paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tiberius Arms Tac-8 / Tiberius Arms Tac-8 / Tiberius Arms Tac-8 / Tiberius Arms Tac-8

Tiberius Arms Tac-8 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tiberius Arms

Buy Tiberius Arms Tac-8

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tiberius Arms Tac-8
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 63
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $260

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
+First .68 caliber painball gun of its kind to be magazine fed!!
+Compact, High Performance
+8 Standard Paintball Clip Capacity
+12 gram C02 cartrige fires 3 full clips
+Seals automatically upon reload to save C02
+Highly accurate, advanced regulator makes velocity fully adjustable
+Gun operates below 350 psi, ensuring constant performance despite weather or shot rapidity
+Safety valve relieves extra pressure in chamber, ensuring consistent velocity
+Quick-release barrel for cleaning, no mess, no tools required
+Sites are extremely easy to locate for fast targeting and exact calculation of distance
+Handle composed of high-impact urethane, all parts are stainless steel and aircraft aluminum
+Available in black, nickel or classic black with nickel barrel
Product Availability 
The Tiberius Arms Tac-8 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
bulldogue_88 Friday, May 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other paintball pistols
Marker Setup: Tippmann a5 with flatline ,PPS QEV and response trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
more magazines
Good Paint
Strengths: Fast
Reloading (technology)
Distance
Reliable
Weaknesses: None any problems are usually in the manual and easily fixed
Review: This is the first pistol I have ever owned i purchased it at my local pro shop, Im a slave to its looks and feel.i was very impressed with the way it feels and shoots. Shoots almost as far as a stock a5. the manual it comes with is great the common problems it has like a bolt getting stuck in the back position are described in the trouble shooting and easily fixed it happened to me. I played in the sand with this thing and it held up.
Conclusion: great gun, reliable technology is cool I am satisfied
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zoomie Saturday, May 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Core ZX
Marker Setup: Double pistols as primaries.
Core ZX gear was sold and replaced by dual Tiberius Arms Tac8's.
2 Camo holsters
Recommended
Upgrades:
More magazines
Leg holster for marker
Leg holster for magazines
Strengths: Compact!
Easy to change clips.
Weaknesses: Expensive!
Review: Most of you are reading this to decide whether or not you want to get a Tac8, so this review will be based on that. If you want to know about the marker itself and it's features, read the other reviews. There's plenty of that elsewhere.

REALIZE A FEW THINGS BEFORE PURCHASING:

1. Refilling the magazines:
For the Tac8, you CANNOT refill the magazine while the magazine is in the gun....duh.
For the Core ZX however, you CAN refill the mag while it's on the marker.

What does this mean? It means that reloading Tac8 by switching to a new mag is superfast and super easy, but refilling those magazines is a different story. It takes two hands which means you gotta put down your Tac8 while doing it. With the Core ZX, you don't have that problem. You can hold the Core ZX with one hand while pouring 10 rounds into the already attached magazine.

Conclusion: You must have more than a few magazines for the Tac8, if you are to use it efficiently on the field. I have 4 mags and two tacs.

2. Changing Co2's:
You can't do this on the field b/c you need an allen wrench. What a dumb idea! Tiberius Arms could have easily developed some snapping mechanism that just lets you pop it in, snap and get going. But instead, Tiberius Arms makes you whip out an allen wrench. Horrible Idea. The Co2's however on the Tac8 are pretty efficient. You can use the magazine 3x (24 rounds) before having to change Co2's.

3. Price:
As if the marker itself is not expensive enough, you'll need to fork over $45 apiece for new magazines. I recommend at least 3 total. 1 included and 2 extra.

4. Looks like a real gun:
Which means you cant' be flashing it around like a crazy person. It's way unsafe.

5. Weight:
One great advantage of the Tac8 is that it's balanced very well which means you can use it all day long as a primary for as long as you want. It's not front heavy like ALL the other pb pistols out there on the market.
Conclusion: I wouldn't spend the money on this unless you plan on using it as your primary marker. If it's just a sidearm, just buy a cheaper one that has the same effect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-Devon- Saturday, May 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zues G2
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
- 14" Dye UltraLite
- Trinity On/Off
- Tadeo: Ion Raider Board
- CCM Clamping Feedneck
- Roller Wave Trigger
- Dye Regulator
- Dye Stickies
- Punisher Trigger Frame
- Shocktech Body Kit
- Unicorn Nano Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra Magazines
Strengths: - Fairly Accurate
- Easy Reload (If you Have Extra Mags)
- Nice Weight and Balence
Weaknesses: - Reloading (If you dont have Extra Mags)
- Very Loud
- Price of Magazines
Review: If your a Scenario Player, this is a very nice marker. This is also a expensive marker, unless you dont need mags. For 3 mags and the 3 mag holder its around $260cad. plus the price of the marker. Its definitly not a very stealthy marker, its incredibly loud, because the barrel is short. Its very easy to clean though, all you do is press down and twist on the end of the barrel and it just slides out, no problem.
Conclusion: If your a Scenario/Woodsball Player I Recommend this marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheMaskedCow Friday, May 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months30 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tried out a Delta 68
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
16 inch barrel
G36 Mag Kit
Double Trigger

Tiberius with 2 mags
Recommended
Upgrades:
One extra mag if used as a backup
Three extra if used as a Primary
Strengths: Quick Reload
Accurate
Looks good
Weaknesses: Expensive
Limited effective range
Review: I bought my Tiberius second hand off e-bay, I had been looking into getting a side arm for two reason, the first simply that it looked cool and the second because when you have a gun fail on you and you miss the perfect shot because of it, you make sure that it never happens again. Looking back I think that both of these reasons were good and the Tiberius fulfilled both criteria.

I got it second hand and props to the previous owner because either he never used or took very good care of it because that thing arrived in pristine condition. I loaded it up with a few Reballs and fired off a few rounds and found it a very agreeable gun.

Take a look at my Video Review on YouTube. It goes over a lot of the Technical stuff and shows all the parts that are hard to describe written.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LjH7HgYEAto

I will add more videos as I make them over the summer

Sound
The sound signature was about the same as my Tippmann A5 if not quieter and there is a very satisfying click when you load in a fresh mag. There is also a small sprit of C02 when you eject a mag that makes a bit of noise but all in all it is very quiet.

Weight and Size
I must admit that the Tiberius was a bit heavier than I expected when I first picked it up but after a few months of using it I donít notice the weight as much when it is in my hands. Where I do notice the weight is when I put it in its holster on my hip. When it first arrived the biggest problem I had was that I didnít have a belt and it kept pulling down my pants but once I got a good belt that problem was solved. That doesnít mean with a belt you donít feel the weight any more. Quite the contrary, once when I was running the Tiberius fell out of the holster and I know that it was gone less than a step later because I could feel a substance weight loss. There are a lot of people who find the grip to be a bit large, I wear M size gloves and I find it just perfect. I can understand that some people who would have problems if they would have small hands but just like the weight the size is something you get used to fast.

Accuracy and range
All comparisons are made to my Tippmann A5 with 16Ē barrel and / or my Tippmann 98C with a 12Ē barrel

When I first got the Tiberius I just judged it as a decoration because I considered the barrel too short to make an accurate shot and the range too small for anything but close range. Again the Tiberius surprised me, it is incredibly accurate at close ranges (50feet or less)(the sights are zeroed to 50 feet for that reason) and I often take it out to make the one shot kills at close range because it is so easy to handle, aim, fire and hide before anyone sees you. Again a 16Ē barrel is a bit hard to move out of hiding quietly and fast. After 50 feet I find that the balls begin to sway around the you canít get a good shot and with only 8 shots you donít have a lot to work with to do ranging shots first.
The total range is more or less the same as both Tippmanns but the effective range is no where near the same but, what do you expect? Youíre not buying a pistol to longball with.


Mags
You have two options here. If you are using the Tiberius as a primary you will need at least three mags. I have two at the moment and when ever I use it as a primary and get into a firefight I tell myself to go buy some more. If you are only going to Use the Tiberius as a backup two mags will be fine. If you plan on only getting one mag donít waste you money on the Tiberius get a cheaper pistol that is just top loaded because that will be faster and easier. The whole point of the Tiberius is the speed of the mag switch.
Further information on the mags are in the video.

Durability
Just thought I would add this in here, I have dropped the Tiberius several times, I have throw it to allies who needed it, it has been hit by paintballs and I have sat on it a number of times and it still works perfectly. The only thing that is a bit finiky is the mag, if you get dirt in them they will jam up everything

Looks and Reactions
The reason I made the video review is because the Tiberius turns a lot of heads, If I am just carrying it on my hip I can make some people nervous and when I show up with it as a primary I get a lot of respect and questions. It is a Badass gun and if it fits with your woodsball image I say go for it, people will have more respect for you if you are packing good equipment and that goes double if you can rack up a few kills with it too. People will make fun of the fact that you only have 8 shots but I always come back with this.
ď I might only have 8 shots but I only need one to eliminate youĒ
Conclusion: No matter the reason for wanting a pistol be it looks, backup or a primary the Tiberius won't let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 6th, 2007 at 12:55 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

AndyC876 Thursday, April 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Delta .68
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Xtra Stock
Gameface Vexor Stock
32 Degrees Delta .68
JT Tac-5, Recon barrel, adjustable shoulder stock, three-point strap
Brass Eagle Talon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra Magazine(s)
Holster
Magazine holster
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Mag-fed System
Weaknesses: Mag-fed System
Review: This gun is great, in general. I was into getting a pistol and pistol play, and the Delta .68 is also a great marker, but the CO2 system is extremely finicky and, for me, hard to deal with. The Tac-8 is light, and the magazine system is great. the only problem with it is that they are extremely expensive, and in the middle of a firefight, you're not going to have time to reload the magazine, and you can't buy 50 mags. However, it's a much better system than the Delta's tube. Anyway, off of the Delta. The Tac-8 is intimidating, and gets great air mileage per CO2 cartridge. When you're out of paint in a mag, you can reload the paint and keep the same CO2. Although, to change the CO2, you use the same allen wrench that you do to change the velocity of the marker, so be wary of the refs when reloading.
Conclusion: Great marker, compact, accurate, light, and effective. I've played several games with the Tac-8 as my main marker, and I've played several with it as my backup with the Tac-5 or Spyder. In one game I had both my Delta .68 and the Tac-8, and my Spyder jammed on me. I pulled out the pistols and started unloading paint. I ended up as one of two defenders left on my team, and we held off a force of 12 guys. The other defender had a Tipmann, but my Tac-8 got me 6 of those 12 guys. We ended up winning the game.

Great marker. If you're trying out pistol play, of if you're a vet, tis is one of the best pistols you could hope to buy. Unfortunately, 10 is the highest I can rate.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

HellcatCommando Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
RAM226, T68 Pistol
Marker Setup: Spyder MR3 16" Double Rifled Barrel
Spyder Fasta Loader
Sig Sauer RAM 226 Pistol
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately not the rifle pack!
Strengths: Short-Range Accuracy
Weaknesses: Range
Speed
Review: When I got mine, I was surprised by the weight. It was a little heavier than I expected, but I quickly got around the weight. The gun was beautiful in a sense that it was the first to operate .68 caliber paintballs in a grip-fed magazine system. The ingenious way of resealing the CO2 cartridges when you remove the clip is ingenious (they say you get 50 shots, but its more like 30). You definately need more clips because it is easy for me to pull this out and use it or give it to a guy who ran out of ammo to use as cover fire. I saw that they tried to make a rifle out of it. I am defineately agains that. Since it is magazine fed and only runs off the cartridges, its a cool idea but an impractical one. I give them credit, but just build a whole new gun if you want to do the rifle. But back to this, it works well the a left-handed or right-handed shooter, offers a very nice sight, a good safety, and easy dissassembly for easy marker cleaning. The chrono adjustment is directly in the back allowing for quick adjustments. You should use the nices paint you can, as it is easy to chop balls. It has happened only once to me, but when I shto the next one it cleaned the barrel right out. Don't gorget to reload that one shot after you chrono (my team lost a game because of that one shot believe it or not!). The gun is awesome because it is practical, makes a great back-up, and is certainly the most functional pistol I have ever used. There are many others out there that look and feel real, but the practicality and operation of this gun make it the best pistol you can buy for paintball, hands down.
Conclusion: If you are in the market for a pistol, this is it. I do not advise the rifle version, I think they went a little overboard with that.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Evil_Wayz Sunday, April 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha USP ( I think? )
Marker Setup: BT-4 Iron horse
Apex barrel
Ricochet AK loader
specter one point sling
BT magazine expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
either the aftermarket toolless co2 screw, or the remote lien adapter.
Strengths: Size, accuracy.
Weaknesses: Price, lack of accessories at this time.
Review: Picked this up with one mag, right handed drop holster, barrel condom, and hex wrench, for 212 bucks with shipping.

This is a glock style picture, with a polymer frame and metal reciever and barrel.

You load the magazine with a 12 gram co2 powerlet and 8 paint balls.

Allegedly you can get three mags worth of paintballs with one powerlet, but so far I have only gotten 2.

The manufacturer claims this paintball marker can fire up to 350 fps, and I believe it. I chroned at 290 the first time I used it, and had to adjust to a field legal 265.

This pistol has a regulator built in, whihc once I adjusted it, claims to keep pressure within 10 fps above what you set it at. Above that, it vents the gas.

It's very accurate at 50 feet, I hit ten of ten on a mask attached to a mailbox.

It's a little bulky compared to a normal gun, but about average for a paintball pistol.

Cleaning is a snap, you just push on the barrel, turn it clockwise and it pops right out. The detents are metal so I don't see them wearing out.

It's a bit pricey, as the magazines are between 40 and 50 bucks apiece. And as of right now there aren't many upgrades. The sights are a bit small and hard to acquire, I'd like to see a nice light pipe or fiber optic aftermarket.

But other than that, I have no complaints, it fits my hand and points well.

The safety is ambidextrous and easy to engage/disengage.






Conclusion: I think this setup is the future of paintball. They are alreayd making a rifle based on this setup called the t9, which is magazine AND hopper fed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghost_in_black Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Old School PGP-Nothing but the best
ACP 2.0-Basic and Clean
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS 05-
*Smartparts Junior Freak 14 " Straight ported teardrop barrel, assorted inserts
*The Egg with Z board
*New Designs Low profile feed neck-locking clamp
*Smartparts regulator with on/off valve and remote coil setup
*Custom dual bushing rolling trigger

Tiberius Tag 8-
*3 clips-2 with 12 grams, 1 with remote kit installed
*stock barrell
*threaded barrell with mock silencer
*zeus elite shoulder yolk harness
*tac rail-tac light, or laser sight for night scenarios
Recommended
Upgrades:
No upgrade reccomendations other than mock silencer for scenario games or the remote adapter for continuous air.
Strengths: *compact and easy nature for a full sized pistol. Deadly accurate!!! Headshots at 35 yards.
Weaknesses: *Minor gas leak after purchased. Easily fixed though.
Review: This pistol is simply incredible. I have become not only a Tag 8 fan but a Tiberius Arms fan altogether. From woodsball, scenario, to speedball, having the Tag 8 as a primary or secondary marker has upgraded not only my success rate, but has added a new level of excitement and style of play to the paintball field.
Conclusion: If anyone is interested in pistolwork or is willing to invest, Tiberius makes some great equipment. Hell, even my wife was shooting this pistol and wouldn't give it back, so it must be great!!! Good luck and headshots only!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

captainkromwell Saturday, March 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Daisy 68 Paintball pistol - Best $20.00 I ever spent. Made mostly of cheap plastic it worked like a champ for about ten years.

SideKick Semi Paintball Pistol - Worked for about three days. The company is out of business now.

Over the years I've tried just about every pistol on the market looking for a good side arm.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with 12" J&J Ceramic barrel, AT85, Vintage 1988 Razorback II WWP pump, Tiberius 8 paintball pistol.
Recommended
Upgrades:
It's perfect as is. Tiberious sells an updated model with accessories that make it look more like a rifle, but it seems like fluff to me.

Extra clips are a must if you want to use it more than just the occasional side arm.
Strengths: Accuracy, Solid Design, Easy to clean and maintain Consistent performance
Weaknesses: None that I could find after several months of use.
Review: I've been looking for this pistol for about twenty years.

Before I purchased one I read through all of the reviews on this site and I have to say that everything people are raving about is true. I waited to write my own review until I had several months to actually use the pistol in several games. Thatís really the only way to know if what you have works. It's one thing to fire a few times out of the box, its another to dive through the dirt blazing away and have everything work for you.

Design: From barrel to grip this is simply the finest designed pistol I have ever seen. I've dropped it from a run, dove for cover in clouds of dust, fired about a case of paint through it and it works just as well now as it did the first day I shot it.

Stripping and cleaning: The barrel comes out easily with a twist making it easy to thoroughly clean. The rest of the pistol strips easily without springs and little metal bits popping out to get lost. With only a little practice I'm able to strip the whole thing down and put it back together without aggravation or confusion.

Accuracy: Consistent pressure, a good barrel, and great bolt design makes this a vary accurate pistol. With some practice I'm able to consistently hit a nickel sized target at about 30'. It's almost as accurate as my AT85 which is saying something.

Cool Factor: Itís got this covered in spades. Everyone that sees it walks up to me and asks about it. The pistol just looks great.

Availability: There are several companies that are selling the pistol and accessories making it easy to find what you need for a good price.

Good to have spare parts: There are only a few o-rings that look susceptible to wearing out after a lot of use. It would be good to have spares. You can get them straight from the manufacturer. The rest of the gun should work for many years if taken care of.

Customer Service: Early on I had an o-ring problem with the clip. It seems that a few were shipped with the wrong O-ring installed. When I called Tiberius they explained what had happened and sent me everything I needed to fix it free. They were helpful, friendly and professional.
Conclusion: The pistol delivers in every way. I've played many games using just the pistol and two clips and I did just fine against people with rifles. It's the best pistol I've found for Scenario, woods ball, and urban styles of play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eseekford Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Warsensor
Marker Setup: Tippy A-5, Flatline, modded bolt, N2 78/3000
Tiberius Tac 8
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster by special ops (made by cops 911)
Couple extra clips and clip holster
Strengths: accurate, ball retent
barrel removal, regulated
Great all weather operation, little drop
Weaknesses: Hard to ajust regulator
Hard to break down
scratches easy
Review: I couldnt wait to get my Tac8 pistol after reading the specs. I ordered it from
http://www.specialopspaintball.com . They have great deals on accessories for this pistol. Well on to the review. I have been playing paintball for about 6 years now and have seen alot of accomplishments in the technology since then. The Tac 8 pistol is by far one of the best break thrus I have seen.

The construction:
Nice heavy plastic grips, handle and trigger frame. The barrel comes out in literally 1 second with a simple push in and twist removal which would prove outstanding IF you were to have ball breaks. I have now shot about 3000 paintballs thru this pistol and have not had a single break so far this winter. The barrel has a metal spring type ball detent built right into it which is also removed very easy for replacement. This also means the ball drops right into the barrel! The upper receiver is made from what seems to be a single piece of machined black aluminum and has a perfect fit into the trigger frame. The upper receiver also has a small hole drilled into the top so that you can see if the paintball is in the barrel. This is a cool feature, unless its raining =). The paintballs and the C02 are both loaded into the clip which is a first for paintball markers and gives a balanced and realistic feel. The only bad thing I have found in the construction of this marker is that the upper receiver is a polished black metal which is reflective in the dark and scratches easy.
A+ on the construction of this marker.

Performance
I have been using this marker for about three months this winter in temperatures ranging from 12F to 40F. This is a Co2 pistol and I was very pleased that the drop off was very small in the dead of winter. I got a +/- 2 when firing all eight rounds in a row at 280 fps. I think this is due to the built in regulator that lets off excess gas to regulate the pressure. There are two set screws to adjust the FPS and the regulator. NOTE if you do not read the manual to learn how to adjust the regulator, you will think you have a gas leak when you hear a slight hissing from the back of the pistol. The regulator is kind of tricky to adjust, but only took about 10 Min's to get it down. After using this pistol for the first day I also found it to have quite a kick when you fire it, and its very loud due to a non ported barrel. I used this as my main marker for a few rounds this day and found it to be a very effective and realistic plus to any ones arsenal.
Performance A+

Tiberius Arms gets a full standing salute for a well constructed and great performing marker.
Conclusion: Buy one... no wait go Laura Croft and buy 2!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media