paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / First Endeavor Paintball The Quest / First Endeavor Paintball The Quest / First Endeavor Paintball The Quest / First Endeavor Paintball The Quest

First Endeavor Paintball The Quest Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount First Endeavor Paintball

Buy First Endeavor Paintball The Quest

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


First Endeavor Paintball The Quest
[ View Photos (26) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 43
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $400

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Quest Paintball Marker comes fully stocked with a host of features. Designed with the player in mind, its’ sleek compact appearance is not only aesthetically appealing, but functional as well. The Slider Frame offers 2 positions for the player to choose from, a forward set of frame holes for the front player in mind or a further back set for all the back players out there. The trigger guard is enlarged to fit any sized hands on the triggers sweet spot. The Spot Trigger comes fully adjustable and equipped with bearings and a magnetic return. Both dually needed because at a blazing fast 23bps speed and with a 1500 rd capability (68/4500), The Quest will outshoot and outlast the competition.


For the tournament player at heart it comes cocker threaded, so no need to cart around another set of barrels, integrated snatch grip for the long walks from the pits to the field, and a trigger programmable board including NXL, PSP, and standard semi-auto modes. Together with a clamping feedneck and break beam anti-chop eyes The Quest is capable of fitting a variety of loaders and shooting paint break free.


With its simplistic 2-piece internal Bolt/Pin combo, maintenance and repair are a breeze. No more putting bolts back together backwards, or inserting a cup seal wrong. A quick wipe down and re-grease and your back on the field shootin fools all day long. Also included in the package is FEP’s 007 2-piece barrel boasting a 7” control bore.

With a combination of The Quest & 007 barrel, accuracy and consistency excel above all others!

Specifications:

Operation ~ Electro-Pneumatic
Power ~ 9V Battery
Length ~ 9.8” w/o Barrel - 21"" Overall
Height ~ 7.5”
Width ~ 1.2”
Weight ~ 1lb 14oz w/o Barrel - 2lb 3oz w/ Barrel
Max Rate of Fire ~ 23+ bps
Modes of Fire ~ Semi-Auto, PSP, NXL
Eye Sensor ~ Break-Beam Anti-Chop Eyes
Propellant ~ Compressed Air/Nitrogen Only
Operating Pressure ~ 220 psi
Cycling Pressure ~ 85 psi
Efficiency ~ 1500rds per 68/4500 Fill
Barrel Threads ~ Cocker
Barrel ~ 14” 0.691 2-Piece w/ 7” Control-Bore
Product Availability 
The First Endeavor Paintball The Quest is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Shrubf4 Monday, August 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse-stock--> doesn't compare
Dm5-fairly stock can't remember --> little more kick than any of my quests
Classic timmy --> decent amount of kick, but with the way it was tuned, almost as gas efficient.
stock olive Quest--> the first one you shoot is always the best
2 different gloss red quests--> same
Marker Setup: Red gloss quest
hed-loc
Plat. member bolt
snatch pin
cp on/off
WAS board
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really
maybe an on/off, barrel if you want
Strengths: Gas milaege
hardly any kick
doesn't really need many upgrades
Weaknesses: lack of upgrades
uhhhhhhhhhhhh.....
some of the WAS boards didn't work .
Review: I have owned 4 quests and hopefully more to come.

none have ever let me down and while they are not everyones cup of tea, they are simple to maintain and hold up under all kinds of pressure.

My favorite day with this gun was, it was or had been raining and off the break, I slid into my bunker and dropped it in a mud puddle by accident. I picked it up and made sure that the light was still flashing correctly and started shooting. There was no faltering and when I was done, I checked it out in the pit, no shorts or anything. I just lucked out big time. These guns continually amaze me.
Conclusion: While everyone bashes this gun, all those shooting them stand by them because they work beautifully under any condition. And for that reason I will keep recomending them.
Quite possibly the best gun out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 25th, 2008 at 5:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

awesomlyschweet Thursday, July 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM7=quest
07 Minion=quest
ion<quest
pmr<quest
promaster<quest
Marker Setup: 06 quest w/ cp on/off, goldmember bolt, snatchgrip, lucky ace board, pure energy 48/3000 tank, halo v35 hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
goldmember give more effiencency little more kick
snatch grip for tooless removal
Strengths: Size
Kick
Barrel if you have small bore
Point and shoot feel
unusual
Speed
Quiet
Weaknesses: Barrel if you get larger bore
Grips not to comfy
Not clamping feedneck
Review: GOOD
Ok i got this gun as an upgrade for my pmr and found out that this was a huge upgrade. This has really no bad points unless you get picky. The trigger is a nice s curve and a light and smooth. It is easily adjustible and you can easily get 15bps. The boards all are good since the quest came with so many differnt types. But all have the settings you need like anti stick bolt, dwell, bps, good shooting modes, etc... The gun feel incredible when you hold it. You can move the trigger frame foward if you are front and back for a back player. It is a tight gun and is short and balanced. It is a light gun and doesn't feel cheesy. The barrel is also an excellent 007 if you get a small bore like .689, i got a .696 but it still shoots better than all stock barrels i have had. So basically you get the whole shabang and you can find them for like $300 on ebay. Performance wise this is the best i have ever used. If you want 15 shots in a 12in square you got it in 1 second. This gun is fast(shoots ball on ball i literally found paintbalss wrapped in 2 or 3 other paintballs, accurate, consistant and whatever else you want it to be. What more can you ask for.
BAD
I most admit there are some bad parts to this gun. Even thogh the reg and trigger are close the gun is long. The feedneck can be a pain if you take the hopper off a lot. Also stock back cap can be a pain to take off. The worst thing i found would have to be the connectors. I was out playing at a field one day and got shot where the trigger frame and body come together, so i think this is an easy clean. So i go home and take them apart and figure it would be easier to work with the macro line off so i pull it off and the trigger comes with it. So intead of the eye wire connecter unplugging from the port on the board it rips the whole god damn port right off the board. So now i think i screwed because not a lot of people carry new new boards, but i ended up getting one off critical paintball. Get it in take all the plugs off old board and it is looking good. Then i get to the eyes. Then the god damn eye harness doesnt fit into the new port on the board. The harness has four holes and the port has three connecting sticks. well guess what three doesn't work with four. So called up and they sent the right eyes for ten bucks!! But now to eliminate this problem they jacked the price up on the board ten bucks but throw in the eyes so now everyone is good. And that is my story, no real big deal.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a gun to compete with the big boys this is it. It is fast and small and can get you the win(if you are any good). So now you can get them pretty cheap so the are an even better deal. gave it a 9 because nothing is perfect. will update next week
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 25th, 2008 at 5:36 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

andy Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Toxic Impulse
Upgraded Quest
Marker Setup: Silver Quest w/Raider Board & CP on/off ASA, Halo Hopper, Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Honestly, there is no need to upgrade this marker. Play more instead of upgrading, no marker will make you a professional.
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed/Trigger Feel
Size/Weight
Rarely Breaks Paint
Stock Regulator is VERY GOOD
Weaknesses: Stock ASA had a leak develop over time
Review: After my brother had purchased a Quest and I was able to shoot one, I had to buy one for myself. I bought a used one about a year ago for around $400 and I couldn't be happier with it. The gun is just about as accurate as any paintball gun could possibly be, has a high rate of fire and feels incredible to hold while playing. It will never break paint in the gun no matter how fast you shoot, and I've probably only experience 1 or 2 breaks in the barrel itself probably due to old paint. I can probably get about 1200+ shots out of my tank right now which isn't too bad for gas efficiency and the stock regulator is very consistant. (+/- 2 FPS roughly) Maintenance is also quick and easy by removing the back cap with an allen wrench and re-lubing the bolt and pin.

As I stated earlier, my brother has this exact gun with mostly everything upgraded (CP Barrel, CP Reg, GoldMember Bolt) and I really observe little to no increase in the performance of his gun over mine. Actually, we both agree that the stock regulator on my gun seems to be more consistant than the CP regulator on his.
Conclusion: I would recommend a Quest to anyone looking to get a competitive electronic gun. It is rather inexpensive compaired to other markers today (ex. Ego, DM8) and can definetly hang with them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

senghing27 Monday, April 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion-Meh
Droid- Very Nice, but pricey
Shocker-similar, but the trigger is meh
Marker Setup: F.E.P Quest
Or
CCI VSC Phantom


Recommended
Upgrades:
New Reg of some sort, the stock reg is fine, but for comfort, get a new reg
Goldmember bolt
New Board
Snatch Pin (For easy removal)
Strengths: Price
Efficiency
Looks (depends on the person)
stock features
Trigger, omfg Trigger

Weaknesses: None really
Review: I got the Quest a while back because I wanted something different then the usual ego, shocker, ion crowd. What I ended up with was the FEP Quest.

It comes stock with an amazing trigger frame with a very nice trigger. Very clean milling and is well functioning.

I opted for the Quest because it was a spooler. Taking it apart is really easy, a whole 3 mins for a full tear down.

Great marker, really easy to take care of, well made, A+++++++++++++++
Conclusion: Get it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

importdirect Wednesday, December 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM Rail, SP Ion, SP Shocker NXT None of them really compair.
Marker Setup: NDZ Rail and ON/FF, Crossfire 68/4500, Reloader B2 Hopper, Goldmember Bolt, Snacth pin, Bionic Hedloc, Lucky Ace Board, Raider Grips, Critical Trigger, Powerlyte barrel kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Board!!! WAS malfunctions out of the box.
Strengths: Light, Efficient, Consistant, Fast
Weaknesses: Board (WAS), Trigger (personal), No asa or ON/Off
Review: Well as soon as the coffin came in I was very impressed. Tin of lube, Tin of O-rings, Allen key, macro line, 2 piece 007 barrel (nice), manual, warranty card and wait no rail or on / off damn.

This marker just feels solid in your hands. When I aired it up and shot a few, wait it didn't shoot had to adjust the lpr and reg. Once it was going not to bad 285, 290, 282, 289, 291. Considering it was not broken in yet I was impressed. So I turned the marker off via button on the back, guess what it fired holy s**t if I have been pointing this thing in the gerneral area of anyone with out the barrel sock........ Checked online and this is a known issue with the WAS board. Other than that I hate the trigger I mean I can rip on it I just don't like the feel.

First day at the field (Bellow Air Force Base Hawaii) took it there before I decide to take it to a speed ball field, didn't want it going down on me during a speedball game. First thing I get complements from everyone including the field owner, mostly for not copying everyone elses marker choice. Took it over the feild chrono and played my first game, keep in mind field is rather large. First thing I notice this marker shoots really flat so my accuracy was awesome and man this thing is really operates smoothly. Kept up with the guys using timmy's and egos. Used 7 pods and a hopper full that game and still had 1500 in my 68/4500. In the middle of my second came I ran into problems marker stopped shooting. So I go back to the set up area to find the lpr backed out not the screw the whole lpr. So I put alittle teflon on the treads tightened it up readjusted the lpr and I was fine for the rest of the day. Other than that I put 2 1/2 cases through it that day not one chop or barrel break. To my surpise no leaks.

Maintenance is a breaze take out the back cap remove the pin and bolt, whipe off old lube, put on some hater sauce and your good for another day.

EDIT:
Now with the upgrades Goldmember bolt, snatch pin, Lucky board, critical trigger. This thing totally rocks. My 06 ego is my back up to this marker and its staying that way. It out shots my vlocity and B2, shoots flat and I go through 3 cases before the bolt needs lube. The marker does not make the player but when you have a fast consistant light marker it sure helps.
Conclusion: I love this marker, my 06 ego is my back up to this marker. I will make revisions later after I install the Goldmember bolt, snatch pin, bionic headloc, lucky board, critical trigger and the kila detents. I would have given it a ten but it wasn't set up out of the box (minor), lpr came loose (minor), malfunctioning board (major).

EDIT:
With upgrades this marker is a 10+++++
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 28th, 2007 at 12:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the_real_kaz Sunday, November 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Spool-valves. DM's and PM's.
Marker Setup: 06 Quest, Angel Fly
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/off for sure
Barrel Kit
Strengths: Trigger, bolt design, grip position. Board, grips
Weaknesses: Mircoline placement, no On/Off, Not pretested,
Review: First off I bought this gun brand new for the newly dropped price of $400. I'm going to compare it to other spools like Pms and then other guns in the price range, but first I'll start with the impressions on it and then explain it's strenghts and weaknesses.

Initial impression:
Sweet. The gun comes in a tombstone shaped box (I thought it was cool. Some would say it's not), Micro line included, a set of extra o-rings (super nice), and Hater Sauce lube. Enough to last a while. The first thing i noticed was how small it was. The photo's don't do it justice.

Strenghts:
The trigger is the best I've owned by far. It reminds me a lot of my teammates 06 intimiadors trigger. Almost no side to side play and great return.
Bolt Design: This is in reference to the bettter air efficency than all other spool valves ;(pre-druid). A lot better then the Dm's and PM's I've got my hands on.
Grip Position; This is the first marker I know of that allows you to switch the grip from a forward to a back postion. I noticed the same with the ASA when I put my On/off on it.
Board W.A.S. board, Enough said.
Grips: The grips are sweet. I don't care what anyone says, they are cool.

Weaknesses:
Microline placement: The reg is made so the microline enters it on the left side right where your hand should be. Not only is this uncomfortable, but it makes it so you have to take the grip off get the reg off.
No On/Off: All guns that are $800 should have an On/Off. This isn't as big of deal now that the price is $400, but for $800 is was rediculous.
Not pre-tested: By this I mean the factory dosn't air up the guns before sending them off. I know this becase one of my body screws where leaking baddly when I first aired it up. I had to heat the screw to get the locktight to let go. I then used a higher grade locktight, and a nicer screw in it's place. This is important becuase it allows stupid little things like this to get out. A person not a mechanically inclinded would have a problem with this.

Compared to other Spools I've shot, (Pm6, Dm4) This marker is alot smaller. It's more air efficent. It shoots just about the same. Not sure if FEP is as good as DYE yet, but i'll update this as I deal more with FEP.

Compared to Angels, the quest smaller again. It has less kick and a much nicer trigger than my Fly.

Compared to other $400 markers, I thought, and still think this is a better marker. My freinds fusion dons't shoot as smooth and isn't as small. The quests trigger is so much nicer.
Conclusion: When the Quest first came out, I though the Price was to high. No On/Off and unknown company had me worrying. Because of the recent price drop I feel it's the best new marker in that price range. It easly goes round for round with the PM6, is well ahead of the DM4, Fly, and Fusion.

For $400 it's a great buy, for $800, I always thought it was overpriced. And when I opened the box and it leaked, I questioned FEP a little more but for $400, 9/10 easly.

Please keep in mind I will up-date as I deal more with FEP and shoot the marker more.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Inquisitor23 Saturday, October 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM7, Proto 05, Proto 06, Ion, Shocker, Ego
Marker Setup: Quest Gen 2, Sliver CCM Reg, UL Barrel, Raider Board, Angel 1 ASA, Snatch Pin, Goldmember bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
CCM Reg, Snatch Pin, OnOff ASA, Goldmember Bolt, Lucky Board or Virtue
Strengths: Preformance on Semi - FAST marker and efficent. Easy to maintain!
Weaknesses: Inside milling, Reg Position and ASA (No, on off)
Review: Rough milling inside the grip frame and body internals (Clean but sharp edges), careful not to damage wires! ASA where the reg screws with the combo of the stock reg does not alwasy place the microline in a good place. Boards that come with the gun is never the same, and some programing on the stock doesn't always work. Gotta play with it.

Traded the marker for a Gen 3 version, much better than Gen 1. Comes with WAS boards as stock. Better inside milling.
Conclusion: For the price, GO BUY THIS GUN! The preformance is insanse and it's efficency is awsome! It's easy to maintain, just be careful when you take the grip frame apart not to catch anyt wires putting it back together.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 18th, 2008 at 6:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fire_Wall Saturday, August 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Specs-
Gold/Black accents 06 GEN 3 Quest
Custom SPD Grips
Matching 007 Barrel
Lucky Spitfire Board
WAS Board
Quick Bolt Snatch Pin
Hybrid 07 Quarter Turn bleeder
Hybrid 07 D-Stroy Rail
Grey/Black Quest grips


Reloader B-
Black Suicide Shells
White Speedfeed
Custom made Rip drive nob(made from yours truly)

70/4500 Stubby Crossfire
3A Tank cover
silver/black nipple cover
68/3000 Pure Energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing
Strengths: Looks, Accurate, Light, Fast, Consistent, mostly everything about it is awesome.
Weaknesses: Nothing so far.
Review: I am going to have to say this is the best gun I have ever shot. It shoots really nice, Doesn't have much kick, and can get 500 shots from 1000 psi fill from a 4500 tank. This gun has Never failed me, Always worked when it had to work.
Conclusion: In conclusion this gun is by far one of the best guns I have laid my hands on.
I would suggest this gun to any user that like both Timmys and Shockers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbfreak555 Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion- Quest wins
VS2- Quest wins
Blowback spyders- Quest wins
Tippmann 98c- Quest wins
Marker Setup: 2007 Fep Kevelara Quest
Silver, Brown and Blue color
007 barrel
WAS board
Goldmember bolt
Snatch Pin
DXS Pulse Loader
PMI Pure Energy CF Tank 68/4500 w/Dye Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the Goldmember bolt
new reg if not comfortable
snatch pin
Strengths: FAST
Extremely accurate
"Zero" Kick
Quiet (quietest i've ever shot)
Light
Pretty good price
Weaknesses: Input nipple high on reg. some find it annoying.
Gun needs TONS of lube
Review: Wow where to start. The Quest fits good in your hands and I think it's very comfortable. it has absolutely NO kick. The stock trigger is amazing. It has one of the lightest trigger pulls ever. The accuracy of this marker with the 007 barrel is almost perfection. It is the quietest barrel i've ever used. You can barely hear anything when you fire the gun because it is so quiet. I put a target on the side of a mountain, the target was about maybe 8' by 6', from about 150-200 feet away. Every single paintball hit the board. Not one ball missed. This is no joke people. this gun will beat any marker you put up against it. Any Dm, Pm, Timmy, shocker, angel, ego etc.... So instead of buying a gun that's well over a grand, buy the quest. They are under a thousand. To me, the quest could be a $2000 marker. Get the quest people.
Conclusion: The Quest is the best marker out there period. Nothing compares to it. Get the quest and be proud.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 9th, 2007 at 7:19 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jhorgan Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, DM, and PM series markers
Marker Setup: 2006 Cyborg
PBK Sabre Trigger
06 Sonic Clamping Feedneck
PowerLyte Barrel Kit
CP mini-rail w/CP on off

2007 FEP Quest
Goldmember Bolt
Snatch Pin
007 Barrel
WAS Chip Board
FEP Zero Drop Reg
CP Rail
NDZ On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Goldmember Bolt, Snatch Pin
Strengths: Easy Maintenance, Price, Light, Fast, Accurate
Weaknesses: Chip Board (see review), Very few aftermarket parts
Review: I picked up a used Quest after doing lots of research. Of course it is light (only 2 pounds), very well balanced, compact, etc. Everything that a high-end marker should be.
Maintenance is also a breeze. The bolt and carrier assembly is only 2 parts with a total of 7 o-rings. Just wipe off the old lube and apply the new stuff. The manual recommends DOW 55, but I've been using Hater Sauce and have had no problems at all. I even called FEP and asked them if Hater Sauce is OK and the tech I talked to said that's what he uses on his.
After going through the marker it was time to gas it up and run some paint through it. The Quest shoots ropes quite easily. The trigger can be set to your liking and is a magnetic return trigger with 3 adjustment points.
With a good paint to barrel match the Quest is ball on ball accurate. The Zero Drop regulator seems to be very consistent. And at high rates of fire there was no noticeable drop off what so ever. So putting paint across the field accurately is no problem for the Quest.

The Chip Board (came stock in Gen 2 Quests) is my only real pet peeve with the Quest. It took me quite awhile to get used to it after using the Predator Board in my Cyborg for so long. But after playing with it for while it got easier. Although I'm still never confident when I change a setting that it actually worked; so I go back through to make absolutely sure that the setting was changed. I might end up changing the board or the chip eventually. I just don't like how the stock chip board is set up software wise. I will most likely end up getting a NOX chip.

As with any new marker from a small paintball company there are very few aftermarket parts available for the Quest. The only ones I know of are from FEP: The Goldmember Bolt and the Snatch Pin. Of the two I recommend the Goldmember Bolt the most since it will help with gas usage.

Overall I love the Quest and has proven itself to be an excellent backup to my Cyborg.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a spool type marker but have stayed away from them for one reason or another (mine was the maintenance issues, I like simple markers) you might want to consider the Quest. It is everything that a highend marker should be, and is a great addition to the spool type marker family.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 17th, 2007 at 6:27 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media