paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat / Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat / Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat / Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat

Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Thunder Cat is a semi-automatic, open bolt, blow-back-type marking device. The major components of the Thunder Cat are machined from solid, aircraft-grade aluminum, then hard anodized per military specifications. No castings or extrusions are used in the construction of the Thunder Cat.
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs Thunder Cat is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ithacaTCat Tuesday, August 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 -- Nice marker but doesn't hold a candle to this beauty.
Marker Setup: ICD Thunder Cat
12" J&J Ceramic Barrel
12" ICD Bushmaster Barrel
.45 grip w/ bottom line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottom Line / Drop
Barrel
Strengths: Reliability
Very tweakable
Weaknesses: Blowback design.
Trigger pull, compared to newer electronic markers.
Review: This is the low end marker of your dreams.

Reliability: Excellent -- Nothing in this marker is plastic except for the Delrin venturi bolt, but you can't really complain about that anyway.

Noise: Great -- the adjustable recock valve means you can tweak your 'Cat to the very minimum. I usually have it tweaked so finely that it won't recock unless it actually fires a ball. This way, I can minimize the noise output. Add to that a quiet aftermarket barrel and you've got one stealthy woodsball marker.

Cleaning: Field stripping is incredibly easy and requires two thumbscrews and a tap on the palm. Taking apart the rest of the marker is also easy with the right tools, but it's recommended to do that at home in a place where small springs can't hide.

Accuracy: I play with CO2 and mostly cheapo field paint, but it's as accurate as a blowback can be given those constraints. The adjustable blowback allows you to minimize recoil, improving consistency.

Price: CHEAP! also discontinued. Can be found on PBReview forums for $60 these days! Definitely buy if you see one available.

Rarity factor is also a bonus.
Conclusion: In these days of crappy plastic electronic Taiwanese markers, the ICD Thunder Cat is a breath of fresh air. Or it was, until it was discontinued. Anyway, if you find yourself with one of these markers, give it the time to read through the manual -- learning how to properly adjust the marker is critical. Without that prep, you could easily see a terrible day on the field. ICD is also a great company.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UnwaryAvenger Monday, September 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None other are like this.
Marker Setup: I have a Brass Eagle Eradicator and an Indian Creek Thunder Cat. No addons.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed.
Strengths: Very, very accurate. Solid weapon.
Weaknesses: None at all.
Review: In my opinion this is the best marker you can buy. I've fired Dark-Angel LCD's, I've fired Spyder Imagines, I've fired Auto-Cockers, and they just don't compare. The Aircraft machined aluminum wont break unless you stick it in a furnace and drop it from the empire state building. The accuracy of this baby is unprecedented. I can fire a round across my whole entire 75 yard Speed-ball court without even having to compensate for range (aim up in the air) In a word......... Boom-in.

Rock on
Conclusion: A boomin gun. Rock on. Lovin this gun. will only sell it for $300.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

krikit Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
too many to mention, but lots
Marker Setup: Blue 2003 BKO, zenitram Z-grip, tantrum skull pull pin, benchmark offset cradle, 68/3000 crossfire, eVLution 2, J&J 2-piece 10 inch

black illusion SC, lapco drop stock, gas-thru, boomstick 12 inch
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (but not right away), bottom-line, regulator, double trigger, drop foward.
Strengths: tougher than tippmann, fast, accurate.
Weaknesses: a bit wieghty but really not bad, loud.
Review: when my buddy got this gun stock, not only were we both impressed but i wanted one for myself.he threw a drop on it, along with a gas-thru foregrip, and we worked together to get the double trigger working on it. Finally he added an Xcel barrel. after that, it held its own on the speed-ball field. actually, before that it held its own, now it was winning. it couldnt pace angels, but what mechanical gun can?.....thats what i thought. now that this is a rare gun, it makes it even cooler to see on a field, and props to those who shoot them. especially you BIG C-note. he's no Lasoya, but he rocks. there are very few guns out there that REALLY impress me. not their rate of fire, nor anodizing or milling, but the gun itself. thundercats, AKA vikings, sniper 2's ETC. you might be able to shoot faster than these guns, more accurately, or whatever, but these guns have the props.
Conclusion: this gun is awesome. durable, tougher than tippmanns, (better period) and becoming a rarity. it wont break ya wallet, its fun and it looks awesome. its all in a little tube. the only part you need to pay attention when working on it is the valve, just make sure it goes back together right, and you wont have ANY problems.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

splatterking03 Tuesday, July 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a tippman it's kind of the same but not completely
Marker Setup: T-Cat
Lapco Barrel Adaptor
Spyder Barrel
Electric Sights
Hopper elbow relocated
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lapco adptr. and Sypder barrel and relocate hopper
Strengths: Machined only a few movable parts sleek easily adjustable
Weaknesses: Vertical Tank Adaptor
Review: I love the gun but the vertical tank adapter ( the part the allows you to screw the tank on the gun) broke off. I believe many people have had the same problem. I had to have the screws welded out so the threads are perfect. I am mostly wanting to know if anyone can tell me how to get a hold of a vertical tank adaptor for my Thundercat. That part is still put on the gun today so I know it has to be in circulation somewhere. I have called Indian Creek and let e-mails. No e-mails nor phone calls from ICD. So I looked all over the net and nothing. anyone help me please. If you know of any place please send an e-mail to splatterking03@yahoo.com. Thank you very much...
Conclusion: My T-cat is a wonderful gun. Watch the Vertical Tank Adaptor and don't run into anything.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

princetonbc Sunday, April 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing! I have a Piranha, Black Dragun, and a bunch of other markers and I have played with Tippmann 98, Spyder, and others.
Marker Setup: ICD Thunder Cat (original model), 14" Smart Parts Progressive
Recommended
Upgrades:
if any, it would be a longer barrel.
Strengths: It is like a rock, I have played with it weekly for over 5 years
Weaknesses: Indian Creek does not seem to be developing this marker !?!?!
Review: This is the greatest line of markers I have ever seen. I have had mine for years now I keep buying new markers but I always go back to my Thunder Cat by the end of the day. I have a friend who had an Alley Cat (almost Identical), and it was unreal, I loved mine so much I bought my wife one. Its simple bolt system is far superior to these stacked systems. I replace my main spring yearly and some of the o-rings and I have never had a problem with this marker.
This is the greatest marker ever.
Conclusion: Buy one if you can find a new one, it will last you for a long long time!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mooncrickit Sunday, December 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alleycat (slightly different)
Puma (great improvement)
Piranha (about the same)
Marker Setup: Puma w/ twin tanks that have Smart Parts on / off valves, S/P A/A barrel
Piranha, beaver tail rail, expansion chamber, J & J ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel and expansion chamber / bottom line
Strengths: The markers built by Indian Creek are precision machined and tough. They have an unusual tuning capability which will enable you to play in all types of weather conditions. They also offer the advantage of mounting the tank either verticle or horizontal. Or, you can mount two tanks if they have on / off valves. I own an Alleycat and a Puma and have never had a malfunction during play.
Weaknesses: The tuning takes a little bit of practice but it is not hard to learn.
Conclusion: The Indian Creek markers are precision machined and tough. They function extremely reliably and require little maintenance. I have only tested my Thundercat because my Alleycat marker just will not die or malfunction. I bought the Thundercat for a backup but I have yet had to use it. Plus, I picked up a Puma for a sweet price so I am now tinkering with it at the moment. The Alleycat, Thundercat, and Puma offer various bottle mounting capabilities or you can mount two tanks with on / off valves for added game play.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SABO Wednesday, September 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Spyders, Tippmann 98, Pro-Lite
Marker Setup: ICD BKO (all black) w/ 44ci 3000psi Bulldog II, CP 14in Barrel, Drop forward, Ricochet AK (as of now, everything else is stock)

ICD ThunderCat w/ Sub-Zero 4 Stage X-Chamber, Sight Rail, CP 14in Barrel, Bottomline
Recommended
Upgrades:
An X-Chamber and a new barrel, not necessarily in that order. After that sightrails make the gun look nice but these guns really need no other upgrades.
Strengths: This thing is a tank. It is dependable and if there are ever any problems (after almost 6 years of use I have had 1) they can be fixed within minutes and can be done there on the field. I have never had any complaints with this marker and I have used in weather that was 90 degrees plus and a humidity level of 97%% and I have used it in the rain when the temp was below 40. This is just a great and dependable marker. The first two years I had this marker it was used on a weekly basis but due to time constraints I have only played and average of once per month in the past 4.

Compared to the other guns listed above and the others on the field (blowbacks with the occasional autococker) this one is very quiet. I have shot people with one shot one kill method from less than 8 yards and the person traveling through the woods with them not know where the shot came from.

As for cleaning and fieldstripping. This gun can be stripped, cleaned, and gassed up again ready to play in less than 60 seconds and this is neither a hyperbole nor really even pushing yourself to get it done. There are two bolts to remove, neither one needs a tool, pop the bolt out the back, clean and then oil the back metal potion of the bolt, and then you are done.
Weaknesses: My only problem with this marker is.....Ok I still haven't thought of one. Once I had to replace an o-ring in the marker and that was about it. Oh yeah. On a previous review I read that these markers don't roll down hills very well. Thinking it might just be the inexperience of that user I also thought about trying this and sure enough, it just stayed there. Even with violent coxing it refused to roll down the hill and I hope that ICD will address this issue very soon.
Conclusion: This is one of the best paintball guns made (PERIOD). My suggestion is that if you are someone who is just entering the sport and you want a dependable marker that will give you more time on the field than in the shop this is it. They are simplistic in their design and outstanding in their performance. I have yet to see a blowback marker beat the T-Cat and very few that even keep up with it in performance and dependability. They do exactly what they are designed to do and they do it well. Also if you need a back up this is a worthwhile investment. BTW: These are inexpensive for the class marker that they are.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GOVbrain-washin Friday, June 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
One time I used a turkey baster like this. I also used a Spyder TL+, Shutter, Compact 2000, a Sheridan XTS, and a neat H2O rifle.
Marker Setup: I've have under my watchful eyes, a shiny ICD Thunder Cat w/ Bechmark 6 stage expansion chamber, Taso Pro Series SS Barrel, 45 grip with Houge grips, 2 scratches, lots of hugs.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel smells like hot dogs. Get those checked out. The M16 grip hurts not only my hand, but also my ego. Put that on the phone. Buy Thai boxing shorts, they improve your gun by leaps and bounds.
Strengths: To be quite frank, this marker is the ultimate manifestation of everything rugged and good in paintballing. The construction is SUPER, man. The folks at ICD must take TIME to choose and assemble the parts, which is rare today. The construction of the marker is magnificent; as the man said, no hot or cold welds impair the gun's ability to live. It's very quiet, accurate, and boasts neat utilitarian styling.
Weaknesses: The only chink in the armor of this bad boy is that it doesn't roll right. I tried to throw it down a hill and it just sat there, HOW DEPRESSING!
Conclusion: In conclusion, I think you should go to your poor Aunt Kelly Ripa and ask her to buy this thing for you and all your closest relatives. None of you will be disapointed. It's tough, rugged, neat, accurate, quiet, loud, and great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Pirahna, tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Thunder cat ES with x-chamber, 10"cp barrel, raised sight rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, X-chamber
Strengths: Everything, very accurate, Quite, good price I like how you can adjust the gun to operate at maximun and use less co2. Made Very well, alley cat is the same marker my fried has one and they are clones. LOVE this gun, built as good if not better than a real gun!!!
Weaknesses: , trigger is a little stiff but no biggie stock barrel gets loose once in a while.
Conclusion: buy it now it's fantastic, built to last a life time more reliable than my pirahna, and better all around. I like the 45 frame the euro grip like on the picture above to me is not as comfortable. get the 45 frame ES Deluxe model it doesn't have the rear bottle adapter and fits your hand better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cannondale Thursday, April 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98, spyder extra, PMI piranha G2 and GT Commando2
Marker Setup: Thunder Cat LT (Limited) comes from the factory with 45 grip frame, Double Trigger, 6 stage expansion chamber, black micro bottom line (better than steel braided) raised sight rail, nice rubber grips, and Splash green paint over black very beautiful marker. My upgrades are 10" green CP Barrel .065 bore, x-fighter drop forward, CMI 2000 inline Regulator.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, it's not bad at all!!! Comes from factory w/all the upgrades you will need.
Strengths: Everything!!! Thin only 1" wide, Derlin venturi bolt, easy field strip 1 minute. not many moving parts to clean take the Hammer out and the derlin bolt is attached to it one piece!! nice!! Removable power feed, weight is 2 1/2 lbs. rof is 6 bps, you can fine tune the velosity, and gas used to recock to maximise your gas use. Really Quite the most quite blow back i have ever used, and my friends at the field agreed, I'm the only person that has one at my field, every one wants it!!!! Accurate Very Accurate!!!!!!!!!!! Price loaded 190.00 best deal around built like a Tank. will last me years
Weaknesses: stockbarel came lose at times i used a inner tube cut to fit , it fixed it! My new CP barrel comes with a oring to apply some pressure to hold. trigger could be better but as i use it it breaks in.
Conclusion: The ultimate blow back paintball marker hands down! Several models to choose from. the LT and ES have no rear tank adapter like the deluxe does but I Like mine just the wat it is. This is the only Marker for me I've used most of them Tippman was my choice but this thing is so compact and easy to field strip I can do anything w/it. Its a great marker buy one NOW!!! 4000 balls no breaks. The Most quiet blow back marker I have ever used period!!!!!!!!!!!! Hey what are you waiting for order one NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you would like to see a picture of mine e-mail me you'll be impressed!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media