paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  99  |  100  |  101  |  102  |  103  |  104  |  105  |  Last
        Next Page
jakes_anthem Saturday, December 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippys, spyders, phiranas
Marker Setup: 98 rt, j&j 14"c
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, e-bolt
Strengths: Unbreakable and totally reliable.
Weaknesses: slow, heavy, loud, CA system is expensive
Review: the ultimate beginners gun. pretty cheap and youll never have to fix it. ive never had my gun break down on me and ive had it for almost a year now. that's saying a lot. my dad has a spyder that has problems almost every time we take it out. the 98c can play in rain or shine, cold or hot. if you get an ebolt and a cheap agitated hopper you could even use it as backup tourney gun. i wouldnt recommend getting the response trigger, because, while it is cool, its illegal in tourneys. and you never know if you might wanna play in a rookie league for a bigger challenge than the usual rec balling.

this isnt the fastest gun, and is pretty inefficient with gas, but if you get a 20 oz tank you should be set for a whole day. its also very loud, and has a distinct ring to the shot. it can be kind of annoying at first, but you learn to tune it out. its also pretty innacurate, because you can only use co2. a good barrel will help a bit, but not like CA. and to get a CA tank on it then you need to get a CA system which is $100. plus the price of the actual tank which is like $80 for the cheapest one. but i say, if youre ready for CA, then go ahead and get a more advanced gun, youll be pleased with the double bonus of awesome accuracy and a better rate of fire.
Conclusion: Get this gun if you wanna start getting into paintball. itll help you learn how to care for a gun without the risk of breaking something. if you think you might wanna do tourneys, plan for an ebolt. or better yet, dont get this one. cuz trust me, snap shooting with a right feed gun is not easy. go for a vert. this is a total rec ballers gun though.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

albanz35 Saturday, December 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: well right now.. i only have a remote kit on it.. but Christmas is coming so im getting stuff then
Recommended
Upgrades:
you don't need upgrades... unless u want the most out of the gun.. i have had my gun for 4 years now, and it is completely stock.. the barrel is even stock...
Strengths: very light, very comfortable, easy to use, never EVER breaks,
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: well lets see the tippmann model 98 is an extremely good dun.. weather you wanna hook it up or if it is just for you to play around with on your days off. i have had my gun for 4 years now.. never broke a ball.. even using Brass Eagle balls(they suck in other guns). and compared to my friends spyder he has had multipl problem with. the brass eagle balls broke in his gun and he told me not to use them because they suck, but i used them anyway, and didn't have a problem. this gun is extremely reliable and worth the money that it is.
Conclusion: I say just freaking buy the gun.. good choice weather stock or not.. kicks a$$ either way.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

twisted_cocker Saturday, December 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5, most new spyders and a few cockers
Marker Setup: model 98 custom with the flatline( works wonderfully), coil, AK loader,and double trigger with a custom trigger mod.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I highly recommend a new barrel, even though the stock one is ok for a while you still will eventually need a after stock one, like the flatline! Also a drop forward or a coil because the set up can get very long. A double trigger is great for higher rates of fire, and when you are able to shot higher rates of fire you might want to purchase a new hopper like the Revy or AK, i tried both and they work great.
Strengths: Very durable
worth the money got mine for $150 ( with double trigger)
accurate being stock.
Weaknesses: Kind of loud with the flatline
Besides that none
Review: In review this marker is the best starter and even intermediate level marker you can for the money. It is durable, easy to fix, and accurate. When i first got mine about a year and a half ago I was so exited that we went and played the very next Saturday. When I got there the marker worked flawlessly. Not a single problem and i still did not have a problem yet. This proves it reliability.
Conclusion: I conclusion I highly recommend the model 98 custom because it has proved reliable and durable. I would rate this marker a 11 but the numbers don't go high enough so a 10 will have to do. So get out their and buy yours today and you wont be sorry you did.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 21st, 2004 at 8:56 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lzxray Saturday, December 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98.
Marker Setup: 98 custom with low pressure kit, 16" night stick barrel, psycho ballistics drop forward, double trigger kit, response trigger kit, combat stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
What I have, it works great.
Strengths: Very durable, shoots accurate, & all for a good price.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel, & it's a pain to put the fitting back together properly.
Review: All in all, this is a great gun. For beginners and experienced players alike. It is easy to take apart to clean and fix, it is very durable(I have dropped mine plenty of times, but it still works great). The 98 custom can give you a great gun when you first start playing, and when you become more experienced, you can add so many upgrades, it's like it's a different gun, and all for a great price ( I got mine for only 160$, and compared to most guns like it, that is a great price).
Conclusion: Buy this gun, you will love it. It is the only gun I have every owned and I don't plan on getting another one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dapaintballax Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: tippman 98 custom with 14" smart parts progressive barrel and double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
double trigger, smart parts progressive barrel, and car stock
Strengths: Great customobility and a very dependable gun.
Weaknesses: Slow fire rate
Review: This gun is very good for beginners (like i was when i started). But now i wish i would of gotten an Evil Omen from the start. This gun is great... if u put hundreds of dollars of upgrades into it. My main problem is the slow fire rate. There have been many times where the slow firing has lost me the game
Conclusion: Even though im not very happy with the gun, i still recomend it for beginners.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

docshaddy Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Tippmann's
Marker Setup: Custom 98
PB Drop foward
14" Tippmann's Werk Barrel
20oz CO2 tank
Tippmann Expansion Chamber
12V Hopper
**Twitchy Finger** 8)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock Barrel works ok but I would get a longer and more accurate barrel.
R/T and 12V hopper and your set.
Strengths: Accurate
Durable
Reliable
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel -length
Tank-situation
Review: Tippmann 98 Custom is a great gun to start off with for either a beginner of for the advance players. This gun will shoot 11 bps with the right hopper, and is one the most durable guns I personally have ever played with. The stock barrel that comes with the Custom is a pretty accurate barrel but a 12",14",16" barrel would be great for little more range and accuracy.
Conclusion: awesome gun...I gave it a 10 but it could use a barrel for more accuracy and for alittle more ranger. I would defiantly get a drop foward, in my opinion the way the tank sits on that gun I hate I have a PB drop and it fit my collar bone to were I can see straight down the still sights without leaning or anything.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 10th, 2004 at 4:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

naughty_dog23 Thursday, December 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a-5, 2004 vertical autococker, WGP trilogy pro autococker
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom w/ GTA double trigger, Smart parts Progressive 14in. barrel
Viewloader revlution 2 w/X-board
20 ounce pure energy Co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
If You have a response trigger on it then i would definitely have a revi w/x-board
A new long and good quality barrel (Smart Parts, J&R, Lapco)
double trigger GTA
Response trigger or E-grip
E-bolt or superfly delrin bolt
Nitro bottle
If you play woods ball or scenario then a flatline barrel
Strengths: Reliability
Price
Consistancy
over all good for begginners
Weaknesses: Stock barrel stinks
breaks some paint
only good for begginners
Review: The tippmann 98 custom is another one of tippmann's wonderful and reliable markers.
I would definetly recommend this one for kids that are getting their first markers or play a lot of woods ball. If you play Rec ball then you might want to add a few of the listed upgrades and definetly a new barrel. this is overall a great gun
Conclusion: I would definetly get this for begginers because it is reliable affordable and has a solid feel to it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

miketizz Thursday, December 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: now i have a Tippmann response
Recommended
Upgrades:
18in 3A barrel with response trigger and etc.
Strengths: Almost never brakes down.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: There almost nothing to say.. it's the best beginner marker you can get!!. I never had a major concern with it. Its one of my faveroit gun of all time. If I were to tell someone what marker they sould get, this would be it. This is one great gun!!!!
Conclusion: One of the best!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 27th, 2005 at 9:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

whs watty Wednesday, December 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Compares to most other Tippmann markers
Marker Setup: Stock Tippman 98 Custome
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Very reliable!!! Barely ever breaks down. upgrades easily
Weaknesses: large frame. Slow. Sometimes unaccurate
Review: This is a great marker for beginners. Since many people start out in woods ball this would be a great gun for it. However, if you want to play a speedball you may want to buy a little more compact gun. The gun fires a little slow due to to the single-finger trigger. I have had a few problems with doube fire and ball chopping. Great gun for the price. I would encourage anyone who is just gettin started or dosn't wanna kill their wallet to purchase this marker.
Conclusion: Great marker for beginners and woodsball. A little slow and stocky for the more advanced players. Great marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wahoofan627 Wednesday, December 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon Ghost. It was a 30 dollar pump I got at Wal-Mart Enough said.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Tippmann Werks Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Double Trigger
Strengths: Price
Quality
Ease of use
Easy to clean
Very upgradeable
Weaknesses: Crappy stock barrel
Too popular
Review: This is an awesome gun!!!! It is "the worlds most urgradeable marker" and that is great because you can turn it into a sniper to a speedball gun for very little out of your pocket. The stock barrel is terrible so you have to get another one, but other than that there is nothing wrong with the stock gun. It is incredibly easy to clean, I have barely even had to wipe mine down with a cloth for the year I've had it. The only problem is that everyone has this gun. I geuss that is just a testament to how good of a gun it is.
Conclusion: I rate this gun a 9 because it is not perfect (details above)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  99  |  100  |  101  |  102  |  103  |  104  |  105  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media