paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels

Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sly Equipment

Buy Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Carbon fiber barrel system that uses aluminium breech sizers. Comes in Pro, Stealth, and Camo editions.
Product Availability 
The Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ego09forlife Friday, May 14th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 1 peace
Marker Setup: Proto slg
vLocity Jr
hpa
my new sly barrel!
Stryker str 1
gravity loader
co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything
Strengths: Accurate, light, quiet, looks super cool, stays clean
Weaknesses: The normle price
Review: I just got my sly barrel today, and i went in my yard to test it out with the lowest grade of karnage thats been sitting for a while. My fps was either too high or too low because my gun was acting wierd like it does when the fps isnt right. But still, the barrel shot perfectly. I was about 60 yards away and all the balls hit on the same square yard, but most of them in the middle. When i got a little closer, it was almost ball on ball. I'm sure if i get the fps right it'll be almost ball on ball from 60 yards.
Conclusion: I am very impressed with this barrel for the price i paid. I got it on sale from ans gear, front and back for $75! I wouldnt pay $120 for it because im not rich
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

timmyh007 Monday, January 11th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eclipse Shaft II and III barrels
Eclipse SL Barrel Kit
Dye Ultralite
Smart Parts Freak system
Marker Setup: Luxe
Dye Rotor
Pure Energy 68
Strengths: Lightweight
Appealing looks
Weaknesses: So light it seems fragile ( seemed to upset balance of marker )
Lack of porting
Review: I bought a used two piece Carbon Sly barrel System and tested on a stock Eg0 09. I was sorely disspointed as the first thing I noticed was the sound signature of the marker seemed ti increase tenfold. I realise poppet valve guns are loud but with a plastic barrel they sound as if you have installed a megaphone on your gun. The range also seemed to be affected too. After chronoing at 290 fps with the Shaft II stock sytem then changing to the Sly I was shooting paint 30/40 yards less. Very odd. Changed back to the Shaft and all was fine again and the gun became quieter.
A noticeable downgrade from using this barrel system was the balance of the gun was upset massivley .....an Ego is a light marker and manufactured with perfect balance...by swapping the stock to a Sly the gun semmed to left more when fired in a ramping mode and made posting more difficult.
Conclusion: Not for me. Perhaps more suited to a spooler
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Da'dtou-di Monday, July 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Pipe
Armson Stealth
Marker Setup: Spyder VS3
-VS2 trigger
-Tadao Board
-Evil pipe

Ion
- Sly CF 12"
-Dynasty Body
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any - it's a kit
Strengths: Quiet
Light
No breaks, yet
Weaknesses: Price
Finish
Review: This barrel's pretty slick. It's great at not breaking paint (I havent broken one ball in it, to date shooting about 4 cases). When it does, it's a pain to clean as swabs are a "no no".

I love this barrel I can only see two spots for improvement as listed in the weaknesses. Paying 180 bucks hurt.... Also, the end of my barrel has the clearcoat kind of bubbling. Not exactly what I want in something this expensive.
Conclusion: In short, I think if you can get this at a discounted price it's a sure buy. Otherwise, I think that you could get slightly lower quality at a significantly lower price. (I got my pipe for 70 bucks, and it's on par accurate, just breaks more).

Overall - it's a buy, if the cash isn't too tight.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint2ballfreak Sunday, August 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts freak kit. Stock bob long assassin barrel.
Marker Setup: Warped Sportz Dark Timmy; Tadao OLED Alias Board, Sly barrel w/ 689 back, Bob long cam drive.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Doesn't matter because its a kit.
Strengths: Accurate, Quiet, Light, Looks
Weaknesses: Doesn't clean itself in 2 shots.
Review: STRENGTHS:

Very accurate and quiet. It weighs 4-7 times lighter than a aluminum barrel. It looks amazing. I get a spread of about 4 inches from about 45 Yards. Does everything a good barrel should do.

WEAKNESSES:

Doesn't clean itself in two shots like they said it would. It's more like 10-15 and until it cleans itself those paintballs are going everywhere. Cant use a cloth squeegie.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this to anyone. If you don't have the money to get the entire kit just get a front and one back, then when you get another 30 bucks buy another back.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Friday, June 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lucky Un1tech - innovative design because of the full-length bore.
CP 2-piece - ok but kits are costly.
Freak Jr - not a fan of inserts.
Equation Bizerk - again, not a fan of inserts but this barrel was pretty good.
Marker Setup: ul'd DM5 w/ Critical trigger, Hybrid Hedlock, CP asa & EPEK flow plug.
CP 2-piece
Halo B
Crossy 68/45
Recommended
Paintballs:
It's a kit, so any.
Strengths: Light
Self-cleaning*
Weaknesses: Price
Can't use swabs**
Review: Ran into some money so i decided to splurge on a Sly kit , ordered through a local shop. Barrel kit came in 2 separate packages, one for the front (+ stickers) & one for the 4 backs (+ barrel wrap case & more stickers). Sly spends a lot on packaging for these things.

All the pieces were well-manufactured. Backs were anno'd & polished w/ engraved bore sizes. Front was nicely glazed. The two Sly jewels on the front stuck out a lot but they were small - just an observation.

Fronts & backs screwed together nicely. No hangups or snagging & they stayed screwed together. The backs also stayed screwed onto the gun very well... a little too well. In fact, that may have been Sly's intention, as they included holes in the backs so you can use an allen wrench as leverage to remove them from the gun (holes have no effect on performance, as the front covers them on the interior when screwed in).

Barrel is incredibly light, obviously. And i can't say much more about that.

Accurate as hell! Shot arrows like Robin Hood, son! Shot ball on ball w/ a good paint-barrel match. First had it on a Mini, then used it on my cousin's 2k5 timmy and finally on a Gen E Matrix. Used Karnage Bite, mostly.

*The Sly does indeed clear breaks very well, as advertised. Takes about 3-4 shots. I had even chopped a couple times with the Mini and it even helped clear that, although it couldn't clear the breech at all; it still regained most of its accuracy.

However, i over-bored in one instance just out of laziness and broke a ball or two and found that it had trouble clearing it. My first assumption is it clears better with a good paint-bore match but i don't know how that'd affect the front, since that bore is wider, anyway. I never did test the theory further.

**Can't use swabs, fluffy squeegees, etc. The swab fibers can catch onto microscopic strands of carbon fiber around the porting and unravel it, essentially ruining the barrel. But you can always use rubber squeegees or straight shots and be fine - or just shoot through the breaks.
Conclusion: Overall great barrel aside from the price being relatively steep. Still, worth the money if you want a super light barrel, like the carbon fiber look, and actually have the cash to spare.

I actually sold mine but only because i needed the money to pay for more essential things... like bills.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deano 177 Monday, June 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is the first barrel that I have owned with the adjustable sizes
Marker Setup: ][nvert Mini olive w/ Techt gold bolt
Empire Vents Avatar with fire thermals
Halo V35 w/ green empire shell or Smoke Reloader B2
68/4500 Crossfire/Pure Energy with DYE covers
][nvert 3+2 Loaders
][nvert Digi Woodland Outfit
][nver Digi Red Outfit
VS3
Spyder MR 1
Halo Frontman
14" j&j barrel
Spyder E-trigger
Palmer's Stablizer

Recommended
Paintballs:
That's the good thing about these type of barrels... I have been shooting Draxus, Kickin', Diablo heat formula 13.... What ever. Just don't change paint without resizing your back...
Strengths: Carbonfiber is light
Different backs for different paint
Shoots clean
Lifetime warranty
Weaknesses: No fluffy swabs...
Only 4 Different backs
Review: I got the "DUAL CARBON MIL SIM" (I don't know why it says mil sim with white writing on it?) which shows on their site as a cocker thread only and avaible with the 14" front. I guess the different fronts will work with all the backs...

I have been in the market for a new barrel for my mini for a while. I know a guy who has a stiffi on his mini and it is pretty sweet. His barrel is a one piece so he can't change his bore size(I don't think!). He paid a little more than a hundred for his. I wasn't prepared to slap down a hundred for a barrel that you couldn't change the bore size even though it is really quiet and looks great. I took a trip to the B!tchin PB to check out their knee pads and they just got one of these in. He would have sold me one back and the front for $120 ish or the whole package which included 4 backs, the front, a barrel bag and a free t-shirt for $171.00. Seemed like a good deal and I had seen another guy at my field running a mini with the yellow Infamous style SLY CF. So I said what the heck and bought it.

First impressions:
One of the first things that I noticed was that it was very well constructed and super light.

Once I sized my pballs (.683 I think), I took it to the target range and was hitting some tight groups. I was shooting at a 4" disk @ around 65' and hitting it 3 out 4 shots. I also noticed that I didn't have any "zingers". 95% of all balls that I shot went straight and true.

I also noticed that the report of the marker was pretty quiet. Mini's are already quiet even with the stock barrel but I don't know how you could get much quieter.

There are only a few negative aspects with these type of barrels: No fluffy cloth swabs can be used in them. I guess the fibers of the swab gets caught in the carbon fiber of the barrel. It will void your warranty. I would like to see a few more backs. You only get 4 with this barrel in sizes .683", .686", .689", .692". I'm not sure if they are going to offer any other sizes.
Conclusion: A good barrel for a decent price. You may not have all the options of the freak barrels (8 sizes?but really, do you guys with the freak inserts use all of yours?). Good for players who never know what paint you'll be using next.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 14th, 2008 at 11:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint_Baller33 Friday, April 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak- its fine but not accurate or self-cleaning
Redz pepperstick- really nice but still not as accurate
Other than that, stock barrels but no other CF barrels
Marker Setup: 05 Superstock
Trinity CFN
NDZ on/off

Spyder VS2
Trinity FB
CP reg
PMR asa
Recommended
Paintballs:
If you get the kit any but if you dont have that money id suggest medium bore paintballs like RPS
Strengths: Accurate, Self-cleaning, Looks, LIGHT
Weaknesses: Expensive and you cant use fuzzy swabs
Review: Accurate, Lovely looking, Light, Self-Cleaning in 1-4 shots, need i say more?? SLY made an excellent barrel. Its a 50 word minimum so im just going to type random things like this sentence you are reading. Well its an excellent barrel so if you want a barrel that is gonna increase your accuracy and you have a deep pocket buy it. You cant go wrong with this barrel. P.S. SLY has excellent customer service.
Conclusion: If you have the money and need one of the lightest and most accurate barrels on the market. get these
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rambob Thursday, April 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Freak Kit
CP 2 piece
Knock Out ( does anyone remember those??)
Bob Long
Marker Setup: Marq 6,Dye high pressure70/4500, 14' Sly Barrel Kit, View Loader Velocity, Bob Long S-Class trigger and Critical ON/OFF.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used and done well with Chronic, Pro Ball, X-ball Gold, Ink'd and Spank. we practice with Spank.
Strengths: Quite and Light
Weaknesses: Wish they came with more backs.
Review: I use the Stealth barrel. I like the flat finish and the weight is very nice. Having the backs weight right up against the marker helps keep the marker balanced and makes change of direction easier. Here are my Pro's, Con's and In betweens.

Pro's.

Weight- While the barrel is light, much lighter feeling than other barrels I have at my disposal. I feel the fact that the backs carry most of the weight of the barrel to the rear. Keeping the center of gravity near the marker and making chnage of direction and position very easy. Don't be fooled this makes a big difference.

Quiet- I noticed that the sounds coming out of the barrel are smoother and deeper. This is nice because they will be covered up by the voices and shooting of other markers.

Accurate- I would put this barrel on par with the Freak kit with All American front ( my personal favorite). To me that is a very high compliment.

Con's

Backs- I wish the kits could be had with more sizes ( though I dont really need them). It just is nice to know you have the exact right size all the time.

Umm that is not a very big con sorry.

In Between's- The costs of different length fronts is kinda high. I usually only us 14" barrels but hey I may need a different barrel someday.
Conclusion: As far as barrel kits go this is the one to buy. I love my freak kits. I have Three, they are just as quiet. I just find that the way the SLY barrels are weighted and the sound that comes out is just suits me better.

I give it a 10. The best barrel I have ever had used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KaSBeK Tuesday, June 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye UltraLite 14", SP Freak
Marker Setup: Ego Etek, Empire B2,Sly 14" barrel,
Recommended
Paintballs:
Proto
Strengths: Diferent Cal. (.683 .692 .689. 686)
Weight
Looks
Barrel Wrap
Weaknesses: None (see review if u think is expensive)
Review: U really get a great pack with the barrel for $180 u get, 4 caliber addapters
(.683 .692 .689. 686) so u can find the one that ur paint needs, the barrel warp is great and has space for another barrel, 2 extra adapters, and a good sized bag with zipper
so its really not expensive cuz this is the stuff, there are no barrel in the market that fills the SLY shoes...

The first thig i did after using my new Sly Barrel was to sell the Dye UL in 5 bucks... lol
this is a serious barrel... its truly ULTRALITE, and it makes ur makrer really acurate, maybe the only low score for the etek is acuraccy... well the sly makes u feel like a US Army Sniper... its really a different marker with the UL or the SLY... it weights like half of the UL and its twice acurate...

Conclusion: If u really want to improove ur acuraccy and the total weight of the marker this is the barrel ur lookin for... its the best barrel by far
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

77BECKER77 Wednesday, May 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye UL- Louder, less accurate, heavier
Ego 5 Stock barrel- heavier, louder, less accurate
Marker Setup: Ego 5
45/45
Sly kit
Empire B
Recommended
Paintballs:
Our Field paint shoots great, and so does Draxxus Blaze
Strengths: Light, Accurate, Bore Backs, Appearance
Weaknesses: None Found
Review: I was looking for a nice barrel kit and was trying to buy a dye ul and maybe 2 backs but the cost of that was a huge issue. By buying the sly i saved myself alot of money and this sly kit is great. It comes with a nice barrel wrap that holds 6 bores and 2 barrels, and has other various pouches. Great product.
Conclusion: If your looking for a great barrel kit, look no more.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media