me. Cheap paint at a cheap price good for practice, timing and messing around is fine by me.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 20th, 2005 at 7:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BTRobertson Monday, November 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus Blaze, XBall Silver/Gold, Zap Amp
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Rodeo Green
Kingman IPI 3.0 C.A.M.D. e-frame
Empire Reloader II e-hopper
Pure Energy 88cu 4500 psi HPA tank
Smart Parts Freak Jr. rear, Freak front, .689 bore insert barrel system
Kingman Delrin ACS Xtra rear-cocking bolt
Java remote coil
Scepter 4000-A Grenade Launcher
New Designz Low Rise Feedneck
Bad Habitz spring kit - high velocity installed
Recommended
Barrels:
Use only a premium barrel like a Smart Parts Freak, Freak Jr., All American, Dye Broomstick, or equivalent
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I got these paintballs at Dick's Sporting Goods during a promotion they had (and are still running, I think). 1,500 rounds came with a neat black plastic case with a utility compartment on the top lid, which I have come to love for the field. I keep all my grenades, my Master Mine, my 12-gram Co2 cartridges for my Overlord, rags, barrel plugs, and all kinds of tools in the case. Another bonus: it has a place to put a small combination or key lock to secure it.

However, the buck stops there. If you can't get the paintballs in this case, leave it be!! The case is about the only positive aspect of these paintballs, besides price.

Strengths: Price - yep, they're cheapos. I bought 1,500 rounds in the case, which they claim is a $9.98 value, for $27.98. Ummm, yeah, you get what you pay for. They break okay, but most paintballs do, which is why we play paintball. These balls are super-brittle, which is also a weakness.

Weaknesses: Plenty are listed right here:

1.) Break way too easily - if your gun is cranked up, even on Co2, the balls will literally break under the pressure of a shot. I had to turn down the speed on my mechanical Rodeo to keep them from breaking inside the barrel - once I did, it slowed down/stopped. However, for the electros, low or high-end, these balls will leave more paint in your gun than on your opponent.
2.) Different color paint/varying shades of same color - this might be hard to explain, but when you buy paintballs with say...orange paint, do you expect to see different shades of it, sometimes so dark or light compared to the majority that you'd swear it might be a different color altogether? Well, this happens with DBX balls. Bright orange is the break I had with my purchase, but sometimes they'd break so dark I'd swear they were either a dark red or burnt orange. I've not seen this phenomenon with the Draxxus or XBall paintballs, but this might be totally subjective.
3.) Seams galore - these balls will duck, dart, drop, spin, curve, hook, slice, and cook you breakfast. Okay, maybe not that last one, but they definitely do everything but cook you breakfast. I've never seen a more inconsistent ball, and the seams and dimples must be the reason why. I have dimples, but nothing compared to these bad boys. I think the "D" in "DBX" stands for "Dimples" or "Dimpled".
4.) Moisture and breakage in each bag - moisture and humidity are the detrement to paintballs, and Zap should know this. Even with 500 balls per sealed plastic bag and those being surrounded by a hard plastic carrying case, each bag had breakage and paint everywhere, and there were moisture droplets in each bag too. This is bad, and throws up red flags in Zap's manufacturing/shipping/bagging process for these balls.
5.) Price - this is the key to the weakness - if you see 1,500 paintballs for less than $30.00, turn around and go home or move on to the next selection on the shelf...it's not worth the aggrevation.
Conclusion: Cheap, unreliable, dimpled, shipped damaged, shipped with additional moisture for your added annoyance, inaccurate, different shades of break, so brittle that even the slightest over-powered electro will shatter these before they make it out the barrel - need I continue? Leave these be, or ask the store to sell you the neat case they come in for the suggested value of $9.98.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 5th, 2005 at 6:40 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media