paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels

Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sly Equipment

Buy Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Carbon fiber barrel system that uses aluminium breech sizers. Comes in Pro, Stealth, and Camo editions.
Product Availability 
The Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Twitch28 Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye UL
Freak Kit
Stiffi
CP Barrel Kit
All-American
Stock Barrels on many markers
Marker Setup: Dust Black Infinity Legend. 16in(.692) SLY dual Carbon kit, VLocity, Nitro duck 90/4500 HP tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus, Evil, Premium, All high end paint. (i havent shot low-end pain in barrel yet)
Strengths: LIGHTEST BARREL EVER HAD ON MY GUN!!!!! dont need to clean if ball breaks. major +++++
Weaknesses: None as far as i've seen.
Review: Ok so i just got this barrel about...3 weeks ago. So last sat i headed to the local field to test it out. I shot a few balls in the chronie area, seemed ok, wasnt "impressed" or anything. it seemed to shoot like a regular ultralight. and boy was i wrong. once the first game started, i realised how incredible this barrel was. on a 7-man field i gogged 2 guys in a snap-battle across the field. (back-right to back-left). After 5-6 pods broke 1 ball, 2-3 shots later couldnt even tell i had broken one. Another kid there had a a Stiffi, and we decided to see which was better. The Sly won, on the same gun,(06 dark ego), same paint, same amount of shots, same everything. we even intentionally broke a ball in the barrel to test the theory out. The sly after the breka kept shooting soup, the SLy cleared it right out and shot rails after. DEFINITLY BEST BARREL EVER SHOT. once i get enough $$$ im buying the whole kit.
Conclusion: This is the lightest, best at clearing paint, and im my opinion accurate barrel on the market today. There is no need 2 buy a kit, but if you can, do it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

agentM192 Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Apex
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: A5
Special Ops A5A2 Kit
SO Shorty Shroud
14" Sly CF Barrel
Response Trigger
Some $12 Daisy Sight
Lapco Offset Sight Rail
Strengths: Very accurate.
EXTREMELY light.
Weaknesses: Price.
Can't use normal swabs.
Coating can get scratched easily.
Review: I love this barrel. I really love how you can buy different bore-sized backs instead of a whole other barrel. It's extremely light and very accurate. Looks bad@$$ too. The Sly barrel also has ball-for-ball accuracy and excellent groupings. I recommend this barrel to anyone who can afford it.
Conclusion: Very accurate and extremley light. Awesome product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thrice Friday, March 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cp barrel
Marker Setup: stock system X NME LE Black and Yellow w/ low pressure 68/45 reloader b (empire) sly barrel 14" 689 BACK
Recommended
Paintballs:
i use stingers alot because they are so cheap, and they shoot really well.
Strengths: Super light!
Accurate!
Shoots through paint!
No swabs!
Life time warranty!
Weaknesses: Price
Can't use swabs, but you dont need too!
outside peals with stickers
Review: DON'T PUT STICKERS ON THIS BARREL...THEY PEAL OFF THE CARBON

I went to Huntington beach hoping to get my hands on the lucky barrel but since they went out of bussiness i looked eslewhere and saw a sly booth. First off i was amazed about how light this thing is. and the look of the carbon barrel is pritty nice too. i got mine for 105$ with the back. i wanted to test this so bad because they said it will shoot through paint and i didnt believe it...well i tried to break a ball.. really i did!! but this barrel never chops! i feild tested this at slpat and i never broke a ball. 2000 paintballs no breaks!! another going i used some other persons brittle paint and i broke a ball and the very next shot was straight as can be!!! i was shocked...and this barrel took so much wieght off my gun!
Conclusion: Great product.. great service.. life time warranty...worth the money!! you will never buy another barrel again!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 9th, 2007 at 10:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bdill Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion barrel
tear drop
Marker Setup: ion
sly barrel
VLocity
q-lock
qev
Strengths: light
accurate
light
light!
LIGHT!
Weaknesses: Cost
Review: I got a sly barrel on Christmas and put it on my ion. I immediately noticed how light it was. It does make the gun a little back-heavy, but it feels great once you shoulder it. I took it outside and shot a bag through it. It was very accurate, and a huge step up from the stock barrel on the ion. Personally I think it's a great looking barrel too.
Conclusion: This is by far the best barrel I've used and highly reccomend it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

urduja Monday, January 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralight - about the same performance, only Sly is slightly lighter
Powerlyte Scepter - just as accurate, but Sly is WAY lighter and quieter
Freak < Sly had more accuracy and less breaks
stock Proto barrel < Sly hands down, all my problems were from the stock
Marker Setup: olive PM5 -> ccm feedneck, cp razor drop w/ on/off, orange bolt, Sly 14" camo kit, 45/45 pure energy
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY
i've tried everything on it from paint so old it was powder, dimpled paint, to xball gold - so long as the the paint to bore was close enough it did not cause any breaks, and except for the really badly shaped paint it still shot it out fairly accurately, and the really good paint was paint on paint accuracy.
Strengths: Light.
Quiet.
Accurate.
Taper design is awesome.
Weaknesses: None other than the coating peeling, but SLY immediately replaced it hassle-free.
Review: when i first bought my marker i kept everything stock. but, the first time i went out and played with it i chopped and broke paint soo much with the stock barrel that i figured that ANY barrel besides the stock proto one would be better. i first looked into the Dye ultralight barrel but it did not have enough choices for backs. then, i came across the SLY carbon barrels, and although i hadnt heard about them, they seemed pretty interesting. the price was about the same if i went with the Dye, but the 200 dollars for the barrel and the backs was worth the risks of not knowing the product. as soon as i played with the barrel i could feel the difference. it was alot quieter and i have NEVER had broken paint because of the barrel. there were a couple of times that i played eye-less and if there was a break it was because of the bolt. the barrel cleaned itself out and i never had any getting stuck. i think this is because of the taper design. i go out with some friends to play and i usually take the worse of the paint, just because my marker and barrel can handle it. customer service is also so awesome, the coating of the original barrel i got started peeling, and they replaced it. i even requested for a barrel that would look similar to the one i had, and even though all of the barrel designs are one of a kind, they did their best to match what i had. ive shot really bad old paint through and i still got paint on paint accuracy up to 50 feet. for the good paint i was shooting across the field and hitting my mark pretty consistently. after shooting through this barrel it will be really hard for other barrels to compete in performance.
Conclusion: Awesome barrel. Ever since i bought it, i havent had any paint problems. it's worth every cent and then some.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 24th, 2007 at 12:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

assassin42 Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
lapco, sp all american, stiffi
Marker Setup: 06 ego
14" sly stealth w/4 backs
aka 2-liter plus
crossfire 45/45
Recommended
Paintballs:
i haven't used a whole lot of brands through my sly.
but of the bonus (lol), nelsplat, midnight, procaps & jt freedoms i have shot, the freedoms w/red white & blue shell in plain white box shot the best. pretty much ball on ball when i held my hand steady.
Strengths: -LIGHT!
-more quiet than most
-sturdy
Weaknesses: -PRICE!
-Colors(picky, i know)
-Bore sizes
Review: i checked out the design of these barrels and convinced myself it was worth the investment.

man this barrel is light! it took so much weight of the front of my marker, it feels like i can just whip that thing around faster now. i use this barrel primarily when i play speedball on the weekends, so it has gotten used a lot.

this barrel, in my opinion, is AS ACCURATE AS ANY OTHER top-line barrel. when i use quality paint, properly matched i can achieve TIGHT groupings! one thing i do notice is sometimes during fast & furious play my barrel seems to unthread slightly. this thing is VERY quiet and durable. i have dived and went barrel first into many a dirt ditch or turf field only to scratch my pretty finish with no ill effects on the carbon fiber. it also does clear paint out fairly efficiently.

only real gripe is choice of bore sizes, .683 .686 .689 .692
Conclusion: If money is no object and you like to be different, buy it.
As far as accuracy, this barrel is as good as it gets.
It gets a 9 because of choice of bore sizes
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

plaxico Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: -SP ION
-T-Board w/Membrane Pad
-Empire Reloader B
-Max Flo Micro, 45/4500 tank
-SP Firebolt
-360 qev
-Q-lock feedneck
-Sly Dual Carbon Barrel Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, of course better=better results
blaze
marbals
engage
Strengths: -Weight(feather light)
-Self-Clean
-Quality,Accuracy
Weaknesses: -None
Review: i haven't used much else besides a sp teardrop and stock barrels but i have to say this barrel is still amazing. from the moment you open the package you can tell the quality of the product. when i picked up the barrel i was actually confused for a moment, it is so light. the looks of it are like no other. i have the camo with black backs and the fade on it is astounding. when i screwed the back into the barrel it was like butter. the sizes are clearly marked on the backs and quite easy to see. when it comes to firing it performs flawlessly and it really does clean breaks quickly like some people have said. just to add when i ordered it i didn't receive a shipping notice in a day or 2 so i emailed them. i got a personal email from Tyson(the owner) back by the end of the day apologizing for the delay and the next email i had was the shipping notice, i got the package a few days later.
Conclusion: Everything is of the highest quality, a must have.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

QuIkSiLvErR Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None Other
For the Front and backs
-Freak
-Edge
-Lucky
Marker Setup: -SP Ion
-Halo B
-3000 PSI N2 Tank
-Full Face Head Shield
-Sly Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
CHEAP PAINTBALLS N O T RECOMMENDED but will shoot it.
Strengths: -CD light
-3 Different Front Styles
-Carbon Fiber
-Backs
-Different Front Lengths
Weaknesses: -Cost
-Cheap logo on Barrel
-More backs
Review: An awesome light barrel that shoots darts if used the right kind of paint. No barrel breaks so far and took less than 3 shots to take a wasp nest out with less than 5 inches apart of shots and around 15-20 feet away. (I don't have a steady hand) The logo could have been done better the backs and fronts are tapered so there is no friction when it moves from one to another seeming like it's just one barrel. Durable barrel that can take a medium abuse.


No swab squeegies or you'll screw up this barrel
Conclusion: Awesome, worth the price, shoots like DARTS!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dayday Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various DYE barrels - accurate, breaks are a nightmare
Freak - accurate, heavy, breaks are a nightmare
Lapco - accurate, efficient, loud
Marker Setup: E2 '05 prostock with other goodies
Recommended
Paintballs:
I bought the kit, so most quality paint will work.
Strengths: - Accurate
- Quiet
- Light weight
- Looks amazing
- Comes with barrel bag
- Customer service
- Shoots clean?
Weaknesses: - Can't use fluffy squeegees
- It's so light that it feels almost fragile
- Price
Review: Every once in a while I'll see something new that I just have to purchase. The SLY barrel was one of those products. They did a great job of creating an image and a feel for their product, and although I can't really pinpoint what it is that makes me buy certain items...this barrel just has a cool factor to it that others lack.

Packaging: When I received my shipment from SLY, I was immediately impressed by the packaging. The barrels come very well packaged to prevent damage during shipping. Also included is a fairly nice barrel bag that has room for your backs and more. Once you get past that, though, prepare to be really amazed.

Looks: I ordered the stealth kit, and had to wait an extra week or so due to it being backordered. I always heavily research products before I buy, and I noticed that a lot of people were complaining about the "cheap" looking excess film (or whatever it was) around the logo on the barrel. I was less than enthusiastic about it, but didn't let it stop me from making the purchase. I was surprised when I took the barrel out to find no trace of white left. With this new batch, SLY has eliminated the problem. It's completely black on the carbon graphite background and looks absolutely incredible. On the opposite side of the SLY logo is the dual carbon logo. It's barely visible indoors, but the whole understatement and "sly" theme are pulled off well. The barrel also seemed to me to be much darker than the pictures indicate. It's got a very matte finish, which again, fits with the whole theme. I've never been more impressed by a barrel's looks.

Weight: Some people have claimed that the weight (or lack of) up front is so drastic that it actually throws the balance of their market off. There's no way that's true. While it is really light weight, it's not as if it's going to just float away. However, if you're looking to shave some weight off your marker, this is a great way to do it. I don't have access to anything that can be considered precise for weighing such a light weight object, but I'd guestimate it's about half the weight of a similar length aluminum barrel.

Fit: The fit between the backs and the front is about as perfect as you can get. The o-ring definitely helps, of course. The barrel won't come loose after shooting. The fit to the gun is almost too tight. I met some resistance screwing one or two of the backs in and out. At one point one of the backs got stuck and only the front unscrewed. Luckily someone realized this may happen and there have been holes milled into the back pieces to allow allen wrenches to be inserted to unscrew the backs. The front has to be removed to be able to do this, though, because when it's on it covers the holes (to, I imagine, maintain efficiency?).

Porting: A lot of people are reporting that this barrel has made their guns quieter. I'm not really sure how truthful that is. My previous barrel was a DYE ultralight and I think it's roughly the same. Velocity stayed the same as well when I switched, so they're about the same when it comes to efficiency.

Accuracy/bore sizes: The accuracy is the same as the ultralight, assuming good paint to barrel match. This kit came with the following sizes: .683, .686, .689, and .692. On their site, it says that the sizes are .686, .689, .692, .695...so they changed that at some point. And for the better, I think. I've never seen paint that needed a .695 barrel. The bore size is engraved really small at the base of the back. On their site it shows it much bigger, and it took me a second or two to find it. I almost thought I ended up with four backs without labels.

Shoots clean/squeegees: I haven't had a break yet, so I don't know how well it cleans itself out. I'll be sure to edit this when I do. And just as a comment to people who say you CAN use barrel swabs and other fluff squeegees - why would you want to? If you spend 200 bucks on a barrel kit, it makes sense to me to follow the manufacturer's instructions. As a side note, water won't hurt the barrel. I was wondering about that and got a definitive answer from SLY, in case anyone else was worried.

Edit 6/13 - Still no breaks. I may just break paint on purpose and see what happens.
Edit 7/7 - I broke paint on purpose and it took three shots to clean out. Not "clean enough to be accurate", rather it was "clean". Simply amazing.

Customer service: Tyson (the owner of SLY) emailed AND called me after I had placed my order to explain that everything was backordered. I exchanged a few emails with him after I had received my barrel (and we're talking fast replies, like within hours), and it's obvious he stands behind his products and cares about his customers. How's that for customer service? I would not hesitate to do business with him and his company again. I just hope it stays that way. A lot of companies start off like this and end up on the other end of the spectrum later on.

Edit 7/17 - I bought a PM6 a month or so ago, and my SLY didn't fit due to DYE changing their threads. I emailed Tyson two months after having purchased the SLY kit, and told him about my problem. He told me to mail the barrel backs in and he'd switch them out. Now, I realize he's done this for other people...but my case is a bit different. I bought the barrel for an autococker. Not a DYE gun. I also used the barrel on the gun I bought it for, multiple times. And he was still willing to replace it, no hassles, no questions asked, free of charge (with the exception of me having to pay shipping to return the barrels, he paid to ship the new ones back to me) and with a much quicker turn around than I was quoted. I cannot believe the level of service you get. It really does justify the price. Every company should model themselves after SLY, Tyson has his act together.
Conclusion: I had some reservations about buying such a new product, but all those fears were dispelled the second I opened that box.

If there was ever a barrel that deserved a perfect score, it's this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 17th, 2006 at 7:02 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

no samples Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nite stick- very good for price
boomstick-over rated
ultralite-over rated
teardrop-good
Marker Setup: agd mag
ule
x-valve
level 10
drop forward
apache hopper
macdev legionair
sly camo barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
x-ball
all stars--my favorite
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: Have not found any.
Review: First of all the barrel itself is beautiful. the quality of workmanship is obvious. the packaging and barrel bag also very impressive. the accuracy of the barrel is better than any i've ever shot. i cannot speak to the fact that the barrel is suppose to self clean after a barrel break. i've put about 3 cases through it and have not yet had a break. i have noticed after a day of play the barrel has had residue on the inside(i suppose due to oil on the paintballs). that has not affected accuracy. the only reason i noticed is because i always wash my barrel after play. people say not to use a barrel swab on carbon fiber. i use a pull-through squeegee and it works great.
Conclusion: Awsome barrel. i know the price is high but if it's the last and only barrel you'll need then in my opinion it's worth it. so .......do not get this barrel if you're ever gonna play against me. otherwise get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media