paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  119  |  120  |  121  |  122  |  123  |  124  |  125  |  Last
        Next Page
Bassimastprime Thursday, June 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders (not like 98s), Piranhas, SL-68II
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Teardrop Barrel
Vertical ASA
PMI Combat Folding Stock
Sometimes a Tasco Laser Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL, everything else is just preferance
Strengths: Durable, is like a rock
Low maintance
Customizable
Everything
Weaknesses: Barrel stinks, so does the hopper
Review: The 98 Custom is a solid marker for experienced players and noobies. Out of the box it is a moderate marker, but to reach its peak performance, put on a new barrel and some other stuff. I put on a vertical adapter so I could use the stock more effectively, if your getting a stock, don't use the bottom line adapter it's really hard to aim that way. Tippmann has great customer service and if you have any problems within the first year you can send it in, or even better I have a Tippmann dealer near me so if I want any Tippmann Proshop upgrades I can talk to him. My friend one time dropped my Tippy down my stairs, which are steap. I'd say it damaged the floor more than the marker. when you get a new barrel, find the right size paint to match your barrel, fortunately my Teardrop shoots almost everything pretty well
Conclusion: Once again, do not look at this marker as a bad low-end marker. The place where I play, almost everybody has a 98 Custom in some shape or form. Just if you get one of these, don't be afraid to upgrade upgrade upgrade
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 10th, 2004 at 10:35 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

l337pumper Wednesday, June 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, rentals
Marker Setup: M98c + Flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator/Expansion chamer
Strengths: Extremely tough, very nice feel, cheap
Weaknesses: Very complex internals to field strip
Review: Well, my friend recently got a Tippmann 98c w/ Flatline, and I had the chance to fire it a few times. The gun is very solid, and that (at least to me) feels very nice. I used it with a Flatline barrel and i thought it was OK, but not the best (PM me if you wanna know what my thoughts are, don't wanna start a flame war). The gun with flatline, 20oz, and a full hopper weighted alot, but not enough to cry about. One thing I didnt like was its length and loudness.

When my friend showed me the insides of the Tippman, I was shocked. Having a Phantom for a gun, I was used to very few parts (theres 5 moving parts). When his gun exploded, (when he opened it w/ springs and stuff. Not sure if thats normal), we were looking for the parts on the ground for five minutes. He put it back together... 40 minutes later (had a problem with the ball detent and the feedneck not closing). The gun isn't that hard to put back together, but you need to practice alot and be able to concentrate.

One last thing, my friend was having very bad velocity spikes. I have told him to get an anti-siphon w/ regulator, and he is in the process of getting them in hopes of correcting his velocity. I would recommend a regulator to all guns, especially if you are upgrading to HPA for better consistency (sp?).
Conclusion: If you want a gun that can survive a nuclear blast, this gun is for you. It is very well built, and Tippmann has been building them for a long time, and paintball guns even longer. Great starter gun, but has its flaws. I would suggest to all people who need a good reliable gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sniper_12345 Monday, June 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine (Dont buy it)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom w/ 14" J&J ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Double trigger
Drop forward
Expansion chamber
Strengths: Durability
Accuracy
NO vertical feed
Woods ball
Reliability
Low maintenance
Customizable
No big weaknesses
Fastforarecballgunnotabadsighttheymakeyouwriteonlyfifteenwor
ds
Weaknesses: Long
Common so you cant look cool
Review: This gun is great. Whenever I use my friends gun I always suck. This gun really increases my performance. At the field that I go to their is an upstairs and a downstairs on the upstairs their is a wall and cracks in it with my gun I go to one of the cracks aim through and start nitting people with my other friends gun i always miss and other problems occur (see my other review about Spyder imgaines). Also in rec ball you dominate even against some of the better guns. Another time we were playing rec ball and my friends gun kept getting all jakced up (ball breaks, velocity adjuster coming off, trigger not working, etc). It was really boring waiting their wi'll he fixed his gun. Also think of all the different things you can do to custamize it? You can ad a double trigger, barrel, Drop forwards, expansion chambers, Butts, Low pressure kits, Response triggers, and alot more.
Conclusion: You might see other guns around this price that are nice flashy speedball guns (Such as the Imagine and rodeo). But this gun can stand toe to toe with them in overall ability to play speedball. And compared to them in rec ball handaling and reliability? They dont even come close. Also you can custmize it ti'll kingdom come. This really is a great gun. BUY IT.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

egaleye2 Sunday, June 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra, beefed up 98c
Marker Setup: 98c w/ smart parts progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: good for noobs,easily upgradeable, easy to clean, a gun u can't "kill"
Weaknesses: the barrel that comes with it sux, get a 14" barrel.
Review: great for noobs, easily upgradeable, great overall appearence, this is truly a gun u cant kill, u need to upgrade the barrel right away, otherwise this is a good choice, u need a new barrel, the 8.5 inch it comes with will leave u shooting curves every 2nd or 3ird shot. get a 14" very cost effective by the way.
Conclusion: if u are out of the renting stage and looking for a gun, go out and buy it. cost effective, easily upgradeable, a very very good marker for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tink12 Sunday, June 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some cheap brass eagles, one spyder
Marker Setup: all stock parts.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have 3 friends that bought new barrells for theirs and they are extremley accurate
Strengths: Shoots straight even with stock barrel good sight system easy to upgrade never breaks balls
Weaknesses: Little bad on gas.
Review: This gun is great for recreational players and can be upgraded enough to compete with just about any gun. I paintball with friends and 7 of us have them and we can outshoot anybody on the feild. A great buy for the value and you can't break it. The gun is better than any I have ever used. Nothing is as frustrating as a gun that breaks balls and then won't shoot straight. Even after the 98 breaks balls (if it ever does) it still shoots as straight as an arrow. I would recomend this gun to anyone who plays paintball.
Conclusion: Overall the best gun for begginers and recreational players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

u1tim4tumfr0nt Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5, a bunch of markers
Strengths: Accurate, nice site, dependable
Weaknesses: Price
Review: The gun is really good. Its the first gun I ever used when I rented it in Skirmish. Very dependable and its a good gun, however a newbie wanting to start playing it is quite expensive, 200.

Good gun, if you have that money get a nicer marker, like a spyder fenix or soemthing.
Conclusion: Good gun, overpriced like everythign else tippmann
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kraftwerk Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98, A5, various spyder/piranha blowbacks
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline barrel
DOP RVA
Rocket Cock 2
GTA Vertical Adapter
WGP Ergo regulator
Toxic Performance double trigger
Kapp DZ II
Crossfire 88/4500 red
12v Revy/Reloader
Mods including polished receiver halves, trigger job, lightened hammer, ported valve, drilled vertical adapter.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel (or kit, or flatline)
double trigger
Some sort of electronic hopper
Strengths: Durable, easy to fix, easily upgradeable, efficient
Weaknesses: Not the fastest or prettiest on the field, rough on some paints
Review: The 98 custom is an excellent starter marker for anyone in paintball. It's easy to handle, easy to upgrade (and the upgrades are many), it'll stand up to any amount of abuse you can throw at it, and it's a pretty decent performer out of the box.

Don't expect to set any speed records, even with the E-Bolt kits, but it'll hold its own on most fields. If you can learn how it behaves, tuning for more performance becomes easy. I can easily shoot more paint than I can carry with my 88/4500 tank. The trigger is a bit mushy, it's a tad loud, and it certainly isn't as elegant as most other guns, but for such a low $ investment (I bought mine used for $50), how can you go wrong?
Conclusion: An excellent starter gun that can be upgraded almost infinitely and a good first or 14th gun for anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joe"pyscho" Tuesday, June 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman pro-carbine (rental) , my gun, various spyders, a few various high-end semi's and tons of guns that i just test
Marker Setup: piranha eforce gti w/freak jr. inserts 689-693, pmi flame drop, 12v.revvy xboard, 9 oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline and remote setup, maybe an expansion chamber.
Strengths: Lasts a long time.
Weaknesses: Tirgger not lite, bulky, not good for speedball
Review: the first thing i noticed was the trigger. comparing it to my gun, which im used to, it was a huge pull and not sensitive. the second thing was that stock, the thing shot like crap and was LOUD. third, its hard to keep a small profile with this; it sticks out too far and you cant keep it in. When your air is HALF out, you get a lot of drop-off.Then there is the lack of field stirppage. even with the flatline, you need a good ball-barrel match and it sometimes curves, and you cant thuroughly clean it with the flatline. this gun is great for a sniper but i dont like it for anything else. As for it lasting a long time, most people should end up getting a new gun evetually.
Conclusion: If you put money into this it may become a decent gun, but my friend put a lot of money into his (flatline, remote, etc.) and it broke for no reason. 3.3
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 5th, 2004 at 10:32 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jondawg Monday, May 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Progressive barrel
GTA expansion chamber
Revy hopper
double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would definitely recommend a knew barrel the stock barrel just doesn't do the job. if you are having problems with the consistency in the velocity then i would buy an expansion chamber.
Strengths: Reliability
simple to use
comfortable to hold
customizable
EVERYTHING about it
Weaknesses: weight
length
Review: THIS MARKER IS INCREDIBLE. first of all it is made to last.....notice almost all rental guns at paintball fields are tippmanns. thats because they can take a beating and still works great. i have dropped my gun several times on rocks and i just pick it up and keep shooting. i would say this gun is more for woods ball because of it's size (it is a little long). i would recommend buying a knew barrel ( at least 12 inch) because stock barrel can not shoot as far or as accurate as a longer one. I love this gun because it is "CUSTOM". you can put endless amounts upgrades on it until the gun is just how u like it. upgrades include, response trigger, E-grip, double trigger, verticle adapter, expansion chamber, low pressure kit, E-bolt, rear cocker, drop forward, and sight rail. as u can see there are many things to put on this gun to improve it.....but right out of the box it doesn't really need much improving. some people think 98's are for beginners and don't like to have them on there team but a 98 can fire just as fast and accurate as a $800 marker. the one bad thing about a 98 custom is the sound. this gun is a little loud but a new barrel can fix that.....and who cares if you gun is loud it just makes u more intimidating. this gun is EXTREMELY easy to use, just cock it and fire. just one screw to adjust velocity. people say it is hard to field strip but if you know what you are doing it only takes about 5 min. i take my gun apart a lot to clean and lube it up so i know the insides pretty well. the first time you take it apart it can be confusing but the more time u spend taking it apart and reassembling it the easier it becomes to do. the set up of the marker is great with the front grip to hold onto and the 45 grip frame it is comfortable to hold for long amounts of time. IT IS CHEEP. people spend OUTRAGEOUS amounts for guns that work just as good and are not as well made. your friends will be getting there guns fixed while our out playing.
Conclusion: BUY IT .....IT WILL NOT LET YOU DOWN
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

abslut Thursday, May 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
a5
Marker Setup: progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything
Strengths: durable
Weaknesses: unaccurate, loud, slow,
Review: i got this gun thinking it would be good but its not, wen u shoot it, it sounds like a hammer hitting metal, every shot would curve a different way even with the velocity down, it wast till i got a progressive barrel that the shots went strait, it shoots slow and compared to most other guns i played with mine was the worst. ppl say these r better then spyders, only like the spyders that r under 100 everything else beats it. if u want to play speedball dont even think of this gun it shoots damn slow.
Conclusion: if u get it make sure u get alot of upgrades or else its a overprice peice of crap
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  119  |  120  |  121  |  122  |  123  |  124  |  125  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media