paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Response Trigger / Tippmann Response Trigger / Tippmann Response Trigger / Tippmann Response Trigger

Tippmann Response Trigger Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Response Trigger

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Response Trigger
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The response trigger is a drop-in kit for the 98 Custom. The response trigger kit increases your trigger speed by resetting the trigger and sear with excess gas during firing. This gas is used to operate a cylinder behind the trigger to do the resetting. The pressure of your finger on the trigger pulls it back to fire the next shot. The speed is determined by the amount of flow through the knurled adjuster on the side. The upper limit on the rate of fire is set by this adjuster. This kit does not prevent you from switching back to the original setup of the 98 custom.

Model No.: RT-02
Utilizing patented technology for up to15-balls per second air-assisted firing.

Available on: Custom Pro™, 98 Custom™
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Response Trigger is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
bz94rs Monday, March 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
um, electric trigger on Spyders?
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Response Trigger
32 Degrees Night Stick
PMI On/Off valve 20oz C02
Strengths: Not too difficult to install.
Much, much, faster rate of fire.
Weaknesses: Somewhat expensive.
3 inch long straw down the side of your marker.
Review: I bought this product hoping that it would let me compete with my friends Spyder Pilot. I got it for 60ish dollars off of Actionvillage via Amazon.com. i opened up my Tippy a few days before to familiarize myself with the internal workings of my marker. I polished the internals using fine grit sandpaper, oiled it up and put it back together.

I installed the response trigger the day i recieved it. It took me like 20 min to install the new powertube and get everything in the right place. the hadest part was putting the 2 halves back together again. it seems that the new spring but alot more stress on the some of the pins making me have to snap the two halves together. It wa already night when i started installing it so i would have to test it out the next day.

The following morning i took it outside and began to test my new upgrade out. at first i couldn't see anything different, so i began to tinker with the rate of fire screw. It turned out pretty good i was getting really fast rates of fire from a tippmann! It all seemed good.

Later that week i took it out to the paintball feilds.

This is when the problem started.

I would be int the middle of spraying some guy with fire and the gun would just stop firing. I would pull the trigger and nothing would happen. It turned out that the gun was not re-cocking itslef all the way. it would get stuck halfway. id have to re-cock it after about 5 seconds of automatic firing. I am still unable to resolve this problem.

I have not been able to find other people that have had this problem. So it maybe that i overpolished the internals? i dunno.
Conclusion: Pretty good except for the problem i am having. In retrospect, i would probably still buy it. Hopefully i will find a way to resolve this problem.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

achillestippy Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years39 of 41 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
TIPPMANN A-5 W/ WAS E-BOARD
SP EPIPHANY W/ 48/3000 HPA (AN ATTEMPT TO CROSSOVER TO SPEEDBALL)
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN 98 CUSTOM
EXPANSION CHAMBER
JCS BLUE TUBE W/ DELRIN FORWARD BOLT
RESPONSE TRIGGER
J&J 14"-16"-20" BARREL
48/3000 HPA
20 OZ C02
REMOTE LINE
POLISHED INTERNALS
TIPPMANN SSL-200 TRIUMPH LOADER
Strengths: SPEED
Feel
Accuracy(VARIES)
100% Mechanical
EASE OF USE AND INSTALLATION
Weaknesses: Air Consumption
Chops (DEPENDING SOLEY ON ROF AND LOADER)
ROF Adjustment
Review: OK....FIRST OFF...ITS OBVIOUS THAT I HAVE SOME UPGRADES ON THIS MARKER...YOU MIGHT EVEN SAY SOME OF THESE AREN'T NECESSARY. IN DEFENSE....I MUST SAY THAT IN ORDER TO MAKE A TIPPMANN A VIABLE SPEEDBALL MARKER IN ANY SENSE WILL REQUIRE SOME UPGRADES. SO, WITH THAT KNOWLEDGE, NOW CONSIDER THAT THIS MARKER IS 90% WOODSBALL AND 10 % SPEEDBALL. FURTHER....LET'S BEGIN THE REVIEW.

THE FACTS:
The response trigger was designed by Tippmann for one reason and one reason only.....to increase your rate of fire(ROF//BPS). With that said....Tippmann....as usual...has provided a very dependable product that performs as promised.
Furthermore, your ROF will drastically increase upon the installation of your RT kit.
In reality, you can only achieve between 13-15 balls per second with a properly installed and tuned RT on your marker. Keep in mind, that 13-15 balls per second can only be achieved with dependable results when in use with an assisted loader. I would recommend an electronic loader with a feed rate of at least 10 BPS. As for choosing the power assisted loader, that is up to you. The purchase of your loader should be based on its ROF and dependablity. Don't make the mistake of buying poor loader, if you do, you are eliminating the advantage of your RT kit. I personnally use a Tippmann Triumph ssl-200.(made by Tippmann, 13-15 BPS, and is very dependable//user friendly) For all of you Tippmann owners with Cyclone Feed Systems, congratulations. All you need to do is install your RT kit. (IF YOU UPGRADE YOUR MARKER WITH EITHER SYSTEM IN PLACE YOU WILL NEED TO BUY THE ADAPTER) However, try to avoid the use of an RT kit in conjuction with the Cyclone Feed System. The main reason being that your RT and your CFS operate off of air consumption. This will decrease air efficiency and velocity consistence when in use. By the way...that is factual...not opinion based. Moving on, installation is a very simple process. It is important that you are familiar with the internals of your marker and that you have the necessary tools. The only tools needed are the standard allen wrenches that come with your Tippmann, and a punch. The punch is needed to create the hole to accept the RT kit. Don't worry, the hole is pre-stamped and is clearly marked in the instruction manual that comes with your RT kit. The whole process will take 10 minutes if you are familiar with the marker, 25 minutes for the beginners. Once installation is complete, I recommend that you turn your ROF adjuster(a small flat head screw on the right side of your marker) nearly all the way in. I suggest that you do this with your fingernail, this way you do not overtighten. Last but definitely not least.......throw a few drops of marker oil in your tank adapter to ensure that the piston in the RT kit is properly lubricated. Next, throw your C02 or HPA on and cock your marker...give the trigger a squeeze and you will immediately feel the piston behind the trigger resist your pull after the very first shot. With that ROF screw tightened, you are restricting air to your RT piston, creating a lot of resistance and a very slow ROF. Then...have some fun and loosen your adjuster about two full turns....then pull the trigger. If done properly....you will instantly feel the advantage of pure firepower. For most of you...the last few steps will vary...some of you will have some difficulty learning the feel of the trigger pull, others will be flat out shocked at the first burst of air the marker throws. (DONT DO ANY OF THE ABOVE WITH PAINT IN YOUR MARKER.......TRUST ME....OUCH.....) You may have to adjust the velocity of your marker to achieve the proper level of air flow to really get your RT rolling, but don't worry...you will figure it out. With that said, it will take some time to fine tune your RT....have patience and enjoy the process.

PERFORMANCE:
I have used this set up in speedball and in woodsball. Of course...it is far more effective in woodsball. Woodsball play will allow you the freedom of movement, since a Tippmann is large marker that is difficult to play tight with. I have played speedball many times with this set up. I happen to play backman so it's not too difficult to manage the marker. I can throw just as much paint as the x-ball markers, as long as were playing SPPL rules(with the RT abiding by those rules also). If you lift that ban...watch out, tourney markers can ruin your day. As far as accuracy is concerned, a decent barrel and paint will help your cause. The Tippmann's bolt set up provides somewhat consistent velocity considering it doesn't have a regulator. In short....the RT kit will throw lots of paint, with a good barrel, you'll shoot ropes and control the field...whether it's woodsball or speedball.

WEAKNESS:
Because the RT kit operates off of your air system, it will decrease your tank efficiency. This weakness applies to HPA and C02. However, with HPA you avoid frosting your hoses and adapters. For all of you C02 users, don't fret....the RT was originally designed to run on C02......and it does that beautifully.

FINALLY....the RT kit will not make you a speedballer or a better paintball player. It will do the job it was designed to do....throw lots of paint.

PS...for all of you speedballers who happen to catch this review....I finally crossed over and put down my trusty Tippmann and bought a SP Epiphany....I'm still learning some things on the x-ball course and I've been having a lot of fun with it....And of course you know that my lovely Tippmann wasn't doing the job I had so ambitiously hoped it would do on the x-ball course.....so it pretty much forced me into the purchase of that Epiphany...which works great I might add. But I will never ever put down my Tippmann.
Conclusion: Buy it...it will increase your ROF and maybe even your ability....if you learn during the process. If you make the decision to upgrade your marker with the RT kit, you will find this review strikingly accurate. I did the best I could to tell the facts...good and bad.....I hoped it helped. PS...Tippmann Rules!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 28th, 2007 at 11:52 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jassyass910 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year19 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ummm, nothing, I upped the 98 because of its novelty and it probably is the most reliable rec mechanical marker ever made. i play woods and speed ball, my other guns are shocker NXT and Angel G7, so I basically can't compare because they are two completely different guns and games being played.
Marker Setup: Custom 98
Low Pressure Kit by Tippmann
RT
Tippmann Double Trigger
Tippmann Reg (meh, it works)
Drop forward
Pure Energy 68/45
Orange Paintball Howitzer bolt
Rufus Dawg Wicked Bolt power tube
Some custom milling to reduce weight
Polished interior to make a smoother surface for power tube to move on so much faster speed, distance and accuracy.
Halo B w/ Rip Drive and V35 Board (Victory Board)
J&J Ceramic 14 inch
Strengths: Reliable
Simple to use
Essential up
Fast enough
Fun to use
Weaknesses: Air usage
Some required ups to optimize use
Review: First and foremost, Tippmanns should never be electronic. If you want an electronic gun, you shouldn't be buying a Tippmann because you don't use heavy guns for speed ball, which is the only place for electronic guns. You NEED mechanical guns for woods ball because they are easy to field strip and fix in game and between games. Woods ball games can last for a while, so using batteries also isn't fun. So this is the best upgrade you can get for any Tippmann.

Secondly, don't ever get a cyclone feed. What do you think an electronic spin hopper does? A hopper can do the same thing as a cyclone feed and can go so much faster, so don't waste the money. On that note, you'll need a fast hopper in order to obtain full potential of the RT (not a Halo, a simple Evo2 will probably work, or an Evo3 because that has eyes and is mad cheap hopper for what it offers).

Ok, the review. You can tell that the marker set-up isn't usual. Most people won't go out of their way to spend money and install and the ups I did, but I, for some reason, felt compelled. I've seen some people say they can't get more than 10 bps. NOT TRUE. If you have CO2, your shot consistency sux so this may be true, but you shouldn't buy an RT if you aren't using compressed air or N2. If you put the right amount of pressure on the trigger, the gun will go. Think about it this way, the RT is gas powered, so every time you press it, the little metal button that the trigger is pushing pushes against your trigger with much for force and sensitivity than the usual spring, meaning that you don't have to wait as long for the trigger to reset to pull again AND you don't have to pull the trigger nearly as much for the marker to fire. You don't need to walk the trigger, and shouldn't because the trigger is too heavy and not stiff enough (at least the one I had) and the operation is not light enough (you're not pressing a small button like in a lectric marker, your pushing a button with gas pressure behind it. Also, there is way too much distance tween the trigger and the button to walk it, just push it in and feel the sweet spot like she told you). That being said, I emptied my Halo which had probably tween 180-190 balls in less than ten seconds, so I was pumping out 18-19 bps. Also, I didn't have any chops and it shoots accurately. I kept the marker level and it pasted a cone about 160 ft. away with probably 90 percent accuracy using Dibalo Heat, not one break. When I played, I did notice that it consumed more gas than it did before I had installed the RT. This isn't really a problem because Tippys already have such good gas consumption that it may have dropped my gas consumption to normal, nothing to worry about. It is worth noting that the RT is fun to use; kind of like driving a stick-shift, you have more control.

If you want, install a vertical feed on your marker for faster and more consistent loading (requires milling).

Keep in mind that my Tippmann isn't the average one, so to take advantage of the RT you'll need standard ups like a new internal power tube, N2 (why not, everything's going that way) and a faster hopper. The polished internals probably helped a lot, but it takes nothing to take apart your marker and perform maintenance so go do it. I don't see any reason for the anybody to not get at least 14 bps even if you've go the stock tube and don't polish your internals.

When installing the RT, it can be a little tricky putting the two frames back together without having everything pop out if you're just beginning with setting up your own marker. Just go slowly and you won't have much of a problem.

Update 2/10/07:
After reading a comment on the review, I do have to admit that the cyclone feed would be good for scenario play in that no batteries are needed.
Conclusion: Get it if you want to keep your Tippy and play some woods ball. It;s a great upgrade and trigger speed is crucial when it comes to tight situations. It's reliable and simple to use. If your debating between the E-trig and the RT, get this because Tippmann's are never suitable for electronics, it's just not right. If you're going into speedball and ditching the whole rec/woods ball scene, then save up for something basic like an Ion Pro and you'll be better off.

PS- Nobody should ever buy a Spyder or PMI. They're like Chrysler's, they work great until you buy them.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 10th, 2007 at 6:44 am PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

SHANE_98C Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
14" Teardrop Barrel
Cyclone Feed
Double Trigger
RT
RT/Cyclone adapter
Shocktech Long Drop
Special Ops Commando Stock
Strengths: Fast!
easy to set up.
Fun!
Weaknesses: You will chop more paint
You gotta feed it
Review: I got this thing for 65 dollars on Action Village. I had to by an adapter from my local pro shop to be able to use it along side the cyclone. The adapter cost 25 dollars.

This product is a breeze to set up. It is amazing how simple this thing works - but it does its job well. I have used it a few different times and am very satisfied. I have, however noticed a rather large increase in chopped paint since I have started using it... That is to be expected at 15 bps thought.

This will NOT make you a better player. It will just give you the joy of peeking around the corner and pressing the trigger down and 10 balls will be in the air.

It runs through paint and air really fast. At increased firing rates more liquid CO2 is pushed into the gun and you run out faster. I need to upgrade to HPA soon!

Conclusion: Overall I think this product is great. Buy it
8/10
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

matt_conti Sunday, October 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
E grip
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom ACT
smart parts progressive 14 inch barrel
cyclone feed system W/standard 200 round hopper
20 ounze C02 tank
BSA RD30CP red dot scope
NXe 4+1 harness
PMI remote line
responsive trigger
Strengths: Cheaper then egrip
15BPS
easy to use
Weaknesses: None
Review: This was the best upgrade ive ever gotten. First of all, it was very easy to install. nothing to complicated. while the kids with egrips are constantly recharging bateries and hiding from the rain, this uses exes gas and it can be used in any weather. it took about 300 balls to realise that i could change the speed of the ball so easyly. at 1st i was shooting 3 bps with it, then i got up to at least 16bps. it was my first time using something like this in a game so i ran thought about 400 paintballs in the one 15 minute game. if your goning to use a cyclone, (which you should realy consider buying) you need to ask for a T adapter for the air. once you learn how to press the trigger with the responce trigger, it basicly becomes a full auto gun. the only problem is if you press to hard while using it on "auto", it stops working, and u gotta let go and wait a few seconds befor shooting again. but after time you'll get used to it.
Conclusion: Im going to give this a 10 on 10 for the soul reson that its 40$ cheaper then the egrip, and it gives u near the same results. its great for woodsball but consider an egrip for tournie play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sneakyatpb Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, double trigger, response trigger, 14"smart parts linear barrel
Strengths: Fast, easy to set, and and easier trigger pull.
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Review: This thing is awesome. You just turn the ROF to what you want it to be (this may take some time to get it just how you want it.) and then it is set until you start seriously running out of air. On my A-5 the problem is that with the cyclone and the response, I can use air!!
Conclusion: Great buy. If you want a fast firing gun then get it. I'll give it a 9 because of the gas problem
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PTE. O'Hearn Sunday, October 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with Lapco Bigshot barrel
Strengths: Adds speed to your 5 bps tippmann
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is by far one of the best upgrades for your tippmann 98 custom. It dermaticaly increases your rate of fire from 5bps to 15 bps. If you want something to surpress and keep other players from advancing this is for you. I personally love this invention and i will soon have one for my tippmann.
Conclusion: Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Buhju Thursday, August 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
e-grip
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
-18" Fluted Ops Gear Interceptor
-Red Dot Sight
-Expansion Chamber
-Tippmann SSL Triumph Hopper
-BT Double Trigger
-Zeus G2
-Hopper Adapter
-Weaver Mount Tactical Laser
Strengths: Super Fast
Weaknesses: Gets really cold
Review: In my opinion this is better than the E-grip. I can fire this fully automatic if I hold in the trigger half way. It sounds hard but its really easy. I think this is better than the e-grip because with the e-grip you have to change the batteries, and they fire the same speed. I didn't have to install it because I got it in the gun as a marker package so I dont know about that. For me though, i fired a whole 9 oz off and about 3/4 of the way through the rt froze up and fired without me touching the trigger, i let it warm up and it stopped so its not a problem but that was without the expansion chamber, and with it the rt never froze. I'd recommend getting an expansion chamber with the rt because the rt will cool down your tank and gun and you'll waste CO2 and your gun might freeze up like mine did, but only if you shoot like crazy.
Conclusion: This is an awesome upgrade!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pyrogyro Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: 98c
12" .691 bore St!ffi barrell
RT system
12 oz. Pure Energy CO2
Strengths: Uped Rate of Fire
Weaknesses: Installation a bit difficult for newbies
Review: Granted that i've only used this system once on the field.

I installed everything, including the new power tube which comes with the system, and moved the velocity screw from the old power tube, to the new power tube (bout 45 mins work all in all). Everything seemed fine, until i went to Chrono. I couldn't get my marker firing under 340 fps. I had to go back and replace the other power tube, cause it seemed like the velocity screw wasn't fitting the new power tube, which was a hassle.


Uped my ROF significantly. Its kinda cool, the pison resets the sear and trigger, and it almost bounces off your finger, giving it a automatic feel. You're almost able to compete with guys who run electro guns (notice i said almost, you won't stand a chance against higher end electro guns), But it does make competeing a bit easier.

Now i know it takes the extra CO2 from the power tube to fire, but it seemed like my gas efficency was going down, but granted that was probably just from firing more.

I did break one ball when i had the ROF turned up, but i think that was just a fluke. Overall, i really advise this upgrade if you want to play speedball. and its a nice addition for woodsball as well if u need to make quick burst shots, although the kickback of the 98c can cause ur shots to spray around a lil bit (get a new barrel for sure). The price tag is pretty nice at about 70-80 CAD.
Conclusion: Get it for sure. Make sure you read the instructions well, check out tippmann's website for further instruction, but be careful disassembling if your not used to it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jking17 Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
just a plain double trigger
Marker Setup: tippman 98 custom pro
flatline
68/4500 w/ drop forward
rocket cock II
response trigger
empire reloader II
Strengths: Fast, basically full auto.
Weaknesses: a few minor. -a lot of paint ;D
Review: i can sum it up in one word. WOW. once you install this upgrade you will never ever want to go back. its amazing feel in your hands. a bit tricky to get the right adjustment. but once you get it its all out baja paintball!
-note- ONE hose is on the outside of gun and is like 2 inches long. not a big deal, never gets snagged! dont even know its there
Conclusion: highly recommended for any Tippmann owner who wants full auto [heck any Tippmann owner at all] but doesnt want to spend costly dollars on E-trigger. [9 - nothing is perfect]
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media