paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel / DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel / DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel

DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount DeadlyWind

Buy DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $75

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Deadlywind Wisper carbon fiber barrels are ultra-lightweight and quiet. They are compatible with the Freak(tm) replaceable inserts, so one barrel and a few inserts will do the job of multiple barrels.

Weighing in at 46grams (59 grams with insert), they are 2x to 4x lighter than other replaceable insert barrels.

Each barrel is precision filiment wound on the inside, satin sanded 2x2 twill on the outside, then CNC-ported with 3 spiraling rows of ports. You can't get any more accurate.

Already have inserts? Just buy the barrel by itself. Need an insert to go with it? Buy one or go with the 3x inserts and save!

Currently available for Autococker(tm) compatible threads and lengths of 12" and 14".
Product Availability 
The DeadlyWind Wisper Carbon Fiber Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
stonedtrooper42 Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
kaner 14" - 144gm, good barrel came stock on my orracle.pain n a$$ to get out if back sticks in gun(pneumatics)7/10
evil pipe 14" - 151gm,little loud over all 6/10
aluminum freak 14" - 143gm, this was my favorite barrel for accuracy,consistency and loudness.only draw back it couldn't "self clean" 8/10
apr hitman 14" - 170gm, p.o.s. we'll leave it at that 2/10
cp 1 piece 14" - 140gm, surprisingly a really good barrel for the price.of course it's draw back is single bore size. 6/10
Marker Setup: '03 orracle;
e-1
slik edge bolt
madman springs
" rocket valve
belsales 44 ram
eclipse qev's
+ more b.s.

sniper 2;
orracle bolt
" valve
white wolf custom pump kit
belsales roller sear
+ more b.s.
Recommended
Paintballs:
as long as they're round your good to go...if you have a full sleeve kit.
Strengths: Read review
Weaknesses:

Need freak sleeves
Review: Ok i've given all the weights on every other 14" barrel i own for this right here...the deadly wind 14" comes in at 75gm, yes that's with the sleeve and almost half of an all aluminum freak. This is by far the biggest difference you will find seeing as how the bore control(5")is the same due to the same freak sleeves so the accuracy has been great. At 25' i can put 8/10 on the top of a 4x4 post. For comparison the kaner is a 4" bore control and just a little less accurate 6/10 the switch kit has a 1" bore control, but i haven't shot one yet so i don't know how big of a difference it would make, just something to think about.

Now if you do happen to get a barrel break(i can't get one without using a sleeve that's way to small!) unlike the freak tips(i've use all american,teardrops, and something that came on my toxic shocker) this will "self clean" itself in 3-4 shots.

As far as loudness my teardrop freak comes close but the deadly wind is still quieter.
Conclusion: Take into account the huge weight difference and the balance of your marker before going carbon fiber...my orracle feels "back heavy" with it's e-grip & 90cu tank, while it's right at home on the sniper2 w/22cu tank. Manufacturing quality looks great and has held up so far will update if anything changes.

Bottom line if you want accurate, if you want light weight, you want a deadly wind barrel

**2-10-07** Well I found out the barrels strength today when I slide off a hill-side(raining+steep hill) and stuffed it into a rock! I thought it would be a goner...nope didn't unravel or crack, just a small scratch! With no affect to it's performance I say agian this is the perfect barrel. I also bought one for my shocker sft.***
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 6th, 2007 at 1:12 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

zoom707 Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi switch.
dye boomstick.
freak kit+freak front with stainless inserts.
Wgp Kaner kit.
Marker Setup: First gun: docs machine fastback blue to clear fade. Stiffi switch. Wgp twist feedneck. Nexus ram +2 qevs. Palmers mini rock reg. Sidewinder low pressure regulator. e2. Custom delrin bolt. samurai trigger. nexus valve. light springs. low pressure stubby 70 ci crossfire. T board by scenariodreams. (replaced e1 finally)

Second gun:
karnivor is all stock except for sidewinder reg and samurai. and e2 board.

New Barrel kit is deadly wind freak insert carbon fiber barrel a++
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any balls will work because inserts. I have not tried reballs yet though.
Strengths: Very+LIGHT!
Freak Inserts!
Quiet Spiral porting.
16-14 lengths available.
Slick bores.
superACCURATE!
Weaknesses: Carbon finish not smooth as stiffi.
no color options.
length not adjustable. with fronts.
Review: Ok this barrel is very good. And a simple and practical ideal. I love how there is no back to screw into a front that can get stuck together and/or stuck on your gun. I also love how i already had a freak kit and all I had to do was buy the deadly wind barrel and use my existing inserts. The accuracy of the deadly wind barrel compared to my stiffi switch is noticeable especially when it comes to using cheaper paint. Also since the bores of the deadlywind barrel are longer I have less barrel roll out of balls slipping out of barrel because small bore size. (autococker detents are useless because bolt is past detent when ball is in breech ready for fire. however the autococker detents prevent halo from double feeding). The stiffi has a stepped bore meaing that the barrel bore you put on lets say a 689 for example would be screwed on then that part connects to the carbon fiber part whch is 691 for about 4 inches then turns to a larger no friction part to guide the ball. so stiffi switch does have a longer control bore than the little 1 inch sizers may show. Ok accuracy. They are near equal but like I said the deadly wind will shoot the less consistently shaped paint almost dead accurate that other barrels cant shoot as accurately. I dont even compare any other barrels to the deadly wind or stiffi because they dont give me the accuracy. DYE boomsticks are way overrated my WGP kaner kit equaled the dye boomsticks accuracy and neather handle breaks nearly as well as carbon fiber.
Conclusion: ok you can spend
100 for deadly wind buy 4 freak inserts 8.50 a peice
totalling 135$
or you can buy a stiffi switch kit
150$ if you find one cheap.
they both kick ass. and light as hell. they both have a different look going
(stiffi being more flashy)
(deadly wind being more stealth)
they both shoot through breaks good and are super quiet. so decide on personal preference. I however If I bought the deadlywind barrel before my stiffi switch I probly would have never bought a stiffi switch. I have had problems with the stifif switch inserts getting stuck onto the barrel which was annoying and one time the breech sizer got stuck on my karnivor (beyond annoying) and it was almost impossible to remove with pneumatics in the way. So if you got a AUTOCOCKER deadly WIND definately is the way to go.

I would give this product an 11 if I could
so it will settle for a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jtb1689 Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Kit w/ All Amerian Front, Freak Kit w/ Freak Front, Freak Kit w/ Stiffi Front, Stiffi
Marker Setup: -2003 ANS GENX-3 Chaos series
-12 in. DeadlyWind Wisper Barrel
-Dead-On Bullet On/Off Drop Forward
-Ricochet 2KX Hopper
-Dye 45 Pro Swing Trigger (Double Finger)

and

-AGD Automag RT Pro
-X-Valve
-Lvl 10 Bolt
-ULE Body
-CP Direct Mount On/Off
-Ricochet 2KX Hopper
-12 in. DeadlyWind Wisper Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Elminators, Nelson Precision, Nelson Challenger Premium, Nelson Anarchy, Special Forces, anything I guess
Strengths: -Quiet
-SUPER Light
-Cheaper than a freak back w/ stiffi front
-Very Accurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: I ordered this after using a buddy's. I had a freak kit w/ all american front for the longest time and I wish I had just bought this from the start and saved the money. Its just a great barrel. Plus, hardly anyone has it so you can know you can get an edge on people.
Conclusion: By this barrel right now. You can get it w/ inserts or without. Its better than a Freak back with a Stiffy front, yet at the same time its cheaper than both. Mine came without an o-ring in the back so the inserts slide in and out way too easy, but I called Deadlywind and they are sending me a pack of the o-rings free of charge. I've used a Wisper with those in and the insert stays just fine. BUY IT NOW!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 30th, 2007 at 12:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slim_vela Sunday, February 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi Switch Kit, Smart Parts Freak Kit w/ Aluminum and Stainless Steel Inserts, WGP Kaner Kit, CP 4 Piece Barrel Kit (3 backs-1 front)
Marker Setup: Current: Defiant 2, LCD Matrix
Previous: Various '05 Shockers, Slide Switch Matrix
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any brand that provides a good paintball to barrel match
Strengths: Light Weight
Quiet
Utilizes Smart Parts Freak Inserts
O-Ring to secure Inserts
Weaknesses: Bore finish
No reinforcement/muzzle break at tip of barrel
Must use squeegie to clean
Review: Very lightweight as can be expected, and the fact that it uses Freak Inserts is definitely a plus. No matter what brand of paint you decide to use, as long as you have the proper insert your good to go. Stainless Steel or Aluminum, doesn't matter.

The version I am using is the 12" vice the 14". The sound signature of my Defiant was lessened considerably, and the already quiet Matrix is now quieter.

Accuracy is as can be expected from a good paint to barrel match. However, for me it did not clean through breaks as well as some have stated. Breaks were not due to chopping or bad paint/bore match, but more due to the quality of paint used. The fact that it was a thick-fill type of paint didn't help either.

Now I did state that one weakness I notice is the lack of a 'muzzle-break'. So far it is holding up well. But much like my first edition Stiffi One Piece barrel, I expect the tip to possibly start fraying. A simple piece of aluminum slipped/bonded over the barrel tip to help protect it would be beneficial, similar to the Stiffi Switch Kit barrel tip.

Also mentioned was the bore finish, near the tip to be exact. There are very minute pits, if you will, within the first inch of the barrel tip. Nothing of major concern, yet and hopefully not, but not the 'polished' finish one would expect.
Conclusion: Overall, this is an outstanding product that offers the best in barrel options. Lightweight combined with the use of sizing inserts and at a very affordable price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

monkeymanonx Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
All american, Freak, Shaft, Ultralight, Progressive, Pepper Sticks
Marker Setup: 06 Planet Eclipse Ego, Wisper barrel, Hyrbid lady grips
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any will do
Strengths: Self cleaning
Weight
Many bore sizes to choose from(full freak kit)
Weaknesses: You have to actually buy freak inserts(option available when purchasing)
Review: There's not much to say about this barrel. It has everything you could want. The Deadlywind Wisper carbon fiber barrels are ultra-lightweight and quiet. They are compatible with the Freak(tm) replaceable inserts, so one barrel and a few inserts will do the job of multiple barrels.

Weighing in at 46grams (59 grams with insert), they are 2x to 4x lighter than other replaceable insert barrels.

Each barrel is precision filiment wound on the inside, satin sanded 2x2 twill on the outside, then CNC-ported with 3 spiraling rows of ports. You can't get any more accurate.

Already have inserts? Just buy the barrel by itself. Need an insert to go with it? Buy one with your order.

I went in my backyard and shot 3 times while my barrel condom was on(that was the only way i could get paint to break in the barrel). The first shot cleaned it out and by the second shot it was shooting straight again. This thing is amazing. Don't believe me? Try it out for yourself.
Conclusion: Simply amazing, nothing like it on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ThunderCube Wednesday, December 14th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Redz Pepperstick, Smartparts Freak, Lapco Bigshot, SITE Stiffi, Dye Ultralite32 Degrees Whisper
Marker Setup: Freestyle V7 - HR1 kit, STD JDS LPR
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.
Strengths: Interchangable bores
Weight
Style
O-Ring
Weaknesses: O-Ring
Review: The Deadly Wind Wisper is a great barrel. I previously was using a Redz Pepperstick kit which I liked very much. The only reason for the switch was because I wanted to try something new. I'm very glad I chose the Wisper. It is very lightweight, like a Stiffi, however it uses inserts which are approximately 4-5 inches instead of the 1 inch Sw!tch bores. Freak inserts are also very easy to get so that is another plus. The exterior carbon fiber is very well done, and has a nice matte finish to it. The inside isn't quite as smooth, but I haven't seen any adverse effects from this. The barrel, which matched with the paint, is just as accurate as any other barrel kit. It also has good sound dampening with the good amount of porting. The o-ring which holds the insert in place does it's job very well, perhaps a little too well. You will need to either twist the insert or lube the o-ring, or you might pop it out - not a big problem.

This is a great barrel kit, especially if you want to build your own set from scratch.
Conclusion: I would buy this as a barrel kit if I was looking for another.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media