paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  103  |  104  |  105  |  106  |  107  |  108  |  109  |  Last
        Next Page
triggertime Friday, October 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro-lite
Tippmann Pro-Carbine
Marker Setup: WGP Orracle(Red Fusion) w/ kaner, torpedo On/Off Drop ; eggy 2; Worr gas 70/4500 psi peanut
(back up gun) Tippmann 98C w/ Dye Boomy(selling), RT, Psycho ballistics Double Trigger; eggy 2; 9 or 20 Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
RT or E-Bolt(if your gonna get an E-bolt for this gun you might as well sell the gun combine the E-bolt money and buy a better gun you could probably get a good cocker with that money)
Double Trigger
Strengths: Stock barrel is accurate, but doesn't compare to other barrels
Handles Co2 well
Customizable
Weaknesses: None considering the price
Review: Okay for those of you that say spyders suck consider this, many spyders are: electronic(Full-Function, that's right fully automatic or whatever you want), have great barrels, look like tournament high end guns, don't need a regulator or already have a regulator for nitro, have drop forwards, and are slightly more expensive or the same price as a tippmann.

For those newbies that have a lot of money to spend, just get a high end gun(if you really love playing paintball otherwise don't get a paintball gun at all). All that bull about having to take care of a high end gun is just plain bull. You're gonna have to learn how to take care of a Spyder and Tippmann or whatever you're getting anyways(I don't think any person I know with a decent gun has not had to open his gun up and lub or clean or fix it.) Just get the angel, cocker, bushy, timmy, or whatever the hell you want. That way you'll be happier with the gun you have for a longer period of time.

Now for those off you who I have not persuaded and still have your heart set on getting a Tippmann. Tippmanns have a good price tag. A one of the most durable guns I know off. And are highly customizable according to what you are looking for in a gun.
Conclusion: Get it if you really want it. It's a good gun. I used one for 3 years before I just recently got my cocker. Remember this always, "It's not the gun(marker to all you paintball freaks out there) that controls the person, it's the person that controls the gun(marker)."-me myself I just made it up. I'm gonna give it a nine cause every gun out there has a flaw.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

D1ablo Thursday, October 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used angels, tipmans, spyders
Marker Setup: I just got rid of my gun, and am now in the prosses of buying an angel speed 05!
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recoment you get a response trigger, or a new overall trigger fram, also a jt boom stick
Strengths: It is fully upgradable
And good looking
Weaknesses: Not very fast (9 bps)
Needs new barel
heavy
Review: My friend got this gun, and let me try it out agansed some newbs in a speed ball game, It was reliable ddnt have problems with it, but its not fast enugh (stock at least). The millings ok, but that dosnt really matter. I would get an electronic trigger fram, or a new barrel. This gun is good for the average paintballer, but most people buy it to upgrade to a better gun.
Conclusion: I would get this gun if you are new to the sport. Because you will grow with it as a player, you can upgrade every part of it so it can be as good as you will grow to be....If your new get this gun its low price and fully upgradable!
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jmill1989 Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor 2
Model 98
A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Response Trigger
Empire Reloader
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Double Trigger or Response Trigger
Strengths: -Very Durable
-Reliable
-Inexpensive
Weaknesses: -Too many internal parts
-RT might cause gun to NOT recock
Review: This was my second gun, my first gun was a piece o' crap ACI Griffin. I ordered this with response trigger already installed and the 14" barrel. I loved it the first few time I played with it, then i had to open it up and clean it...parts everywhere. I swear it must take an entire army to make all the pieces for that gun. I guess they're all worth it because the gun functions perfectly (assuming you can get all the parts in correctly after cleaning). The stock barrel is the most awful barrel ever. I immediately put on my J&J barrel, which is awesome. The trigger pull is respectably light, and the accuracy is good for an entry level gun. Also the gun is very comfortable in your hands. This is the elite entry level gun.
Conclusion: I like it, you'll like it, buy it...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Machine Soldier Tuesday, October 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4... in a different league
Angel fly....
karnivor...
z intimidator
Marker Setup: Dm4
cp on/off
dye drop

My old tippmann has a rt, and a 12 inch empire twister
Recommended
Upgrades:
Comes good stock, new barrel.
Strengths: Durable
Rather light
Consistent
Weaknesses: None, mabye the stock barrel but thats it. Long.
Review: Well, first off this is a GREAT starter gun, if you plan to start playing in big tourneys your would have to have every upgrade on this to compete, and for the same price you could probally get a higher level gun like a cocker. This gun is extremely durable! Mine never messed up on me. The only maintence I did was oil it and strip it down every now and then to make sure all was well inside. One key weakness I will focus on is its size. It is a LONG gun, for me atleast. Im a mid to front player and its hard for me to play tight with this gun. Other than that I think its a great, durable gun. It also ROCKs for scenario, because of all the possible upgrades.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to begginers, and scenario players I give it a 9, because its hard for me to play tight with and get into my bunker. Other than that its great!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

g murder Monday, October 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 (Flatline)

WGP Vertical Feed Autococker
WGP Karnivor Autococker

JT Excellerator 3.5e
Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom (changed body from the M98 to 98C)
Flatline barrel
BT double trigger
Check-it-Products Unimount tank ASA
Vertical adapter (my air hose hook up is where the front grip was)
Shocktech - gas thru grip
GTA Rocket Cock (not installed yet)
Pure Energy 88ci 3000psi tank
Polished Internals
Ported feed neck (allows faster loading)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel (or another aftermarket barrel)
Double trigger
HPA Nitrogen tank (the gun seems to have more snap & better consistancy)
Rocket Cock (keeps dirt & paint out of the open hammer slot)
Strengths: Tough, rugged...can take a lickin' & it will still be tickin'
Weaknesses: Not much respect from non-tippy users...
Review: This marker is a tough, durable & cost effective gun...I've gone home after a day of woods ball only to open up the marker to clean it and found a considerable amount of sand inside...near the front and near the back...and it was still firing like the start of the day. This marker can take the rigors of rough handling and still shoot.

I use it only for woods ball so I bought the Flatline to extend my range...when other players are out there with timmys, cockers, angels, impys & shockers are shooting at me and the paintballs are just rolling to my feet I can stand there and slap them with shots. Their guns are very fast shooting machines (I use a WGP cocker for speedball) but their paint throwing distance can't quite match the flatline. I've used it in spedball once and I was able to lay on the ground and shoot my foes in their exposed feet because of the flat trajectory!

Again this is a very tough marker...I'll throw it up a small hill, then climb up quickly, grab it and continue my quest of enemy elimination.

The design is different than most other markers-guns because the body is made of two half pieces (instead being milled from one piece of metal or aluminum)...tippys use a powertube (which is the only marker maker that I know of does)...and the curved, backspin producing flatline barrel is also unique (although I've seen a cocker modified to use one)...and the excess air operating response trigger option are only used on tippys (turns them into a gas hog with poor gas mileage)...but again these option are unique to Tippmanns.

I also recently polished my internals, I polished the inside of the two receiver halves where the bolt and hammer move back & forwards when firing. Soon I want to mill off the letters on the left receiver half.
Conclusion: Good, tough, durable paintball marker...for the price it's worth it and it has upgrades up the ying-yang that you can buy to increase performance and change the look. Not as fast shooting (unless you get the E-Bolt system) as the high end electropnuematic markers but tougher than any other. The Tippmann 98 is a simple, cheap gun that works like hell, they're great for woods ball so you wont screw up those nice high-end, high dollar markers. (I know I do not want to mess up my cocker messing around in the forest).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 27th, 2004 at 3:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Norcal_pballer Monday, October 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro carbine, A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel
Evolution II Hopper
20 oz. CO2
Reactive Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
It really depends on what you want, if you are a strong woods player, i would highly recommend using the flatline. When i am playing in the woods, there is nothing that i would rather have than a Tippman with a flatline. It gives you the distance that in some cases is really useful. The people that you shoot are usually feeling your gun the next morning.

Now for speed, I would defidently reccomend having the reactive trigger. I have used the Electronic trigger, and when you have a double trigger with the reactive trigger they go about the same speed. (provided you know how to walk, seriously, you dont know how to walk if you have the gun on full auto and your jerking one finger back and forth on the trigger, Saying "Look at me, I can walk it, and i own you!")
Strengths: Distance
Reliability (this puppy can take a beating)
Cheap
Weaknesses: Takes awhile to strip down, defidently a difficult infield job. Watchout for little parts!
LOUD.
Review: Look, this gun is reliable. When you are out playing woods ball, just about anything can happen. If you fell off a cliff, while your lying there dead, the next guy can pick up your gun and keep going.

Distance. If you have the flatline, this thing will pick people off at a substantial distance. Also, it is pretty damn accurate even without the flatline.
Conclusion: I would defidently recommend this gun as a starter, but it is also great for experienced players. If you know how to take care of it, it will defidently take care of you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deadlygoose Sunday, October 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icons, spyders, the list goes on
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, 3a knockout barrel, double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, double trigger, maybe drop or x chamber
Strengths: Very strong , is a beutiful gun, accurate, easy to work on
Weaknesses: Up grading can get expensive.
Review: Well after using a number of guns in my years of playing I still love my tippmann. Easy to work on. Dont worry about dropping it , it'll stay together. The barrel is kinda short 8.5 inches so i suggest going out to buy one shortly after getting the gun.
Conclusion: What can I say. Simply the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderMann14 Friday, October 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none too similar
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter/ 14"Teardrop Barrel/ ESP frame / Shocktech supa fly bolt/ 20 oz.co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a longer rifled barrel.
Strengths: Shoots pretty hard, nice trigger pull, very accurate.
Weaknesses: I could not find any.
Review: This is a great gun for a beginner and an experienced player if you upgrade it. I recommend a new barrel because the stock barrel is really short. This gun shoots hard and accurate. It is very quiet and great for snipering. I play with a group of my friends all the time and a few of them have this gun and it is a really great gun.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun to everyone. It is a great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Icon87 Thursday, October 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99, rate of fire is way better, it's WAY more accurate
Icon e, same as E-99, but still even a little better than E-99.
Pro Carbine, more accurate than 98c.
Marker Setup: Black Icon e w/a 14" Quiet Riot barrel, Empire Reloader w/sound activation(clear), 47ci 3000psi Steel N2 Tank, a 3 pod harness w/belt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Trigger, Stock, N2, (don't waste your money on this gun)
Strengths: VERY DURABLE
a lot of upgrades available, for many reasons
Weaknesses: BARREL
Accuracy
Rate of Fire
It jams
Review: My friend bought a 98 custom that came with a 16" barrel, but he bought a double trigger for it, and made his own response trigger using a lego piece. No joke. He also put a stock onto it, and the gun did alright. My other friend had an E-99 all stock, and it worked way better than the fixed up 98 Custom. I went to a field and they had 98c as their rental guns. The day couldn't have been worse, I had the worst time trying to play speedball, two words that a 98c can't do, speed and ball. I was shooting around 5-7 bps, which is pretty bad, plus the shots were off. Most inaccurate gun I've ever used. If you do buy this gun for like $180, you're gonna also need to buy a new barrel, cuz the piece of crap 8" one just isn't doing the job. Get N2, cuz this gun changes velocity way to often. I do give it props for being reliable but that's it.
Conclusion: If you'd rather put $300 into a gun that you're gonna have to work on rather than buy something else for that price, like an "Indian Creek Design '04 BKO" for $275, then go right ahead. The gun is reliable, but the barrel sucks, and it doesn't do good while using Co2. I give this a 4 out of 10, that's doing pretty good for this gun.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Killinger Wednesday, October 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel
Double Trigger
Custom Trigger Job
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel
Double Trigger or RT
Strengths: Very durable and reliable
Doesn't chop unless you use crappy paint
Cheap
Weaknesses: Not very fast unless you have RT
Review: The Flatline barrel makes the balls go down about a foot for about 50 feet and then they go back up. The flatline does add alot of distance and accuracy from far away, and the accuracy with the stock barrel is just ok. It is great for snipers or woods players (it can take a beating). However, this gun is probably not the best for a front man or for someone who likes to lay paint. It is not very fast unless you get a response trigger.
Conclusion: Very good gun for beginners. Get this as your first gun. Its cheap, but not very speedy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 23rd, 2004 at 3:13 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  103  |  104  |  105  |  106  |  107  |  108  |  109  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media