paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  169  |  170  |  171  |  172  |  Last
        Next Page
paintchip Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Clasic timmy(sweet), Impy(also nice) Talon (has to be the best marker i have ever shot) WGP 2002 vert feed autococker black ( Nice but hated trigger even with hinge) and soon to be dragon timmy
Marker Setup: 98C with R/T witch made my friend with a timmy say it was ungodly fast., Riccochette2K(SP)(you will need one to keep up with an R/T), adco sure shot( very good site recomend it with i a good barrel, J&J ceramic barrel witch shoots like a dream with pmi's), a remote (witch acts like an X- chamber for my R/T), and a stock (witch stedies my R/T so im not shootin the neighborhood). Oh an a pack to put my co2 in
Recommended
Upgrades:
For woods and speed ball
1)barrel
2) R/T
3) New hopper with R/T,

For woods ball

1)Stock for a stedy shot
2) sight(adco sure shot) for acuracy
4) remote and pack for a lighter gun and more ballenced one

For speed ball

1) drop forward for a more ballenced gun
2) X-chamber so you gun don't freeze up
3) double trigger but not with R/T or it wont work good
Strengths: small trigger pull smaller then 2002 auto cocker, fast and cheap
Weaknesses: long ,loud ,cant use R/T in tourny,looks
Review: It is a good woods gun for the price , but not really a speed gun, GREAT FOR A MID CLASS PLAYER OR STARTING BUT NOT REALY A PRO GUN( sorry didn't mean to caps that). great gun for the $$$ but if you want to go tourny get another gun. I personaly love my tippy and would only trade it for a dragon timmy(like that would ever happen)
Conclusion: if you don't plan on going in tournys get this gun it is great for the price. It is best for woods though thats what i use it for. my dragon timmy im getting will be my speed
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 10th, 2003 at 9:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mach Tuesday, July 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rentals (if I remember correctly, Tippmann Pro/Carbine) and my friend's Spyder.
Marker Setup: Stock, with 12 oz CO2 and a butt-plate. Smart Parts Progressive 14'' should arrive soon.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (see reasons below)
Strengths: -Durable
-Reliable
-Well known
-Very upgradable
-Affordable
-Good feel+balance
-Clear "line of sight"
Weaknesses: -Stock barrel relatively inaccurate
-Field stripping takes a few minutes, and requires the provided tools
Review: I've played paintball for quite some time now, but since I only played recreationally with my friends, I never got around to buying my own gun until now.

My first impression of the Tippmann M-98C was that it is a very durable gun. It feels solid. Afterall, it's made out of die-cast aluminum. It also excellent "hand spacing," with a forward tommy-gun-like handle. This is quite a relief, because most other guns require you to crunch your hands together, stabilizing the front of the gun with just a few fingers.

The clear "line of sight" down the targeting rail is a major plus. Other guns will put a hopper right in the middle, forcing you to aim down the side of the gun. The M-98C has the hopper off to the side.

You can also instantly unlatch the elbow, allowing you access to the chamber. The mechanism for the elbow is a little loose and makes a clacking sound when the gun is shaken, however, I put the tiniest piece of velcro as a buffer in between, and that easily solved the problem.

Field stripping, from what I'm told, takes time. However, it is rare that you will NEED to field strip the M-98C. The first time you field strip it, take your time, and be sure to have the instruction manual with you. Afterwards, as you become more familiar with the insides of your gun, you can quickly field strip it with confidence.

I shot 100 old paintballs (we're talking 3 years old) in the pouring rain (we're talking about power outages) at a target 50 feet away. The balls, on average, were within 1 foot of the target (so a 2 foot spread). Oh, and not a single break.

The stock barrel, like just about any other stock, should be replaced. It's decent compared to other stocks, but still, if you want to have a practical range greater than 100 ft, you'll need a new barrel. I'm getting a 14 inch Progressive. I suggest you get a new barrel (between 12 and 14 inches) as well. It doesn't have to be top of the line-- even a $25 barrel will be a significant improvement.

Conclusion: If you want an inexpensive yet reliable paintball gun, the Tippmann M-98C is absolutely your best choice. For this reason, it is the most popular gun of all time. It is great for a novice who wants to jump into the game without having to buy dozens of upgrades or become frustrated with a gun that breaks down often. And if you later decide that you want to take your game to the professional level, the M-98C is perhaps the MOST customizable gun of all! Since so many people have the gun, if you ever end up having a problem, you can just pass by a local paintball field and chances are, you will find someone who can help you.

For $120, the Tippmann M-98C scores 10/10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballEvans Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
My bros A-5 allso a very good marker.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custum w/ drop forward, DYE excel barrel, double trigger, ACI exspansion chamber, 20oz co2 and smoake revie. (soon) to have more stuff.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel and a exspansion chamber kit. And a double trigger.
Strengths: awsome reliable, shoots good and fast with double trigger.
Weaknesses: none rilly maybe the paint is kinda soft easy to scratch.
Review: All tippmanns are awsome I think they allways work when you want them to I used to have a syder I put alot of money into it and the first time I used it it didnt work at all I tossed that thing and got me a tippmann 98 and I got some good upgrades on it now it works awsome I recomend this marker to any one its awsome!!!
Conclusion: I'll give this gun a 10 becasue it made me rilly happy after all the stress I had when I went to play and my gun didnt work and I had to sit out the whole day this thing fires every time you pull the trigger.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball12345 Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder tl, sheridan
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a barrel
Strengths: looks cool
fairly accurate
Weaknesses: I havent found any yet
Review: this is a great gun. i like it alot, alot of people also have this paintball gun, but i dont care. they have it because it works so good. this gun is VERY durable. it will last through alot of things. I like it because people cant see it as easy in the woods either.
It has nice features too. this is the best paintball gun i have ever had.
Conclusion: great gun, its been faithful and always works for me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippy123987 Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmanns
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ alot of upgrades
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing if you dont want to
Strengths: accurate
many upgrades
Weaknesses: none
Review: great gun, n ot much else to say about it.

too many words to put.
too many words to put.
too many words to put.
too many words to put.
too many words to put.
too many words to put.
too many words to put.
too many words to put.
too many words to put.
too many words to put.
too many words to put.
too many words to put.

Conclusion: Great gun, I really like it and it has worked great, very accurate, I recommend this gun, some people say its a beginners gun, i think its works for anybody.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballkid026 Sunday, July 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonic, spyder shutter, spyder imagine- both arent as good as this gun is
Marker Setup: 98 custom with tru-flight 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
buy a new barrel right away!!!! then buy new internal parts to customize it to your liking
Strengths: very good gun for the price, will hold up for any game
Weaknesses: stock barrel is short and not very accurate
Review: This gun was my first, and i love it. The only bad thing about it is the stock barrel, but for $20 i got a new barrel, a tru-flight 14" which i would also recomend for the player who has a short budget. The only time my 98 custom broke paint was with thin shell practice paint. One thing that i would make sure to do is to oil and clean the gun after each time you play. That will keep it in good condition. The gun goes for around $130 now if you look hard for it. I would defiantly buy this as a first gun.
Conclusion: Overall, this gun is amazing. If your looking to buy a first gun, choose this instead of the spyder that your friends want you to get, you'll be happy you chose tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippy98 Psycho Saturday, July 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used (Talon Ghost, Model 89 "Point Zero") none of them even come close to the performance of the "Tippmann 98 Custom"
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom - Red
14inch J&J Ceramics Barrel
Double Trigger
Rocket Cock
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Barrel
2. Trigger (Double, Response)
3. Drop Forward
Strengths: Very Strong Body, Balanced In Weight Distribution
Weaknesses: Long w/o Drop Forward, Horrible Sock Barrel
Review: This is my first real marker for field play. I'd have to say that it is excellence compared to the markers that I have used before! until I tried a higher level marker I thought stock barrel was the best in the word. Well in other word, this gun is well designed, and build for the beginners. It is not all bad for the pro/tourney players, in fact I have decided in taking it to tournament play.

Conclusion: All in all, the tippmann is recommended for the beginners, and intermediate level players.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tvikingde Saturday, July 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder aggressor, viewloader genesis , rebel xtreme
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom (black) 14 inch CMI/thunderpig Tru-Flight QB sniping barrel, red dot scope, and lots of camouflage tape
Recommended
Upgrades:
definatley a new barrel im fine with the QB i hav but im not a speedbaler or nething so i strongly recomend u get a boomstick or sumthin to that affect, lets see here, i havent got around to it but i'm gonna put a CAR stock on it too, thas about it since its a great gun. but if u want speed ive used the response trigger and it is great
Strengths: durable, comfortable, accurate, upgradeable, light trigger pull, doesnt chop
Weaknesses: not full auto, lol, everybody loves full auto -n its hard to take apart
Review: all around this is a great gun becaue of its durability, ive dropped it numerous times n no harm done. ive played with multifunction electro guns like the BTB, excellerator, mongoose etc... and i still prefer to break out the tippmann. If ur not lookin for a gun that looks like a phaser, yes i know how it is u scenario players, this is the gun to get, u can make it look like an assault rifle. obviously the ease of customizing it, u can make it into any gun u want, fast, accurate, extra power, u name it. also its very cheap and is a gun that will last a long long time. i also mentioned takin it apart is hard but with this durable gun, u should never hav to field strip it.
Conclusion: buy this marker, its so great u wont regret it i kno i havent ive played over 20 games n havent broken a ball with it plus i mean u cant beat the quality/price ratio....wooooooooo
givin it a 9 cuz the only flaw is it doesnt hav the cyclone feed like an A5
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dancing racoon Friday, July 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Recommended
Upgrades:
RT or ebolt you can only have one. For a barrel I recomend a lapco big shot. Co2 runs fine on this gun. This gun can be customized for anything you could possibly need it for.
Strengths: Durable, runs well on co2 great for people getting into the sport
Weaknesses: Is not very tournament worthy its more of a beginner gun.
Review: This is a very durable gun that is cheap and affordable. It is great if you dont want to play very often or are unsure you will like the sport of paintball. Its a great gun to start out with and is highly upgradable. It is around $120 american dollars. It has many package versions where you can get the gun a 12 ounce Co2 Tank and a hopper.
Conclusion: Its a good gun but cant really ever equal a tournment gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 1st, 2003 at 3:22 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Anarchy56 Thursday, July 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
2k3 Autococker
2k2 Impulse
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
Flatline system
Vert adapter
Bottom line adapter
Drop Foward
Double Trigger
Xpansion chamber
Venturi Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel System
Xchamber/regulator
Drop foward
E-bolt
Double Trig
New bolt
Rocket Cock
Strengths: Easily upgradable
Great beginner gun
Cheap and affordable
Weaknesses: HORRIBLE stock
Review: Well this gun is a bang for your buck. You can find it at most places including pb gear for only 120$. Its one of the most customizable guns out on the market. Its a absolute great beginner gun. Tippmann customer support is super. You can destroy this gun and through it off a mountain ant it will still work. My friend droppped in water still worked perfectly. But theres a reason why this gun is so customizable and cheap... its because it completly sucks stock. Chops tons o balls stock oh well. Easily fixed. Also spyders tend to come with alot more for the same amount of money but both have their pro's and cons
Conclusion: Get it if your a beginner and your looking for a tough easily upgradable gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  166  |  167  |  168  |  169  |  170  |  171  |  172  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media