paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  170  |  171  |  172  |  173  |  174  |  175  |  176  |  Last
        Next Page
ptbfighter01 Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
piranha sts g3, tippmann pro/carbine, silver bullet, aci sinister, be marauder, viewloader triton.
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
14" empire twister barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
the first upgrade that any new buyer should get for this gun should be a new barrel. some more upgrades to think about would be a double trigger, remote line, R/T, and anything else that you might want the options are practically endless...
Strengths: -very customizable
-strong
-great feel to it
-very military looking
Weaknesses: -none.
Review: Well i have used the tippmann custom 98 for about a year now and everytime i use it it just seems to gradually inprove over time for me. i have gone through everything from falling in rivers, sand, dirt, mud, and whatever else with this gun and it still works as if i just bought it today. that is the main thing you want in a piantball gun- dependibility.

The best fact about the tippmann 98 custom is the ease of cutomizing though. you can make it whatever you want- a sniping rifle, machine gun, or just whatever you could ever want it to look like. personally, i just want mine to have a good barrel on it cause i play in the woods and i'm cheap.

The one thing that this gun has that not one other paintball gun has (besides the a-5) is how military looking it is. i like that alot and that's one of the reasons i got it.
Conclusion: i think that the tippmann 98c is the best gun for the money. with the right upgrades, it can be a tourney-level gun and help you to beat guys with autocokers and other guns that are enough to pay ur rent for a month when you move out. buy this gun for dependibility, not looks. buy it so that you can make it look like anyrthing you want it to. besiedes- it's only $120 for the toughest and most dependable blow back out there. i would recommend this gun to anyone that depends on a solid gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 12th, 2004 at 6:03 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

flintlock88 Thursday, July 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan XTS, Piranha BL, TIPPMANN BEATS 'EM BOTH!!!
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, Response trigger, 12v revi, 14" Progressive, GTA double trigger, 9oz and 16oz co2, x-chamber (with my next trip to the shop)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-SmartParts barrel
-Expansion chamber (this thing freezes SO fast)
Strengths: Dead accurate and impossible to break
Weaknesses: The stock barrel, and the feed elbow is a bit weak
Review: This is the first marker I've ever owned and the best one I've used. With the RT trigger it can spit out around 15bps. I've practically ran this thing through the mud and it fired like I just cleaned it. The only problems I've had are that the reciever is a little weak (putting a screw in can easily bend up the aluminum) and it chops on rapid fire. But hey, thats natural. Overall, a great gun.
Conclusion: Get it. It is great for a beginner. Experts can trick it out to a tournament level.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wraithlord13 Wednesday, July 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98, PMI Piranha, PMI Piranha G2
Marker Setup: ACI Hornet-9oz. tank, VL 200, custom paint job (realtree camo)

Tippmann Custom 98-12oz. tank, VL 200, 12" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel, custom paint job (realtree camo)
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New Barrel
-Double Response Trigger
-Expansion Chamber
-Tape
Strengths: Durability, Customizable, Consistant, Clean-Cut Look.
Weaknesses: Non-Field Strippable, stock barrel sucks, Not flashy enough for some, Rattling Elbow.
Review: I first tried this marker like most players try new markers, using a friend's. I took my buddy's C98 out for a couple of games and fell in love instantly. The feel of the marker in my hands was like an extention of my arms. But I can't rate it on how it 'feels', I have to rate it based on performance.

Accuracy was a beast to begin with as the stock barrel leaves much to be desired. I not-so-quickly rectified that by purchasing a Smart Parts Progressive barrel. Accuracy has not been a problem since. With the stock barrel, however, I was lucky to watch as a round would hit the general area I was shooting toward. Broken goo from crappy paint was soon to kick Accuracy's face that day as well. (Ahh, the noob times.)

Tippys have been renowned for their durability, and this marker is no exception. I have repeatedly, and very accidentally, smacked my C98 against bunkers, logs, dirt, and the like, and have never had a problem with the parts working immediately thereafter.

I have found the C98 to be very consistant with its velocity, even without a reg. When I dial in in the morning, It stays there 'til I leave. Never been a problem. I have not noticed any hoging of gas in my model, but mine could be different. Y'never know.

I have enjoyed the very no-nonsense look of the C98 since day one. I live the same way as this marker was designed, Comfort and Efficiency over fashion. I do indeed love it.

I have found that the C98 is not a field-strippable gun, by any means. The little springs like to attempt suicide at the initial moment you crack the gun open, and they always seem to take 30 minutes to find. Trying to find the C98's springs at a woods field would be neigh on impossible.

For those that are finacially decreped, the stock barrel will take some getting used to. In the long run, you would probably end up spending more on paint that you would have on your aftermarket barrel. A wise investment for this gun.

Even though I sing the praises of the effecient look, many have found this to be folly. Hence the silver model and the massive amounts of custom paint jobs and machining that takes place within the Tippy player community. As listed, I have opted for a less flashy, and decidedly more workable, realtree paintjob.

As was previously stated, I found that after a while the built-in elbow rattled. This was okay for a while, but after I got busted trying to bunker someone, and they told me they heard my gun rattle, I was PO'ed. I taped it right up and it never quivered again.
Conclusion: In conclusion, I believe that this is a marvelous gun, but needs some aftermarket work. Wow, that wouldn't be the whole idea of letting you CUSTOMize your 98, would it? Anyway, I give this product a solid 7. Not outrageously great, but more than average.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 2nd, 2003 at 2:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bulletbill Tuesday, July 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann custom 98 with: 14" teadrop barrel, tippy expansion chamber, 20oz C02
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, expansion chamber, drop forward, RT system
Strengths: Durable, never chops often, great customer service, can hold its own in a game
Weaknesses: impossible to completely field strip while in game, accuracy suffers after 80 feet
Review: The second I got this gun I ripped it out of the box, hooked up the Co2 and hopper, dropped in some PMI Premiums and started shooting. This gun is awesome. I' ve only chopped a few balls with it. It is a great starter gun for anyone wanting to start paintball. The best part of this gun is the level of customization. RT, E-Bolt, low-pressure systems all rule. The customer service is top notch. This is a great gun for woodsball since its so inconspicous. This is a loud gun however. The barrel and side cocking make a lot of noise. I play in the forest alot so all the echoes my gun makes is a good thing. Plus it sounds just sick, no little whisper. Sighting down the dovetail sights is awesome with a 14" barrel. You hit your target almost everytime first shot. The feeder elbow is nice since you can remove it, but the freaking thing raddles back and forth on the latch. Not a problem, just use some tape. With upgrades this thing will work people hard!
Conclusion: I would defininately recommend this product to anyone who wants a reliable paintball gun. It's no autococker, buts thats a good thing right?$$$$$$$$$
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 17th, 2003 at 4:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BigVeroBalla Monday, June 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor, Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with Response trigger and Dye Ultralight 16 IN.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger, Dye Ultralight
Strengths: Accurate, Light trigger
Weaknesses: Single trigger, stock barrel is kind of noisy
Review: I like my tippmann better than any of my spyders. It shoots good and is pretty accurate but can be noisy with the stock barrel. I would tell someone that has this to get a different barrel. I recommend the Boomstick or Ultralight by Dye. The flatline shoots further but is not as accurate.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone that doesnt have the money for an electric marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TitanMarine13 Sunday, June 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag Classic, Some old school Brass Eagle, and a Piranha 2k3
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom 98, 14' teardrop, 20oz, spectra 260 w/ thermal lense.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If youre small, get a drop forward "im big and so I like the length of the gun", If you play in the back, get a barrel.
Strengths: Duriblity, Reliability, Consistancy "on co2".
Weaknesses: Even with a new barrel you get this metallic ping when you fire.
Review: I got this marker and was so excited because I knew that unlike a spyder or piranha, or anything else, I cold go fill my tank and start shooting. I took the marker over the crono firing PMI Bigballs. I was firing 273-278 fps. and for liquid co2 I think thats great, even with the gun pointed down for awhile, velocity didnt jump. The I setup some targets. From 30 feet "true feet, I actually measure, I dont guess" the marker layed out a 4 inch spread. From 60 feet it had about a 7-8 inch spread. Now some people are probably thinking, no way the stock barrel sucks..... The accuracy is good, but the consistancy of shots is bad. there are about 1-2 outliers every 5 shots. Then after realizing that on a poor field where it is almost impossible to move forward, I realized I needed a new barrel. So in a mad dash I went for the last 14' Teardrop, it was that or a Freak JR. in my area. Now, from 60-80 feet away I can hit any 1-2 inch dark spot on a piece of plywood. Thats damn good as far as im concerned. And I can always hit the spot I want withing 3 shots, with wind going. And last I checked a person, even a hopper, is larger than 1-2 inches. So As far as im concerned Ive got a great gun. In the 3 months, and 2000 shots ive put threw it ive cleaned and oiled it once, and it serves me flaslessly. And despite what spyder and piranha owners say, The tippmann doesnt chop like crazy. I have still failed to chop a single ball, The only think im considering over this if I come up with the money is a 2003 verticle autococker, or a Phantom VSC.
Conclusion: If youre new, If youre old, buy this gun. It takes no cleaning. Acuracy c02 compatibility and everything I have mentioned. I especially recamend this to kids under 18 and rec players. Id give it a 10 but I know that there are guns with better performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AnchorBluePimp Saturday, June 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact Deluxe, Pro Carbine, and Diablo Heat
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom is a great gun for newbies, however, look to upgrade it soon as I have by adding the E-bolt and J&J Ceramic 14" barrel (read reviews on that barrel you will find that it is one of the best barrels on the market as of 7/28/03
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline - if you do or want to do long range sniping
E-Bolt - if you have the money it is a great upgrade, but you have to get a hella fast electro hopper
Barrel - J&J ceramic or SmartPart All American (size doesnt really matter)
Strengths: Great marker for anyone
very durable
fold down hopper joint
good price
Weaknesses: stock barrel
hard to field strip
expect to drop a few extra bucks into it
Review: I bought the marker Stock and it was a pretty good, expect I would out run the gravity feed hopper occasionally. But after I bought a few add ons and up grades it was shooting better then my other friends JT, Spyder, and Piranha. One again this is a great marker for anyone, newbie to tourney, sniper to front-line.
Conclusion: Great gun Im gonna give it a 9 outta 10 because of the above strengths and because the weakness can easily be fixed, if you have a few extra buxs.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dynastypro08 Friday, June 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pro carbine(same)
spyder shutter ( better it was souped up)
spyder electra ( way better
Marker Setup: it was all stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel, flatline!
Strengths: grip..... uhhh thats about it... didnt chop
Weaknesses: it was loud and wasnt accurate big trigger pull
Review: a good newbie gun but for the money buy an e-99 or a spyder overall its pretty good... needs a electro hopper short but sweet.. if you buy this gun put nitro on it and buy the flatline barrel. it really increases your game. the enolt wouldnt hurt if u have the money. the response trigger would be great becuase it will make you bps go up greatly. but save up a little more money and buy an e-99 or electra. the gun is great because its so customizable durr its in the name a remote is cool too well im goin to fields go paitnabllin at darkarmies in indiana!!
Conclusion: i would recomend this gun to a person who like a comfortable grip i gess its a low matenince gun from wut ive herd so i give it a 7
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TpiAU347 Friday, June 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: Tippman 98c w/ 20 oz. Co2 tank and double trigger (getting a 14" AA barrel soon)
Recommended
Upgrades:
bigger Co2 tank, double trigger
Strengths: durable, good gun
Weaknesses: stock barrel isnt that great
Review: Great gun, I haven't broken a ball yet, (then again, I've only shot about 500 balls) Marbalizer works real good with the stock barrel and gun. Awesome gun for such a low price. I gave it a 9 because it's a really great gun, but its not an Angel or anything.
Conclusion: Really good starter or intermediate gun. I reccomend the Tippman power pack, but you could just get a regular 98c
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 11th, 2004 at 12:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HideBehindTrees Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
BE Marauder (not as good, but similar)
VL Genesis (not as powerful)
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra stock, pmi hopper, 14in cp barrel, 12 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel (no loger than 12 in though)
Strengths: Gun has great range. Black model looks good and doesnt stick out.
No breaks.
Weaknesses: Short stock barrel, loud.
Review: This is a good gun, but i wouldnt spend more than 130 on it. The stock barrel i used with it gave it great range and accuracy was ok, and that was a 8.5 inch!! I ant imagine wht a great gun it'd be with say 12in teardrop. I dont like the way it looks, and its overpriced compared to a spyder xtra, but if u r willing to pay maybe 120 online, you wont be dissapointed. Great semi-auto gun.
Conclusion: Get it if ur willing to py 120 and get a new barrel. Better than all semis except some spyders. 8 because its overpriced.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 29th, 2003 at 1:14 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  170  |  171  |  172  |  173  |  174  |  175  |  176  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media