paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
PBfreak222 Tuesday, May 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a-5 (better than the 98 but more expensive) WGP worr machine better for less money
Marker Setup: WGP Worr machine (no customizations)
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
expansion chamber
Strengths: Good entry level marker
Doesnt chop paint
Good grip
Customization
Weaknesses: Accuracy(sometimes)
Review: The gun was good just for a days use but i couldnt use the tippmann 98 for a whole year. the worr machine is just as good and better for less money. IF you really want to buy a tippmann 98 dont let this review stop you go ahead and buy it and after a few uses go ahead and see what you want to add to it. I recomend a barrel for sure but its your call.
Conclusion: I say you should buy it if you are beginning but if not take a look at the worr machine but if not buy the tippmann 98 and upgrade
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmanjim Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PirranahR6 (junk),Tippmann A5 (good),Smart Parts ION (good), BT4 (okay)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom. Response trigger, Honed bore,Cyclone feeder(stainless shaft and gear),14" True-flite barrel.Had a Flatline but it cycled too fast (14bps) for the Flatline.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definietly the R/T and Cyclone feed. A drop evens out the weight distribution. If you want distance get the Flatline without the R/T, because it works.
Strengths: RELIABLE! Well made.Tons of available upgrades.No Batteries to worry about!
Weaknesses: Heavy. Not easy to field strip. Not good for speedball. Air hog.
Review: I have put @50,000 rounds through it. Does not quit. Keep it cleaned and lubed (Hoppes#9) it will last forever. Mud,water or whatever this gun is extremely reliable.If you play woodsball, this is the marker. I have seen too many guys get ready to play and thier electronic marker/hopper fails. Don't get me wrong they have a place...speedball. It might look outdated, but it is a tank. It does go through air unbelievably fast because the R/T and Cyclone are pneumatic driven.
Conclusion: Woodsball/recball this is the marker. It works extremely well. Dont have to worry about batteries dying or circuit boards getting wet. I will never need another gun,so you can have your Angels, Minis and Autocockers. This gun will get you killed on a speedball field so don't try it. Great quality for not a lot of money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

themanipulator Monday, April 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Prodigy (yes viewloader makes a gun) -horrible gun
Spyder VS1- Decent gun, problems with electronics
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
R/T kit
Expansion Chamber
Empire Reloader Hopper
12" J&J Performance Ceramic Barrel (speedball) or
Tippmann Flatline Barrel (woodsball)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A NEW BARREL!
R/T set
Electronic hopper
Strengths: Cheap
Reliable
Value
Customizable
Accurate (after upgrade)
Ease of Cleaning
Weaknesses: Slow (out of the box)
Loud (with stock barrel)
Review: I've played paintball for a long time, but it wasn't untill a couple years ago that I finally bought a gun. Before that i had to use the rental markers, stock tippmann 98s. Although the accuracy was horrible with the stock barrel, i noticed that while my friends and their $500+ guns were staying behind to fix something that had gone wrong with their marker, i never once had to stop, so when it was time for me to get a gun i decided to stick with old reliable.

The First thing i'll say is that when you pull it out of the box, it's accuracy will suck. The 8" barrel is almost like shooting without a barrel. Other than that i really don't have anything to nag about. The gun is nearly indestuctible and will probably work untill the day you die. The 6 bolt system makes it increidibly easy to clean and customize. It also looks pretty nice, but if you really want to make this thing a competitor, you need to upgrade.

The first thing that needs to be done to the gun is to buy an aftermarket barrel, I personally recomend a J&J Ceramic Barrel (mine cost $35) to fix the horrible accuracy of the stock barrel. Next, if you want to throw more paint you can purchase a Response Trigger ($50), or an Electronic Trigger ($100), I got the R/T, because if you couldn't tell I have a problem with electronics on paintball guns. It shoots about 12 BPS and it's more than enough to lay down fire. You'll need a electronic hopper to keep up (hypocritical, i know, but mine's pretty basic). I'd also recommend an expansion chamber with the R/T. It'll balance out the co2 usage and gives you more consistency. You can also buy hunderds of cosmetic upgrades like stocks, mags and grips, as well as kits like the AK-47 or M-16.

The customer assistance in Tippmann is second to none. I was put so much sealent when i was installing my expansion chamber that i couldnt take the hose out. I called Tippmann and they told me to send it in. They looked over the whole gun, replaced the valve, installed a brand new expansion chamber, and changed out the internals for $20, which includes the cost of shipping.
Conclusion: The Tippmann 98 Custom is perfect for almost all players on a budget. It's a reliable, quality gun that can compete with ALMOST anything once you fine tune it. Most people consider it a noob gun so it's always great to see the looks on my friends faces when i take them out every game with my Tippmann. I might one day switch to a high-end electric marker, but when that stops working (which it will), my Tippmann will be right beside me. I give it a perfect 10 (after you upgrade it, of course).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sam095 Friday, April 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman pro carbine- more reliable, much less custimizable
Marker Setup: tippman 98c, response trigger, double trigger,pmi 68 ci 3000psi fiberwrapped tank, cyclone feed. ricochet hopper. Specialops paintball Recon vest.CP invered ASA.specops headwrap. BDU. JCS 3" barrel. JCS folding stock. redz tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
its ur personel preference because of ease of custimazation
Strengths: Extremly durable& custimizable.Cheap for what u get.
Weaknesses: Annoying to take apart. Somewhat loud
Review: When i got this gun i was 9 years old. i instanly loved it. iam a clumsy person, so i trip alot. and all thats happened is a few scratches and some deaths.
I Have done alot of things to my gun (dropping, custimazation,dinging it, etc.) and i have only had 1 problem in which i could not use the gun. I went to a store to get my respone trigger installed, and next time i played it wasnt working. so i took it to an actual paintball store, ( the first store was an army surplus store) he looked at it and said that they had put parts in that weren't even supposed to be there. now it works beautifully.
when it comes to custimazation this gun takes the cake. You can make it virtually anything u want.
u should clean it every couple months. but it is very annoying to take apart.

even gun can also be loud even wtih a quiet barrel
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun to any one who plays woodsball or rec ball for its durability and custimazation.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

havoc1455 Thursday, April 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Triton II
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Razzor Barrel from Extreme Rage
20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel-if your on a budget, go for the Razzor Barrel, if you have extra cash go for a hammerhead or a flatline
Strengths: Accurate, doesnt chop, upgrades galore, comfortable grips,durable, all together a good gun.
Weaknesses: -Loud (Smack a new barrel on it and you'll be fine).
Review: I have had this gun for some while now and I personally think it is amazing. I started shooting from 50 yards away with the stock barrel and i was hitting a mark that was 8 inches big. The cool thing about this gun is that you can get it and smack a couple upgrades on it and it will be as good as a $350 gun and including the upgrades you spent $275 (extra paint). However the stock barrel is no excuse for not getting a new barrel, just buy one. I know some people have some trouble buying paint and co2, air, etc. but just save up $35 and buy a Razzor. This gun is well worth the buy.
Conclusion: Buy it unless you have extra cash. It is only $170 at Dicks Sporting Goods and it will keep running for years to come. If you do have extra cash go for a Proto Rail, A5, etc.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 24th, 2008 at 4:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

credsox25 Thursday, April 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann A-5
Spyder piolet
Marker Setup: tippmann 98c
2 pc 14" proto barrel
view loader electric hopper
jct metal stock
double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
14"-18" barrel
electric hopper
Strengths: Accurracy
Duribility
Air usage
Hits hard so it breaks on contact
Weaknesses: Nothing really.
Review: This gun is an excellent gun its for beginngers and and veterans u can customize this gun 2 the moon and back and still have more to do for it AWSOME gun! There is really nothing more to say about this gun you can drop this gun off a cliff and it will still work fine mine tippmann 98 is 2 yrs old works as good as my friends brand new one.
Conclusion: Get it. O yea i dont wanna get comments saying well my ego or my angel is better ok shell out $1000 but please tell if u can find a gun better than the tippmann 98c for its price and o yea u do have to customize it to make it better, people complain about it but thats 1 of the funnest things about paintballing
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 24th, 2008 at 11:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Danshot Saturday, April 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine (not really similar though)
Marker Setup: viewloader gravity fed hopper (cheap)
standard Co2 tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
**definitely a new barrel (flatline)**
double trigger
stock
red dot sight
Strengths: Never chopped a ball
reliable
feel to gun
built strong
Weaknesses: *RANGE
*LOW RATE OF FIRE (SINGLE TRIGGER)
kinda heavy
loud
Review: I rent this gun at my local woodsball field i have never chopped a ball ever, and i mean ever because i have never chopped a ball i do not know if it is easy to clean and field strip
sorry
i usually do not have any problems with the air consumption that it uses, but last time i went i had to refill the tank to 2000 psi 2 times in about 3 hours, and i do not shoot a lot of balls (maybe just that particular gun and tank)
but anyway
the two main weaknesess for me are fortunately both easily fixable
the rate of fire it puts out and the range of the gun
the rate of fire can be fixed by a double trigger or a response trigger, but i can still keep guys pinned down when i need to with the basic single trigger
as for the range, id say that the flatline barrel upgrade is a must
also the sights do not work at all
but most guns are like that
Conclusion: Hey i have said a lot of bad things about this gun in my main review
dont get me wrong, this is a decent quality gun
its a tippman, so how bad can it be?
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bchow87 Thursday, April 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine
spyder tl
a-5
Marker Setup: 98 custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
ACT(anti chop technology)
Strengths: Reliable built like a tank customizeable
Weaknesses: Gun is pretty heavy hard to field strip stock barrel isnt that great
Review: This gun is not that stylish but you can customize it pretty well i've seen many people change it and make it look like a m4. this gun is really reliable, great price, fairly accurate right after you open the box. with a new barrel it makes this gun so much better, you can probably buy this gun at any paintball store. definitely one of the best gun for under $200
Conclusion: This is a really good gun for new paintball players, people who like to customize stuff.. this is probably like the HONDA CIVIC of all paintball markers..

reliable, easily customizeable, cant complain for that kind of price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Match99 Sunday, April 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Triton II
VL Voltage
Both are okay for a starter, but neither compare with the 98.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Polished Internals
Rocket Cock II
PMI Razzor Barrel
Camouflage Finish
ZAP Hopper
Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely new barrel, rocket cock II, double trigger, and response trigger is nice but do not have one.
Strengths: Unbreakable, simple, lots of upgrades, accurate, consistent with HPA, low price, good feel, looks sweet.
Weaknesses: Hard to field strip, heavy for speedball, loud.
Review: The most important thing to understand about the 98 is it is intended for woodsball, NOT speedball. Once you understand that, you will be much happier. In speedball it is a bit to heavy and unwieldy. However, once you go in the woods you are much better off. Most importantly, this gun won't stop working on you. My friend accidentally left his in a puddle overnight outside, and the water froze on it. Put it in his house for warmth for ten minutes before we played, and it worked like new.
Beyond that, the 98 rarely chops, due to the fancy ACT (anti chop technology) system it has, which I won't go into but must say works quite well.
Customizing the 98 is easy, there are hundreds of drop in mods from barrels to response triggers. Various sites like specialopspaintball.com offer different stocks, sights, and other products which all work fine with the 98.
Accuracy. Out of the box, the 98 isn't great with accuracy, but all that changes with two things.
1. Aftermarket barrel
2. Good paint
As far as the barrel goes, I highly recommend a stiffi or barrel kit like a J&J edge. Unfortunately, many paintballers don't have that kind of extra money. For about 35$ you can get a J&J, razzor, or a teardrop, which all work excellent. Make sure your paint well matches your barrel, you will be happier.
Many say the 98 is a gas hog, but this is easily mended. Polish the internals, and you have excellent air efficiency at normal velocities, for instructions go to this site.
http://www.paintballforum.com/tippmann-pneumatics/123296-how
-polish-rear-half-98-98c.html
I did that, it DOES work.
The 98 is hard to field strip, mainly because to get to anything inside you need to take apart the entire marker. Once you do it the first time, you can quickly strip it, but its a pain. Luckily the 98 never fails on the field.
Out of the box, it is somewhat loud, but a few simple upgrades (polishing internals) will help. Another recommendation is the Rocket Cock II, which will quiet the marker down, cover the internals from damage, and keep the bolt from hitting you. A barrel with porting will also help silence it.
I also like the 98s iron sights, which help you aim without buying a red dot sight. The hopper is also out of the way, so you can see down the marker easily. Looking down it, its almost like a thompson. It looks pretty sweet. The 98 is a little heavy, but I prefer to have heft to my marker anyway. Again, not for speedball.
Conclusion: In conclusion, the 98 is a great all around marker with lots of upgrades, durability, and good looks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

newbieballer50 Saturday, April 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
My Gun
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix' 07,14'' J and J Ceramic, stock hopper, polished internals, custom drop and Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
definitely a new barrel
Strengths: Reliable, doesn't chop often
Weaknesses: HORRIBLE BARREL!!! Price IMO, disassembly
Review: This gun is very good for beginners, it is reliable and it is good looking. On the other hand though it is loud, a major gas hog the stock barrel sucks it is expensive once again in my opinion and it is... different to disassemble. It is also very popular and every beginner has one.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to SERIOUS woods ball players but if you are looking in to speed ball then save up your money and get a fast gun.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media