paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  165  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  169  |  170  |  171  |  Last
        Next Page
Pyroboy6699 Tuesday, July 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: R2K, Smart Parts All American barrel, 88ci nitro tank, dead on drop forward, soon to get lp kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Very durable and reliable
Weaknesses: Hard to field strip
Review: The 98 custom is a very good gun for any player weather they are just starting or have been playing for years. The only two problems that i have found with this gun are the field strip and barrel. The stock barrel is okay but will eventually need to be replaced if you begin yo play the game more often. It is tough to be out in the field and have a ball bust in the gun once this happens you a pritty much screwed. But once a electric hopper is purchased like the R2K you shouldnt have any problems with any chopping or stuff like that. Overall this gun is worth the money and i recommened it to anyone!!
Conclusion: Very good have got nothing but compliments on it just needs new barrel and hopper. These are the only reasons i gave it a 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

joefinn925 Monday, July 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: 98 custom 9oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
any barrel, that thing is teeny
Strengths: Accuracy
durability
Weaknesses: Barrel (to short)
Cleaning
Overall gun length to long, thin and long
Review: Overall this gun is very good for the mediocre player. You will need to add a barrel to this thing because it comes with an 8 1/2 inch one.
the actual gun is as long as heck, so you may frequently hit yourself in your face with the marker while trying to ajust to a better shot.
I have never broken a ball in this thing, (maybe cause the size of the barrel i had) Your shot will never fall short or curve.
Cleaning this thing is a beast. You have to take apart the whole gun to get at the bolt. Yet you dont have to clean it all to much.
Conclusion: Overall I would say buy this gun if you are one of those people who have a live outside of paintball, but still find plenty of time to play. I would suggest this as your first gun but first play a game with one of your friends brass eagles. Then you will learn to appreciate THE TIPPMAN 98 CUSTOM much more.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NYer Monday, July 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98, Procarbine, pmi pirahna
Marker Setup: 2002 Cocker...palmers stabilizer... Eclipse trigger and Frame, Shocktech Macro, AA barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, and expansion chamber
Strengths: $120. and very Durable
Everyone has one
Weaknesses: Stock gun is inaccurate
Everyone has one
Review: Great beginner gun. the best. It is as durable as they come. The stock accuracy is crappy so you will need to consider the cost of a barrel if you buy one. 35 bucks for a JnJ ceramic or 55 bucks for a Lapco Bigshot ....Those are two I recomend.

Many people upgrade these guns it is like honda civics turned into racing cars. I think it is silly to put 1000 bucks into a 100 dollar gun when you can go out and get a real 100 dollar gun but thats jsut me.

Also you can go to tippmann.com and they have a great website with support, troubleshooting, and an awesome forum.
Conclusion: I think this is the best beginner gun there is and I have never had trouble with mine I give this an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Grazfather Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Rangers, Crap-Pumps, Pirahna BLVF
Marker Setup: I rent :(
I plan on buying a M98C, with a teardrop 14", drop forward, 48cu 4000psi HPA, 9 volt Revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel.
Strengths: VERY Reliable
Doesn't chop
Upgradeable
cool!
Two handles
Weaknesses: After a while (look at renters) the elbow gets wobbly, but it still works fine.
Review: I've been renting them for a while now, I love them, they're are reliable and fairly accurate even with the stock barrel, but once you get a good barrel on that thing WOW it's amazing.
The elbow is off to the sight which makes it very easy to aim, but can be annoyign for left handers, it's kinda heavy but that's because it's so sturdy, this gun won't break down on you.
Conclusion: Its a great gun, GREAT first marker, but you might want to get something like the a5 or the procarbine even...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cockerboi Sunday, July 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really, unless you want to call an Autococker similar, which they are not even close IMO.
Marker Setup: 2k2 Red Vert. Feed cocker
47/3000 Crossfire HPA
Black Rico 2k
Black DYE hinge
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel ,It will greatly help
Double trigger, hlep with speed, because they are sorta slow
Drop Forward, they are a little long so I would reccomend a drop
Strengths: Tough, good out of the box, good n00b gun
Weaknesses: sorta slow, not very accurate with stock barrel, not field strippable
Review: When I first got this gun, I love it like it was my own, even though it was, I played some games with it, and decided, that the stock barrel wasnt accurate enough, so I got an aftermarket barrel, which didnt help much because I bought a very bad barrel. Later on I got a drop forward and a double trigger, I loved it, performed very well, very durable.
Conclusion: Like I said earlier very durable and performs very well, I would recommend this gun to anyone getting into the sport. it gets my 10 outta 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 28th, 2003 at 6:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rozey Saturday, July 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan XTS (sucks)
Marker Setup: Tippman 98C, 8 Stage Expan Chamb, Revey Hopper, Drop Forward, Metal Internals, Stock, 16" Armson stealth barrel, New front bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel for sure
Strengths: durable
Weaknesses: impossible to field strip
Review: Overall this is a very good and durable gun. Its very good right from the box. I would suggest this gun for any level of play and skill level. This gun is highly customizable and is easy to make into your lil baby. It has a lot of mods and can be used for sniping or speedball.
Conclusion: This gun is good for anyone with any skill level and is a great buy. Get tons of upgrades and make this gun kick some real shizznack!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

truefreestyle Saturday, July 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Used a carbine ounce.
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker 2003 Vert.
Nitro/Compressed Air Tank
Dye Shorty Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel and trigger will do you fine. And if you can get one for cheap a better bolt.
Strengths: Great accuracy and durability.
Weaknesses: Chops up to much ammo on 3-round burst. Occasionally bolt sticks.
Review: This is a great newbie gun. I like it. Me and my friends rented a bunch and played in the woods. My only problem was the gun would occasionally jam the bolt when i fired. Also a ball got lodged inside the chamber somehow and chopped a ton of balls. This is a great gun. Just don't expect more then three years of life though. All my other friends have said the gun performs great. I guess mine was just old.
Conclusion: Great newbie gun. Could use a better barrel though. The three round burst just angered me also.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Stalking Sniper Friday, July 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rebel bottom line, Spyder shutter, and Talon
There all alwright guns, but I love my Custom98 so much more than those guns.
Marker Setup: First of all if the name didn't hint at it enough, I'm a sniper. And I'm not just saying that, I have the skill and setup to back it up.
Gun: Custom98 w/Vertical bottel adapter and expansion chamber
Barrel: 20" Stone Cold II (Second longest barrel I could find)
Sight: 4X Hunting Scope from Wal-Mart (Whatever works right?) The scope barely fits, but you can sight it up and it works great.
Everthing else on my gun is stock, for now. Hehehe I got my eyes set on the E-bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Vertical bottel adapter (required for expansion chamber)
Expansion chamber (don't really need it, but it helps)
Get another barrel right as you buy the gun. (The Stealth is a fairly short but accurate barrel.)
Strengths: Acuracy, Range, CO2 efficient, and HIGHLY customizeable. (A sniper's dream gun)
Weaknesses: Vertical bottle adapter to put on the expansion chamber.
Review: Overal the Custom98 is a very reliable, tough, accurate, long range, fully customizeable paintball gun. I would recomend this gun to anyone that can handle the weight and length, and wishes to be a sniper. I can, and have, picked off enimies from 150 feet away using only 1 shot. This gun has a few problems with it when you first get it, but once you change the barrel and customize it to your likeing. It's the perfect gun in my eyes.
Conclusion: Buy one, get a new barrel, and start winning your games the way you want to. Dispite the fact about the vertical bottle adapter, weight, and length of this gun. (Weight and length don't bother me I'm used to it by now) I give this gun a 10 out of 10

Oh, and I almost forgot, if you take off the barrel and have enough paint it works well as a sub machine gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

This is Marc Thursday, July 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sport
its not really similar
Marker Setup: 98c R/T DF w/ on/off, tear drop, 2x trigger VLe2
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
drop foward
response trigger
e hopper
Strengths: upgrades
durable
Weaknesses: velocity is wack
small parts that cost a lot
stock barrel
Review: this gun is great for everyone. it is very upgradeable. you can put in a response trigger, double trigger, nitro kit, expansion chamber, e-bolt. its a little hard to take apart and there are so many parts that you might loose some of them. if you get hit on the gun most of the time the paint goes into the gun and you have to clean it. to oil it all you have to do is out 2 or 3 drops of oil in the ASA and then cock it back and put one on the o-ring on the bolt. as i said it is a very good gun for all levels of play and doesnt cost a lot its like $200.
Conclusion: this is a great gun for all skill levels, newbie intermeatie and expert because you can keep it stock for a newibe of upgrade it fully if you have experience
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brett_winters Wednesday, July 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder flash, pirana e force, spyder sonix , electra dx all better
Marker Setup: tippmann 98
14" cp
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel, responce expansion low pressure kit
Strengths: easily upgradable, decent looking ,good trigger pull
Weaknesses: loud, dependability, range, field strip,
Review: this was my first marker when i started out a few years ago. I read the reviews and trusted it would be a good beginner marker. People talk about its dependability and how great it is. I thought that i would rarely do anything on it but oil it. I was wrong This gun is about as dependable as a brass eagle. when i first got it the elbow was rattling and the gun was leaking co2 out of the bolt and the macro line. i sent it back to them and had them fix everything wrong with it. a little later i bought a spyder flash which i had heard great things about. when i got the tippmann back, it became my backup marker. I let my friends borrow it when we went paintballing. After 2 days of letting them borrow it, the gun began to double fire and then not recock itself. Then the gun began to shoot at the most 15 feet. This is pretty sad that it has broken on me 2 times when i havnt even put 2 cases through it I went home and took it apart i checked everything that could be wrong with it. i oiled it and cleaned it just to make sure. when i called tippmann they just told me to send it in. I would do that but it is like 12 dollars each way to mail it. I asked them what could be wrong they just kept telling me they didnt know and just mail it in. when the gun did work it was loud as hell. also it is a pain to oil and take apart. i think it is a bad valve thats causing this. when the gun worked i would give it an 8 but that was rare.
Conclusion: i dont think this is a marker for anyone who wants to spend their time fixing the marker instead of playing. Maybe i just got a defect, but im not sure. I cannot even use this gun as a backup i am giving it a 3 which i think it deserves in my case
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 2nd, 2004 at 1:56 am PST
I found this review  
58 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  165  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  169  |  170  |  171  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media