paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  112  |  113  |  114  |  115  |  116  |  117  |  118  |  Last
        Next Page
C-Webb Wednesday, August 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: Durability, locking elbow, reliability.
Weaknesses: How loud the marker is.
Review: The main key strength that comes to mind with the 98 is its durability. In my opinion Tippmann makes the most durable markers on the market. My 98 has had numerous run ins with trees, walls, the ground and yet it keeps on working as if it was brand new. Another feature that I like on the 98 is the locking hopper. I find that when I run into things that I have already stated, the locking hopper stays on. This was a problem that I had with other markers in the past. I would dive for cover or something like that and find that when I looked down all my paint was all over the ground. This doesn't happen with my 98 though. Also Tippmann makes a ton of upgrades for the 98 custom, so that way if you are new to the game and want a great entry level marker just to see how well you like the game, then buy a Tippmann. Then if later down the road you find that you love the game and want to really get into it get the upgrades, but don't just go out and buy the upgrades without first playing with the 98 custom. If you go out in the field and go through 2,000 rounds in 20 min then, yes you will probably want to up grade to a re-active trigger or one of the many others that Tippmann makes, but on the other hand if you are a simple player who makes every shot count and only go crazy on firing when you are in trouble then the 98 custom straight out of the box is ok for you.
Conclusion: I would recommend the 98 to any player who doesn't want to put in a lot of time fixing and cleaning a broken marker. It is probably the best entry level marker on the market. Tippmann in other words doesn't make markers for looks, they make markers that produce and last.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trey803 Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker,various spyders, angel,automag,impulse
Marker Setup: 98 custom,armson stealth barrel, dbl trgr, x-chamber, response trigger, evolution2, co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, electric hopper
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: A Tippmann is a Tippmann. You either are a beginner and dont care or you hate em or
love em. Personally I love em. people say they dont shoot fast enough well bye a response trigger, people say they chop well buy a halo, people say there too heavy work out, people say there innaccurate, buy a new barrel. You can put a response trigger on a 98 custom shoot as fast as needed(most speedball players shoot shoot shoot when they could save half there paint and take accurate shots) and never have to worry about running out of batteries. u can drop it or bump into a tree without gasping in terror of scrathing it like u would with a angel. I love cockers and im not dissing on them but a 98 has no 3 way to adjust. People say the screws strip too easy well buy some thumb screws. People say it is a pain to field strip well if u have ever owned a tippmann(not rented) the only possible thing that the gun would do to stop shooting would be a jammed ball which tippmanns have a removeable elbow which gives acces to the bolt in less time that it takes to un-jam most other guns.This gun is the best price to value ratio. Yes a cocker with a freak and warp feed might shoot faster weigh less and be a little bit more accurate but a tippman can closely compete (with a few upgrades) with just about any gun on the market.Yes there are some weaknesses that cannot be fixed with an upgrade like the shape and length of the gun. Some people find the positioning of your hands occward and the gun to be very long. I have been through many of guns but i came to settle down with my tippmann 98 custom because i plan to keep it and want it to last and be capable of playin with my freinds cocker and angels. I have done some simple gun competittions like accuracy, distance, and velovity consitancy and my tippman has either beaten or been very very close to top of the line guns. Now one thing u do have to understande is that even thoe a tippman is a good gun people dont recognize it as a quality top of the line gun. If u are a tippmann lover and have a good tippmann next time someone picks on your gun challenege to a game or even some shooting contests and they will be shocked.
Conclusion: Think what u want but i love tippmanns and they are a good buy. I am not dissing other expensive guns but just saying that tippmanns have very good statistics especially for costing 130$ stock.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yzmisfit Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Syndicate misfit- way better
Marker Setup: syndicate misfit stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barell
drop foreward
new bolt
trigger
Strengths: Reliable
ish fast
good for woods ball
lots of upgrades
Weaknesses: Not fast enough
Stock barrel isnt very good
Review: I've used this gun alot and I've had no probs until it broke recently in the middle of playing woods ball. My friend got a 14in barrel and it kicks. It's a great gun for beginners to learn with and intermediate players to use who got money for upgrades.
Conclusion: I'd say this gun is good to learn or use if your pretty good.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Spike242 Sunday, August 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
J&J 12" ceramic
PB double trigger
Dead On drop forward
Rocket Cock
20 oz. C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any aftermarket barrel will do
Gas thru grip to get rid of that plastic stock grip
Strengths: Durable
Customization
Easy to fix
Weaknesses: Common
Stock barrel
Review: This gun definitly sets the standard for beginner guns. Right out of the box, it'll work fine for any player just looking for a nice, durable gun. The fun starts when you buy aftermarket parts for it. With just a new barrel, this guns works about two times better than stock and with it being so common, you can find any length, bore, and color barrel for it.

The 98 being very common can be the best and worst thing for it, though. It's great having everyone in the world know your gun inside and out, so it's easy to fix and customize. It's also a bummer going to a field and have 4 out of 5 kids having a stock Tippmann just like you. But with so many upgrades, once you start putting aftermarket parts on it, you start to stand away from the crowd.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to almost every beginner. It's durable and easy to play with. Sure, it gets a bad rap for being the most common gun ever but there's a reason it's so popular.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

greenday88 Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: 14 inch PMI razzor barrel
on/off adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Xpansion chamber
Strengths: Very durable, accurate, and inexpensive. Incredibly reliable gun also easy to customize
Weaknesses: Without a drop forward, it can get pretty long. Thats it
Review: Reliable, accurate, durable, and inexpensive. excelent gun for starters and experianced players alike. wide variatey of upgrades and are easily installed. when fully modified, can match almost any gun. very, very nice gun. dunno what else to say about this beutiful piece of equiptment except buy it! No doubt about it
Conclusion: Defiantly a good buy no matter how long youve been playing the game
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98crt Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann pro carbine and Spyder victor
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, Smartparts 12in Teardrop, 88 4500 pure energy tank, Dead on pro blade drop with on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (Thats is the most important thing here are a few others)
Dropfoward
Compressed Air
Strengths: Reliable, Durable, and made by a great American Company
Weaknesses: Slow
Loud
Stock Barrel
Air Hog
Review: If you are just getting in the great game of paintball this is one of the best picks for your gun you can make.

there are some good points
1. Won't break on field
2. Shoots straight and accurate
3. This gun can take a beating
4. This gun is so customizable to match your style of play

Some bad are
1. Stock Barrel is major TRASH
2.Upgrades all cost some cash
3. If using co2 its a gas hog (nitro its fine)
Conclusion: If you want a great reliable gun to get into the game with or just to replace an older marker this is the gun you want!! BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 5th, 2004 at 11:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedyballer22$ Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder-imagine: chops like crazy
Pmi-black maxx: pretty bad gun
Impulse: Sweeeeeeeeeeet
Marker Setup: c98, 14 oz co2, reloader, drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward, new barrel
Strengths: Very durable and pretty accurate.
Weaknesses: Hard to take apart and kinda slow
Review: Good for people who have just started balling. I have been using this gun for 1 year and have had a great experince with it. It is reliable, durable, and easily upgradeable. There are a few quirks to this gun such as slow speed and bad accuracy but that can be dealt with in upgrades. In the long run this a great low maintinence gun and I definetly reccomend it.
Conclusion: Go get one.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 28th, 2004 at 12:51 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

PBPunk00 Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra
spyder victore
tippmann pro carbine
tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
14in whisper barrel
20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
drop forward
expansion chamber
Strengths: Accurate if u got a new barrel
Sights
Color
Customer service
powerful
durable
cheap
Weaknesses: small parts
Easy to strip screws
Stock barrel
Back heavy
Review: I just got my tippmann 98 custom like a month ago and already had a war and won aginst both of my cuzins. It was so fun. I started oput with a brass eagle talon then to a spyder xtra then a spyder imagine then toa 98custom and i liked the 98 the best. I'm going to put sum upgrades on it but i'm waiting to save sum money then customize it to myself.
Conclusion: Customize ur gun to want u want then have fun with it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tipp The Scales Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A stingray (that must be... oh, 9 years ago)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel w/Stock Cover
20 Ounce CO2
200 Round Hopper (Stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I've heard this is not a good upgrade for speedball... but I hate speedball, so FLATLINE it.
20 Tank... It'll get you at least 2 hoppers worth if you have it adjusted properly.
Strengths: DURABILITY
Reliablity
Accuracy
No chopping
Weaknesses: Tends to eat more CO2 than other guns.
Stock is decent... but you need upgrades.
Review: Don't hold me to the timelines... I'm not exactly certain as to what year I got the Tippmann or the Flatline.

This is the way to go if you aren't looking to play speedball... go buy an Angel or something for speedball (although I don't know why anyone in their right minds would waste paint on speedball.

Strengths:
Durable. I've dropped it, hit trees with it, landed on it, had it covered in paint (automatics should be banned, it's like cheating) and best of all, it almost never has to be cleaned. Mine went for at least five years without any sort of cleaning beyond a hose... worked in perfect condition the entire time. I have never chopped paint, even Brass Eagle.

Realistic. Who wants some stupid shiny toy? All those other guns don't look anything like a real rifle... try playing woodsball with something that looks like a mirror.

Accuracy. Once you put the Flatline Barrel on it, you can land shots within inches of each other at distances over 100 feet... so long as your paint isn't something like Brass Eagle.

Weaknesses:
Weight. Not too heavy to use, but there are lighter guns out there. But who cares? If you can't lift this gun with ease, you shouldn't be playing paintball with semi-autos. I can hit a speed limit sign at 45 feet shooting from the hip consistantly.

CO2. Maybe it's just the settings on my gun, but it seems to eat CO2 faster than any of my buddies.

EDIT: Nearly forgot... the pivoting hopper design was cool, but they need to find a better method of keeping it locked in place. I currently have a piece of white shoestring tied around the neck of the hopper and the foremost gun handle... I have to take a point off for that.




Overall, if you are getting a gun, and don't have a small fortune to burn, this gun will provide reliablity with durability, and offers (in my opinion) the best bang per buck. However, I would suggest that you get the Flatline immidiately instead of waiting... that way, you can adjust to that weight rather than have to adjust later. And a 20 oz. CO2 tank.
Conclusion: Overall, if you are getting a gun, and don't have a small fortune to burn, this gun will provide reliablity with durability, and offers (in my opinion) the best bang per buck. However, I would suggest that you get the Flatline immidiately instead of waiting... that way, you can adjust to that weight rather than have to adjust later. And a 20 oz. CO2 tank.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 6:39 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

chopsticksboys Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL, not close
Marker Setup: 98c with j&j ceramic 14'' and 20 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
definitely new barrel
Strengths: Very reliable. I've shot about 1500 rounds and not chopped a single ball.
Weaknesses: None really. Harder to strip than some others.
Review: The 98c was my first marker. it's very reliable. i haven't encountered a single problem with it yet. I've been using Great American paint and its been fine. Only thing is that the stock barrel isn't all that great. I upgraded to a J&J ceramic barrel and that really increased the accuracy. I also like the black color. My friend has a Spyder thats metallic blue and you can see it a mile away.
Conclusion: Definitely get this. For the price (about 130-140) you can't really get a better marker. It is over an amazing gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  112  |  113  |  114  |  115  |  116  |  117  |  118  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media