paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels / Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels

Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sly Equipment

Buy Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 25
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Carbon fiber barrel system that uses aluminium breech sizers. Comes in Pro, Stealth, and Camo editions.
Product Availability 
The Sly Equipment Dual Carbon Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Msabercr Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye ultra light
stiffi
redz pepper stick
javelin
wgp two piece
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 04, Evolve Kit, Sly 14" barrel kit with .689 barrel back, CCM Clamping lowrise feedneck, sidewinder regulator, tadao musashi 7 board, 05 tpr grip cheaks, system x push button on off, system x centerflag tank with nxe cover, redz neoprene barrel condom, anti chop bolt, halo with victory board
Recommended
Paintballs:
not sure
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I only shot one type of paint through it and that was proto. let me tell you it did not like proto at all my gun hasn't had a barrel break in a while and thats mainly because i shot proto through the stock infinity barrel so i figure hey i just got this new barrel why not try it out and see how well it shoots. well i screw it in and air up first thing that happens is a barrel break with a .689 back. know i dont really like barrel break and it hasn't happened in a while so i thought maybe i chopped. I open up the breach clean as a whistle only thing left to do know is try to get the other backs for the barrel. so i go on the website and see that they have the 5 piece back set but geuss what. no angel threading they have everything else but no angel threading i wonder why that is. i havn't persued it any farther yet i will as soon as i reck my infinity which wont be any time soon
in the mean time i'll try other "recommended" paint and see how it shoots
Conclusion: After testing further after my first impression i have concluded that the sly is very tempermental as to what the ball is made of. i found that almost all of the diablo and draxxus paint shoots extremely well through it. it didn't like anything in the rps spectrum besides bigball and marbalizer. chronic shot well, xball shot awesome, and gap is what im about to test next. revised review is a 7 because good barrels should be able to shoot any kind of paint you throw at it
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 2:32 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

Kevs68 Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Kanar Barrel, WGP Stock barrel, J&J
Marker Setup: '05 Super Stock Autococker
Eclipse Eblade 2 w/ QEV's
ANS Ram
AKA SCM Reg
MQ-Valve
SLIK Edge III Bolt
SLIK Miniblock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo
Strengths: Extremly Light!! Barrel bag
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: It is shipped in a great looking clear package, when I first opened it up and held the barrel I was in shock at how light it really was, my wife was even shocked!

The barrel itself is great, I got the Stealth Dual Carbon, I think it looks great, it shoots outstanding, and is quit and accurate.

It comes with a Barrel bag, holds up to 4 barrels and 6 backends and other odd ball things, such as allen keys etc... it is very well made

The only downside I found was when I screwed the backend in the body of my cocker, it would only go half a turn, due to SLY's Logo Stickers at the rear end of the backend, it would hit my RAM, which is actually smaller in diameter then the stock RAM. So I simply pulled them off carefully not to scratch the backend. I called SLY and Tyson answered and was a bit surprised that I had to do that as he said they tested it on a few Autocockers and said he had no issues, but would talk to the R&D to look into it.

Tyson was really helpfull when ordering and during shipping.
Conclusion: This is the barrel to have! I have seen a few Stiffis at my field, but I personally like the SLY better. Don't worry about ordering this barrel, its worth it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

blackbox619 Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
14 inch Dye Ultralite - very lightweight and accurate, very similar to the Sly
16 inch Dye Boomstick - much heavier than the Sly but just as similar in accuracy
Marker Setup: 2003 BlackMagic Autococker
- E2
- Planet Eclipse Nexus kit
- Slik bolt
- CCM delrin pump arm
- CCM delrin backblock
- CP reg
- Check it unimount
- Egg
- 68/4500 Crossfire CF tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've been using Stinger housepaint at my local field and had an excellent experience with the Sly. I haven't tried anyother paint because thats the only paint that they sell there. I use a .692 back.
Strengths: Strengths of this product include quietness and accuracy.
Weaknesses: Can't use a barrel swab to clean because it will damage the carbonfiber inside.
Review: I shot paint through this all day long and broke paint once but it cleaned itself out after 2-3 shots exactly like Sly said, that was amazing because after the game I took off the barrel want wanted to clean the inside but it was spotless!! Like I said, this barrel its quiet and very accurate. I shot paint over 50 feet and they all hit around the same spot within eachother and there was no ball dropping.
Conclusion: I highly recommended for the money it goes for! You can sell all your barrels and just keep this one. I rate this a 9 because Sly sent me the wrong size barrel, I asked for a 14 but they sent me a 12 so i decided to keep it to avoid the hassle of returning it and waiting for a 14. Overall this barrel gets the job done!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 12th, 2006 at 4:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Permiwood Friday, March 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi, CCM, Ultralite
Marker Setup: Black to Red Fade PM6, 14" Sly Stealth Carbon Fiber barrel

Black Promaster, ccm no pro feedneck, Proto 2 peice barrel(of my PM6)

Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus
Strengths: Light, Quiet, Accurate, looks cool, cleans paint very quickly.
Weaknesses: Kind of Expensive for the whole kit.
Review: I was very cautious getting this barrel as it was new and not very many reviews on it, but I thought it looked cool and the idea of a tapered bore to reduce ball drag was a good Idea, so I thought I would give it try. My first impresions when I got this barrel were good it comes with a nice barrel wrap to hold other barrels, and backs, I was impressed with the finish on the barrel, its more like the stiffi finish then the ccm finish which I like. So I went got my Promaster(this is before I had my PM6) threw the barrel on and went to shooting my first impressions of shooting it were it was alot quieter than my ultralite and a little bit more accurate than the stiffi, I then put some paint that I found setting around while moving that was probably about 2 years old and started to rip, I went through a Empire B and no breaks so I loaded up another hopper full started to rip and finaly a break, I took 2 shots after the break and it was shooting perfectly again. I then got my PM6 and put it on that went to the field and I must say I love how this barrel shoots on my PM6, I did have a problem with my Empire not being able to hear the gun shoot, so I traded my Empire for a Halo, this barrel with the flat shots of the PM6 were a beautiful mix, I went from really liking the barrell on my Promaster to loving it on my PM6, it shot alot better than the stock proto barrel and alot quieter.
Conclusion: This is by far the best barrel I have ever had, and will probably be the last, infact I will probably be buying another one in the pro finish in a 12" barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prd2bhmn Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years31 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralight: Not as light, or quiet, but just as accurate
Dye Boomstick: Same as the UL, but heavier
Dye Excel: Not as light, quiet, or accurate (paint match may have been off)
Lapco Bigshot: LOUD, but pretty accurate
Marker Setup: Cobalt to Black DM5:
- Dye Ultralight Frame
- 12" SLY Dual Carbon Stealth/14" Stock Ultralight
- Orange Bolt
- Hybrid Clamping Feedneck
- CP ASA
- Halo B
- Nitro Duck 68/3000

Tippmann 98 Custom:
- Polished internals
- R/T
- Full Boar Shadow Bolt
- 14" Dye Boomstick
- Halo TSA Backman
- Adco Sureshot
- Dead On Drop Forward
- PMI 48/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
I played with Empire Engage and Empire Fuel all day with great results. No breaks and ball-on-ball accuracy.
Edit (4/26/06): I've now shot Draxxus Rec, Jt Premium, Worr Domination, and Evil through the barrel in different temps ranging from 40 to 80 degrees, and the barrel performed well in all conditions. It did break paint in the colder weather, but much less than my teammates' guns. Just run a larger bore size than you normally would, and you should be fine.
Edit (11/22/08): I've shot all types of Karnage paint through it with no breaks, even with three month old paint.
Strengths: Light, decent quality, quiet, interchangeable backs, great customer service
Weaknesses: Price, looks (some little things), fit and finish
Review: I bought the whole set, which includes four backs ($90) and a front (I went for the 12 inch, which is another $90). You can buy the barrel directly from the SLY website. It came with a clever little barrel organizer that has little pockets for each back and larger ones for holding the front; it even has room for three other barrels.

I was a little uneasy about the fit and finish when I looked at it for the first time. There seemed to be a layer of carbon dust on the inside of the barrel, so I washed it down before going any further. The carbon fiber section is matte...really matte, making the finish very dull and almost unattractive. I'm guessing they went for a less flashy, but more performance oriented design (I bought the stealth version). I was hoping it would be as shiny as it looks in the pictures they have on their site, but it's just slightly less reflective. The inside of the barrel doesn't have the mirror finish of the Ultralight, but it feels almost as smooth. You can actually see the fibers running down the length of the barrel on the inside...pretty cool. Anyway, the pieces fit together extremely well, seamless in fact. The backs have holes drilled into them, which negates the purpose of having that o-ring between the front and back, which SLY claims will "ensure efficient gas use"...whatever....a bit of a design oversight there. Also, the "tatooed" SLY logo on the barrel looks like one of those cheap model car decals...not very good looking because it has spaces of opaque film around the letters that make the barrel look a tad cheap. I also had a problem screwing the barrel into the gun the first couple times. For some reason, there is a good amount of friction between the threads, or possibly the gun's body and the side of the barrel.

The performance makes you forget about all those little (albeit anal) things...I mean, when it comes down to it, performance is really what matters. Having it look great is a plus. Trust me, It looks sweet....it just took me a couple minutes to get used to it, I mean come on, the Ultralight is a tough act to follow. Anyway, the barrel is really quiet...I can realistically say that it is quieter than my Ultralight (UL). My teammates (nor the team we were playing against) couldn't hear me shooting my DM5 at all. To be honest, they already had a difficult time hearing the report out of the Ultralight, but now it's ridiculous how quiet it has become. It kept them guessing as to when and where I was shooting from. The accuracy is awesome too. It's just as, if not more accurate than my stock UL, especially because of the interchangeable backs. I used a fresh box of Empire Engage and Fuel paint to test it, and it worked wonders. I didn't have any barrel breaks all day like I'd occasionally get at the front of the UL. As far as weight is concerned, it's lighter than the UL too.

Update (2/14/06): I emailed Tyson (the owner of SLY Equipment) and he was willing to replace the backs that didn't fit right.
Update (2/15/06): Apparently, the holes drilled into the backs are intended to allow the user to remove the back if it is stuck in the gun by using an allen wrench. Nice to know.
Update (3/5/06): I returned one of the barrel backs for replacement a couple weeks ago, and received it two days ago. Tyson test fit it to make sure It fits perfectly. He said that Dye changed the threads on the DM series slightly, which made the barrels fit poorly. I shot it in 40-50 degree weather yesterday with brittle paint (JT Premium), and it shot perfectly. I had two breaks out of the 1500 rounds I fired, and I was able to shoot through one of them.
Update (11/22/08): This barrel is still shooting strong. It's been through all types of torture, including miscalculate superman dives on gravel, falling off tables onto concrete, you name it. The tip is slightly worn, the sides have some gashes, and the logo is almost gone, but it still puts ball-on-ball. The holes in the barrel backs came in handy on several occasions when the barrel threaded too tightly. I'm buying a new one when I get my DM9 in a few days. Great product Tyson!
Conclusion: Overall I can say that this is probably the best barrel I've used since I started playing paintball five years ago...regardless of its little faults. I would recommend it to anyone willing to fork over the cash. SLY's customer service is awesome too. A problem with their server postponed my order, and Tyson (the owner of the company) emailed me directly. He gave me free next-day shipping to compensate for the delay. I give it a 9/10 because of all of the little things that added up.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 22nd, 2008 at 1:21 pm PST
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media