paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic / Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic

Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS)

Buy Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic
[ View Photos (27) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
10* bottom line and vertical mounting
standard inline bottom-line holes accept standard asa or drop forward
adjustable foregrip
pirahna style barrel threading
MP5 iron sights
flip down top tube for eay breech cleaning
side cocking
field strip pins allow use of AEC
Semi, 3shot burst, full auto
Product Availability 
The Pursuit Combat Sytems (PCS) US-5 Electronic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
OSinsOgre Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 w/ E-trigger
OPS Gear Dishku Supresor
OPS Gear 10" Barrel
APP 350rd Hopper for Cyclone
32 degrees remote
88 & 68ci 4500psi tank
Black Hawk Molle Phoenix Vest
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anti-Chop system
Strengths: Spyder compatable
A-5 compatable
Weaknesses: if any thing, should have an ACS
Review: Ok, my team Co-Captain owns this marker and I have the A-5.

I am impressed. You can get the 98 cyclone feed system and attach it to this marker. Get the new cyclone internals and there is the "25"bps to this marker. Or get any other electronic hopper.

I just got the SpcOps Saw air-thru stock and YES the A-5 stocks will fit this with no moding of the gun or the stock. Excpt maybe with the air thru setup the connection to the Tombstone will have to be diffrent then just think of the connections used for other spyder air-thru stocks. NOTE this for the the scenario players more than the speedballers.

I maybe getting this in the near future as a backup for my A-5 unless I endup getting a 98 Custom Pro cheaper then this.

The one my friend got is the newer verion with a revamp of the electronic trigger from my undstanding. It has a selection for simi, burst, and auto. Even has a tourny lock when you remove the electronic portion from the handle. They use the Aricon hopper with auto and only once did a ball chop. She said she may get the spyder ACS system to prevent chops in the furture.
Conclusion: Don't want to get the X7 or an A-5 due to liking the spyder setup then this is a good option.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cpt_crunch Sunday, May 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98c
tippmann a5
Tippman alpha black
Marker Setup: 16" J&J ceramic barrel
Some expansion chamber (no clue what one)
rifle foregrip
colapsing stock
remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
stock
e hopper
Strengths: reliable
spyder threads
a5 stocks and grips
Easier to take apart then Tippmanns
Weaknesses: slightly heavy
Replacement parts difficult to find.
No options for grips.
Review: I bought this marker used and in very bad shape. After putting a few parts in the gun was ready to go again. Some things Ive noticed after playing with more tippmanns. This thing is quiet, much quieter than the Tippmanns. It shoots straight and consistently. It's very easy to upgrade. Its just an all around great woodsball gun.

It is somewhat hard to take apart but all of these inline blowbacks are. In fact without the stupid springs loaded front sight and the exposed trigger mechanism the PCS is easier to open up and clean than a TIppmann. And with a side mounted velocity adjuster instead of the 98C's crazy one you dont have to fiddle with the screw to take the gun apart.

This gun switches from mech to electro in seconds. Two pins, switch cartridges, and you're done.

A few complaints. The little tab to take off the feedneck is too small. If you dont like the grip too bad, you're stuck with it.



Conclusion: Love the gun, recomend it to any woodsballer. Better than the 98C, just as good as the A5, and cheaper than both.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 14th, 2009 at 11:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

safe-haven Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: So far, all stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, the stock one is lacking.
Strengths: Cheap (cost), great for beginner. There are upgrades and this gun can take a beating
Weaknesses: Cleaning gun once you chop a ball, the ungrades are limited, lame stock barrel.
Review: Overall I have to say I really like this gun. Although I am new to this sport it has served me great so far. The one big downfall is cleaning out the gun once you have chopped a ball. It took me 2 hours... yes I know sounds pretty pathetic, but this time includes misplacing materials, re-oiling, and forgetting to put something back (iron sight...). After this frustrating experience, I realized what I need to do next time so it shouldn't take near this amount of time. Also my buddy owns a Tippman A 5, and this gun can keep up with it pretty well.
Conclusion: Very good gun, I would reccomend it to anybody. Becareful when cleaning it out for the first time, it may get confusing/ frustrating.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder-Back Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
costum 98
Marker Setup: 14 inch Lapco Bigshot
Empire Relaoder 2
E-Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Electronic Hopper
Eventually Air If you rly wanna keep this marker
Strengths: Cheap
Durable
E-Grip
Weaknesses: Barrel
Feed Neck
Archs
Review: The first day my body got this marker i thought it was the best thing out there ( i was a noob at the time). First he started firing it and went semi auto, 3 rnd burst and fully auto.
I thought it was the coolest thing out there. Then later that year we went up too my cottage and played some woodsball in the back. It was tons of fun. I used my friends marker and it was pretty sweet. Only problem was it arched a bite. It's pretty solid though and can take a beating. Plus holding the trigger down is pretty fun too and it never chops (just as long as you have a fast hopper). All in all its pretty sweet.
Conclusion: For a marker competing agianst an A-5 i recomend it highly. First off its way cheaper then the A-5 with an E-trigger.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 7th, 2006 at 3:00 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jeremytkai Sunday, November 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: PCS US-5

16 inch JJ Performance Ceramic Barrel with Lapco Barrel Shroud
Tippmann A-5 By-Pod, E-Grip, Quick Connect Remote Line, Saw Stock, Double Trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Replace the stock barrel. I recommend the JJ Preforamce Ceramic Barrels, Remove the foward hand grip and put in a By-Pod. Add a stock.
Strengths: It is stable and a strong and well build Paintball Gun.
Weaknesses: CO2 is your worst nightmare. A HPA tank is the way to go.
Review: This is the sixth paintball gun i have owned and it is the best one I have owned. It has not let me do in woods ball yet. And I feel that the PCS US05 is the cheap and effective way for someone to own a tippmann A-5 clone.
Conclusion: If you want a mil spec gun for a cheap price this is the way to go.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Yaksha Sunday, September 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5 (Only tested)
Tippman 98 custom
Spyder Pilot
auto cocker
Marker Setup: electronic Us 5 with 6 stage expansion chamber about to switch to hpa so that will come off
J&J S2 ceramic barrel/ Apex barrel
ruffus dawg venturi bolt
cyclone feed (like an A-5)
rear velocity adjuster (havent installed yet)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Replace the stock barrel
If your stuck using CO2 use an expansion chamber
not having an anti-chop bolt you need to use a battery hopper or put a cyclone feed on. (see below for info on that)
Strengths: it's an A-5 only cheaper
cyclone can fit
Weaknesses: Heavy
most upgrades have to be tweeked to fit
Review: Went to my local paintball store and told him the way i like to play, and asked him what marker he would recomend. He said it came down to two the A-5, or the US-5. Since the US-5 was cheaper and I wondered how much extra gas the cyclone feeder would use I left with the US-5. For a little less than the price of a mechanical A-5 I left with the electronic US-5. I'll admit this was the first marker I owned, but since I have shot several others including: A-5, custom 98, spyder pilot, and a few others.
The good:
I must say that I am very impressed with this gun, it shoots very well, is fairly fast, and is extremely reliable. The gun gets more shots per fill than my 98 custom or the spyder. Freeze ups seem to not cause any damage, it's very rugged and reliable.It's nice that you can change out the e grip for the mechanical just by pulling two quick release pins. I love that it uses spyder threads as this makes it easy to find barrels cheap. Even with no anti-chop bolt or eyes this gun chops very few balls (with a good hopper).
********update***********
i have added a rufus dawg venturi bolt and have adapted a cyclone feed onto it. these two mods made the gun 100% better.
the cyclone was very easy to adapt all you have to do is to buy a cyclone feed for a 98 custom and grind the lip off where it mounts to the side of the marker so it will sit flush. the pin spacing on the two feed necks is the same. take out your power tube and drill a hole thru the little nub on it, then carefully cut the threaded nub off the 98 power tube thats included in the kit and epoxy it over the nub on your power tube (it is just the right size) then drill the hole in the side of the marker big enough to fit the new threaded nub and put it back together. go enjoy not needing an electronic hopper.
the new bolt just required cutting four short slots in the end of my power tube then it slid right in. after this mod. the gun isn't nearly as picky about what paintballs you shoot. (in fairness though it still wont shoot the wal-mart balls that my 98 will shoot, but o well i like it much better lol)
you won't use it much but the apex barrel is good to have as a second barrel, it comes in handy if you run up against someone with a flatline. it will shoot just as far plus can be adjusted to shoot up and then drop (to get someone behind a log) or even to get them behind a tree.
The bad:
I must admit that before the expansion chamber full auto was unusable (with CO2), but after adding it i can run the hopper dry and not freeze up. Without a cyclone feeder you must use an electronic hopper if you like to shoot fast. When you do break a ball you must strip and clean the gun or you won't hit anything. To clean the bolt you have to take the whole gun apart. Doesn't like cheap balls.
Conclusion: I would highly recomend this gun. It's a very good marker and should give years of reliable service. As some have pointed out it is based on an A-5 but that is a strength as the A-5 is a proven reliable design. If you want an electronic A-5 you should really consider the US-5. You get most of the features of the A-5 for $80.00 to $100.00 less. the main advantage to the A-5 is the cyclone and that can be put on this gun and still be cheaper than the A-5. I really think that anyone who buys this will like it. In my opinion woodsball guns don't get any better than this (for the money).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 25th, 2008 at 11:18 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

The-militia-Man Thursday, June 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Marker Setup: 16inch Smart Parts linear
Electric clip
PCS car stock
Apex barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock
new barrel Stock one is really bad
possibly set up to run on remote
new hopper
Apex perhaps
The new double trigger
New JCS powertube
Strengths: Full auto
takes all a5 stocks
durable
PMI has awsome tech support
Very affordable
Weaknesses: When you chop to clean you have to take the gun appart to clean.
Review: First off i love this gun i have been using it for some time now. I must say i love the full auto. I like that fact that it takes all a5 stocks and that it is spyder threads. I have heard from PMI when i called tech support that if you take out the us-5s barrel addapter you can put an a-5 thread barrel into the gun and it will click into place but will not thread into the gun. the gun comes with all the things needed to maintain it for some time.
Its just an overall awsome gun to get if you like the milsim style but not that big of a tippman fan this is the way to go.

Addition.
I have been having some problems with a whobbly feed neck and called up pmi tech support and they are sending me a new on for FREE!! I have put an apex on it and its so freaking awsome on this gun i would say get it for sure... or put an A-5 flatline on it.

Double trigger has come out on the market along with a ton of other upgrades and such check actionvillage.com or www.pcs-paintball.com to learn more.

edit:

JCS came out with a new power tube so you can replace the stock plastic one!
Conclusion: This gun is worth the money. I would say get this over the a-5 but thats just me talking.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 10th, 2006 at 6:07 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

NS RecPaintball Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Tippmann 98C's (this was my first gun)
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster
CP Inline Regulator
Cp 2k5 On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, old one likes to lob, and as always with CO2 powered markers, an expansion chamber
Strengths: Dosent chop paintballs
Good Price
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Hard to field strip and maintain.
Review: This long weekend, I went up to my buddies cottage for a fun weekend of woodsballing. None of us are pros at paintballing, we just wanted to have a good time. Out in the woods, this gun performed very well; it was shooting straight and true, 0 balls chopped out of 600 rounds, and full auto was simply awesome for unloading on trees other people were hiding behind.

Another thing I have to mention is this markers durability. I must've knocked it against a tree like 3 times (stupid me) and it was still good to go. Suddenly hitting the deck from a standing position didn't mess up the insides or chop any balls. I won that woodsballing fiesta too ; )

EDIT (November 06): Okay, so after having this marker for a while now, there are definatly a few problems with it. I find it really hard to field strip, and the internals a pretty low quality, compared to the BT4 internals. For example, the BT4 spring guide is made of metal. Eventually, my PCS spring guide (plastic) completely snapped. When I asked for a new one, PMI sent me a Piranah spring guide (thanks..) The spring guide was free though.
Conclusion: This is an okay marker for your first. Personally, I would seek other options. Im against the mainstream, but the A5 is a pretty good alternative. This gun was great at first, but when the bad customer service and the low quality internals came into play, this marker got really frustrating to maintain.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 2nd, 2007 at 8:45 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GoodwineSI Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nearly every tippmann semi-auto.
Marker Setup: Halo B/rip drive. Tasco 30mm red dot.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever suits your playing style
Strengths: Cheap, mp5 looks, solid, easy to upgrade, and maintain. AEC is great!
Weaknesses: Not the fastest ROF ( but considering my paint budget, I say thats a good thing)
Review: I bought this gun knowing only what I could learn about it from the internet. So I wasn't 100% sure wtf I was getting myself into. I payed 190 at a local shop ( he also sold me the halo b for 95, and threw in 1000balls) I got it home, put the batteries in my new loader, took out the rechargable that was already in the AEC put it on charge. Then I threw in a regular alkaline 9v, and headed for the back yard. Right off hand I could see I had a new barrel coming in my near future. It is a hard hitter, and has decent range, but nowhere near as accurate as my bt4 assault (but compare barrel sizes on the two 8vs14) so aside from that I really enjoyed using the AEC. Idiot proof fire mode changing. Trigger was nice and light, not too much slop. The rate of fire isn't the fastest, but its MORE than enough to get someone to duck there head back down while your friend runs for new cover. After playing in a small pickup game (9 of us) I really sold on this gun. Not ONE broken ball, or hicup from the gun. Got plenty of kills, and the other guys ( 2 a5 owners) were more than a little impressed. The gun also came with a charger, and a mechanical trigger clip. As with most new guns only a couple tools are needed to strip it.

This gun is also easy to modify. Out of the box it accepts sypder and paranha barrels, but I've already seen spyder to a5 barrel thread adapter, and spyder to 98c adapters. So your barrel choices are endless. It can also accept a cyclone feeder (with just a tiny bit of modification). Hopefully PMI will release some board upgrades for the AEC, but if not I won't be too upset. It also accepts most tippmann a5 external mods (mag kits, stocks etc...) Overall I am VERY pleased with this gun.
Conclusion: Great price, easy to mod, very durable, AEC is extremely handy and really easy to change, if you need to go mechanical for a day. Wouldn't hurt to upgrade the barrel. For the money this gun is a steal! 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deathbypaint Friday, May 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 and the 98
Marker Setup: US-5 w/ AEC
elec. hopper
combat stock
8 stage expansion
Empire 7 piece barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
elec. hopper
expansion chamber
Strengths: Cheap
Durable
Accurate - sans stock barrel
ROF selector
Weaknesses: Barrel
A pain to field strip
Review: All things said, the US-5 is a great marker for what you pay. You aren't going to be blazing past everyone, but you will do well enough. It fires fairly rapidly, however, you will want to take spare batteries because the ROF diminishes quickly when the battery starts to die and you will need an electronic hopper to keep up with the AEC.

The barrel is something you definately want to change-out right away. I went with a barrel kit that accomodates a wide variety of paintballs. I have actually ran 2000+ balls through it and never had a chop (and I use relativley cheap balls).

I also added an expansion chamber to help conserve gas and the combat stock helps aiming (and looks pretty sweet).

You probably will catch quite a bit of flak from Tippmann owners, but you can quickly teach them to keep their mouths shut...I have nothing against Tippmann, its a great company with amazing products, but the US-5 works just fine for what I use it for.
Conclusion: I would recommend this for the beginning to fairly serious player. If you are going to be tearing up the fields every weekend, I would say go for the A-5 or a more high-end marker, but if you go out once or twice a month like me, the US-5 is the "perfect" marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media