paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  127  |  128  |  129  |  130  |  131  |  132  |  133  |  Last
        Next Page
blingintippy Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 custom
-14" Lapco Bigshot
-GTA X-chamber & vertical adapter
-Anti-Siphon 20oz
-Dead On Pro-blade Drop w/ on|off
-12v Revolution
-GTA double trigger
-Polished Internals
-Lots of custom milling (homemade mods)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Defenatly a new barrel. A lapco bigshot 12"-14" makes the gun much more acurate. An antisiphoned c02 tank makes the gun run more efficiently and less liquid c02 will come out the barrel. Also a moterized hopper, nothing more then a revy unless you get an RT or Ebolt because i seriously dought you will out-shoot one without one of the two.
Strengths: -Durabilaty
-Acurate (with the write upgrades)
Weaknesses: The trigger pins are removable and very easy to loss
Non-verticle feed
Review: The Tippmann 98custom is one of the most reliable guns on the market. The Tippmann name is more common on the paintball market then almost any name brand. The 98 custom is the MOST durable gun on the market. It can be banged, bruised, and kicked without breaking. The clamshell design makes it very easy to point out problems and makes cleaning a breeze. All the parts can be removed and soaked in water for cleaning as the two receiver halves are cleaned. Then the soaking parts can be dried and you know your gun is perfectly clean. NOTE - do not put the powertube/valve assembly in water, just wipe it down. I recommend epoxying/supergluing the trigger pins into their sockets. The gun is a very good beginner gun, because it doesnt require much maintainaints and is so durable.
Conclusion: This is an all around great gun. Its cheap, durable, and can be upgraded beyond belief.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballman232 Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, get the double trigger frame Tippmann makes for it
Strengths: Effcienecy in the winter
accuracy
consistent
Reliable
DOESNT BREAK PAINT
sturdy
Weaknesses: the fore grip
the design of it basicly
Review: I used this durring a game and i loved it. It was like a year old and the thing shot better than my friends guns that were like only shot 2000 times. Even with the 8 inch barrel the accuracy was great. Played one on one with someone shot him 5 times out of the 7 i shot of at him from about good 75 feet away maybe 50 feet. And this thing doesnt go crazy if u shoot it really fast, it stays shooting straight. I also like the gas effciency. I got like 700-800 shots out of a 16oz. and still had more CO2 to play on.
Conclusion: Overall my feelings on this gun is great. Its a reliable gun that if someone wants to have fun playing some matches against friends. I recomend a new barrel just because accuracy can still be better with any gun. And i recomend the 2 finger trigger to get it easier to shoot faster. So I'll give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballingman Thursday, April 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stingray
Marker Setup: 98c, 9oz, dop barrel adapter, 12inch dye barrel, brass eagle sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
needs a sight and a better barrel
Strengths: light
cheap
the best ive used
very upgradable
Weaknesses: none really
needs new barrel
Review: if u want a awsome gun buy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its the most upgradable and can be put to fit ur personality. it is relitivily inexpencive. put on a better barrel and go for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! u should buy it for yourself as a treat!!! as in the BEST TREAT U CAN GIVE URSELF!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: two words... BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its simply the BEST blowback gun ever in my opinion
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 25th, 2004 at 12:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smblkc Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro-lite: Slower trigger (greater pull and travel) than the 98c.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C w/14" JJ Ceramic and dual trigger, Pro-lite with 14" SS Sniper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Recommend a new barrel (but doesn't everyone).
Strengths: Durable, good price, decent out of box
Weaknesses: Not easily field strippable
Review: I really can't say any more about this marker than what has already been said. I personally prefer this marker of almost all other comparably priced markers. I have found that the quality is typical of any other Tippmann product. It shoots well, and has not broken a ball in over 1000 rounds shot (RPS Big Ball, Premiums, and Diablo Heat brand paints).

There seems to be several customizations that can be done, but none that I feel are critical for the recreational player. However, a new barrel wouldn't hurt.

The only downside to this marker is how it breaks down. The clamshell design allows you to open it up and clean it out real good, but it also allows for small parts to fall out. It also takes longer to tear the marker apart than a lot of others.
Conclusion: I would recommend that anyone who is interested in buying a lower priced marker. It's quality and reliability far outweighs the negative points. I have used Tippmanns for years, and this gun hasn't swayed me from them.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wildfire788 Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
BSA Red Dot Scope
20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
CO2
Strengths: Durable
Ready right out of the box
Tons of Upgrades
Overall nice gun
Weaknesses: Nothing!
but might be hard to fix if you cant take things apart/put together
Review: This gun is a great beginners gun. You can shoot it right out of the box, but it is the most customizable gun in the world. You can do so many things with this gun I really cant count. This is definitely an awesome beginner's gun. If your new this gun is a good reccomendation since you can upgrade it later when you get better. This thing is also durable. You can drop it, you can throw it, it will still work. The only thing bad I could possibly find is if you dont know how to take things apart and put them back together then you might have trouble, but just read the manual and be cautious and you should do fine. Youll definitely want a new barrel later on too. Another very minor problem is it does sometimes spray out icy CO2, but an expansion chamber, one of the many, many upgrades you can find, will fix that small detail. Great gun. Completely worth the price.
Conclusion: If your a new player, buy a 98C starter pack
Great gun for beginners because it is durable, ready to shoot, fun to shoot, and just a great gun overall. Its also great for experienced players as a back up gun or even a primary one if youve been using a Viewloader or Brass Eagle gun as a start.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shot you out Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor
Marker Setup: 98c
drop f
x chamber
dead on pro seal
progressive barrel
responce trigger
empire loader
dye sticky grip
raised site rail
dye throttle
Recommended
Upgrades:
all of the above
Strengths: upgradeable
dull color
cheap
Weaknesses: loud
breaks if you play around with it like me
Review: great gun that you can upgrade. it has a very low price. if you want you can paint it using modle paint. if you do get a po seal dont play during cold weather it can mess up the internal o-ring. the ony problems are the gun is too loud and the stock barrel is terrible. the a-5 is way wurse in acuracy
Conclusion: 6/ 10 let a pro fix your gun up unless you know wat your doin
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mrpaintball44 Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 98 coustom
14" smartparts progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: -accurate
-BEASTLY!!! nothing stops this gun
Weaknesses: -loud
-a little expensive
Review: This gun is TOUGH!!! Its a great i enjoy it, and i recommend a new barrel for starters and i also resommend it to any beginner who just wants to play a few times a year for kicks and giggles. la DE da DE da!!! (i need to take up more space) i wonder if that did it?
Conclusion: buy it. its definitely worth it. have fun!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow-Assassin Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spydr Victor, Spyder X-tra.
Marker Setup: 98c: Remote, Terminator Barrel, Gta Stock, GTA doubble Trigger System, GTA Sight Rails, Laser Sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote, Terminator Barrel, or flatline, Gta Stock, or any-other good stock, GTA doubble Trigger System, GTA Sight Rails(For the Stock), Laser Sight(My best Friend!), lot's of Expirence with this gun!
Strengths: Price, Customization, Durability, Dependability, Being Artistic!
Weaknesses: Don't buy it used :'(
Review: What a perfect piece of Art!!! Tippmann make some of the best Woodsball guns... wait what do I mean some of... I mean THEY ARE!

Some people Say upgrade the barrel, upgrade the barrel! BUT! I'll Squalsh all that!!!! If the barrel works Stick with it!!! I'm not going to pressure you on doing so... This gun is DEFINATLY for EVERY sniper-Type player Put a REMOTE ON and you'll definatly see an improvement for sneaking around that tank doesn't get in your dam way! but some people dont like being hooked to there gun so its your opinion... thats wat I love about this gun anything you want for it, IT WILL DO! But to make it Full-Auto its a bit pricey :(

I havn't made it Nitro or Full-Auto but FEWY with that idea! I'm doing perfect with this gun! Hide in a bush or up in a Tree wait for some over priced rich snob run by and tag that little fuker in the back!

For the only worry I had for this gun was Duirability.. But heh This thing was droped off a 20ft Balcony and it didn't even phase it or change the Accuracy!

The only problem I've ever had with this gun is taking it apart the first time, that took me a all-day project :S (I was a newbie when I bought this)
Conclusion: Any one and EVERYONE should have a 98c in there Pb-Gun, arsenal!

Buy it! and you'll thank me!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 14th, 2004 at 8:13 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nadrethepadre Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, Spider Compact, Brass Eagle Tiger Shark, Brass Eagle Talon
Marker Setup: 98 Custom with Dye Excel barrel and 20 ounce CO2, Viewloader Revolution Hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
elecro hopper
Strengths: Fast
Durable
Accurate
easy maintanence
conservative
Weaknesses: none what so ever
Review: I find the 98 custom to be a very good gun, maybe not better than the A-5 like my friend has, I find my 98 to be very good at keeping line aim, its never failed me, its kept me compan in the bad times and its kept me on top during the good times. and plus, while im writing this review, at least I can spell effectively not only with me knowing that theres a SPELL CHECK at the bottom of this... and this keyboard sucks! anywho, the 98 custom is good, im going to buy the ProCarbine when I have the mney for that, paintballs, CO2 and and another viewloader.

Thanks for listening.
Conclusion: I would choose this gun because it will treat you well in combat, and keep you protected in sleep, now, if you excuse me, I have to go back to school.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Marauderman Tuesday, April 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon-E
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Angel 4 Fly
Evil 5000 Psi Tank
Halo Rip drive loader
14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Response Trigger
Double Trigger
Expansion chamber
Drop Forward
Strengths: Accurate
Great Appearance
Light Trigger Pull
Weaknesses: Not Very Fast
Review: Overall a Great Begginner Gun but If Your A Intermediate player get an angel they are
Not even comparable If You Have The money get the 98 custom for a begginer gun then
move up to something different. Do Not get the icon E that gun is weak,the spyder Xtra
freezes up
Conclusion: Good Gun-Can Use Upgrades But Good
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  127  |  128  |  129  |  130  |  131  |  132  |  133  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media