paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  149  |  150  |  151  |  152  |  153  |  154  |  155  |  Last
        Next Page
Crespo Tuesday, November 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2000
Tippmann Model 98(Only tested)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
(no upgrades cause i'm broke but some coming soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
RT
Drop Forward(kinda long with tank hooked up)
Double Trigger
Lapco Power Feed
Strengths: Strong
Lots of Upgrades
Light
Comfortable
Easy maintenence
Good Price
Not Gas Hog
Weaknesses: Trigger is Plastic
Feeder is Plastic
Stock Barrel
Leaves Fingerprints(makes it look dirty)
Review: This is a very great begginer/intermidiate/advanced gun. Very many upgrades to make it an advanced gun. Durable. Buy it if you are new or just wasnt a gun that you can upgrade really good. I only had one problem. A ball got jammed and i almost shot my finger. It was wedged where the barrel starts to screw in. I had to poke at it and then it shot up into the air. This was the only time i had to do this
Conclusion: BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!! Don't let the weaknesses in the review make you wan to not buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 20th, 2003 at 2:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blackjack Tuesday, November 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipman 98
Marker Setup: Tipman 98 Custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote
Strengths: accurate
inexpensive
sweet looking
light
durable
Weaknesses: the stock barrel
Review: This gun is freaken awsome. I have had no trouble out of my gun in four years. This is the only gun I have ever used that didn't break. In one year, I went through a vulcan, talon, tiger shark, spider sonix, rapter, and stingray. This is the only gun that didn't break on the first time out. I am hard on my equipment, and this gun is still working.
Conclusion: This is a fairly inexpensive gun that shoots accurate. It will take whatever you throw at it. It is a rugged gun. Oh yeah, it looks cool too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ccmmyy Monday, November 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first gun so I have not tried another gun.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c with J&J Ceramic Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend getting a better barrel.
Strengths: Very hard to brake.
You can buy a lot of upgrades.
Weaknesses: The barrel should be replaced.
Review: The Tippmann 98c is a very good gun. There are a lot of upgrades for this gun. It's hard to brake. It makes a good first gun unless you're willing to use the money. It's very good for what it cost. The only problem is the barrel. I shot targets with the barrel it comes with and I only hit about %60 of the time. Than I got a J&J Ceramic Barrel. I hit about %90 of the time.
Conclusion: The tippmann 98c is a good first gun. If you're willing to get a better barrel then the tippmann 98c is the gun for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 17th, 2003 at 4:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippy_skippy Sunday, November 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 cocker cock, Impy,timmy,A-5
Marker Setup: I use a tippmann98 custom with the response trigger and a lapco power feed and a 14 inch dye xcel barrle (WITH SIX INCHES OF PORTING) HAHA
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing the gun kics ass from the time you get it out tf the box
Strengths: Accurate dont chop Quiet durable pretty fast stock inexpensive
Weaknesses: NONE oh yeah too many upgrades to choose from
Review: i have got a tippmann that i have had for about six and a half months now i have shoot about four thousad paint out of it most of which was cheap as hell and i never choped a ball or miss feeded so it is a kick ass gun that i love to play woods ball. I have droped this gun into a pool once and it still shot after wards i have droped on tar and in the woods and it has never did anything umm what else... nothing it is overall a kick ass gun!!!
Conclusion: i think you should BUY this gun it is awesome i love to play woods ball an speed ball accosonaly and it is sweet for both
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

blackrider30 Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Vitcor
Marker Setup: Flatline Barrel, Electronic Trigger, and a halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
FLATLINE BARREL IS A MUST
Strengths: Durable Good On high FPS
Weaknesses: ball curves when on low FPS
Review: this is the best gun i have ever had or used as long as you have a flatline barrel it is not a NOOB gun i dont care what all the other reviews say. If you have the money for a flatline barrel get this paintball gun and if you really want to go all out get an electrtonic hopper and a halo it rocks
Conclusion: GET THIS GUN IF U HAVE THE MONEY FOR A FLATLINE BARREL
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TrashDoG Friday, November 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranah Pro TS G3 w/ 14" Whisper Barrel
Marker Setup: Armotech WG-65 Elite
Bushnell 4x32 Scope
Low Power Laser
"Barrel Extension"
12v Revy Hopper
Tactical Sling
Coiled Remote
20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good barrel, double trigger, drop forward
Strengths: Accurate
Durable
Looks Decent
Weaknesses: Poor range... very poor range
Review: Great gun for begginers, and rec ball players... I enjoyed this gun playing with my friends at a higher velocity but man, when i hit a walk-on field, I brought it down to their rule of 280 fps, and it sucked. real innacurate, and went maybe 200 ft slowly then curved or just died. this gun NEVER chops, and rarely breaks down in a game... but when it does it sucks. No field strip pin so you gutta take out the allen wrenches and carefully unscrew alll teh little parts, while being careful not to loose any of the things inside. Ive seen tons of good reviews for this gun so I thought I should clear up the downsides of this gun so you know what your getting.
Conclusion: Overall, excellent gun for n00bs and rec players... Dont take it to a walk-on its terrible at a low FPS. If you only play like once a month or less, great gun becuase its cheap and doesnt break, and it saves paint by not chopping it. I give it an 8 out of 10 for any begginer, if I were rating this as a gun overall for anyone it would be like a 6 because of how far the balls DONT go when you shoot it.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 12th, 2004 at 8:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pHEnomIC69 Wednesday, November 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, Procarbine, GT 2000, Spyder Force -VTL
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Black:
J&J Ceramic 14in
Revolution 12v
Response Trigger
3ft SS Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger, Motorized Hopper, Better Barrel, expansion chamber, HPA
Strengths: Very durable, Very upgradeable, Accurate, Durable, Decently Priced.
Weaknesses: Some stock parts are a little bad, Too many little pieces inside.
Review: I like this gun for many reasons. FIrst off it looks and performs very well. I have fired many thousand rounds through mine and It works well. It is accurate and very comfortable to use. With a response trigger it shoots as fast as I want without going overboard. I didn''t really like the stock barrel because it wasn't as good as it shouldve been but there are many aftermarket barrels that work well. There are all kinds of things you can upgrade depending on what you need. It is a good price too and you can fix anything that goes wrong with it. One complaint is its hard to field strip because there are 6 or 7 screws to undo and there are a few small parts inside that are easy to lose. Just make sure you lube it and clean it and you will be left with a good gun for a long time.
Conclusion: This is a great entry gun if you are interested in paintball. It is durable and won't break easily if properly oiled and cleaned between play.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nabraham Wednesday, November 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman a-5, core sharc, and lots of spiders
Marker Setup: blue 2003 core sharc
14 in empire twister barrel
adco sight
20 oz co2 can
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel
Strengths: shoots up to 350 fps
low maintenence
holds up well
Weaknesses: not built w/ a lot of good things in it
one color
short stock barrel
Review: This gun is a very good gun if you want a low maintenence gun that is very, very durable. most fields use this gun because it can take a beating. also it barely ever chops balls. It is still a bought gun for 5 years, and that is saying something. It you have the money get a flatline barrel, you will shoot at least twice as far. with out the flatline barrel it is not so accurate, go figure
Conclusion: Get this gun if you never want to replace an item on it, and if you do not play with a chronograph. you will be raising huge welts on people.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

barx Wednesday, November 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none, my first marker
Marker Setup: stock marker, armson stealth barrel, 12 Oz tank, on/off valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
not many, i want to trial the flatline but try and change the barrel
Strengths: reliability, tippmann's customer support, upgrades
Weaknesses: oooooh, field stripping, stock barrel is a bit off
Review: well to start with many people tend to be kind to their markers because they get attached etc etc. well i have been in the paintball world for a while, and under a random flash of money fuelled inspiration i decided i wanted to join in. im a limey btw so things cost more for me. Thus the english value is fairly bad, but yank money is less so i would say that it is ok. My first impression, it being my first truly my own marker, was that it is absolutely gorgeous, all metal construction and few plastic parts, the sights and hopper attachment and handle being the rare exception. I took it apart first time and had various trigger springs and sears flying everywhere. After a while i had it sussed though. This is finbe when you are in the comfort of your own home where you have time and cleanliness, but in the field is harsh. If you dont own one, you have to undo the bolts in order to get at the moving parts. Despite this it is fairly ok on the parts scene, with most being either high grade plastic or metal.
First time out, tank full of CO2 big grin on my face, pull the trigger, chops a ball. This p***sed me off royally. After a speedy squeegy it was fine and set up a good velocity, fairly consistent with good accuracy. This is another weakness however. The stock barrel leaves much to be desired, but is ok compared to others. A main strength of this gun is its rate of fire, which is good if not excellent, up to 8-9 balls per second easily, which makes you laugh up close.One thing i would notice is that if you chop a ball it is hard to see, as the paint doesnt really spray out of the barrel as with others where you have a hail of soup. This is irritating as you can ruin a lot of good paint without seeing. Despite this it is ok and doesnt chop too many, use good paint however and try not to use slightly over-swelled paint as it wil screw your gun completely.
Conclusion: Fopr any newbies, like me, this gun is sexy beyond belief, well worth saving up for. ignore that little spyder or rebel, go for a tippy as you willnot regret it, plus you can add lots of very cool upgrades and keep going, just look at the tippmann team!!! For people who are into tournies and stuff, look to an easier to dissasemble marker with more bolt upgrades. Apart from that i cant really wrong foot the tippmann, the tippmann is the AK-47 or the M-4 of the paintball world, as a pose to some fancy semi's you can get. A good meaty manly gun, will make you attractive to women and increase your chance of popularity ;) this is it, enjoy it and dont knock it! long live P-mouth and up the havant crew
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pennstateboy112 Tuesday, November 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha STS
Recommended
Upgrades:
******Get Upgrades******* It is a must
Flat-Line Barrel, double trigger, maybe e-grip and a new hopper
Strengths: Extremely Durable, if you drop it off a cliff it wont break
Weaknesses: Short range and shoots on a curve
Review: This is the most basic of all basic guns, if you are a beginner i suggest you get it. It is extremely durable and for that reason it is used as a rental gun for many of the fields all over. But this gun is very innaccurate and LOUD and HEAVY, but as many experienced players know upgrades with this gun are a ***must***. I am sellin a brand new one too because i dont feel like spendin the valauble $$$ on upgrades, if interested in buyin it contact me.

Dont waste the $120 or more buying a gun thats definetly not worth it, i would reccomend an E-spyder to begginers or something off that sort. They are only $50-$100 more. This gun with upgrades is good but the neccessary upgrades can be costly.
Conclusion: This gun is good to start off with and is durable for the clumsy paintballers in the world.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 11th, 2003 at 2:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  149  |  150  |  151  |  152  |  153  |  154  |  155  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media