paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Response Trigger / Tippmann Response Trigger / Tippmann Response Trigger / Tippmann Response Trigger

Tippmann Response Trigger Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Response Trigger

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Response Trigger
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The response trigger is a drop-in kit for the 98 Custom. The response trigger kit increases your trigger speed by resetting the trigger and sear with excess gas during firing. This gas is used to operate a cylinder behind the trigger to do the resetting. The pressure of your finger on the trigger pulls it back to fire the next shot. The speed is determined by the amount of flow through the knurled adjuster on the side. The upper limit on the rate of fire is set by this adjuster. This kit does not prevent you from switching back to the original setup of the 98 custom.

Model No.: RT-02
Utilizing patented technology for up to15-balls per second air-assisted firing.

Available on: Custom Pro™, 98 Custom™
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Response Trigger is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
theJoseph93 Tuesday, July 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've fired an Ion. Higher ROF. SImilar accuracy. Smoother firing with the Ion. Obviously. But the response trigger equipted Model 98 can hold its ground with electronic guns.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14 inch Smart Parts Teardrop Barrel
Response Trigger
Expansion Chamber
Halo TSA Loader
Strengths: Amazing improvement in ROF over stock setup... Awesome firepower. No batteries.
Weaknesses: Must adjust for proper operation. Installation was a slight bumer. Little bit pricey.
Review: Firing my 98 after I put the response kit on it was like firing a different gun. I love this thing. Firing stock is no problem but the advantages of having a response trigger become clear after your first game. Instead of a long fire-fight with an opponent, you aim and squeeze the trigger for a second or two.. and move on to the next target. You definately have to have an electronic loader.

My marker kept comming uncocked while playing my second game with my response trigger but it turned out to just be an adjustment to the small screw on the rear section of the hose outside the gun.

The hose outside the gun seems a bit cheaply made. That would be among my few complaints. And you have too pay a lot for such a small amount of stuff, even though it performs great.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anyone. Excellent performance, little pricey. So a nine is fair. It is a great upgrade.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Avaren Sunday, July 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Walkable electromechanical and electropneumatic triggers. Feel is completely different.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 Pro
14" J&J Full Tilt Ceramic
Response Trigger
VL Evolution 2
LAPCO Stainless Steel Screw Set
D.O.P. Rocket Cock II
Strengths: Rof
No Batteries
Easy Install
Idiot proof
inexpensive
Weaknesses: Not allowed in some places.
Review: For anyone looking to let their tippmann rise to the ranks of competetive among the common electros out there, look no further than the response trigger. This inexpensive, uncomplicated piece of equipment will have you shooting faster than you ever could no matter how many trigger jobs you did you your 98.

For me, it seems like all the hype about finding the sweetspot is bullcrod. I found the spot in a few seconds and now I can pretty much full auto a hopper.

Run and gun at its best, with the ability for semi or short bursts. You control the output without and funny switches.

GET THIS NOW. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.
Conclusion: Awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Andrei_Shubin Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: look at profile
Strengths: Faster shooting
Mechanical unlike E Grip
Dose not Require batteries
Weaknesses: Dose not work when CO2 is low
Not tournament legal
Review: The response trigger is the bomb!!!
First, it is mechanical unlike the E grip. This is good because you get a drop of water on the e grip it can destroy it or batteries die so that would not be good in a middle of a fight, therefore the response dose not take reliability away. It only uses your exes gas so no worries of batteries or stuff like that.
Second,It improves shooting from 8 Balls per second to 15 balls per second.Also, if you fool around with the tuning you'll fine out that when you hold the trigger its shoots at a burst/auto.
Last, It makes your trigger pull more sensitive(Well if not, it feels like it).
the problem with it is that it is tournament legal.
Conclusion: I highly suggest you get a response. you get one of these upgrades and your gun will be so much better.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 21st, 2007 at 1:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blwisianboy8969 Friday, May 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion (Electronic)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Response Trigger
Cyclone Feed
Stock 11" Werks Barrel (NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED)
Strengths: No batteries
Full auto
Doesn't use too much extra CO2
Weaknesses: Doesn't work when CO2 is low
Need t-screw to run Cyclone Feed
Review: I think that the response trigger is probably the best upgrade for your tippmann. I love it because it is an inexpensive upgrade to make your gun full auto. For one, you don't have to use batteries and therefore never worry about changing batteries or your gun not performing. Two, you don't have to spend 70 dollars on a compressed air tank because the gun isn't electronic and you can still use CO2. And three, it is cheaper than the e-grip. The response trigger is bad in the perspective that when your tank is low the gun only fires semi-auto because there isn't enough pressure for the trigger valve to work. But you can always put on another CO2 tank. You can buy like 3 CO2 tanks for the price of one compressed air tank and get way more playing time with this upgrade as opposed to the e-grip. I also didn't like having to call tippmann for the t-screw. They should just include the t-screw when you buy the rt. But once you get it, everything is worth it. I give the response trigger a 10 because all of the flaws are minor and do not effect its performance. It works better than it is supposed to. It is rated for 15 bps and I have mine doing 19 bps with the cyclone feed so I don't chop!
Conclusion: I reccomend that you purchase the response trigger over the e-grip for all the reasons listed above. It works beautifally and makes your tippmann ten times better. Buy it and you wont regret it when you mow down your friends at 15-20bps!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XSVFAN890 Wednesday, May 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
E-Grip
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro A.C.T.
TechT Fang Trigger
Response Trigger
Tippmann 16" Sniper Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Easy Install
Fun
Weaknesses: Uses more air(not a problem w/ 20oz. tank)
Weird to get used to
Review: This was relatively easy to install. I got mine from Bass Pro Shop for $60. I put it in that night and it didn't work. So I messed around with it for a few days and got it to work . I found that I had the wrong spring in(it comes with a new one and it and the stock one got mixed up). The thing is fast. @ least 15BPS. The only thing is that it uses more air. Thats not a big problem if you have a 20oz.
Conclusion: If you want full auto w/out paying for the E-Grip, go for this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Black_Shadow Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT
R/T
14" J&J Ceramic
VL eVLution II w Z-Board
Polished Internals
Pen Spring Mod
Trigger Stops
Dye Sticky Grip
20oz Co2 w On/Off
Strengths: Unbelievable ROF
Easy Installation
No Batteries
Weaknesses: Needs to Be Broken In.
Tuning
Stops Working when low on air
Need XChamber
Review: I orignally bought this since i firmly believe that batteries do not belong in a tippmann. and whoa nelly! this thing is crazy.

ROF: + 2
This thing is insane, once you break it in (about 2000 shots i guess) get it tuned and set where you like it , you can easily have firepower dominance on speedball fields, and while its not tournament legal, for rec-speedball and woodsball this thing will give you more firepower than you'll ever need. currently i have mine tuned for about 4 or 5 bps so i can sweetspot it very easily. and its still fast enough to make those guys with ions and stuff cower in their bunkers.

Easy Installation: +1
This was a very easy install for me, because if you have a newer 98 with ACT you already have the powertube required for the RT, and so all you have to do is punch out the marked (and pre cut) hole, insert the piston and screw the airline on. Only took me about 20 minutes to put in.

No Batteries: +1
I bought this system for this fact, i hate the idea of batteries in a tippmann. This is a great thing when your out in the woods, since if something is wrong and your gun isnt working you dont have to worry about it being the trigger/firing system and if you ever have a malfunction with it your gun will still work as a basic mechanical semi. Try that with your fancy circuit boards ion boys!

Break-in Period: -+0
just like regulators the RT needs to be broken in before it will work to its full potential. i didn't take any points off for this since i dry fired through a 12oz and a 20oz tank getting it tuned where i wanted it so it was pretty much broken in before i even shot paint through it.

Tuning: -1
This thing is a bit hard to tune, since its all based on your fingers and your personal preference on firing rate so you have to play with it for a bit to get it the way you like it. I just sat down in front of the TV for an hour with my RT adjustment tool and played with it until i got it where i wanted it. Advise: once its set up don't mess with it unless it has come out of tune, which it will from time to time.

Stops Working when low on Air: -1
The RT will stop working when you get down to the last 100 or so shots of your tank, so it loses a point for that.

Need Expansion Chamber: -+0
I didn't take a point off for this either since if your running co2 you probably will have one of these already, but if you don't have one you will need one, i haven't picked one up yet and i get snow out the barrel, cocking slot and frost forming on the airline and RT line during high rates of fire.
Conclusion: Overall, an AWESOME product, if you want a firepower upgrade for your tippmann, don't waste over double the price of this on an E-Grip, get this and not only will you have the same rate of fire capabilities, you won't have to worry about batteries. This is one great buy.

I give it a 9 since its not perfect, but pretty close
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smackmymac Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Several Electronic Grips including the E-grip by Tippmann. Response trigger is more fun to shoot and puts user in control of ROF without having to switch "Modes"
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
Response Trigger
Cyclone Feed
12" Smart Parts barrel
Tippmann Expansion Chamber
Polished Internals (Important if you want to rapid fire.)
I still use Co2.
Strengths: Inexpensive (Compaired to e-boards)
Field Legal (1 trigger pull/1 sear trip)
Weaknesses: Install can be tricky.
No way to adjust ROF to <u>Specific</> Setting.
Review: The Response trigger offers something that an Electronic trigger doesn't: On the Fly control. This may be one of the single best upgrades for the 98 that someone can do. Unlike Electronic Boards, the response trigger can not be tuned to a Specific Rate of Fire (i.e. no easy way to set 15 BPS and then switch to 20 BPS etc.) To tune the Response trigger you have to use a micro screw driver to turn a small screw on the side of the gun (older models of the response trigger use a knurled knob to adjust ROF, this was later changed to prevent users from over tightening or allowing too much gas to flow through the unit, damaging it.) That aside, The response trigger is great for play. While on the field you can shoot Semi all you want and then find the sweet spot where the trigger bounces off of your finger and shoot auto, all without having to push a button, or flip DIP switches. Best part, most fields that do not allow fully auto guns, will allow the response trigger. I did some digging to find out why. Most fields' insurance company won't allow full auto guns. They descibe a full auto gun as a single pull, multiple ball shot. The RT makes the trigger bounce off of your fingger allowing for a "Single Pull/Single sear trip" Automatic, which since it's not a single pull multiple shot, it's not considered a Full Auto Setting. Most field owners know this and that is why they allow it.
Conclusion: For about $60 - $70 you can upgrade your tippmann 98C to "Full Auto" Capabilities. You will love the ability to go full auto without having to switch settings.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kadetkorn Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing, I havent seen anything like it.
Marker Setup: - Tippmann 98
- Response Trigger
- Cyclone Feed
- 14" J&J Ceramic barrel
- Tippmann Drop Forward
- 5000 psi Pure Energy tank
Strengths: - INSANE ROF
- Makes gun easier to shoot
- NO BATTERYS!
- CHEAP!!
Weaknesses: - Not tournament legal (for most)
- Sometimes uncomfortable
- T-adapter to work with Cyclone
Review: If your looking for a cheap way to up the speed of your gun, the RT is a must have!! This is a great upgrade to scenario ballers and possibly speedballers. It works flawlessly with a cyclone feed. People say its a air hog/ CO2 but it runs on what the gun would normally waste so I don't think it uses any more air/ CO2 than the gun would normally use. It is easy to shoot. However, when I bought this I thought that it made the gun shoot once when you pull the trigger in and once when you let it out (as it say "Fires on the pull and release of trigger" on the box. However, it pushes your trigger back out for you. As long as you keep pressure on the trigger it will shoot. It is pretty sweet how fast you can get your little ol' 98 going. I love it in scenario or woods ball games when you run because you can shoot your gun with just one hand and still be going 15 bps. The only 2 problems I had with this is that it is not tournament legal. Almost all the tournaments I've seen do not allow "Air assisted triggers" (RT's). Also, it takes a little tweaking to get the ROF just right. Another problem with it isn't a big one, but sometimes gets annoying that the part that has the screw that adjusts the ROF is right up by your knuckle and sometimes rubs up against you (depending on how you hold your gun). Finally, be prepared to have to get a T-Adapter for your gun if you plan to have a Cyclone and a RT. I got one for $5, but I really think the guy at the PB store over charged me.
Conclusion: Overall, I would definitely recommend a RT for anyone looking to add more fire power to their Tippmann. It goes great with a cyclone feed and is easy to use. However, make sure you know that you will not be playing many speedball tourney's with this. Also, remember to get a T-Adapter if you plan to use this with a cyclone. BUY IT!! well worth the 60 dollars!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eastwickin'it Wednesday, April 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippy C98, 14 in. JJ, Modded BT Stock, RT
Strengths: Lets you fire just one round or go full auto when you need it
Weaknesses: None
Review: this is a great upgrade for your gun. runs off exhaust gas that would just be wasted anyway. it makes balls come out of your barrel in a stream. the only thing i would advise on is if you have a C98 to get an electric hopper or the cyclone hopper or your gun turns into a blender.. not to sure if this happens to everyone but it happened to me so... just wanted to put that tid bit in there..
Conclusion: You'll fall in love all over agian if you get this upgrade
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 4th, 2007 at 1:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

liljaygreg Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
E-Grip on my friend's A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Tech-T Fang Trigger
Response Trigger
Cyclone Feed System
Trigger Mods
Strengths: -Really Fast
-Allows you to shoot in bursts
-Adjustable
-FAST!!
Weaknesses: -Uses some of your air to operate
Review: This product is genious. It allows you to shoot up to 15 balls per second and you can adjust to shoot every pull and release of the trigger. It's easy to adjust you just turn the screw with a screwdriver (which comes with the RT).

I was laying in the bushes along a creekbed and a pointman from the opposing team came walking by. I slowly raised my 98C and setup my shot. I pulled the trigger and about 6 shots mowed out of the barrel and lit up the pointman. He didn't know what hit him.
Conclusion: If you have a Cyclone or an electronic hopper, buy the RT not the E-grip.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media