paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical

Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS)

Buy Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical
[ View Photos (22) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 7.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
PMI's new tactical line, Pursuit Combat Systems, presents the PCS US-5 Tactical marker. Comparable to Tippmann, the US-5 has a 9 out of 10 rating from pbreview.com. Includes a 1-Year Warranty from PMI.

Standard Features:

-Mechanical
-Top Tube - Flip down for easy cleaning
-Field strip pins to remove clip
-Removable trigger guard
-10° Bottom line adapter
-No tools needed to switch clip
-Inline bottomline holes
-Iron sight (MP5 style)
-Adjustable foregrip
-Side cocking
-Piranha/Spyder Barrel threads


Specs:

-Powered by either CO2 or N2
-Uses .68 caliber paintballs
-Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with muzzle break
-Corrosion resistant aluminum die-cast receive with adjustable foregrip
-Integrated elbow, closed receiver
-Durable space aged polymer with trigger guard
-Optional Advanced Electronic Clip Available
-10° bottomline adapter designed to accept gas systems
-10+ shots per second
-17" overall length
Product Availability 
The Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Mechanical is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Tom37 Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippy 98. i don't want to liken this to any other mechanical gun ive used, as we use it as a site gun.
Marker Setup: Angel ir3 fly (spitfired)
hammerhead
68/45 a.i.r tank with adjustable reg
Halo B
Cobra Trigger
Softface bolt
Strengths: It works reasonable well, shoots just fine for the price range.
Weaknesses: Rusts easily
Annoying feedneck releace
Blatant rip of the a5
Review: im basically comparing this gun to a site/punter gun, as thats what we use them for.
they arent as good as 98s, id buy one over this gun anyday... but anyway, to the review...

we got 20 of these a month or two back and had problems for the start, about 10 of them leaked from the barrel, even after a good deal of oiling and care, pain in the arse. when they worked however, they were fine.
We got them out again a week later, and they wouldnt work... a wash in the baby bath though and they seemed to recover. this was quite annoying, as they looked fine, no obvious breaks in the breach or barrel, absolutley no sign it needed cleaning.
after about a month, they started rusting... now you might say- "well if you leave them in a box wet for a week what do you expect?" to that i would reply "we treat them no different to the 98s, and they're fine, old, but not rusty". The rust mainly appears arround the screws and feedneck release (which is the main problem i encounter)

now to the feedneck design its self, clever- yes, practical- no (especially with the rust).
this compared with the tippy feedneck release (which is beatifully simple, yet incredibly effective) pales in comparison.

another thing that annoys me is that it looks like the a5 without the cyclone, but its not as good (i used to own one)... it also doesnt have the good features of the a5 (quick strip pins etc). it also has the twist lock barrel thing, which will no-doubt need loctight after a while.

then the cocking arm stichs, a lot. ist damn hard to cock it sometimes.... ; )

however, i do like the asa, which has the small hole, to stop bottles blowing off into your face. and the fact that they work fine when they want to, if you know what i mean : ).

the triggers a bit loose also.
Conclusion: I'd definitly go for the 98... any day... its better or equal in everyway, i give it a 5 becuse if you had the time to spend on it, it could perform steadily, im sure, but as a site gun, its w*nk
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kirkus_Naslund Friday, June 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've tested an A-5 and a 98 Custom, which I feel are the most similar.
Marker Setup: PCS US*5 - Mechanical
A-5 Expansion Chamber
14" Smart Parts Teardrop Barrel
Normal Gravity-Fed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
An expansion chamber would help with CO2 consumption
A quick hopper for less bolt-breaking.
A new barrel, but not completely necessary.
Strengths: See below
Weaknesses: See below
Review: *Upgradability: As I'm sure you know, US*5's are very upgradable with Tippmann A-5 accessories. A-5's and US*5's have identical, 2 pin clips that easily allow buttstocks to fit either gun. This also applies with the A-5 expansion chamber, but as far as I know, the response trigger and the cyclone feed of an A-5 won't fit the PCS (I COULD BE WRONG!!!). Another cool feature of a US*5 is it's ability to upgrade from a mechanical clip to electronic by removing two allen bolts, which should take minutes! This causes no concern if you forget to recharge your electronic clip: just pop it off, throw on your mechanical and you're back in action.

*Endurance: This gun will probably wipe off the rubble from an atomic bomb. It's two faces are stamped together by 11 allen bolts and two strip pins, which the only parts I've had come loose being the moveable elbow feed port, the optional handle and the useless rotating sight. This can also be a weakness though, because if a ball manages to break (see below), I'm afraid you'll take quite a caution while getting into your gun to clean out the mess, then reassembling. And more parts holding the gun together means more parts capable of losing every time you disassemble.

*Price: The mechanical US*5 came in pretty damn cheap for it's qualities, coming in at about 200.00$ tops in CDN. I believe the electronic version will throw another 70.00$ CDN at you.

*Consumption: A good plus about a US*5 is that it's powered by any gas, from CO2 to compressed air. I've only used CO2, and I noticed that with nearly 150 shots left in my 14 ounce, the balls were losing velocity fast, and in order to keep 250fps from my tank, i would have to crank up my adjuster more and more every round. I eventually grabbed an expansion chamber to counter this, and the first shot became as good as the last. Because of this, I'm assuming the gun uses lots of air to pump it's paint.

*Size/ Weight: What can I say? without a barrel or an attached air source, the gun's very compact and an easy deadweight to carry around. With a remote, the gun would be light enough for one hand, easy guarantee.

*Shooting pro's & cons: Here they are mixed together: This gun has a bolt which just punches paintballs out of the chamber, so I'd suggest no paint less in quality than Stingers, which I find an awesome choice for mine. If a ball manages to break on the bolt rather than in the barrel, be prepared to shoot paintballs that veer in every possible direction until you disassemble and clean the bolt area entirely. Because of this con, I'd definitely recommend an electronic hopper to get balls in the chamber as fast as possible. In my opinion, the stock barrel for mine wasn't too bad in terms of accuracy from about 80ft away where the ball would suddenly drop, but I did see quite a bit of distance added when I slapped on a Smart Parts barrel.
Conclusion: Altogether, I would give this product an 8.5, mostly because of it's cheap price, upgradability and durability, but I have no problem with rounding it to a nine. Although it is hard to clean the bolt, which I think is the largest issue with the gun, I find it to be more of a minor annoyance than an enormous trouble; Simply because it only happens to me around every 500-1000 shots.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

trystin_123 Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman A5
Marker Setup: Pcs us 5 with 16 inch freak barrel A5 saw stock and cp drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
same as what i have but electronic hopper or A5 cyclone feed
Strengths: the Us 5 i a really strong gun that will take a beating
Weaknesses: The flip down feed can get really loose .
Spring jammed.
Review: The pcs us 5 is a great gun for the money compared to the a5 you can stil put the cyclone feed on it and it will be an a5 i found it used quit a bit of co2 and i will be switching to compressed, with the stock barrel was kinda off but after using a 16 it makes it straigten out, i hope pcs will come out with a double trigger for the gun i also recomend a big drop forward it makes the weight more even.
Conclusion: My final on this gun is a good gun for money easy to fix and many upgrades.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

knight-rider Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT-TAC_5 , a-5, spyders, scenario markers, ect.
Marker Setup: J&J 14" barrel, A-5 saw stock, 8 chamber expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
same as my setup
Strengths: inexpensive, solid, spyder threads, A-5 compatable add ons, looks
Weaknesses: Not easy to field strip
Review: I am a field owner, so I've seen a lot of guns. Since I have to keep up the field stuff I don't have tons of extra cash to be blowing on guns, so I want the best bang for the buck. A stock A-5 is going to run you about $300. I got this gun and all the recomended upgrades from this review page for $220. It took me about 30 minuites to put all my upgrades on while talking on the phone at the same time, so upgrades are super easy to do. I was very impressed with how SOLID this gun is. I took it out for some test firing, and was more impressed with the accuracy. With the after market expansion chamber, Ihad no smoke or ice when firing, so this is deffinately a recomendation for people who are concerned with gas consumption. I have had a lot of experience with the JT-TAC5, wichis the closest comparison to this gun. If you want the scenario experience without having to take out a second mortgage, this is the gun for you. Or get two and build a hammer out of them.
Conclusion: Best bang fir the buck I've seen anywhere
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Demonhunter27 Monday, April 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5/ Tippman 98c
Marker Setup: PCS US-5 Mech. 16" Thunder Pig barrell. Gravity feed 200 rd hopper.PE 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell- Don't even try to play with the stock barrell.
Regulator & Switch to an N2 air system
Tippman A-5 feed sytem & Hopper
Strengths: Durability, Weight, Reliability, very upgradable
Weaknesses: Accuracy, Flip down Feed system, air consumption
Review: With a new barrell this is a very effective scenario/woodsball marker. I suggest useing good paint and a longer length barrell.It uses alot of air so CO2 will wear your seals out in a year or so of use due to the mositure in CO2, I say switch when you can to a dry air system like N2.It is a good marker it will last and work well no matter the conditions, except cold areas. I Live in a Hot weather area even winter is warm so I can't stand by it on a cold northern winters day. Just keep it oiled well and cleanand it can hang with A-5 all day long.For the money it's a good buy IMO.Also Personally I dig PMI so to be able to play scenario with thier equipment is neat to me.Accuracy is the only real downside to it....But as i said you can corrcet that w/ an aftermarker barrell.The feed system also poses a prblem w/ a full hopper but again you can take care of that!
Conclusion: It is a decent marker for scenario/woodsball. I still play speedball with it but I get hammered alot too. If your starting out don't go and buy a $200-? A-5 becasue experienced players uses them. This will work just as well and when you are ready can build it up to suite your needs. PCS job well done.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 3rd, 2006 at 2:03 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

chazg27 Monday, March 20th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: PCS - US5 Mechanical
No accessories, straight out of the box
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade barrel
Strengths: Sites, accurancy, looks
Weaknesses: Hopper elbow joint
Update: Unreliable
Review: I was a little sketchy at fist buying this A5 knockoff really, but the owner of the shop said he would stand behind his word and give me a full refund or sell me another marker if I wasn't completely satisfied. He had a lot of confidence in this marker. And at almost half the price of an A5. I thought I'd give it a shot. Well I'm not at all disappointed. I'm relatively new at the sport, but I was able to hang with the big boys. The marker is still new to me and I will follow up with more findings as they arise, but I am completely satisfied with this marker. I will be upgrading the barrel though, and will give a report on if it makes a difference or not. The marker is pretty accurate as it is. But got to see if I can make it better of course. The marker is easily upgradable as well. It uses the same barrel threading as the spyder. It has a drop in electronic trigger package available as well. It will take all the accessories of the A5 I believe. Only difference one can see from this marker and the Tippmann A5 is the hopper. It is pretty accurate out of the box. Has been very reliable thus far. I've shot about 2500 balls through it so far and not busted a single ball. Air consumptions seems good as well. Only think I would complain about is the way the hopper elbow lines up with the marker when swinging it open and shut. If the screw is a little loose, and it does get loose often, the hopper rattles around a bit. Just need to put some locktite on the screw that holds the elbow to the gun. Other than that, haven't found any other issues yet.

Update: Well I've had some setback with this gun and ended up returning it. The FIRST one worked great for about 3000 rounds, then it started leaking air. I took it to the proshop and they broke it down and couldn't pinpoint the problem right away, so they just gave me a new gun.
THE NEW GUN: Had problems with it right out of the box basically. Was not shooting accurately at all. Was shooting at a telephone pole from 30 yards out and only hitting 1 out of 4 shots. Chopped two balls in the first hopper I shot. Marker was double tapping occasionally, which I thought was cool, but it's not suppose to do that. And the barrel finish did not match the gun. Took it back to the pro shop a few days later and they hooked it up to compressed air and it just started auto firing about 30 round burst. Needless to say, they gave me a full refund and I'm going to bite the bullet and just go with the A-5.
Conclusion: I thought I was on to something at first and made a good deal, but I guess you get what you pay for. This is an A-5 knockoff. I do not recommend it. Looks good, worked good for a short while (the first one anayway), but had to many issues.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 1st, 2006 at 6:11 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Wolfwood78 Monday, February 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't
Marker Setup: PCS US-5
14 inch Progressive Barrel
48/3000 HPA
eVLoution w/ X-board Hopper
Strengths: Fairly Accurate
Relatively Inexpensive
Weaknesses: NOT Easy to re-assemble after Tear-down
Review: Alright, So I am a relative newbie to you guys who have been playing for years. I was looking for an entry-level Milsim Marker that wasn't too expensive, that was easily upgradeable and reliable. My local pro shop said, "Here try this." I took it shot and I shot some of the others. This one fit the requirements and my budget. So I bought it and played with the same day. The first thing I noticed was that it was pretty accurate. (Not as accurate as my friends Auto-cocker, but still not bad.) I can't afford to throw tons of paint so I try to make the shots count. The rate of fire was enough to keep the other guys pinned when I needed too. It wasn't 20bps but It worked. It was reliable and fairly inexpensive. I shot 1000 rounds in the 3 hours that we played and I never chopped a ball.

One of the other things that I liked about the marker was that if I wanted to go to electronic it was a simple 2 screws and Voila! done.

The biggest downside I had with it was the dis-assembly was easy but RE-assembly was a real pain in the butt. The cocking mechanism spring was irritating and so was the rear spring(which I bent and had to figure out how to make it work). I took it apart to find a leak that was hissing with it and when I finally got it back together. It hissed all the more. I was sooooo frustrated. So I took it back to the store where I bought it and they fixed it for me. (It was a couple of the o-rings not seated correctly.)

*EDIT* Don't use Co2 with this marker. It freezes so fast. That is what was causing the leaking. After I switched to HPA it works really well.

Conclusion: For the price (for me about $150) and the look and feel of the marker as well as the upgradeability. I would say this is a good entry-level milsim marker. Definitely not for the speed-ball player nor the advanced. But I am happy with it.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 24th, 2006 at 6:42 am PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

murphDog Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha field gun, tippman 98, piranha sts, sp ion, bko bushmaster (these two aren't really the same)

Marker Setup: angel 05 speed check it ,pipe
dm3 tadao, hybrid lock, evil asa
45/4500 vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel , maybe a doube trigger but it is not really meant for speed, electronic hopper but almost anything can use one.
Strengths: Pretty accurate , short trigger and it doesnt chop very much ( 2 out of 1000 rounds )
Weaknesses: Kind of gas hungry but other than that pretty good
Review: This gun is a very solid build and it has pmi warranty which is very reliable it is a good price it can be found online for about $120 it seems tough when i was using it we were playing bushball and I bounced it off rocks trees everything I even had mudd go in the barrel and it still shot so its great for wood s balling and a good begginer or even a gun for a seasoned player .
Conclusion: this is a good start for pmis tactical/scenario paintball gunbut it isn't quite ready to compete with a tippman A-5
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 20th, 2006 at 5:14 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media