paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  158  |  159  |  160  |  161  |  162  |  163  |  164  |  Last
        Next Page
petrong1186 Friday, September 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
32 degreese night stick
Recommended
Upgrades:
the stock barell
Strengths: easy to clean
customizable (i think thats a word)
doesnt chop balls
Weaknesses: the end cap fly across the room the 1st time i stripped it preety funny

Review: the 98c was everything i am looking for in a beginnier gun. its easy to operate, field strip ( those who say it isnt are idioits the internals come out easy), and upgrade. as long as u put good paint in the gun u aint chopping a thing. the barrel is the first upgrade u should buy( 32 degreese night stick) the fact that you can see down the top of the gun is a lot beter then the rental i used when i found myself looking around the hopper.
Conclusion: all in all good gun. I would give it a ten but since only God is perfect i give it a solid 9. let me write some more words so i can post this review.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 26th, 2003 at 7:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WVp8ntballer Thursday, September 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder One, Spyder Compact, Tippmann Model 98, Black Magic Autococker, etc...
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom
12" Lapco Bigshot
Ricochet AK Hopper
Phycoballistics Dropforward
Double trigger kit
16oz mini moly tank
4+1 harness
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depending on how u play a barrel and a drop forward.
Strengths: Very durable
Shoots accurate
shoots hard
Very consistent
Weaknesses: NONE can u believe that.
Review: I have shot many guns and had many shot at me and I've used all types of guns any where from blades and talons to spyders and even autocockers and my tippmann can outshoot them all. Now I'm not bad of a player but without my 98 I don't really know for sure. I really like my spyder One before this gun, but now since i've been using this gun for so long I'm sure glad I have it. Most people say this is a beginners gun and it really is a good beginners gun but it's not only for beginners. I don't consider myself a beginner and I love my gun.
Conclusion: Best all around gun for your money, it's that simple. Don't buy a spyder because they look pretty and they get a lot of publicity. Buy a real gun, a tippmann. I've shot em all and nothing can outperform this bad boy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moneyman1188 Wednesday, September 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL wit some upgrades!
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, stock barrel, Psycho ballistics D/F, and VL200 hopper
Hey dont make fun of me I just got it in today!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel even though stock is decent, Drop forward, Anti-Siphon (get this, not exp chamber), and possibly a palmer reg!
Strengths: Accurate even with the stock barrel, Very though, look sweet, and costumizable!
Weaknesses: Alittle loud (new barrel), long (drop forward), heavy if u a whimp!
Review: Probably the best gun out there for beginner and even advanced paintballers! Can upgrade it to hell and back! Even Pro's use this just to upgrade into a sick nasty gun! Its the toughest gun around, u can throw it and it will still be intaked!
GET IT AND THATS ALL!
Conclusion: All I can say is if u play woods you and this gun will be like jack and jill. BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT NOW!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TippyUsr87 Wednesday, September 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
my friend's spyder e-99, ok but not as reliable or tough as the 98, liked the electronic capability though. (response trigger can fix that)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c with 12" 02 AA barrel, empire reloader, RT, center flag 68/45 nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
well first the barrel cause all stock barrels suck including this one. after that if u didnt get the response trigger with the gun i would get it. as long as ur not going to enter tournaments(there arnt aloud) but if ur a rec ball player its great. i love my rt, i can run with best of em i can get like 13-14 bps with my electronic loader, and of course very reliable. note: dont get flatline with RT, will break balls every 3 shots, barrel is a pain to clean
Strengths: strong, durable, will last a life time. customer service is great, price
Weaknesses: crap stock barrel (big surprise), nothig else
Review: will last foreveor, when upgraded can run with cockers and even angels, and for less than half the price. as long as u the player are good enough. i'vs showed spoiled rich kids with $600 cockers with all their accesories and crap, i was in camo and had my tippy, took out like 5 angels. if anyone says tippmann suck, that means that they have enough money to WASTE on 1000 guns. unless ur a pro in xball or something, the 98c the best gun for the best price, hand down, i wouldnt trade my 98 for anything
Conclusion: kicks but, must buy, for noobs and pros, paintball shouldnt cost 1300 for equpiment, i spent total like 550 on mine but that only cause i wnted an nice nitro tank. u can play fine on c02 but if u have RT or ebolt get nitro, freesing up ur gun insnt fun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sum41hendrdix Tuesday, September 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a-5 and pro carbine .68
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, 20 oz tank, ballistic drop forward, dye boomstick barrel 18 in, double trigger finger
Recommended
Upgrades:
-double trigger finger
-ballistic drop forward
-a new barrel
-e-bolt
or
-e-grip
-low pressure system
-remote clip
Strengths: -very accurate
-affordable
-get your money's worth
-you can customize to your liking
Weaknesses: -the stock barrel is a pain
Review: This was my first marker. I started with it and I'm going to end with it. You can upgrade this marker to make it able to play with the autocockers and angels. Most of my friends have them and they are all different because you can customize to your liking. I play woods paintball and this marker can shoot a fair distance. If you make this marker electronic you will not be let down.
Conclusion: instead of buying an impulse or an angel, which are both excelent markers, you should buy the Tippmann 98 custom and invest your money in upgrades. This marker is ideal for beginers or pros.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chilli Rat Tuesday, September 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, JT 4.0, Brass Eagle Stingray II
Marker Setup: Nasty Typhoon
Custom 98
Custom 98, Expansion Chamber, Response Trigger, J & J Ceramic Barrel
A-5, Expansion Chamber, E-Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber, Reponse Trigger, Double Trigger
Strengths: Durability, inexpensive, can upgrade this marker to your specific taste
Weaknesses: Loud - the Harley Davidson of paintball markers
Review: What can be said about this marker that hasn't already been said? A superb marker for the novice thru seasoned player. You can find this marker for $130 or less just about anywhere online. A very dependable piece of equipment. I know some players that have yet to clean there Custom 98 and they don't have any problems(this is not recommended, however). Of the 40+ woods players I play with, I would estimate about 80% have Custom 98's. The upgrades to this marker is endless. My favorite setup is the Custom 98 with an expansion chamber, 14 inch J & J ceramic barrel and the response trigger with a double trigger. Very nice.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this marker to any and all players. But do not take my word for it. Just check the the reviews of the 1491 players that have used this marker and given it an average rating of 9.4 . How can that many people be wrong?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chinesebugrepel Monday, September 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pretty much every worthwhile blowbacks and many that weren't worthwhile.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98c, 12in bigshot, toxic performance 2x trig, home spring mod, trigger stop mod, 68/45 crossfire, check it unimount, egg 2 w/ y board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, hopper, a/s co2 or nitro
Strengths: Durability, upgradability
Weaknesses: Little more expensive than other blowbacks, alot of people really dont like the feel.
Review: Tippmanns are known for being indestructable and every word of it's true. Sure you may have problems every once in a while if you abuse the gun a lot, but I whole heartedly believe it's the most broadly reliable gun on the market. for example, I didn't even open my 98c to clean it for most of the first year I owned it, and I didn't oil it for well over two years. I've dropped it down a hill, smashed into numerous bunkers, trees, rocks, other people's guns, and no telling what else. It's been underwater and covered in mud on a few occasions. And I still never have had a problem.

After durability there is maintenence. Although it is a bad Idea to neglect any gun, the tippmann is the only one that can actually survive with no cleaning or oiling. Now, although most say that maintenence on a tippmann is terrible, I really can't say it's bad. I like the fact that the gun opens into halves and you can see every piece. Although not field strippable, it is reliable enough that you will never have to .

Upgradeability is a fine point. Although not as upgradeable as a spyder or cocker, you can basically do anything you want to a tippmann if you're willing to pay.

One point I feel I should mention is the flatline barrel system, which is basically exclusive to tippmann and gives more range than any barrel. Accuracy and usefulness are heavily debated, but I say it's all about preference. I personally don't like flatline at all, but there are those that swear by it.

One negative point is price. Although not expensive, 98c costs more than mech spyders and some electronic ones. If you want to make a tippmann as fast as an electronic spyder you will have to dish out around $200 for an ebolt or bs kit. Of course you can do plenty of mods to the trigger to make it shorter and lighter. Make sure to refer to model98.net, a sight that will show you how to pimp your tippmann for little to no money.

And finally, ergonomics. As you can see from the picture, the foregrip is further forward and angled back, which is not like many other guns. People commonly complain about how long tippmanns are, but I don't think it's that big a deal. If it bothers you that much you can buy a drop and a decent 8 inch barrel.
Conclusion: Very faithful and upgradeable gun that won't destroy your wallet. I'd suggest it to any beginner, or anyone who broke their old gun and wants something they can rely on.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 27th, 2004 at 8:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tony84 Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Eradicator
Tippmann A-5
Black Dragun Compact
Marker Setup: Model 98 Custom w/ J&J Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double finger trigger (if you have the extra money.. you won't die without it though)
Strengths: Shoots far and solid. Accurate.
Weaknesses: Couldn't find any
Review: This marker is my friends and he let me use it for a few rounds and it was awesome. Not only did it shoot far and solid, but I never came across a problem with it. The Model 98 Custom is able to accept so many upgrades, it's without a doubt worth your time and money. Tippmanns in my opinion are one of the best brands out there. I believe that they actually care about what they put out on the market for us to buy. I am going to get a Model 98 Custom myself, and I can't wait to get my little hands on one!! When I shot I felt like it was putting each shot where I wanted it to go. There is simply not enough time for me to explain how nice this gun is. It's AWESOME!! And, you can get it for about $132!! What else could you need?
Conclusion: Simply an AWESOME gun. Run to the store right now and take one off the shelf for yourself.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TIPPMANN318 Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
model 98,pro carb,spyders
Marker Setup: model 98c,blade trigger,custom milling,bsm98e,dye sticky3,techline secondary reg,jj 14in ceramic,psycho ballistics drop,psycho ballistics tank adaptor,macro line,reloader,lapco power feed,star fire,pure energy 88/5k thor,lapco r.v.a, flat line for woods play,custom paint job
Recommended
Upgrades:
jj ceramic barrel,nitro,power feed,drop forward
Strengths: ruggedness,customizable,
Weaknesses: long, kinda heavy
Review: i had herd mixed reviews when i got mine but i was only gonna use it for a secondary weapon to my aka excalibur and my lasoya intimidator so i baught it its not an amazing gun stock its a gas hog and loud but once you customize it you can keep up with any thing on the Field my team uses intimidatos and akas and it can take all of them it is an awesome gun if you want to spend the money to work on it but i would recommend getting an excalibur to play tourneys with also who ever thinks their JT BALL BLENDER can take the tippmann is not to smart jt usa makes the worst guns ever if you want a jt save some money and buy a blender and put your balls in that it will probably work better
Conclusion: good gun,tippmanns are good guns for woods play but dont take it to the speed ball court its a little long but other rise rock on tippmann
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyderman18 Saturday, September 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom 98, viewloader 200 hopper, and a pure energy nine ounce c02
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a double trigger, and if you have a fast finger you can dominate with a response trigger system....but other than that the marker is good
Strengths: accuracy, weight (very light), easy field stripping, LOW COST!! and the stock feed
Weaknesses: the foregrip gives you a loose tuck
Review: This gun is simply amazing...i have to give a hats off to tippmann. It is very accurate i have to say...EVEN WITH THE 8" BARREL! i don't know how they did it but they surely made one heck onf a marker. if you want a very accurate, light weight gun get this marker...you won't regret it...and if you upgrade crazy, they have endless possibilities to satisfy you! So if i were you this would be the gun to get my friend.
Conclusion: I STRONGLY recommend this product to you because it has to be one of the lowest priced, most accurate, light weight guns out there. that's why this gun is awesome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  158  |  159  |  160  |  161  |  162  |  163  |  164  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media