paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
larry73 Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
used Model 98
Tested Triumph XT
Marker Setup: 20oz CO2
14'' barrel J&J
X chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel-first the stock is ok if you arent that fussy
X chamber- for CO2 efficency
Strengths: Tippmann name!:
-durability
-customer service
-customizable
-metal body
Weaknesses: -Can get heavy
-Length
-Atock barrel
-Lots of people own it, not unique
Review: Well obviously its a tippmann so it has great reliability, durability, and performance in almost all weather. Alot of people think its the most customizable gun in the world but it isnt really if youre a scenario player get the X-7 or A-5. Nice price for the gun but if you want to upgrade to the electric trigger, and cyclone feed just spend another 75 bucks to get the A-5 itll save you in the long run. Never chops balls but it needs a new barrel the barrel is what will break the balls not the gun.

Great gun though i love mine ive put it through a beating too!

Conclusion: Buy it if you want a good reliable gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

swanee399 Wednesday, April 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor
Marker Setup: 98 custom-stock everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
double trigger, new barrel, expantion chamber
Strengths: Accurate, liteweight, quiet, hardly any ball breakage
Weaknesses: None really seemes to suck up c02 fairly fast
Review: This is a very good gun especially for a beginner and if upgraded it is pro quality very accurate out of the box over the time i have used this gun i have had only 1 ball break i suggest u buy this gun if you are a begginer or intermediate paintballer
Conclusion: Buy this gun will last a long time and you can keep improving it with upgrades
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

arkontwi Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Black Maxx (My Dad's)
B.E. Marauder (Friend's)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
stock barrel
200 round hopper
20 0z. c02

Spyder Pod Pack
Evil Smoke pods
9 oz. backup tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately upgrade from the stock barrel, Probably would want a better hopper.
Strengths: - Ruggedness
- Reliability
- Looks Good (To most)
Weaknesses: - Bad stock barrel
- Maneuverability is low (marker is pretty long)
Review: I got this marker back in '06 when i got into paintball, and I have got to say this marker is damn good for it's cost. It is rugged and reliable, surviving some pretty gnarly drops, it also looks like a beast compared to some of the more colourfull markers out there. It does however have some minor disadvantages. The stock barrel isn't all that great and should be replaced, and it is not as maneuverable as some ther markers, because of the fact that it is so long.
Conclusion: Great begginer and veteran marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamDarkSide Friday, March 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
n/a
Marker Setup: 32 degrees icon x stock
Tippmann 98 custom stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Internal Parts
E-trigger
Strengths: Durability
Noise
Accuracy
Price
Weaknesses: Not really anything
Review: To me this is an awsome gun. This is my gun. It is durable. Made out of metal. The accuracy is awsome and its a good gun fo its price. some stores sell it with a players package with the gun. I recomend this gun for starting woodsballers or recreation players. It dosnt shoot fast(8 balls per second) but it does get the job done. There is various upgrades you can add like a new barrel or an e-trigger. You can find different body plates for the tippmann like red,silver,or black.(usualy comes in black)
Conclusion: This gun is awsome for the starting paintball and the upgrades you can find at a local paintball store. Its mid priced(for its class range) real good gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann1742 Wednesday, March 12th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a5 spyders (sucks) viewloader triton (suckssss)
Marker Setup: tippmann 98, tippmann 16 in barrel, ex chamber, stock, custom dropforward
Recommended
Upgrades:
at least 14 inch barrel
Strengths: Tough, mostly all metal internals, easy to take apart
Weaknesses: Nothing i can think of.
Review: this is my second gun bfor i had a crappy viewloader that broke like the fourth time i used it an i just used my gun for the first time since the winter an its shooting amasing.wen i first gassed it up a cuple days ago it was leaking a little but i just fixed it in maby 10 minutes using tht tape u put arpind crap to seal it an it works amasing.its a great gun for starters an if ur gonna get this then id say just get the new tippmann 98 platnum series. its NOT a speedball gun. get a frickin ion for speedball.
Conclusion: Its an amasing gun but if ur gonna b getting one soon get the Tippmann 98 platnum its just the same just with a little more upgrades already on it im giving it a 9.5 cause its a really good gun just its not the best.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Grayf0x Wednesday, March 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98, Spyder mr1, spyder compact, i could go on and on........
Marker Setup: Model 98custom A.C.T (realtree hardwood camo)-16in smart parts progressive barrel,virture russian legion grips, bt spring kit, bt sealed bolt system

Spyder Mr1-18in barrel; ak-47 expansion chamber: t-lock for hopper

Tippmann sl-68 II
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel the stock 8.5in is well.....not great, anything you want its a tippmann go crazy.
Strengths: Unbreakable
Anti Chop Technology
Upgradeable
Looks good
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: I really cant think of a single one.
Review: This is a grat marker. It is from my experience unbreakable, its easy to upgrade, and works great right out of the box. This marker can be used for speed-ball, rec-ball, woods ball, any game type the 98 can adapt to, with the right upgrades. With the advancement of A.C.T technology this gun dosn't break even the worst paint (iv shot 1000 moster balls out of it). Tippmann service is excellent. it comes with a 1year warrenty. This is the best basic semi-auto marker on the paint fields of the world!
If your new to the game or if you have been playing for years get this gun is a great marker!!!
Conclusion: Im giving this gun a 10 because it is amazing...Get it you will not be dissappointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zndas4 Wednesday, March 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The spyder Victor 2 and any other tippman products
Marker Setup: Alpha Black Tactical
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrell and an electronic hopper
Strengths: Accurate, kinda fast and it always works fine for me
Weaknesses: Not to fast not to light compared to other guns i used
Review: The tippman is a good gun for a begginer paintballer. Its a very nice sniper if u add a scope, an electronic hopper and a longer barrell to it. It has never failed to work with me and is an overall popular and nice gun. My friend has one and it is very nice to play with in woods ball. when it hits u it hurts a little (mostly in the crotch were i was shottwice)But it is very nice and everyone i know that has one loves it.
Conclusion: A longer barrel so it can become more accurate...
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tippyalltheway Monday, March 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
too many, all tippmanns though
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, Dead On Paintball Drop Forward, regulater (in the form of a through front grip), veritcle adapter, doubble trigger, RT trigger, external velosity screw, empire barrel kit, and a view loader revolution hopper. I am writhing this review about when it was stock though.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would suggest a new barrel, doubble trigger, RT trigger, electric hopper
Strengths: -reliable
-durable
-fast with some upgrades
It is versatile
It is relatively cheap


Weaknesses: It can be loud
The stock barrel is not very accurate
Review: Okay, this review is about my gun before upgrades. I got it from my uncle, who is on a good team. the gun was good, and it was reliable. I have fallen on it, dropped it, dropped it into a river, left it out for a week, and haven't lubed it at all. I have only broken one ball, and that was a mis fire when my barrel plug was in. the stock barrel puts paint out, but it is not very accurate. I would suggest an empire barrel kit, I have had nothing but with good experiences with mine. anyway, I could put out about 30 bps after I got a double trigger, and about 15 before. this gun is very customizable, so you can set it up for anything, I have set mine up for speedball and woods ball. the parts ate relatively cheap, and there are many of them, available at any paintball shop or field.
Conclusion: I would suggest this gun to anyone. It is a great beginners marker, and it can be set up for a more experienced player. it really is better than a spyder of piranha.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

luvswoodsball Monday, March 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
U.S army alpha black tactical
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
flatline barrel
6 position M16 stock
M16 magizene
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
stock
Strengths: Durable
Weaknesses: Inacurate
Review: I really dont like this gun. I bought it thinking that it would be a great gun. Its not, the accuracy is crap and the barrel it comes with is no good at all. The only good thing about this gun is that its from tippmann and its durrable. I would recomend spending a little extra coin and getting a better gun. I recoment the U.S army alpha black tactical.
Conclusion: Dont get this gun get a different one for a little extra coin
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DickamusMaxamus Saturday, March 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5
spyder rodeo
spyder extra
spyder MR1
Marker Setup: tippmann M98
core bolt cover
adjustable stock
pen trigger mod
core 14 inch strait rifled barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
metal internals! a must!
expansion chamber
bolt cover
new barrel
trigger mods if thats your thing
Strengths: Tough like no other
Shoots well out of the box
Great entry price
Lota Modifications
Weaknesses: stock barrel
fore grip
plastic internals
ACS
Review: Ok so i love the tippmann 98 but im gonna have to be critical today.
Sorry tippmann lovers
Ok so last time we played paintball my gun suddenly wouldn't recock for some strange reason. so i take my gun home and my ACS spring is all screwed up and bent out of shape. I take a closer look and sure enough my AC spring cup has split in half. so im in shock for about 4 minutes. How does something like that happen anyways!?! so anyways i make a quick fix out of 2 nails and some welding. i air up and my gun is leaky! so by this point im pretty pissed. i order a new metal powertube and an expansion chamber and sure enough im back to shooting like normal.
Conclusion: so i like the gun and all and im sure that most don't preform like mine did. im buying an MR1 today as a backup just in case.
im given it an 8 because its a good tough marker but i had some problems with mine
now not everyone may have problems with it but i did.
sorry tippmann
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media