paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Custom Products Direct Mount ASA / Custom Products Direct Mount ASA / Custom Products Direct Mount ASA / Custom Products Direct Mount ASA

Custom Products Direct Mount ASA Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Custom Products

Buy Custom Products Direct Mount ASA

Paintball Cradles, Rails, Drop Forwards and ASA's

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Custom Products Direct Mount ASA
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This ASA use what we call "System Bleed" and "Virtual Resistance" Due to the fact that it has virtually no resistance at all while turning it on or off. System Bleed will bleed all the air from your tanks lines allowing you to easily remove your tank after degass.
Product Availability 
The Custom Products Direct Mount ASA is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
LordOdin99 Monday, June 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 (updated receiver halves & internals)
Polished internals
HPA
Tech T (QEPH, Lightning Rod, Vortex Mod, Squishy Paddles)
JCS Hex bolt w/ DOP o-ring
JCS Gold powertube
Maddmann drive spring (red)
JCS RVA
PPS Stabilizer
E-grip w/ APE Rampage board
Rhythm Innovation Pro Single Trigger
Lapco bottomline adapter
CP direct mount on/off ASA
14" Full Freak kit w/ stainless steel inserts
TruGlo 40mm Red/Green dot sight
SpecialOps Flattop rail
SpecialOps cocking handle
X7 hopper
Lapco extended foregrip
Strengths: - Rebuildable
- Build quality
- Ease of use
- Great directions
- Dual output ports
Weaknesses: - Size
Review: Mounting the ASA was extremely easy. Just make sure the screws don't fall out otherwise you have to line up the internals again. The rubber band that holds the screws in place when bought make sure of that. It's best to screw it on partially and then cut the band. I love the fact that you put the output on either side of the ASA and it doesn't require a separate rail to mount it. Turning the gas on and off is really easy and makes gun maintenance a breeze. The only thing that I didn't like about it is the size. It seems rather large for its function but if that's the only drawback, I can put up with it.
Conclusion: Very functional and built very well. I love this thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

G1 JO3 77 Wednesday, May 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just stock ones (they suck)
Marker Setup: PMR (black)
torque(smoke)
dxs air tank
cp classic barrel(dust blue)
new designz trigger(dust blue)
new designz pro feed clamp (dust blue)
new designz aluminum back cap (dust blue)
aluminum eye covers (dust blue)
soon to get L7 tech t bolt, ultra light frame and hatred board.
cp on/off asa
Strengths: No resistance when turning on or off
System bleed
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Can run line left or right
The on/off valve is very easy to operate even if you have gloves on.
easy no more dead o-rings/ wasted gas/cycling as you degas.
-Can be broken down easily to replace orings if they become warn.
Wich they probably wont.

HELLA PAINTBALL!!!
HELLA PAINTBALL!!!
HELLA PAINTBALL!!!
HELLA PAINTBALL!!!
HELLA PAINTBALL!!!
HELLA PAINTBALL!!!
HELLA PAINTBALL!!!
HELLA PAINTBALL!!!
Conclusion: I give it a nine because this is the only one i have tried and the are probably better ones out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

whiterasta80 Thursday, December 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Nano (uses a rail system)
WGP rail On/Off (came stock with my Black Magic)
Various stock ASA's that weren't on/off
Marker Setup: Primary:
2K5 Black Magic Autococker (Black/Red)
Torque Hopper
Pure Energy 68/3000 Tank
Evil Pipe Kit

Backup:
Proto SLG (Olive)
CP 2 Piece Barrel (black)
PE 48/3000 Tank
VL Evolution II
Empire nano On/Off

Loaner/Backup's Backup:
2K5 Trilogy Competition
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Shocktech Cocking Rod
Dye Sticky 3 Grips
WGP Cam Adjuster
Evil Pipe Kit
16 Oz CO2 with A/S
VL Revvy with Empire Sound Board
CP On/Off.
Strengths: Bleeding option
Easy to turn
Quick rebuild
Stable
Weaknesses: Prone to leaks
Size


Review: This was my first on/off ASA and I have gotten very good use out of it on a number of different markers (at some point it has been on every marker I've owned except my pistols).

The first thing you will notice about the On/off is its size. There's no way around the fact that this thing is huge compared to most rail/mount on/offs, and other ASA's. It can be frustrating if you're a "marker weight freak" but it also has its benefits in that it is very stable (i.e. it doesn't come loose like alot of other ASA's). Once I put this ASA on a marker I don't have to worry about constantly tightening the screws to hold it in place.

Ignoring the size, this product does exactly what it is supposed to do. The dial is very easy to turn, and the makes it an easy end to the day. For those of you who haven't used an on/off yet- it is a very nice upgrade to have. No more slowly turning the tank off of the system, and no more busted o-rings on your tank.

One nice thing is that the instructions are very well written and give a detailed description of how to take the on/off apart and rebuild it. This can be done in about 5 minutes and requires very little effort, other than re-lubing the o-rings.

This leads me to the one weakness with this product other than size. Of the 3 on/off's I've owned, this is the only one which has ever had a leak. About once every 2-3 months, I can hear a faint leak coming out of it. Now, every single time I've lubed and rebuilt the on/off, the leak has disappeared and it functions properly again. Its just that this On/Off seems to require a bit more active maintenance than any of the other On/Offs I own.
Conclusion: I would buy this product again, but only because I don't mind a little bit of work. If you're a paintballer who's a little lazy with upkeep of his gear, you might end up with a frustrating leak.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 1st, 2008 at 12:34 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

peteralexander7 Thursday, December 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
System X
Check it
Phat
Benchmark
Marker Setup: AGD Emag valve,ULE body, RPG sub zero feed neck, Level X, AGD Intelli double trigger frame with dye sticky grips, Custom Products direct mount on/off , 12in Freak barrel, Empire Reloader I, Crossfire 47ci HPA tank w/ Redz cover.
Strengths: Works Great
Looks Great
Easy to turn off and on
Bleed valve
Weaknesses: Some times too easy to turn off
Review: I love this on/off. In my opinion it is the best one on the market right now. It is so easy to turn off and on. Sometimes too easy. My pinky finger sometimes turns it while I am playing and I shoot and it degasses and so I have to turn it back on quickly. The degassing is a true bleed valve. I have used other on/offs and they dont always bleed the marker 100%. This one does. It is so nice.
Conclusion: Get one! It isnt a matter if you should because once you have one you will wonder why you didnt have one before. It is like why you first convert over from CO2 to Compressed air. You wonder why you didnt do it earlier.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spikeman Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
full function rails
bloodline on/offs
proto rails
max-flos
Marker Setup: Primary:
PMR
14' Ul barrel
Ul frame
Halo B
CP on/off rail
68/3000psi

Back up:
SP impusle
full function bolt
full function hammer
full function valve
full function trigger
20 oz with antisiphon
Halo B

Woodsball:
Spyder MR1
VL 200
16oz.
Strengths: It has good construction
Bleeding option
Relatively cheap
It does what it does
Weaknesses: None really.
Review: Hi everyone, so a few weeks ago i went to my local warped sportz store and decided to get me a UL frame for my rail as well as a Bloodline on/off. So i wait a few days so the guy can install everything and I get the marker back and he airs it up no prob. I get home and decided well heck lets go paint a tree, i attempt to air up my marker but the new design of the nitroduck tanks would not let me screw it in all the way so i take the tank off and go back in my house and go and set the rail back so i have clearance for the stupid lip on the tank. So i go back out and try to paint a tree again and again it doesnt seem to screw in all the way(it would screw in but the pin wouldnt depress on the tank). Then i decide to go back up to warped and ask the tech whats wrong and he goes through and determines that its bloodline rail that isnt depressing the tank so he goes and gets a CP on/off rail and slaps it on and we air it on with my tank and low and behold it airs up, cycles, and what have you. So upon usage of the rail i have not encoutered any problems yet, but i have only had it for a month and a half so if something does happen that is related to the product I will update my review. It has good solid construction, the bleeding is nice, and well it does what it is designed to do.
Conclusion: Well it does what it is designed to do, be an on/off rail with a bleeding option and well since its not gold plated or free im going to have to give it a 8. (5 is avg and 10 is godliness everybody).
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 2k5 on/off - works the same but needs a dovetail mount.
Hybrid Grind on/off - old push-button kind; hard to unscrew tank after degassing.
Function direct mount - works pretty well. Use it on a different gun.
Check It direct mount - more like an asa in a "cage"; annoying to install.
stock Alien asa - nice but knob comes off too easy (came off INSIDE my gear bag).
Marker Setup: Alien '06 Interceptor
Lucky Un1tech
AKA Sidewinder
CP direct mount
rip'd Halo B
Guerilla Ambush 68/45
Strengths: Direct mount.
Easy on/off.
Weaknesses: Sticks out the back too much. (see review for looong story)*
Review: I've gone through way too many asas...

Been a fan of CP on/offs since 2005 because they're so easy to turn on & off. CP really perfected the bleed function. Sure, all on/offs can cut off the air supply to the gun but there's still that pocket of air keeping the tank suctioned onto the asa. CP designed it so the on/off release not only cut off the air supply, but it degassed the asa itself, too, releasing the pressure. Now i know it doesn't take much to unscrew a tank but, c'mon, at the end of the day i want the tank to come off as easy as my pants do.

... ok, too much information. Sorry.

Had the normal CP 2k5 on/off since it came out. But i got tired of drops then just recently got tired of rails. Basically, i want nothing between my frame & my asa. That's when i dipped into the tiny world of true Direct Mounts, which, to my knowledge, only includes Function & CP (Check It & Trinity don't count because they have that weird little cradle/cage thing).

*Bought the Function direct mount since it's flush with the back of the frame, which i prefer because the distance from the end of my tank to the back of the frame is a good distance for me to comfortably shoulder the tank and hold the gun properly. Any added length, even that of a duckbill or (CP direct mount), as small as that is, felt awkward to me.

But that was for 45 frames. My gun now, an 06 Ceptor, has an 85 frame. I tried the Function asa on that and the length was too short, just by a little, for me to shoulder the tank well. So, yay, i could get the CP direct mount!
Conclusion: CP makes the best, imo, on/off asa.

THE best.

Imo.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 13th, 2007 at 1:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MisfitMaker Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Misfit ASA
Marker Setup: -Syndicate Misfit (Green to Black Fade)
-Black Custom Products Class One Piece 14 inch Barrel (.689)
-Black Custom Products Direct Mount ASA
-Pewter Custom Products Grip Regulator
-Trigger Mod
-Green Gravity Hopper (Had an Evolution II but it broke)
Strengths: -Light
-Looks Good
-Good Quality
-Doesn't require CO2 filter.
Weaknesses: -A bit bulky looking
Review: I had to buy this ASA after I dropped my gun on my stock ASA and it bended inwards. So it had to be replaced. I bought in on actionvillage.com for $25. It worked perfectly on my gun after replacing the stock regulator and getting a macro line. No leaks, everything works great after a day of usage.
Conclusion: If you need a good, direct mount ASA. This is it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jdsp1218 Sunday, January 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ASAs (Suck)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Custom Products Direct Mount ASA
45/4500 Nitroduck
12" All American barrel
(More to come testing each parts performance one by one)
------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------
Spyder Compact (old school)
ESP trigger frame
14" Boomstick
32degrees expansion chamber
Twisted LP chamber
32degrees bolt
Strengths: No resistance when turning on or off
System bleed
Weaknesses: Anodizing seems to scratch easy (cosmetic problem only)
Review: I recently purchased my Ion at my local shop wanting to test the gun
that so many people have praised since it came out. My plan is to put
each of the upgrades that I have purchased on the gun one at a time
to test each of their strengths and weaknesses. This was my first upgrade

Strengths:
-Can run line to left or right and plug the other side
-Keeps tank tight to gun
-The on/off valve is very easy to operate, even with gloves on. Degassing becomes very
easy no more dead o-rings/ wasted gas/cycling as you degas.
-Can be broken down easily to replace orings if they become warn.

Weaknesses:
-A little heavier than the stock bottomline but not enough to make a big difference
-Wish it came in a dusted color to match the rest of the gun but again this is only a
cosmetic problem.
-Anodizing seemed to scratch easily (cosmetic problem only)

Considering there is not much to an ASA ,thats about all I have to say about it.
Conclusion: Over all I believe that was a great buy and I would recommend it to anyone that likes to keep their tank tight to the gun without a dropforward. It works very smoothly and I have yet to find a problem that effects its performance.
For me this ASA is a 10. Perfect size, smooth on/off.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bpie03 Friday, December 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
duck bill....
Marker Setup: 04 Prostock
E2
SLIK bolt
Pepperstickz
Evil detonator
CP On/Off
45/4500 Crossfire
Halo B
Strengths: Looks
Easy to turn
Bleed feature
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I needed an On/Off because I was tired of using the stock asa/cage my gun came with. With the cage the asa would turn while putting my tank in and degassing which would be very annoying no matter how tight the screws were. So, my friend had gotten one of these for his PM5. We were shooting it and he isnt to good with putting in tanks, lol so I gassed it up for him and wow, very easy turn. I also liked how you could screw the tank in and then turn it on. That made me decide to buy it, $45 isnt terrible now that I see how nice of a product it is. One mistake I made was not loctiting/teflon taping the side screw. Make sure you do that it give it proper time to dry before you gas up your gun. I didnt do that so it leaked and I thought something was wrong with the on/off. I also like the bleed feature its very nice.
Conclusion: This product is great, I really like it and it does a good job at what its for. Also it has a lifetime guarantee so you can't go wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintbala5 Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ndz, other cps, duckbills
Marker Setup: 05 empire timmy
ultralite barrel
cp reg
cp trigger
cp direct mount on/off
new volumizer
twist lock feedneck
eigenram

back up promaster
ndz rail on/off combo
freak jr
cp reg
Strengths: Easy to turn
Price
Bleed
Easy install
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought this at my local shop for $40. when you think about it when you buy an on/off and rail seperate it costs more than you would normally pay for just this. the on.off is really easy to turn on or off. and unlike the ndz one i have also this actually bleeds when you turn it off EVERYTIME. anyway the install was also very easy to do... just screw it in. a monkey could figure this out.
Conclusion: This asa is definetly the best i have ever used and higly recommend it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media