paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tiberius Arms Tac-8 / Tiberius Arms Tac-8 / Tiberius Arms Tac-8 / Tiberius Arms Tac-8

Tiberius Arms Tac-8 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tiberius Arms

Buy Tiberius Arms Tac-8

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tiberius Arms Tac-8
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 63
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $260

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
+First .68 caliber painball gun of its kind to be magazine fed!!
+Compact, High Performance
+8 Standard Paintball Clip Capacity
+12 gram C02 cartrige fires 3 full clips
+Seals automatically upon reload to save C02
+Highly accurate, advanced regulator makes velocity fully adjustable
+Gun operates below 350 psi, ensuring constant performance despite weather or shot rapidity
+Safety valve relieves extra pressure in chamber, ensuring consistent velocity
+Quick-release barrel for cleaning, no mess, no tools required
+Sites are extremely easy to locate for fast targeting and exact calculation of distance
+Handle composed of high-impact urethane, all parts are stainless steel and aircraft aluminum
+Available in black, nickel or classic black with nickel barrel
Product Availability 
The Tiberius Arms Tac-8 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Donnachaidh Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Delta 68, Zueses, PGP2k1, PTextreme, rap 4 t 68
Marker Setup: Tac 8 with mags
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra mags are kinda required, and $40 each
Strengths: Consitency/Accuracy
Loading design
Weaknesses: 8 balls per mag
Expensive (I can get a decked out SP1 for the price)
Review: Excellent accuracy for a pistol. Comparable only to a PGP from what I've seen. The design though, rather lends to breaking paint. Also, breakdown and cleaning when you do break a ball inside (and you will) is a real PITA. Also, having 8 balls per mag is a bit of pain. Accuracy is EXCELLENT though, I must say.
Conclusion: If you like pistols, this one has it's advantages. You can't reload paint without reloading c02, which is a big minus. Also, without buying a couple of extra mags renders it's advantages useless, effectively raising the price to over $300 new. If you want me to say, "It's uber cool and totally worth the $, especially when compared to other pistols!", I won't. I used this for a year, and am giving you the most honest review I can. Then I sold it and bought a used Delta 68 (which does the same thing). Whats does that tell you? For the price, I'll take an Ion and a new barrel +, just me.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

pbaref93 Monday, February 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Dark Angel G7 Fly Red to Black fade (polished)
Empire B(red)
CP on/off
Hybrid Spacer
Dye Ultra Lite (red back-Black front)
And all the stuff that already comes on the gun

Tippmann A-5
Smart Parts progressive barrel
Response Trigger

Tiberius 8 Stock

Recommended
Upgrades:
None, the great thing about this gun is that it shoots great out of the box.
Strengths: The ease in barrel removal(See Body) Accuracy(Body),Co2 system(Body)
Weaknesses: None really
Review: Ok, the tiberius first of all is the first magazine feed paintball pistol to my knowledge. Its EXTREMLEY accurate- the barrel is very short, but doesnt hinder accuracy at all. To remove the barrell, all that is needed is a push in on the barrell and a quarter turn. The magazine is also very nice because it bleeds minimal Co2 making it possible to reload a clip on the same 12 gram. Another major plus in respect to the magazine is the ability to convert to a remote line if the user feels it is nessicary. I personnally am not a woods baller, and i bought mine simply to play around with, however Tiberius offers a wide range of upgrades and cosmetic upgrades for all the scenerio players out there. The only real weakness i found was the difficulty n fully dissesembling the gun(but full disesembley isnt really nessicary). Another great feature in the Tac-8 is a small hole on the top of the slide that indicates if the magazine is full or empty(EXTREMLEY HELPFUL!!!!) This feature has saved myself from shooting myself/others many times.
Conclusion: I would definetly suggest the purchase of a Tac-8 because it is fun to play with, versitle, highly upgradable. Considering the Tac-8 gets 35 shots out of one 12 gram, it is extremley efficient. Over all, a little pricy, but well worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FireFly1032 Saturday, December 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't used any other paintball pistols, only other firearm handguns.
Marker Setup: -RAP4 Drop Leg Tactical Holster (ACU)
-Opsgear Drop Leg/Dump Pouch Combo for Extra Magazines
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would reccomend at least one extra magazine (preferably two) and most definitely some form of very secure vest or drop leg holster...I like the RAP4 Tactical Holster. (The holster is an absolute must!!! I participated in a two hour search for another teams members Tac 8 after it fell out when he ran in a charge to flank the enemy. Needless to say, we never found it and was out $240.00!!! So this is a must.)
Strengths: -The magazine feed system
-Accuracy
-Durability
Weaknesses: -Grip Size
-Magazine Price- The prices are a little hefty, but well made.

Review: Overall this is an excellent product for it's role...so take in mind that this is a pistol. It isn't truly designed to be a primary weapon so anyone who complains about capacity isn't using it for its proper function.

This is a great novelty piece that is great for any serious scenario player looking for a back-up sidearm. But all products have their downfall, and with this comes the price. This is an excellent sidearm that serves its purpose well, but don't expect to get a full 100% experience with it if you plan on taking it out of the box and going out without investing a little more money in some accessories. Extra mags and a secure holding pouch are almost a must and help make the experience easier and more fun.

Like all higher quality product purchases, I recommend that you thoroughly think out your purchase taking into consideration how much disposable income one has since theres a good chance you'll soon be looking into some form accessory purchases along with or after the purchase of your Tac 8.
Conclusion: This is a great item for a sidearm (If you want a primary weapon that isn't for a fun, unusual challenge, look elsewhere) but I recommend this product for any serious paintballer who is looking for quality, reliability, and a way to stand out but isn't deterred by the price or much needed accessories
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Doc Tuesday, December 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, Delta 68
Marker Setup: PPS Hound's Tooth / AKA Viking
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, just spare magazines and perhaps a remote line adapater if you wish to run a tank on your back instead of 12 grams
Strengths: Accurate
Reliable
No exposed internals
Detachable barrel
Weaknesses: Price
Need retraining on reloading
Can't change 12 grams without tools
Review: I picked up a Tiberius because I am by nature a limited-paint player, and this seemed to be the best semi-automatic pistol currently in production.

The Tiberius looks great, is accurate, and requires no upgrades at any point. The barrel is an actual barrel, unlike many pistols that have the barrel integrated as part of the body (Delta 68, USP, Zues, etc.) The barrel uses a twist lock mechanism similar to the automag, and allows the user to quickly clean any broken paint (although I have never chopped a shot with it, the possibility to care for it is nice).

The only downside of the Tiberius is also one of the more interesting aspects of it. It is magazine fed as a real handgun would be. This makes it more difficult than most pistols to reload paint unless you have a spare, loaded magazine handy. Air is even harder to reload, in fact it cannot be done without tools.

My solution have been to buy a remote air adapter and just run a compressed air tank remotely. Paint reloads are a bit slower than on traditional pistols, but the lack of 12 grams with this setup balances this out.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone who wants a quality semi-automatic pistol. It is far superior to any of the "blow back" designs, and unlike the PGP, it allows for a rapid second-shot if needed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Let_us_Prey Tuesday, December 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippman X7 - flatline barrel; E-trigger; JCS red hot power tube; tech T paintball Vortex mod & QEPH; Rifle sling
Tiberius TAC-8 pistol w/ 3 magazines
Recommended
Upgrades:
X-tra magazines;
Tiberius No-tool CO2 quick puncture bolt - 1 for each magazine;
leg holster for TAC-8
leg holster for extra magazines
Strengths: Fast reload w/ extra magazine.
Weaknesses: Cost.
Overly complicated internals.
Review: Having had enough times where I had to call myself out of a game because of no ammo/CO2, ball breaks, or main gun mechanical failure I decided to carry a pistol for backup. Some weekends it stays in its holster the whole day and other times it is the difference between lasting out the round vs getting shot out.
This was the only pistol that made sense to me to own because of the magazines ability to reload both air and ammo. An ingenious valve allows the magazine to seal/reseal the same CO2 cartridge multiple times so if I shoot all 8 rounds from all 3 magazines I can refill them quickly in the field w/ a 10 round tube and reinsert the magazine into the pistol for more action. I've found that I get 21 rounds per CO2 cartridge at the set FPS so if I reload a magazinee for the 3rd time the last few balls roll out of the barrel.
I chrono my pistol to 275fph and it is quite consistent there for the 1st 20 rounds per CO2 cartridge. It is as accurate as the man on the trigger so if you miss, it ain't because of the pistol. I don't know about other pistols velocity consistency or accuracy, but this one was quite impressive.
In the 600+ rounds I've shot so far, I have not had a single ball break in the barrel. The same cannot be said of balls fed by the magazine. If you eject the magazine while it still holds balls, 1 or 2 will be left behind. If the pistol is straight and level they will fall to the ground, but if you're holding the pistol upside down and slap another magazine in you will jam the ball feed mechanism, or worse yet break a few in the breach. I know because I did it @ Camp Pendleton in May and as I fumbled w/ it I took a round in the face @ 10 paces. Lesson learned the hard way!
Another caveat w/ the magazine is the spring used to push balls up into the breach. While this spring is just light enough to get the job done it will squish the balls in the magazine into little suares that when fired are not accurate at all. The magazine has a nice feature that allows you to relieve all pressure on the 8 balls in the stack by pulling down the spring and adding a 1/32 twist to hold it off the balls. You have to make sure you twist the sprin base retainer to compression the balls before inserting the magazine back into the pistol
I completely disassemble & clean my rifle after ~ 5000 rounds so I thought I'd do the same for the pistol after 500. Ugh, this thing has a bazillion parts! My X-7 has less than 10 parts internally, total. The TAC-8 must have 120, excluding the magazine. The magazine is no picknick either so preventitive maintenance of either the pistol or the magazines will take more time than any other marker I can imagine.
Conclusion: No other pistol has the TAC-8's utility. It is as accurate and powerful as any rifle, minus the ammo volume but a pistol is not intened to be a Squad Automatic Weapon. When in battle and you main gun goes down, this is the only option short of surrender. If you're like me that is no option so get the TAC-8.
I rate this a 10 because it surpasses all other pistols, not because it is perfect.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

AdraiVII Thursday, August 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Xtreme, PGP, Zeus G1+, Zeus G2+
Marker Setup: 98 Custom~ RT Kit, Dead On 2x Trigger, CAR Stock, 32* Remote Line, M4 Sight Rail, M4 Handguard, M16 Frontsight, M4 Magazine, 16" 2 Peice J&J Ceramic Barrel, US Navy Seals M4 Suppressor, 32mm Red Dot Sight, 12 White LED Torchlight

A-5~ AK47 Solid Wood Handguard, AK47 Solid Wood Stock, E-Grip, 14" Barrel, AK47 Flash Suppressor, AK47 Magazine, AK47 Weaver Rail, AK47 Front Sight

Pro-Lite~ 13" Rifled Armson Barrel

Tiberius 8~ Mock Suppressor

Zeus G2+

SL-68-II

Stingray II



Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra Clips
Strengths: Magazine fed, Autococker Technology, Accurate as all hell, Shoots pretty far for a pistol
Weaknesses: Not for Left-Handed players, No Clips= GAME OVER, Pricey
Review: The BEST .68 caliber pistol out there!! I purchased mine during a special holidat\y promotion when Tiberius included a barrel with a threaded tip for the mock suppressor that was included with it plus a padded gun case and a clip.

Overall, the POSITIVE aspects of this marker is obvious being the first .68 caliber magazine fed pistol in the world. All you do is slip 8 paintballs into the clip, screw in a 12 gram and you're ready to go!
However, here is where the only problem comes into play.. if that is your ONLY clip and you run short on CO2 then you're going to have to disengage the clip, unscrew the Co2, screw in the new co2, and reengage the clip! But that can easily be solved by just buying more clips so all you have to do is disengage the used clip and slip in the new one!
Conclusion: HANDS DOWN, this pistol is definately lives up to its reputation. If you can get buy the price tag and finance for some extra clips then you are on your way! GREAT PISTOL!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbrules15 Tuesday, July 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP2
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom
3.5oz co2
Paintball Mafia Stock class harness
Tiberius 8
Holster
extra mag w/ holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
A few extra mags is nice for quick reloads
Strengths: Low profile
air and paintballs in the grip
removable barrel
Great efficiency (app. 24 shots)
Weaknesses: A little big, but in a good way.
Review: So, my first thoughts about this gun when it came when it came was, "Wow! This thing is huge!" So then I pick it up, and to my surprise, it is extremely comfortable to hold. Not too big and heavy, not too small and light. I always played with my PGP as my primary. And it was really front heavy. I pick this up, and wow! What a change! It is very well balanced The Tac 8 has a nice low profile, making it look and feel really streamlined. The barrel is also removable! Now try and do that with any other paintball pistol! So far I have not broke one paintball in it, but if it were to happen, you can take the barrel right out and clean it. The main attraction though is the mag. It's the first pistol to have the air AND paintballs in the grip. When you have air in the mag and you eject it, it shoots out right into your hand and seals the co2 immediately so you don't waste any air. This far through, I have not found anything I don't like about this gun, and it defiantly has some great engineering behind it.
Conclusion: Wait and spend the extra cash and get this gun. It's what I did and I have no regrets. If your looking for a great primary or sidearm paintball pistol, get this one. You will have not any disappointments.
I always thought that nothing is perfect, but this is darn close!
10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Umbrea Tuesday, July 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Primary

-Tippmann 98
-Cyclone Feed
-Opsgear 18 inch Interceptor Barrel
-Opsgear AK47 Stock
-Opsgear SR25 Shroud
-Opsgear Sight Raise
-Edot
-Rap4 12g C02 Adapter

Secondary

-Tiberius 8 Pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
None unless you prefer something else such as a remote line adapter or additional mags.
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Design
-Bleed Valve
Weaknesses: -Somewhat large handle that contains 8 rounds and a c02 canister.
Review: First off. The accuracy of this pistol is surprisingly great. From ~80ft I was easily able to hit a player 3 times in a row. Now I can easily do this with my rifle setup but not having a stock or sight makes it much more difficult with a pistol. Fortunately the rounds comming out of the TAC 8 fly straight as an arrow. This pistol is also very air efficient. You can easily get 24 shots from one canister thanks to the built in regulator.

The design of this pistol is very well thought out. The clip for instance can be used with a 12 gr C02 or with a remote line adapter and cleaning the barrel is a breeze because it literally takes 2 seconds to take it off.

Another feature that I find ingenious is the bleed valve. Now i've seen these in the past but to have one on a pistol? It's nice knowing you'll never be shooting over 290 ft/s no matter what tempature it is outside. Extra saftey to an already safe sport.
Conclusion: With everything said I can honestly say I love this pistol and I'm sure you will too. With so many great features such as a built in regulator, bleed valve, internal mag and quick release barrel, you know this little package will deliver.

I gave it a 9 because nothing is perfect...tho this is pretty close.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 25th, 2007 at 3:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lear-pilot Monday, July 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
only pistal I own but have tried others
Marker Setup: Currently, 07 EGO,Autocockers, SP8, Invert Mini, Tib 8, Stainless Complete Freek Kit, Eggy Z, Halo V35rip, 70-4500 StubbyX2, 45-4500, and the list goes on and on
Recommended
Upgrades:
hmm more clips
Strengths: Uber kool, love the clips,
Weaknesses: The cost of the clips, ya its a catch 22
Review: well I cant really say anything new about this gun, just the fast that I love it, I often use it for a rec gun and aways as a back up for large sim games, yes it is rather large and the clips are costly, but they are well made, and I aways know when i pull my gun out that is aways going to work, never any problems, and that is worth a few cents. I can google people from a distance and they dont see it coming. It is not a easy gun to take apart, the trigger mech is very complex and I have yet to take that apart, way to meny small springs and such, but over all a very good gun, I would rate it a 9.5 it is not a 10 but better then a 9
Conclusion: If you have the extra cash then get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alpha83 Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sidekick pump
SideKick Semi-Auto
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 w/ Flatline Barrel
Tiberius 8
Tippmann 98 (beat to hell)
Sidekick Semi (retired)
2- Custom Bob Long Auto-cockers (both retired)
AT85 (stopped working)
Recommended
Upgrades:
at least 2 extra magazines
Strengths: Magazine Fed
Good Co2 consumption
Well balanced for its size
Very accurate
Weaknesses: Size too big for smaller hands
Bit heavy
spare mags $40
8 rounds
Review: I've been around the paintball block a few times and I am constantly looking for markers and equipment that are both practical and tactical and this pistol has been a long time in the making.

I recently purchased my Tiberius 8 pistol b/c my old sidekick semi has been put to good use over the years and its sad to say but time to put the old work horse onto the retirement wall. Now mind you i have NOT had a chance to put this pistol in the field yet, but from the testing i gave it i'm confident it will perform well for what i need it to do.

First off you immediately notice the size and weight of this marker, compared to my sidekick semi the T8 is about twice as heavy, almost 3 inches shorter, and 1 inch taller.

Secondly this is a magazine fed paintball pistol and the Co2 cartridge is also housed in the magazine along with the 8 rounds of paint and is also made of metal construction so the magazine is where most of the weight comes from on the gun. This also makes the size of the magazine quite large and hence the big grip and unless you have big hands or long fingers like myself you will probably feel uncomfortable handling this marker. on the up side it is very quick and easy to reload more than other "tube" fed pistols, and at least to me that out weighs the weight.

***There is also a counter on the bottom of the magazine so you can keep track of how many times you reload them, they only are good for 3.5 reloads untill the air runs out and thats helpful to keep track of when playing. ***

Finally the Accuracy of this marker is FANTASTIC i have a big yard and i was plinking like mad!!!!
@ 50 feet i took aim at everything from 3 inch diameter tree trunks to 1 foot yard Nome's and hit every thing i pointed at
@75 feet i set up a broom stick in the ground with a hopper set on top and hit that suckA 11 outta 16 shots (missed the first 3 then the last 2 due to my Co2 running out
I would have shot out farther but don't think the neighbors would think kindly of me any more than they probably do now.
Conclusion: I give it a 9 only b/c like women, there is no such thing as perfect and this gun is heavier than i would like it to be, plus i haven't used it in the field yet. However,If you play rec ball, woods-ball or any milsim/scenario games I have always recommended a back up sidearm of any kind b/c it WILL save your back-side and that is especially true in paintball. Your primary WILL fail in the field from time to time for any number of reasons and this sidearm will definitely get you out of a jam, as long as you use it for what it was designed to do and not John Woo it out there(unless you have two) take care of it and it shall take care of you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media