paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  118  |  119  |  120  |  121  |  122  |  123  |  124  |  Last
        Next Page
paint_kid1991 Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: *Tippmann 98 Custom
*J & J ceramic barrel
*20 oz. CO2 tank
*Rocket Cock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Basically what I have on my gun right now
Strengths: Durable - Puts up with a lot of abuse
Relatively inexpensive - $130
Weaknesses: Stock barrel isn't the greatest
Takes relatively long to field strip
Review: I really haven't had this gun for a while, but it is still awesome. The one thing that I love about this gun is that it hardly ever breaks down. If you are out playing, you will be running through the forest and your friend will have to stop and fix his Spyder becuase something went wrong. Not dissing Spyders or anything, just using that as an example. I've never had this gun break down in all of myuse of it (then again, I've played in about 4 rec games.) Tippmann 98C's are somewhat lightweight, too. One thing I will say about this gun, it works pretty well right out of the box. But if you "pimp out" your gun, it will be a whole lot better. There are a whole lot of things to put on a Tippmann. E-grips, Flatline Barrels, low pressure systems, just to name a few.
Conclusion: This is a nice gun to get for starters. As you progress in paintballing, you can add more stuff onto it and eventually have a really nice gun. This one, I think, deserves a ten.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ridek Sunday, June 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tested only: Spyder sonic- sucks
Spyder imagine-not very acurate
Bob long GZ- My next gun
Marker Setup: 98 custom with 16" whisper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel and do the pen spring mod for extra BPS.
(replace the trigger spring w/one from a pen)
Strengths: never breaks
consistent
can be accurate with a 14-16" barrel
great for woodsball
Weaknesses: Chops (but thats my fault for not having an electronic hop)
Review: I've used my 98 custom for everything- woodsball, airball, hyperball,scenario games, indoor. I maintain my 98 very well because I use it so much. It is only the past 2 or 3 weeks that I've had a lot of problems like ball breaks, jams, irregular co2 flow. I think it's past it's prime. Don't let my problems discourage you, I've played so many games, I can't count or even remember them all. It is a great gun for beginners to intermediate players. With the right upgrades, you could compete in turnys. I've played with pro's with their $1,500 guns shooting expensive paint, and I have taken them out with brass eagle.
Conclusion: Overall, I am extremely impressed with the 98 custom. It has lasted and performed very well in many games for me. I think it is the end of the road for mine, but I will miss it.
I'm giving it a 9/10 because the upgrades I would nee to compete with are too expensive
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lost Dude014 Saturday, June 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, flatline barrel, RV revolution hopper, scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
anything to customize your gun best
Strengths: Accurate
lasts very very very very long
durable
comfortable
looks
Weaknesses: find of loud
Review: I bought this gun 1 year ago and it has been the best gun I have seen ever.
I honestly prefer this gun with the e-bolt rather than an auto cocker.
I played with the gun the other day and people did not respect me at first but when I played and worked them all I got good respect.
The best upgrades for the gun in order are: 1 flatline barrel, 2 remote line, 3 e-bolt.
My favorite upgrade for this gun is the e- bolt because it may be expensive but you can get them for about $200. You get 6 firing modes so that is about $35 per mode that is a good deal!
Conclusion: Get this gun! For the price and the quality it is a great deal compared to e-spyders or reg spyders.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rancor3nn Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
only tested autococker 03, mongoose, spyder, a5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
-double trigger
-progressive 14 in barrel
-32 degrees flame drop forward
-half a comp ait kit (I'll explain latter)
-pure energy reg
-macroline kit
-pure energy 48 ci nitro bottle
-halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
-14 inch progressive barrel, I'll tell u if u got one of these it's like having a freak barrel except cheaper (Good job smart parts)
- for an electro hopper get a halo or q loader.
Strengths: HUMMM let's see how about EVERY THING
Weaknesses: - Barrel threads on barrels made for it

Review: Well i've played about a couple of years now first gun i got was a tippmann 98 custom. Tried to paint it blue but failed miserably so if u really want it pimped out get it done professionally. Got a new one now with lots of upgrades. Over all this is the best gun out there in my humble opinion. Ask the kid's with the $1,000+ gun setups i shot silly. Ok now the 98 custom is a grow with u gun as i call it. As u gain experience u can upgrade it and customize it. I personally recommend every one stay clear of the comp air kits way to much trouble and gas inefficient. I ditched the comp air kit except for the vertical adaptor that came with it. Now as for it being too loud thats a load of ___. The louder the better especially when u bunker some one, makes em wet their pants it's so loud. The 98 also gives u a sense of power as u walk onto the field with it's weight, it's really not that heavy unless u r like ten but for a high school kid like me its fine, actually in all truth a fully ticked out tippmann can weigh less than a fully ticked out cocker, don't believe me try curling a cocker VERY HEAVY. The barrel threads are big so u never worry about stripping them but some barrels like the dye ones, r very wobbly in the 98. The tippmann customer service is unbelievable, I never new a company could be so nice and no i am not being sarcastic either. Comp air cvx valve was broke, sent it in and got a whole comp air kit back. Accuracy is well like every other paint ball gun. Don't let anyone tell u the gun makes the gun accurate because it's what people say after they buy a expensive marker and don't want to look stupid.(no offense guys) The accuracy is based on 3 things. ONE the barrel duhhhhhhhhh. Two the air system co2 or compressed air(Hint compressed air is more accurate). Three the direction the seam of the paint ball is in when chambered( This all rides on luck on how the ball lands into the breech from the hopper) Now if you don't believe me well go eat paint(just kidding) Seriously look at all the front bolts of all the guns, the air travels at one point or another through the middle of it this and the air impacts the ball the same way. Also lower pressure makes no sense to me, the air doesn't slam the ball it carries it with it causing almost no deformation in the ball. Speed well to be honest it's not that fast compared to all those high priced guns, but really what human being can physically pull a trigger 40 times in one second. Think about it. 10 balls a second is what i average and that's pretty fast. Also, if u don't have gobs of money to spend on paint then u defiantly don't want to be on the field reloading every ten seconds. And the best i saved for last is none to little chopping and it's the most durable gun there is, i have met a kid who threw his tippmann 98 off the top of his house and worked after it hit the pavement. don't try that with an angel (i'm serious).
Conclusion: This is a good gun for any player, it can be fully custolmized to fit your style of play. It's resonably priced and is gentel on your wallet when it comes to paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lee Willard Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Flash LCD, Vengeance Pro 2.0, Shockers, Impulses, and other cockers
Marker Setup: Vengeance Pro 2.0, PMI 72ci 3000psi, and 12volt Revvi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Double Trigger, expansion camber
Strengths: Really hard to mess-up, great woods gun and you can buy for 130.
Weaknesses: None, great starter gun, but if you want to play Tourneys you will need upgrades.
Review: I got this gun about 4 or 5 months after starting paintball, this was an upgrade from a StingRay. I've played in the woods and on the speed-ball fields. It was a great gun until last week when I sold it and a Flatline Barrel to buy a Cocker.
Conclusion: Buy this if you're starting or if you want something to kill birds with. BUT DON'T BUY THE FLATLINE, YOU CAN GET MUCH BETTER BARRELS FOR 110
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbman98 Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: 98c w/ response trigger, VLrevolution 12v with xboard, 14" dye stainless steal barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
you should deffenetly get a new barrel, because the stock is only 8.5" and is not very accurate. I recommend either the boomstick or the dye stainless steal. If you like to play speedball then you should get the rt or the e-bolt.
Strengths: very upgradable, near impossible to break, great for woods play, very accurate, great for price
Weaknesses: has a rough finish, not very flashy and a lot of people have them
Review: The 98c is a very good paintball gun. It is one of the most reliable guns that you can get, and is an amazing deal for the price. You will need to get a new barrel and some more accessories if you want. this is a great out of the box deal. This gun is the most up-gradable gun that is on the market. it has so many possibilities that you will not be able to get them all. great for beginners and tourniment players.
Conclusion: If you are looking into a gun, and cant decide between a few, then pick the 98c. It will not let you down and you will be very pleased with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JayD213 Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
field rentals
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, double trigger, response trigger, 16" 32* night stick
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL!! The stock barrel does not compare to good aftermarket barrels
Strengths: Durability
Upgrades
Quality
Weaknesses: Barrel
Review: I haven't used many other guns, but I don't understand spending $500 plus on a gun that I still need upgrades for. This gun is very consistent, durable, and upgradable. You can't hurt this gun! For the money I can't see purchasing another gun. Just adding a barrel made this gun very accurate and shoot much further. The response trigger is awesome. I would recommend the double trigger for the response trigger, I think it is easier to operate.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. I would say it is the best all around. Like I said I don't understand buying some outrageously priced gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CustomShooter98 Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Coming from using a Pro-Carbine the 98 Custom is by far better.
Marker Setup: I am now usin just a basic 98 Custom silver with a 32 degrees flame drop forward and a smart parts on and off kit.(will have more)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a toxic double trigger kit.....or any double trigger kit.....a new spring kit.......lapco 12in bigshot or a freak kit or the starter barrel.....a drop forward(atleast a 3 and a half in drop).......and rocket cock to keep as much paint and dirt out of the internals as possible
Strengths: Very reliante and well built. NO TROUBLES!!!
Weaknesses: Lots of small parts when taking it apart. BE CAREFUL!!!
Review: I have not had my gun long but from what i have been playing with since i started and to know i have always loved Tippmanns. Many of my friends have 98 Custom and standard 98's and they still say good things about it. Very reliante and no troubles when shooting and in playing. Doesnt do well with the rear cocking.

Very good trigger pull(3 lbs)...but comin up from a 9 lb trigger pull it is rather easy for me to like it.I have played with the double trigger kits and there is a huge difference to me in shooting and playing. Alot faster shooting, a boost in adrenaline maybe, just things like that. The only real thing that troubled me alittle was when i took it apart and when i took the cocking bolt out and pulled the inside out there was some mud in it....so u might want to look into that before u start to play with it.

Conclusion: It is a very good gun to buy and i really recommend this gun to beginners as well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moutain baller Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle avenger
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with flatline expansion chamber and electronic hoper
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline and electronic Hopper
Strengths: it is vary acurate durable and long lasting if taken good care of !
Weaknesses: so far no weaknesses or problems with the 98 custom
Review: over all this marker is grate for beginners and experts with the right upgrades its perfect for the user. you can not get a beater marker for frost play. its just incredible. and if you brake a ball in your barrel you flip it up side down shot a couple times and barrel cleaned
Conclusion: i would recommend this product to any one because its just a great all around marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hardtarget89 Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Friend has an A-5 -It's alright alright
Marker Setup: 98 custom
14' teardrop barrel
20oz CO2 tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
I got a better barrel
Strengths: Durability
Range
Velocity
Color - looks
customization
Performance
Weaknesses: Everyone has them, hopper
Review: This gun is the best gun that you can possibly get under...probably $250. It is that good! Other guns will break and are junk (spyder). This gun can slam against trees and be pummeled with paintballs and not be affected. If me saying this means nothing to you, ask every paintball field why they rent out Tippmanns. They are the most reliable, are at a cheap price, and preforme great. I've had a 98 Custom my whole playing career and it has not preformed poorly once. The gun is very reliable and efficient. I play wood-ball with my friends and this gun wrecks the competition, even against a fenix and electra. It is a little loud, but with a new barrel it'll shut up.

Statistics of a stock 98 custom:

Weight- 2.9 lbs. (without tank)
Range- 150+ ft.
Hopper- 150 rounds
Caliber- .68
Fireing method- semi-auto
Air types- compressed air, nitrogen, or CO2 cylinder
Cycle Rate- 11 rounds per second
Stock Barrel- 8.5"
Length with stock barrel- 19.63"
Conclusion: I obviously recommend this gun to any type of player, new-advanced. Take a look at its stats and see if you like it. For new people it is great to start and as you get better and gain more money, you can get new, better parts. For an advanced player, you use the right upgrades, and you can be talkin about a very very good gun. If your still iffy about it, try it out at a field by renting it. Even after the field has rented them out to tons of people, it should still preform great. If you are looking for a quality marker, this is the best.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 16th, 2005 at 4:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  118  |  119  |  120  |  121  |  122  |  123  |  124  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media