paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
coolio220 Saturday, October 1st, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None second gun and my pirahna r6 was better as an o ring cutter butt some pirahnas are ok or good just the r6 is not
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom
skeleton stock
magazine
regular 200 round hopper
custom cammoed
and barrel grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock( Just for comfort and aim)
The magazine looks cool and makes a good grip but no neccsesary
if you ever make it full auto probaably low profile cyclone feed (an awesome hopper)
ive heard that bt apex barrels are supposed to be really nice and you can set it so it curvers bulltes slightly
Strengths: Accuracy
Strenght
Insane durability
Easily upgradibility
Weaknesses: None
Review: Let me start with the durability of this gun, me,grandpa, and my uncle all have this gun and we play in the rain all the time, with my cousins bt 4 combats (basicly the same gun that shares allot ugrades with this gun and just less popular) But if the gun doss get very wett u r gonna want to dry it off and maybe not play with it pooring like crazy. Second this gun is VERY easily upgraded and can be ugraded alot. You can even get acog scopes and red or green dot sights,full auto, stocks and barrels. this gun can be less or more power with just an allen rench, you just put it in a hole turn it right for less power right for more.
Conclusion: I think any beginners or intermedite woodsballers (playing in the woods) should get this gun because as you begin to love the sport even more you can just spen like 20 bucks every now and then upgrading it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DrDetroit69 Sunday, June 5th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C w/ Red Dot Sight & ACT
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel & CAR Stock
Strengths: Small & Powerful
Weaknesses: None
Review: The Tippmann 98 Custom is a very good marker for beginners and veterans alike. It is very powerful for a gun it's size and is excellent for woodsball. It is an okay speedball gun but if you want to use it for speedball I recommend getting a double trigger and a longer barrel. I have used this gun for most of my paintball career and have not felt the need or want to get a new gun. This is my favorite marker I have ever used and I have tested most of the guns on the market at this time.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone who plays paintball because it is small, powerful, and extremely reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

2nwyka Wednesday, March 9th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Similar action
-Viewloader Triton II
-Tippmann A5
-Spyder TS
-Spyder Victor II
Marker Setup: WGP '2K AutoCocker
-Pro-fit 90s
-Crosman 5x4.5 scope
-Ninja 68/4500
-Viewloader Revvy X
-VL Clamping feed neck

VL Triton II
-12" Carbon-fiber barrel
-Custom paint job
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Stock
Strengths: Tough as nails
Accurate
Upgradable
Not picky about paint
Weaknesses: Hard to clean/maintain
Heavy (Compared to other markers)
Review: You all must think me a sinner to not have owned the Tippmann 98, and I'm beginning to think so myself. I'm doing the review on the 98 that my friend let me use for a game. It had a 14" barrel and an electro loader as well as a stock, double trigger, and a 20oz CO2 tank. (None of which I can remember the brand names of.) Here's the breakdown:
(Note: All numbers given are measured on a scale of 1-5 and apply to expectations and a "how good it should be" factor.)

Durability:
This thing is tough as a bag of nails. It's been through mud, sand, water, and multiple drops without so much as a scratch. I'll give it a 5/5

Price:
One of the things paintballers look at the most, the price is a little up there, but still low compared to a lot of good markers. It gets a 4/5

Accuracy:
I tested the stock accuracy and was amazed at my groupings! The rounds all hit within 2" at about 50 feet, accurate enough to gog someone bunkered a little too high. It gets a 5/5.

Overall user-friendliness:
Although it was designed with minimal maintainance in mind, the time comes for it to be cleaned and lubed. I helped a few of my friends (who all own Tippmann guns) dissassemble theirs and was surprisied to find that you have to take the whole side off to clean it well. My Viewloader is easily cleaned because it has a removable bolt and the internals come out from a single pin. As for modifications, it is pretty easy to install different grips, stocks, rails, and barrels. Though I don't own one, my friend is enough of a newbie that I have to help him with almost everything, so I speak from experience. Overall, it gets a 3/5.

Total: 17/20
Conclusion: Overall a phenomenal marker. I would reccomend this to any beginner because it is a reliable gun that you can modifiy for any environment, playing type, or need. The internals, though hard to clean, are very strong and easily maintained.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IIFUNKOII Tuesday, October 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: I actually have the pro so mine has a tacticle rail on top and ACT (anti chop tech). I have a dogleg airthrough stock, Aim Sports scope, and a 21 in. barrel. (I don't know the brand of the barrel it was a gift)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A long barrel and a stock for sure if you play woods ball like me.
Strengths: Accurracy, durability, and customization.
Weaknesses: Weight.
Review: I have been using this marker since I discovered paintball. You really can't beat the durability of a Tippmann. The field I play at is on a flood plain so it is very muddy. I have gotten this thing very dirty without having any problems. The only problem I have ever had was my fault. I opened it up to clean it and apparently didn't tighten the air hose enough because it leaked air the next time I used it. This marker performs well, and Tippmann provides numerous upgrades for it. It is heavy though since it is solid steal. The Dogleg stock is nice because you can look down the sight with your mask on. If you are considering a stock I would suggest this one.
Conclusion: If you are thinking about getting this marker you will not be disappointed. It's definitely worth the money. For those who say it's too heavy, I use this thing in 8 hour scenario games and that does get a little tiring. The shear amount of abuse it can take is amazing. Mine still works perfectly.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 31st, 2012 at 5:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

plisken95 Thursday, July 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bt-4 combat
A-5
Marker Setup: 98 custom
Electronic hopper
14" smart parts barrel
double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
HPA
Strengths: Duribility
accuracy ok with stock barrel
ok on air
Looks good
don't chop
Weaknesses: 1.HEAVY
2.loud, to me at least
Review: This gun is great for begginers to the sport or if ur into woodsball get this marker, it is thee woodsball gun. The price point is good and looks great espically in senario games, looks like a real gun! I,ve dropped mine from trees and in the mud i had to clean it obviously but nothing is broken. I've fired about 8000 shot's through it and not a single chop!
Conclusion: In the end this is a great marker! if u buy it you will love it!

Gave it a 9 'cuase it's not perfect (nothing can be).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballer24 Saturday, July 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
NONE.
Marker Setup: Model 98 and 14" JJ Ceramic Barrel. I use Co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" JJ Ceramic Barrel.
Strengths: It's a Tippmann.
Weaknesses: Heavy
Complicated cleaning
Inside comes apart TOO EASY
stock barrel
Review: so i have a TIPPMANN MODEL 98 and my friend has a CUSTOM 98 so i tried his. terrible. TOO heavy! and he didn't know how to take apart and clean so i did it. i take coverSSSS (yes there are 2!!!) off and everything is like messed up.....TWO SPRINGS!?!?!? thats bull. hes only had it for 3 months and its broken THREE times. STOCK BARREL SUCKS!
Conclusion: dont get it. Get a Model 98.Mines 12 years old and hasnt broken ANYTHING. inside or out. and its only chopped like 3 balls....IN 12 YEARS! CUSTOM 98 isnt good.....but hey, it shoots and hits people
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mistab90 Wednesday, June 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98, Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: Cyclone Feed, Response Trigger, Flatline.
Strengths: Ruggedness
Look.
How easily it is upgraded
Weaknesses: Honestly I have found none.
Review: So this is my first marker that I truly enjoy playing with. I purchased a MR1 and played 2 games with it and just did not like it so I traded for my 98c. When I traded it, it came with a custom barrel not quit sure what it was but it was long lol. My first upgrade I threw on it was the Cyclone feed. Since my gun was new to me I had the place I bought it from install it. It was about a month before I got to take it out and I did not have a single chop, I did notice I wasnt shooting very accurate so later that week I went and bought a Flatline. We went out again and it was shooting great untill I shot with the barrel plug on ( Noob mistake i know). So now I have a response trigger that I tuned to almost perfection and I cant wait to get out there.
Conclusion: This is a great gone I love it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iframedjesus Monday, June 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
WPG Worr Machine (older model) - more accurate but lack of sight and customization options limits the quality of this marker
Marker Setup: just the stock setup, no modifications.
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you plan on hitting anything moving over 25 feet away, you need to invest in a new barrel.
Strengths: Very customizable
Cheap
Hard to screw up
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks
Review: It's a cheap gun thats perfect for entry level players, it'll allow you to keep up with other players and won't rack up a huge bill.

In addition to that, if you feel like you need to ramp up the marker's performance, there are so many options you can choose from, and thats what really makes this a great marker.
Conclusion: If you've never played paintball before, or you just want to play recreational games instead of competing in tournaments and stuff, without spending a fortune on a high end gun, then the tippmann 98 custom is perfect for you.

There is a few issues with the marker though:
The stock barrel blows - get a new one.
The internals of the gun have paint from the factory sprayed all over them and that causes friction that can reduce your gun's accuracy. This can easily be fixed by taking apart the gun and polishing it with some steel wool, and then lubing all of the moving parts in the marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rick1850 Thursday, June 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto SLG
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom platinum series
20 oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
double respnse trigger
sniper barrel
electronic hopper
Strengths: Durability
Sight
Weaknesses: Speed
Accuracy
Distance
Comfort
Heavy
Review: This is one of the worst guns i have ever used. It has a very small range, big, stocky trigger, and even when i went oline to find a better one, the people at my local paintball shop said it would not fit. It is too big for speedball, and does not have the range or accuracy for woodsball.It is also VERY HEAVY. After each game i am always tired and i am in good shape! I am not insulting Tippmann though. Tippmann is a reliable brand and if you play woodsball, i suggest you look at the A5. It is very fast and i hear it is better.
Conclusion: Dont buy it. It is a waste of money. If you want a woodsball gun, check out the
A5. Don't even think about it if you play speedball.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 10th, 2010 at 4:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Retired_Penguin Thursday, May 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a tippmann 98, and spyder markers the 98 custom is better
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c 20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would reccomend getting a better barrel the stock one is rather inaccurate
Strengths: Low price, Very durable (all metal), very reliable, Good trigger , Good Sights
Weaknesses: The stock barrel, good length for close quarters but is rather inaccurate for longer distances
Review: I think the Tippmann 98c is the best overall gun for the money. it is highly reliable, it was my first gun and i have used it over 5 years and it has never failed me! it has a great trigger, very crisp and light and i like it much better than double triggers. i also love this gun because it actually has sights! it also is the most costomizeable pb gun in the market!
Conclusion: Overall i recomend this gun to anyone wanting a reliable and affordable pb gun for a low price!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media