paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  115  |  116  |  117  |  118  |  119  |  120  |  121  |  Last
        Next Page
rrb Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Not many, maybe rental guns.
Marker Setup: Brand new Angel Speed. Nothing new on it yet.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, closed bolt, new trigger
Strengths: -Very durable
-Many upgrades available
-Good for woodsball
-Stock trigger

Weaknesses: -Inaccurate with stock barrel
-Seems to use lots of c02
-Loud
-Barrel is too short
Review: I think this is a really good beginner gun, especially for woodsball. It's never broke a single ball since I've bought it, and it's never broken down. You should use DraXxuS Inferno paintballs with this gun. You need to get a closed bolt, it's way to easy for dirt to get into there and screw things up, it happened to me. It shoots very accuratly with a new barrel, I used the TearDrop barrel on it and it was very accurate. Overall this is a really good gun for the price and for a beginner.
Conclusion: Go buy it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

direavenger Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders of all kinds
Marker Setup: Model 98 Custom
SP Teardrop barrel
Palmer male stabilizer
Ben Tippmann folding stock
BSA 30mm red dot sight
20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
(In the following order)
-Barrel
-regulator/expansion chamber
-Nitro/Comp air
Strengths: -Durable
-Highly upgradable
-Exceptional price/performance
Weaknesses: -Poor accuracy with no upgrades
-Not terribly easy to field strip
-Slightly heavy
Review: Overall this is an exceptional marker. The huge quantity of upgrades allow you to customize the 98C to your needs (woodsball, speedball). With a few upgrades such as a barrel and regulator, this gun can become exceptionally accurate and consistent, even with CO2.

The gun isn't too heavy when stock, though with a drop forward, scope and tank on the gun it can get tiresome to carry.

Field stripping is accomplished by unscrewing 6 bolts with hex heads. This takes less than a minute for the experienced player, but does take practice. Please practice. Those loose parts can fly out of the gun very easily if you are caught off guard.

Upgrades are a necessity however. In order to make this gun the least bit competetive, you need to get at least an aftermarket barrel and expansion chamber. If you want a firepower upgrade, get the response trigger or e-bolt and a agitating hopper. This gun can truly compete with Much more expensive guns with the low pressure kit, coupled with nitro and the e-grip, but by then you've spent just about as much in upgrades as the guy across the field did for his impy. Please take care not to go nuts with upgrades. If you want to compete seriously with the big boys, get a better gun.
Conclusion: This gun is an absolute must for the beginner. The player can customize the gun to his/her tastes, making the gun very accurate. Watch out for the urge to buy every upgrade you can, as all those upgrades can cost as much as you would have spent for a much better gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 10:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FAILURE131 Wednesday, July 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon : Not enough close to be able to compare.
Spyder Shutter : Very nice marker, if speedball is your style or you want to be quick get this.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom

-14" Smart Parts Teardrop
-Dye Stickys 3
-Toxic Performance Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel : I love my Teardrop very slient compared to stock, and has a nice spread.
Double Trigger : Personal preferance, many styles of double triggers. Allows new techinques of shooting, and a higher BPS.
Strengths: -Durable
-Highly Customizable
Weaknesses: -CO2 Hog
-Heavy
Review: Tippmann Custom 98...durable, reliable, tough gun. I don't have to worry about taking a dive and breaking this gun, this gun is a tank. There is one bad thing to this, that its heavier than most markers...not heavy enough to be a problem, but if you want to be that little agile, speed king rushing down the speedball course...it would be alot easier to be carrying something other than a Tippmann. Woodsball-wise this gun can reign supreme...well my marker will go through alot of abuse in woodsball and the Custom 98 can handle it. The Tippmann 98 Custom, stands by that word Custom, you can customize this marker to fit your needs. I wanted my gun to be unique, and when I seen the 98 and the possiblities I can make it into, I jumped into getting it. You can also upgrade many of the problems it has, like its CO2 mangament...it does have alot of velocity spikes and problems, but here's a tip carry the gun with the barrel pointing upwards. Also get a regulator, I hear after installing one on your gun, it will seem like you have a new better gun. Anyways, Custom 98 allows room for your gun to grow better, as you grow better. Its a great newbie gun, as it can be a good expierenced players gun.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun! This gun is great! The gun can is so customizable, it allows room to upgrade it as your skill grows! Though if you want to be a very quick person this gun may slow you down. The 98C isn't really a bad gun stock...besides the barrel...a new barrel should be your first upgrade. Check this marker out, you won't be disappointed!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

progxballer4 Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse with vision. smaller feed neck, magnetic trigger and EVO II
ANS GX4 Chaos, EVO II,Crossfire 70/4500 Stubby,Dye Rhino blue tank cover,ANS black nipple cover,ANS 14 two piece barrel,Pair of QEV's ( quick exhaust valves )
Alias Intimidator ( not mine, friend let me borrow it for a week )
Marker Setup: Tippmann with RT, drop, 2x trigger, rear cocking system, pro team bolt, 16 in striker series barrel, richochet 2k and some other lil stuff
Recommended
Upgrades:
RT, drop, 2x trigger, rear cocking system, pro team bolt, 16 in striker series barrel, richochet 2k and some other lil stuff
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: So reliable, and its so durable, ive had it for 5 years and really no problems, like not even a little problem, really has a ton of upgrades

Its so realiable, durable, dependable, just awesome, you can start off with this gun as i did, then upgrade it and have it forever, its a great beginner gun and an expierenced player gun cuz you can upgrade it so much,
Conclusion: Get this gun, you will have it the rest of your life!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 29th, 2004 at 12:40 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

puma Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Autococker,various markers...
Marker Setup: Autococker w/ many upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
I HIGHLY reccomend the R/T trigger for this marker
A better barrel ( stock is not very good)
If you get the R/T you WILL NEED an electro hopper and Nitro is a good idea, too
Strengths: Sturdy construction
simple design
feed elbow (integral with breeh access)
Weaknesses: Time consuming to break down. NOT field strippable. Foregrip seemed a bit awkward for me.
Review: I set up his gun with a Ricochet 2k and nitro to begin with. It shot fairly well but for long balling, forget it. Not wth the stock barrel. I like to play front or mid anyway so I didn'd mind. It felt good and balanced well with the drop forward I boght for it. It was kind of heavy but I didn't mind.
After about 3 months in this configuration, I upgraded to an R/T trigger. This allows more than one shot per trigger pull by redirecting blowback gas to a piston behind the trigger that pushes the trigger back out when you pull it. By holding the trigger back, as many as 15 balls per second can be fired from this gun!!!!! At first it chopped like crazy and i turned it down to 9 BPS. Later I took the gun apart and polished the breach area with my Dremel. This seemed to fix the problem and I got it to around 13- 14 BPS.
With practice, one can pound incessantly on their opponent with the R/T. I was getting strings of 20-30 balls at a time. It also feels pretty cool to have the trigger do all the work.
Conclusion: I enjoyed owning this gun and the ease of maintenance. The R/T is way cheaper than going electro and no batteries. for about $ 280 you can own a rocking gun that doesn't fear electro's and feels great to shoot. I give it an 8 because I had to polish it to make it work right and the barrel is not that good.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikew3867 Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Trracer,Dragunfire TES
Marker Setup: i use a TES stock all but i used to havea Tippmann 98 custom with Universal drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
i recommend a new barrel probably 14 inches and a Universal drop forward because it makes it mucheasier to play with. u may also want to put a response trigger if u are not planning on entering competitions with your marker.
Strengths: Durable,accurate,cheap
Weaknesses: A little hard to use for speedball but easier with the universal drop
Review: Perfect gun if your just starting out or need a good cheap gun. i have never had a problem and would recommmend this to anyone. if you ever have problems with it its not the gun itself its umthing u did to it haha. this is the perfect gun for playing woodsball as well and its not that heavy which makes it very nice.
Conclusion: If your staring out or need a god reliable and cheap gun then its just for you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

headshot101 Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
pro carbine
sl 68 II
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
expansion chamber with verticle adapter
double trigger
solid sniper stock
sight rail
scope
remote
16" cmi tru flight
14" dye xcel
dye izon red dot
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel definitely
maybe a double trigger to shoot faster if you want it
Strengths: Cheap
Tough and durable
Very upgradeable
Weaknesses: Loud
Not real accurate stock
Review: overall the tippmann 98 custom is a very good gun. You can upgrade it all the way to a pro level or just keep it stock for woodsball with your friends. At only 140$ it is very affordable. with my gun working perfectly and with the scope sighted in i can hit pop can on top of a pole form probably 200 feet away in 3 shots. It is really accurate. The only problem is that my gun chops alot even when it seems i'm firing slowly but i guess thats my falt not the guns
Conclusion: Beginners should get this gun. Very good first gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OAk.AsSassiNz21 Friday, July 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5: too bulky for some of the younger players
Marker Setup: Tippmann98 custom
*3x15 scope
*98 flatline barrel
*6 inch silencer
*collapsable car stock
*swivel bipod
*VL Quantum loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
at least get a new barrel (the stock barrel has low accuracy)
Strengths: size, control, accuracy ,and durability **TOTALY customizable**
Weaknesses: There is a small amount of blowback, no big deal.
Review: This gun is GREAT for beginners, scenario players because of its compact design and weight. Makes minimum noise, but Co2 gas expells from the barrel tip so you might blow your cover if not hidden. The durability for this gun is amazing!, my friend actually tested the myth that you can run a 98 custom over with a car and it came out without a scratch!
Conclusion: My conclusion is that if you are definatly into woods ball or are just starting to play all together, this gun is perfect for you. The great thing about this gun is that you can customize almost everything on the whole gun. Im goin to give this gun a "9" because it does has flaws as does every gun. This gun retails for about $140-50 if anything higher for just the gun itself, you are getting gipped.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

what_the_hell_? Thursday, July 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
err...dunno what would be similar...i guess the model 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom w/ Flatline barrel system, Carbine Stock, Remote coil
Spyder E-99 Avant w/ 14" Black Tear drop barrel & Apache loader w/ evil slip smokestack
Recommended
Upgrades:
Speedball-New barrel, drop forward, low pressure system, electronic trigger frame
Woods ball barrel system, Carbine stock, Remote coil
Strengths: Very durable (never broken on me), front handle gives gun nice balance, built-in elbow
Weaknesses: Slow shooting, heavy, very short stock barrel
Review: One thing you will definitely want to get is a new barrel for this gun. The stock barrel is 8.5" and thats kinda short...I have a flatline barrel and a 16" CP barrel. This gun is very tough. I dropped it out of a tree when i was sniping and nothing happened ( i dropped it cuz i got lit up from behind). It isn't exactly an attractive gun but if you don't care about looks its a good way to go for a newer player (ive realized that so im selling mine). One feature i like is the built-in elbow. It's pretty cool. It shoots pretty slow so u might want to get a double trigger & response if you don't want to buy the e-bolt.
Conclusion: Overall the Tippmann 98 Custom is a pretty nice gun for a newer player. It is very durable and they like never break down. The one thing you will definitely want to upgrade is the barrel
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb joe pb Wednesday, June 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmnn 98 Custom
Flatline
X-chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
i really like the flatline for this gun. It performs so well.
Also a X-chamber
Strengths: Just about everything
Weaknesses: Humm.... if i had to say
-stock foregrip not comphy
Review: I got my tippy about 2 years ago For my Birthday. And it hasent failed me yet. I love this gun when it comes to woodball.

i would recomend the flatline for woodball

And I would also recomend the e-bolt for speedball
(you can get a 98c going 20 BPS w/ an ebolt!)
Conclusion: I (heart) my Tippy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  115  |  116  |  117  |  118  |  119  |  120  |  121  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media