paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  Last
        Next Page
Matt98C Wednesday, January 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, a little only because it comes with the Cyclone, Smart Parts Nerve, beast of a gun
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Xcel barrel
Cyclone feed
Double Trigger
16 oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
the cyclone feed really helps the ROF
a barrel, the stock is below average
Strengths: DURABILITY!!!,
requires little cleaning
good price
awesome for begginners or experienced players
rarely chops paint
Weaknesses: Upgrades are required if you are a serious baller
Review: So I got like 200 bucks and I really wanted to get into paintball. I didnt know much about the sport at the time. I did some research and found that Tippy's are really good for biginers and they're durable. I got the 98 custom starter package at MC SPorts for $100 cuz they were goin out of business. I was really impressed. The gun isn't the best out of the box but it's not a piece of crap either. I went out and got some upgrades like the Cyclone and a barrel, and they improved the gun a lot. I love this Tippmann because it's great out of the box for rookies like I was but there's a ton of upgrades you can get to suit your paintball needs. It rarely chops paint and maintenence is simple. I'm now savin up for a Reponse trigger becuase my double is great but I still can't shoot real fast just becuase the air system waon't let me. Still the double did help. I would definitely recommend this gun to anyone starting out or even pros. Plus it has the reliability of a tippmann!
Conclusion: Definitely buy! It's just awesome and with a few upgrades this thing is easily as good as any Spyder or Vibe/Ion. It won't let u down. i give it a 9 just becuase you will prob. need a few upgrades to make this thing really kick ...... butt, but they aren't too $$$ and they really make a difference
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PRicanManiaK Wednesday, January 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion(only shot it)
Autococker(Only shot it)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom ACT
12" Smartparts Teardrop Barrel
old-to-new 98C barrel thread adapter
20 oz Pure Energy CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Teardrop Barrel
Old-to-new 98C barrel thread adapter
20oz tank, or HPA(N2,same thing)
Strengths: Last FOR-EH-VER
Not a bad price
Has a lot of upgrades
Weaknesses: Nothing really, besides the fact it is kinda big
Review: This gun is great for starters, or even pros. It is preferably for woodsball, unless you upgrade it to a speedball worthy gun. It has a 8.5 barrel that has great accuracy. Shooting wise, It is not as good as the Cocker, or the Ion. But maintnence, It is easy. I went twice and love it. You may have to buy a bigger tank, mine came with a 9 oz. It only last about 1 1/2 to 3 games.
Conclusion: BUY IT, its worth it...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 21st, 2008 at 4:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer32 Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A5
X7
Marker Setup: 98c
200rnd loader
20oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Durable
Adjustable Sight
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: My first thoughts of this gun were relitivley bad, but once i practiced with it i found out it was very good. The adjustable sight comes in handy. Also the quick release feed neck is very clever. I had a lot more fun than i had anticipated. Very reliable and extremley duable. overall a good performer.
Conclusion: Very reliable and extremley duable. Overall a good performer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gazda 360 Tuesday, December 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a lot of spyders
vl's
and pirhannas
Marker Setup: 98c
m16 barrel kit
m16 adjustable
stock m16 mag
m16 sight rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
depends...
Strengths: Durable, accurate, cheap
Weaknesses: Painin the *** to take apart...but gets easier
Review: Great marker...cheap...highly upgradeable.........i bought this gun w/ an m16 kit and it looks awesome..shoots like a dream...its a pain to take apart and clean but gets much easier the more you do it....i love this gun and plan to use it a lot more.........
Conclusion: Great gun, extremely durable...but still just take good care of it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

masterchief1212 Tuesday, December 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 20" barrel
g36 folding stock
response trigger
vlocity eye force hopper
red dot sight
remote air system
20oz CO2
bipod
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" barrel
response trigger
some good hoppers
remote air system
Strengths: Has amazing accuracy
Bomb proof (pretty much)
Reliable
Price
Weaknesses: Weight
Eats up co2 with the response trigger
Review: I seriously love this gun, its a great gun for beginners i bought this gun 2 years ago and its still goin great...

Appearence:
Looks good, black is the best color for it.
10/10

Performance:
Has really great performance, if you get the response trigger expect your co2 / hpa / n2 effiency to go down greatly (buy 100-150 shots) i still recomend the response trigger because it makes the marker automatic and also it makes it that much more deadly.
9/10

(Im not good at this review stuff)
Conclusion: Its a great gun, great for beginners and great for just haveign a great time shooting you buddys.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

hopps25 Wednesday, December 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ ACT
T FANG double trigger
Tippmann Collapsible stock
Tippmann E-Trigger
32 degrees 16" nightstick sniper barrell
Daisy winchester rifle scope
Cyclone feeding system
Recommended
Upgrades:
E trigger, Better Barrel,
Strengths: Durable. Great for starters, and you can upgrade to whatever meets your desire.
Weaknesses: Shoots slow w/ out any upgrades. (2.5 bps).
Review: it lives to its name... its a CUSTOM which means you need to customize it in order for it to be great. I like it. Great for any skill level. Looks real. Its great for woodsball and speeball. Without the upgrades, you will do bad though. This is the foundation to a great gun, you decide what is to become of it.
Conclusion: a great product. Tippmann gives you the chance to create
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Kujo Saturday, December 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray, my brother let me toy with his Akron M-16 thing
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom <---upgrades putting on currently (32*star Fire Bolt, Inline Expansion Chamber, Tapco Folding Stock, 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, Cyclone Feed)
Recommended
Upgrades:
32* Star Fire bolt is a must have, its 10 bucks and works wonders.
J&J Ceramic is good because if your Star Fire ever chops, just shoot through it.
Expansion Chamber keeps liquid co2 going and saves as much air as possible.
Cyclone Feed works on extra co2 and can still produce 18 balls a second.
Strengths: Durable
Upgradable
Versatile
Price
Weaknesses: none for a woodsballer, many for a speedballer with no RT and E-Grip
Review: This guin has served me well for four years,same gun. Im a strict woodsballer and I can upgrad ethis gun to no end. with the J&J, the sound is nearly diminished. The durability is beyond compare. Strip it and throw it in the dish washer, not to be confused with the clothes washer. accurate out of the box for maybe 100 feet, but with one upgrade that increases. Costs $125-$160 for basic marker packadge. Not the best speedballer gun withought e-grip, RT, electric hopper and such.
Conclusion: Yes. Get it and dont be let down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannkid15 Friday, November 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really unless you count a brass eagle
Marker Setup: I use a Tippmann 98 Custom with a 14" J&J Ceramic, Tippmann Triumph hopper, dual trigger and a response trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
The response trigger and the dual trigger
Strengths: Very reliable, little maintenance needed, easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: The stock model is slow
Review: Reliability (+5)- This marker is very relaible and it requires very little maintenance.
Upgradability (+3)- Very easy to find and apply upgrades. I recommend the response trigger and a dual trigger.
Accuracy(+2)- Very accurate for a stock marker

When I first opened my Tippmann, two years ago I thought to myself "This is gonna rock!" and man was I right. I took my friend to a local field to play about a week later (after I got accustomed to the gun). While there I bought my barrel, this was an amazing choice on my part. I bought my trigger kits a few months later on the recommendation of a friend from school. Since then I have never looked at paintball the same again. So if you get a chance to get a Tippmann or something else go with the Tippmann. You can make Ion users hide in terror with the response and even the stock model has un-paralleled accuracy.
Conclusion: This gun is easy to change to fit your personal playing style i give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lrrychpn Friday, November 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Extra (easier to clean, more compact. less reliable, not as good)
Marker Setup: Proto M6 (black) w/ Virtue Board
Halo B w/ Rip Drive and V35 Chip
Max System X Carbon Fiber Tank

Spyder Extra w/ J&J ceramic 14 in.

Tippmann 98 custom w/ 16 in.
Recommended
Upgrades:
(fo sho)
barrel
(personal preference)
drop forward
double trigger and or e-trigger/response trigger
electric hopper
expansion chamber
Strengths: Reliable
Quiet

Weaknesses: Long
Upgrades are expensive
Review: I bought my tippmann 98c used. it came with everything i needed to play. I played woods ball, a couple days later, and it worked pretty good, after I had switched to the 16 inch barrel. The stock barrel was pretty wild shootin. i played speedball with it a week later or so and it worked great. The 16 inch barrel made it a sniper, plus the long body, of the gun, and the co2 sticking straight ought back. It was kinda hard to maneuver, but it was shooting really good, and accurate. One time I bunkered a kid in the snake, and everyone standing right there thought that I ran right by him, because they couldn't here me shoot, very stealthy. my Extra kinda "pings" when I shoot, but this "thups". If you can understand that? : ) My extra is a lot easier to clean (taking out the bolt) than, taking off all the screws and making sure i don't loose any little parts, but it is not a big deal.

Conclusion: over all it is a very nice marker. especially with a new barrel. very good gun for beginners, and can even be for advance with the right upgrades. I am over all very pleased with it for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kendakilla Wednesday, November 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 best imo (yes i have used it)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
response trigger
cyclone feed
tippmann drop forward
cp two piece barrel
polished internals
dxs 38/3000 hpa steel tank

or

Proto matrix Rail 07
virtue board
on/off asa
cp two piece barrel
crossfire 68/4500 hpa tank/dye tank cover
empire reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
i definitely recommend that the first upgrade be a new barrel the stock one just doesn't cut it.
the rest is really up to you, i prefer my set up with response and cyclone feed because i feel that a tippmann should stay completely mechanical so that it functions more reliably in brutal weather. hpa is nice for cold weather play especially
Strengths: DURABILITY
its a tippmann
very customizable
Weaknesses: Wobbly feedneck
Open bolt design (personal preference)
Not much else its a good marker
Review: Like many players my first serviceable marker was the tippmann 98 custom, its reliable, accurate when equipped with a solid barrel and pretty much un-killable. i never really experienced chops until i started to play in the cold weather and the problems went away as soon as the weather started to warm back up. i wouldn't necessarily call this a weakness as it is hard to get a marker to perform well in the frigid weather up here in the mountains. ive ran thousands of paintballs through my 98 and it hasn't disappointed me a bit. i highly recommend this fine piece of work to any noob players who want a solid better-than-rental marker. great choice and you just cant go wrong with a tippmann.



Conclusion: New and serious woodsballers alike, this gun is a great buy and wont let you down; naturally i do not recommend this gun for speedball.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 28th, 2007 at 11:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media