paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  156  |  157  |  158  |  159  |  160  |  161  |  162  |  Last
        Next Page
WASABI321 Monday, October 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none really
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, 32 degrees grip, hyper star bolt. more to follow :)
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel, drop forward,
Strengths: accurate
easy to clean
gas eficiant
intimidating :D
Weaknesses: a little loud
a little to big
Review: This is an awesome gun! If you ask me, one of the absolute best for beginners to intermediate players. I like rit because of the gas eficiancy, (which is great), but add an x-pansion chamber (or nitro) and your perfect. Its accurate, easy to clean, and looks kind of intimidating. But its a little loud. A new barrel can fix that though. And its a little too big. Add a drop forward to fix this little problem. Its also EXTREMLEY customizable, so you can add tons of stuff to it. Double trigger, E-bolt, Nitro, X-pansion chamber, i can go on and on! I 100% reccomend this gun to anyone.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. You will not be dissapointed. I have it, so i should know!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ghostfacekiller Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman a-5
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with response trigger, flatline barrel system, and double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recomend the double trigger system for this marker because it wil increase the rate of fire without spending too much money.
Strengths: Its the most durable gun on the market, its good value, and its cheap (132).
Weaknesses: The stock barrel could have been better, but what stock barrel is good.
Review: Let me tell you a story i have used this gun mainly for just playing with my friends in the woods and one day I dropped it and it fell into a puddle and it was completly submerged i picked it up and i shot and it worked fine. I have NEVER had a problem with this gun. I think it is the best gun for people who do not have much money and dont want to play in like tournaments and stuff. If your new to the game and you want a gun that will last forever GET THIS GUN.
Conclusion: althought ihave used many guns in my time i like this gun the best because of all the upgrades and the durability if you want a gun that will last you for year and years without almost any matienence and is a great gun begginer, intermediate or advanced then this is the gun for you
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 5th, 2003 at 5:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BUS Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
DYE ultralight
Marker Setup: Added a cp drop forward, cp barrel, double trigger,ricochet hopper and 68/3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Other than my previously described upgrades-none
Strengths: This marker will always work.
Weaknesses: NONE
Review: This was my first marker. I used and still use for rec ball. When I started to play more speedball games I bought a dye ultralight. I keep this as a backup and loaner marker. It has never chopped a ball and always works. I use it when it rains or in thickwoods. This marker will never let you down.
Conclusion: This is an outstanding marker for a rec ball player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mosey69 Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
TIPPMANN M98
most SPYDER blow backs
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c with Lapco bigshot barrel, Lapco siterail, custom dropforward, and Empire Loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, drop forward, dobble trigger, and e-bolt
Strengths: upgrades for anyplace you might play ex. woods ball, speed ball front, back or mid,
Weaknesses: very load and unaccurate with stock barrel and no dobble trigger
Review: A very good reliable gun that if you learn how to use can be a great gun but you do need better stuff then the stock barrel, stock trigger, and regular hopper (just gravidy feed i mean) great gun for a person just starting out it wont break down and very simple to take apart and clean.
Conclusion: great gun for any player espelial if you want a gun that wont break down for a long while i have had my gun for 1 year and it has not broken down once unlike my friends cockers and impulses
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

topgungoose06 Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Xtra.
Marker Setup: A Kingman Spyder Xtra and a Tippman 98 Custom with an assault stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I have added a longer barrel, remote, and an assault stock.
Strengths: The gun has good accuracy and is very dependable. Plus it is inexpensive.
Weaknesses: The only thing is that the gun needs a longer barrel.
Review: All in all this is a fantastic gun and would be a great beginner gun. This gun is the complete and perfect package that everyone should have. I have had it for a little more than two years and have never had to replace a part or even had a problem with it. The gun is dependable and one of the best I have ever used. It is stylist and not to mention inexpensive.
Conclusion: Everyone reading this needs this gun. If you don't have it yet GET IT !!!! It's inexpensive and worth every cent.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pAiNtOnYoUrFaCe Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
My first gun was the PMI BlackMaxx. A good gun for beginners but I had my share of problems so I eventually decided to buy the Tippmann 98 Custom.
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom
-14" Smart Parts Progressive barrel
-Response Trigger
-Zap Mach 404 electronic hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything mentioned above.
Strengths: STURDY!
Front Grip
Upgradable
Inexpensive
Reliable
Weaknesses: The stock barrel isn't very good
Review: My first gun was the PMI BlackMaxx. A good gun for beginners but I had my share of problems and eventually decided to buy the Tippmann 98 Custom. Let me tell you, I have been completely satasfied with paintball gun! I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone and everyone. This gun is inexpensive, reliable, sturdy, comfortable (foregrip), upgradable (I have the Response Trigger which makes the gun fully automatic for anyone new here), and so much more. I cannot think of one single incident where me or anyone of my friends had a problem with this gun. I did mention that the stock barrel isn't the greatest (I'm not saying its bad, you will probobly just want to upgrade it sometime in the future to increase range and accuracy. I recommend the barrel mentioned above, it's cheap and extremely accurate). All In All, I this is an excellent gun! I HIGHLY recommend it!
Conclusion: Again, I highly recommend this gun to anyone and everyone. I'm giving it a 10 but if i could I'd give it even more!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 4th, 2003 at 6:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AgentOrange Saturday, October 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5-not worth the price as its really the same as the 98.
Marker Setup: Silver 98custom
32* 2003 Expansion Chamber
32* Flame Drop
Madmann Spring Kit
Custom Trigger Job
Ricochet Ak
Clear Dye Stickies
16oz Stubby w\anti siphon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Xchamber or reg, New barrel, agiating hopper, anti siphon, and double trigger. Thats all you eill need.
Strengths: Cheap
Great begginer gun]
Good design
Very upgradable
Very Reliable
Weaknesses: Big
Fairly heavy
Review: Well this was my first gun. But wont be my last. I think this is probably the best begginer gun out there. It can do 12bps stock without shootdown, but due to the trigger most will not hit 12bps on this gun. This is a good gun as you can upgrade it, and mold it to your game. Some will never move up from this gun and some will and this can help them find out what there style of game play is. It really is all personal preferance. It has a fairly simple and basic design. Its very reliable all you need to do is oil it and if you want you can occasionally clean it out and it will be good to go. It just really is a great way to start out and maybe stay with forever.
Conclusion: This is a great probably the best gun to start out on. I recomend it to anyone starting out in the game so they can help find the style of game play and learn the basics of owning a pb gun. Only drawbacks are that its pretty big and is relatively heavy, also stock it's consistancy (as most pb guns arent either) really isnt so great on straight co2 but anti siphon can fix that. Overal a great way to start out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Catfish2850 Friday, October 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shoots great out of box.Barrel only upgrade recommeded.
Strengths: Price,Durabiltiy,looks
Weaknesses: none I can think of.
Review: First off this gun is great out of box.Second the 98 Custom can be upgraded so many ways to your liking.double trigger,expansion chamber,response trigger.rear velocity adjuster,rocket cock,flatline barrel,differant stocks to choose from,and many other upgrades.Gun has good accuracy with stock barrel.But the first upgrade you should think of is the barrel.Gun at first could be a little tricky to strip and clean.But once your familiar with the internals it should be a snap for anyone to maintain.Gun is priced right for a newbie who wants to get into paintball and upgrade gun as more money becomes available.I do suggest becoming very familiar with this gun before taking it to the field because it can be difficult if your not familiar with and you have a problem you will easily be back on the field for the next game.It is very unlikely that you will have problems with this gun but,it doesn't hurt to know how it works before you hit the field.I would suggest this gun to anyone looking to get into paintball for its durability alone.
Conclusion: Overall gun is well built and priced reasonable for anyone wanting to get into paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MJpb Friday, October 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Strengths: I ez to clean and pretty fast
Weaknesses: I don't like taking it apart.
Review: I have been to Hell and back with my tippmann! I love it. I play in the wood and it seen to be made just for that type of play. Great gun!! My friend even run his over with his truck and it was fine! I use a 20oz bottle on it and it even works well when its cald out side.
Conclusion: You can't go wrong buying a 98! I tell all my friends to buy the Tippmann 98 all the time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sneakyman015 Thursday, October 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
genesis spyders
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom 14 inch jandj barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
go with a longer barrel
Strengths: sturdy reliable and for pretty cheap
Weaknesses: none really, just wish the upgrades were cheaper
Review: I've shot this gun and it is probably the best I've ever shot. My friend has a flatline in his, and I drool at the sight. The gun is reliable unlike brass eagles or spyders. I suggest buying it because you wont be dissapointed next year when it didnt break like that genises or stingray i used to waste time with. Use diablo balls a good old 20 ouncer and your set for some serious welt leavin.
Conclusion: buy buy and did i mention buy? good price doesnt chop balls low on co2
good to play in the woods with
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  156  |  157  |  158  |  159  |  160  |  161  |  162  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media