paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  143  |  144  |  145  |  146  |  147  |  148  |  149  |  Last
        Next Page
ryangillespie Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra (Sucked)
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom all stock and a 20oz CO2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really, A barrel would be nice.
Strengths: Very VERY Durable... Great gun...
Weaknesses: The barrell.. I haven't noticed it being a gas hog..
Review: This gun is great and I recommend for all paintball beginners or anyone else. Maybe one of you guys can help me.. I have a question.. Does anyone know how to polish the stock barrel??If so email me at sk8boy_2001@hotmail.com.. This gun is great on accuracy and its very durable.. Although sometimes it gets rearend heavy... A drop forward would be nice to have...
Conclusion: I recommend a drop forward, barrel, and nitro if you want to go that far...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hambone Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Some crappy brass eagle
A-5 (liked it more but couldnt afford it)
Recommended
Upgrades:
go with a new barell first after that you can look into other upgrades.
Strengths: key strengths is just that strength
Weaknesses: mine came with a little 9 oz bottle
Review: You can abuse this marker and it will keep firing, droped mine in a creek pulled it out and BLAM!! kept on firing. No matter what kind of ball you are looking at playing this marker can be easily modified to any configuration you desire, Upgrades are cheap except for the e-bolt.
Most fields use these as rentals due to their reliability and ease of maintance. For the price you pay for one you cant find a better marker.
Field stripping is not something you would do duning a game but even so it takes a few minuits to fieldstrip the 98c...my first time took me about 20 minuits. now it only takes about 4 to dissasemble wipe oil and reassemble. If this is a factor you can purchace thumbscrews to make it a little faster
A lot of people say this marker is heavy but actually it is practicaly the same wieght as most other markers on the field today. It is just that the marker is a little long due to its design and people assume it is heavy

Conclusion: Get it, its cheap reliable easily modified and practically maintance free....but if you have the extra cash go on out and get an A-5
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 22nd, 2004 at 7:32 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dancipar Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Used PMI Black Maxx as my first gun ever...a rental in ok condition, after that,, rental .98's, i liked them so much, i got one, i've shot some others, like E-99, A-5, '03 Auto-C, Spyder Extra, a lot of different barrels, whatever, you get the idea
Marker Setup: Stock M98 Custom
Stock Barrel
20oz Tank
Remote, 4+1 Harness
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm very pleased with my remote, makes the gun light, easy to move around,.
People always say the stock barrel is bad, i haven't had too much trouble with it, but i play a lot of woods, so I'm getting an Armson 16in Stealth with a pro team sniper stock., and maybe a sight of some sort
Strengths: Reliable, doesnt break balls much, easy to clean, sturdy, metal, etc...
Weaknesses: in the 75+ feet range curves,
Review: I was pretty soled after using this gun as a rental a few times at a local place, sure, it's not as quiet as some others, not as accurate at long ranges, and some people don't like how it looks (crazy people, they are) but it gets the job done. In the woods, i know, there isn't much space to shoot far, anyways, you will end up hitting a branch, or some brush, or something like that. In terms of up-close, it's fine, just as good as a cocker i would say, but for a fraction of the price. I whipped this thing out a few days after i got it, played with some friends in the back yard, one had an E-99 Avant, one had another .98C, and one had one of those fancy A-5's....i kicked all their asses, the only problem my friend had with his was he didn't properly maintain his gun, it was all rusty and gross inside, he chopped some balls....but all guns would after the way he treated it, another hitting, keep rate of fire somewhat (don't blast as fast as you possibly can just because you think it is good) it will start loosing accuracy and awesomeness then. And anyways, haven't you seen the true fighters...the snipers, "one shot, one kill." I shot about 5-8bps and did fine though, so don't worry about that anyways, if you shoot more than that, you waste paint (and $).
Conclusion: Conclusion? Best gun you can get for the $, it's durable, EASY TO UPGRADE!!!! and looks cool (like a rifle!). i got all my stuff listed above for $220, all new, including s+h. but pretty much, the big thing any good or bad paintball played SHOULD know is that it's the skipper, not the clipper...all guns shoot the ball relatively accurate, at a good speed, and don't break paint, but it's the players who use the gun to get the kills,.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Soujiro Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Revelation - Tippman 98C is soo much beter
Marker Setup: Tippman 98C
Dye Xcel 14"
Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Double Trigger
Expansion chamber or nitrogen
If you are bored, electronic hopper and response trigger system
Strengths: Durable
Cheap
Fully Customizable
Weaknesses: Range isn't great
Review: Tippman 98C is very durable. That is just how Tippmanns come. This gun is fully customizable to fit any play level. From rookie to pro. My first one that I ordered, it pumped out snow out of the side cock and I asked around and people said it was no big deal. I decided that I wouldn't risk it so I went to a store bought another and returned the original. The 2nd one works perfectly. Maybe first had defect or something. But I highly recomment a barrel upgrade at teh least. Stock barrel is BaD.
Conclusion: Overall this is a GREAT gun. You can use it for any level and when you get better you can upgrade basically everything on the gun. I highly recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 9:15 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Freakishdork666 Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
Marker Setup: m98c w/ verticle adapter, pro team intruder x/chamber, custom products 16" barrel, jcs voodoo folding stock, lapco raised sight rail, venturi bolt, rocket cock, thumb screw kit, and red dot scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
first a barrel b/c the stock barrel is very crude even compared to other stock barrels. custom products has good cheap barrels as does j&j ceramics but basically any after market barrel is better . second a x/chamber even though the m98 will shoot off of liquid rather well its still not good as gas, after that it depends on your preference and wallet. my guns set up for sniping and it works well, the rocket cock quiets it down a bit. with the 98 you can set it up to fit any position
Strengths: this gun is rugged a dependable keep it oiled and it will shoot
Weaknesses: its a bit heavy and off balanced stock also too much plastic and small parts
Review: the 98 is as durable and dependable as they come clean it a bit and oil it and you'll never have a problem. one thing to becarefull about is when installing the verticle adapter, use teflon tape (found any where that carries plumbing supplies) and go real easy on the lock tight the first time i tryed puting it on i ended up lock tighting the o-rings in the cvx valve which ended in a order from tippmann and a call to a friend but now it works fine. the pro team x/chamber works good as a extreme drop foward but i'd recomend a drop foward and a 4-6 stage x/chamber for cold weather. another tip is the little spring that allows the front sight to go up and down tends to pop out a dab of super glue in the right spot solves this. other wise i can't think of any thing else to tell you, with the 98 the # of mods are rediculous you can get any thing for it.
Conclusion: with every thing looked at the 98 is the best if your just getting into the sport, looking for a good reliable scenario gun, but this is also a good gun for any onefrom intermidiate up to the starting tourney level
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stupifyyd Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Modified cockers, spyders (crap), piranhas (better than spyder), angels, impulses, brass eagle stingray II (brass Eagle should not be allowed to make pb guns)
Marker Setup: I'm waiting for my new Phantom. The M-98's i've used were just hooked up to CO2 tanks with the tippman hoppers
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel. After that it's just personal preference. Good stock.
Strengths: Read body
Weaknesses: Read body
Review: For the price this gun is amazing. There's obviously faster, more accurate, and lighter guns out there but you have to spend a fair amount of cash to get them. This thing is really durable and it holds up to any conditions perfectly. I've used them in sub zero temperatures with CO2 (no anti-siphon) and had no problems at all. There are also a ton of modifications for them. They are great beginners guns and are fun for veterans too. Most fun marker I've ever used.
Conclusion: These things are great. If your looking for something inexpensive, durable, and that can be modified then get one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ghost_Shooter Sunday, January 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Pro-Lite
Spyder
Marker Setup: 98C
Dye Xcel barrel
Powerfeed
Recommended
Upgrades:
Paint job
Barrel
Pro-team Powerfeed
electronic hopper
Strengths: Durable, not too expensive, upgradeable, nearly all metal
Weaknesses: Paint comes off quickly, tedious field stripping (clamshell design) Hopper attachment rattles/feels loose
Review: The Tippmann 98C is a great gun, especially for rec players or those who are new to the sport. This is because it is extremely durable, and hence reliable, it offers a myriad of upgrades allowing it to become comperable to more expensive, high end guns, and does it all at a price that is fairly low ($130 for mine).
This gun does have several weaknesses however, first and foremost that the paint job begins to come off after three or four days of playing. Next, this gun is notoriously difficult to field strip, however, its durablility usually allows for this problem to be avoided. Finally, I dislike the way that the hopper attaches to the gun, as it rattles and feels as if it could fall off fairly easily, though I have not had this happen yet.

Conclusion: Overall the 98C is a great gun, and would make an excellent industry standard against which to compare all other guns.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 4th, 2004 at 10:41 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ArcticPenguin Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: tippman 98 custom with flatline barrel system
Recommended
Upgrades:
It really depends on were you play the flatline is an awesome upgrade for the gun if you play in not so dense areas so it wouldn't be a good idea to use it in a dense forest.
Strengths: reliable, good price, upgradable, accurate, not bad looking, to many others to name.
Weaknesses: Hard to take apart but you don't have to do that often.
Review: The tippman 98 custom is a very reliable upgradable and accurate gun also if your looking for a gun that almost looks like a real gun this is it. It also is a great price for such an awesome gun. The only thing I have bad to say about it is that it might take a few times of taking it apart before you learn it well other then that it has no problems that I have encountered.
Conclusion: I've never had any problems with it I would never use another gun (maybe an angel but that's it) when I had my original barrel on it I never had a single break and I've had it for almost 3 years I just got the flatline a month ago. Basicaly any paintballs work nicely in it . Easy to maintain I'm seriouse I've never had a problem with reliability or anything like that I have probably shot 20000 paintballs in it and the only time I've ever had a break is when my friend shot a paintball right down the barrel and then one time when I forgot to put the flatline on right. Only 1 person out of the 5 that have tippmans that go with me have ever had to sit out and that was because he had never oiled his gun or anything like that and he only sat out 1 game anyways. I can't possibly express how much I reccomend this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhohnerlein Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, Flatline Barrel,32 Degrees Remote line, 20 oz CO2, evolution 2 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
All above except Flatline, so, a different barrel, and ab expansion chamber.
Strengths: With a longer barrel, and an expansion chamber it would be more accurate.
Weaknesses: Not very accurate with the shorter barrel, Very loud,gas, heavy with all the upgrades
Review: Could be a better gun with the amount of upgrades you can get for a tippmann. Dont get the Flatline barrel, It may shoot further, but you are not going to hit anything with the extra length. A good gun stock. Need to find a way to make the gun a little bit more silent. I use it to snipe in the woods and i get found pretty quick because it is so loud. If you are interested in sniping, just waite and get a Sim-4 RIS Elite. Its well worth it. You may never use some of the options but it is very intimidating.
Conclusion: For an affordable gun that will last and is easy to upgrade. its alright
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

savageer Thursday, January 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan
Marker Setup: 98 custom with 14in AA barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Everything. This gun works awsome and has great accuracy.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is great for people starting out with paintball. It works great, has great accuracy and I have only chopped about 3 balls with this gun and I have shot about 3000 balls with it. This is a great gun. I had a Sheridan before and it was a POS. I got this gun for $130 off the web and I will never buy another gun.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great gun that is not too much money, get this one, you will not be disapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  143  |  144  |  145  |  146  |  147  |  148  |  149  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media