paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  171  |  172  |  173  |  174  |  175  |  176  |  177  |  Last
        Next Page
chibissj Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
I have no idea but I'm guessing that the A-5 is similiar I'll find out soon when my friend gets one
Marker Setup: Stock Piranha STS 2k3
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel
x-chamber
maybe the response trigger
Strengths: not too much blowback, how the hopper attaches to gun
Weaknesses: pretty dang loud, w/o x-chamber it has some problems, field stripping
Review: Well my friend Doug has this gun and it's amazing, but it's also amazingly loud with both the stock barrel and it's even louder with the flatline. The gun has barely any blowback which is very nice and I also like how the hopper attaches to the gun on the right side. It's a cool feature imo, but if ur left handed it kinda blocks ur site. One thing about this gun is that it's so hard to field strip so if you get problems it better jsut be broken paint or you're goign to have to call yourself out. Next the accurancy on this gun is good, and even better once u get the flatline.
A problem that I saw with my friends is that the grips felt kinda bulky and also if you dont' have the x-chamber it seems to have a wierd problem with the co2, so i'd advise you if u buy this gun to also buy the x-chamber.
Conclusion: This gun is very good for the price, you can't really go too wrong with it, I can't really give this gun a 10 for one reason, the loudness but I will give it a 9, if you guys dont' agree with me, sorry =(
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

punkmatrixsmurf Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix (trigger sucks but better accuracy than stock tippmann)
Marker Setup: 98 custom
20 oz. co2
J&J Ceramic barrel 14"
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, n2
Strengths: very reliable.
short trigger pull.
built like a tank.
Weaknesses: stock barrel is horrible.
Review: hey, this is a great gun for the price. its extremely reliable. it wont break down twice like the brAss eagle avenger and im not just BE bashing, im judging from experience. Its alsogot a short trigger pull for the price. i compare the trigger pull to a stock autococker w/o a hinge trigger. its also built like a tank. id like to see you break one of these babys. overall a great gun for the price
Conclusion: i reccomend it to every one because its a great gun for what you pay for.

Tippmann, go the distance!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

clevercornucopi Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: 98 Custom with
16'' armson stealth
venturi bolt
20 oz tank
THATS IT
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel...the stock...ahahahahahaha...the stock what a joke
Strengths: reliability it takes a lickin and keeps on tickin
Weaknesses: ummmm
Review: Good gun go buy... great for woods play man do i love woods play, dont worry about it being to heavy...many ppl tell me that mines heavy with the 16'' stealth and 20oz tank...i just think they are panzies well hum dee dum this gun is raliable...you can take it through rain, mud snow and it still keeps up the good work...and thats winnin...but then again its the player that wins the marker that helps him to do so, you can have a thousand dollar gun and still suck but this nicely priced piece of reliable equipment will allow anyone to find their place
Conclusion: buy it with a new barrel...not the flatline...if its too heavy then chances are that your a panzy
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

custom98baller Thursday, June 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: custom 98
all stock(for now)
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
Drop Forward
Response Trigger
Strengths: very durable, reliable, only if you know what your doing...
Weaknesses: small parts, a hassle to feild strip
Review: this thing is good, straight out, you can easily take out a guy with an autococker if you
know what your doing. I know ive only been playing for about a year, but i know a thing
or two about combat, so im good at playing.

(Big Ball for testing)
When i first started it out, i tested it.... 2000 balls, 200 rds one after the other...
1 ball break when i had about 80 shots left, which was the best ive seen yet....

when i first feild stripped it i had the worst experience in paintball ever, well, for me.
the frickin rear cocking spring just flew out!!! i put it back in and figured the gun out
pretty quick... the only problem for me, the button that opens up the elbow.... it kept
popping out.

i think its a great gun, i tested a J&J ceramic barrel and it worked great!
im just waiting for a good deal to come by....
Conclusion: get it now!!

oh yeah, a 10, for durability and the fact that i like it and u will too!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

USAF_Sniper Tuesday, June 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really compares to it.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with 14 inch Terminator barrel (A must have item there) with 24, 14, and 9 oz tanks, Don Ronns assault holder for tanks, and remote kit, venture bolt, and a 32 degrees twisted rear velocity adjuster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mostly everything above. But you can be the judge of the remote kit
Strengths: Over all accuracy straight out of the box, and also the upgradeable of the gun.
Weaknesses: Alot of Parts, O and the True Flight Barrel and M-4 cosmetic.
Review: I've had mine for some time now and for a beginner and for a pro alike the gun is excellent if you have any history in shooting sports. If your like me then you'll like the fact that there is a place for both hands to go and you don't have to fiddle around with holding an under line kit to aim properly. The gun with the stock barrel can shoot VERY NICE, but a barrel upgrade is a bigger advantage. But for really good results and long range with any smooth boar barrel get a venture bolt, no matter what the speed the ball goes straight 85% of the time. A fair warning though to people who want to upgrade to a True Flight Barrel, make sure you have a good standby gun, because people are not gonna wait for you to take the S.O.B. apart, its uses are strictly limited if you ask me its a wast of a good gun. One thing to watch is your O-rings and your screws, O-rings get chopped up due to the opean chamber at front and rear of gun, and bolts have a nast habit of pitting. O one more tip, M-4 stocks belong on M-4's, don't try it. Just get a bigger tank or shoot with remote kit trust me you'll thank me for it. Peace out.
Conclusion: Over all good gun, some of the upgrades such as the M-4 stock are strictly cosmetic and serve no real purpose. Be careful what you buy.......
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 13th, 2005 at 2:25 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Mr. PoPo Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Stingray 2 Ice ( bad gun)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
-Tippman double trigger
- Dye barrel
( I am ordering some new upgrades soon. )
Recommended
Upgrades:
- barrel
- expansion chamber
Strengths: - very durable
- good accuracy
- fully customizable
- inexpensive
Weaknesses: - The stock barrel isnt to great
-can rust ( just oil linkage arm and cocking rod )
Review: The Tippmann 98 custom is a very reliable gun that is simple to understand, yet performs well. I have had no problems with my gun functioning how it is supposed to and have been very satisfied. It is excellent for a beginner out of the box, but I recommend that it is upgraded before any tournament use. Remember! It is the Tippmann 98 CUSTOM, you can make it anything you want it to be. It plays well in the rain and on a hot summer day. Remember, its not really the gun that matters to much its the skill of the player. The gun only reflects upon the players needs, and with the 98 Custom, you can make it fit all you needs as a paintball player.
Conclusion: The Tippmann 98 Custom is a durable, well performing gun, that is less expensive than many other guns, but can be made to be just as good as more expensive ones. This gun is well worth your money and is recommended to players of all skill levels.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

penguins_r_kewl Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor, Freak barrel with SS back, Shocktech lpc, revy(midnight blue and black dust), 20oz co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Um barrel, drop
Strengths: Accurate, nice trigger pull, cheap, looks kewl, loads o' ubgrades avalable.
Weaknesses: Erm, I must say there are none
Review: This is the best blowback under $150 IMO. There are so much upgrades available, you can mod it to be as good as an higher end gun, very good its definantly worth the money, dont bother buying a new gun just upgrade the crap out of it. Its a very great gun, I recommend it to begenners, I dint buy one cause my friend biought one, biggest mistake of my life!
Conclusion: Buy it, once again Tippmann makes a good gun. Very cheap I should have got one, but, I was too dumb.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madmpulse Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2000 autococker, 2001 shocker turbo sport, custom worked tippmann 98, 2002 shocker, spyder amg, automag lvl 10, minimag, spyder agressor, vision impulse, non vision impulse,
Marker Setup: 2001 shocker turbo sport, impulse vision(lp, custom board work, low rise, blade trigger), tippmann 98(j&j ceramic 14 in, custom trigger work, custom paintwood grips, custom springs)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: virtually indestructible, great price
Weaknesses: long, hopper wiggle, loud, ungainly
Review: the tippmann 98 custom is a great starter gun for any player who loves painball, and loves the woods, it is fairly accurate, and virtually indestructable, the gun is not all that good for speedball, because it is fairly long, and is very slow, relative to a spyder, its cheif competitor. the gun runs around 600psi, according to a few people i have heard from(please, correct me if i am wrong in this) which is very high. the gun has no regulator, or x chamber, which can be found on most spyders, and more easily added to a spyder. the tippmanns key advantages are that it is very reliable, and it is more versatile than a spyder (in some ways). my tippmann has been brought up to speed, with custom fabricated springs, and a worked sear. the paint adds a custom touch, and the ceramic barrel is the most quieting barrel i have ever used on a tippmann, but even with these, it is not as fast, accurate, or quiet as my other 2 guns. my impulse has custom board work, allowing it to shoot 32bps, and my shocker can shoot 13.75 bps, the shocker runs around 150-200 psi, whereas the impulse runs between 80-110 psi. but both of these are more expensive, and geared more towards speedball, the tippmann 98 is merly average, because of the limitations it has, but i still rank it above the a-5, because that gun is impractical, and just a new version of an old gun, to the guys at tippmann, THE SMG 68 IS DEAD, LEAVE IT ALONE
Conclusion: i really enjoy blasting newbs away with any of my guns, because it isnt the gun, or how fast you shoot, but the player, get the gun that fits you, not the one that everyone wants, or has. u dont blast kids wit $1500 markers, just because you own this gun, only the player's skill decides who is better, not what gun you use
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

djcslice Monday, June 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann model 98
tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
smart parts all american 14in barrel
tippmann double trigger
tippmann expansion chamber
micro remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
smart parts all american 14in. barrel
tippmann double trigger
tippmann expansion chamber
remote
if you get into playing i would suggest getting the nitrous system even though it costs more than the whole gun
Strengths: the 98 can shoot paint, it says it shoots 150ft but ive shot at 200+
Weaknesses: heavy, with a 20oz tank its even worse
stock barrel sucks get a new one
Review: tippmann 98 custom is the best gun ive shot except for the A-5. my gun was an exceptional deal because i bought it for 50 dollars for it. 98 custom is very upgradable you can buy anything for it. the gun seems to have a problem with excess co2, but so do most guns without regulators or expansion chambers. This gun is not the best gun for tournaments but is a good entry level gun. If your looking for a tournament gun i would look at the A-5 with a flatline barrel

Conclusion: for a sixty dollar gun its very worth the money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i would say buy upgrades right away but not the response trigger unless u like to break balls.
this gun is the best gun ive ever played with because it is very accurate and is very fun to play with
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snipers2am Sunday, June 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
96 autococker, impulse, 02 shocker...all good in their own ways, but id still take the 98 because there is no timing or wiring to go bad
Marker Setup: 98C
14" Teardrop
Hyper-star bolt
smart parts drop
female stabilizer
madman springs
toxic Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, trigger, hopper, custom trigger work, drop, anti siphon(CO2) reg, or Xchamber
Strengths: Good ROF
Accurate
Durable
almost maintenence free
Weaknesses: a few, but no guns are perfect...
Review: Ok-here goes
The Good

-ROF
tippmanns are not known for their rate of fire. now, i bought a toxic 2x trigger, did about 2-3 hours of trigger work, and i am doing 11.5 bps, and i did the sound tests to prove it.
anything over 10 bps sounds intimitadating coming from a tippster!!

Accuracy
This gun is fairly accurate out of the box (10-13" spreads at 50 feet). However, with a reg, a bolt, a good barrel, and a good paint to barrel match, u will get pretty close to ball-on-ball from 85 feet

Dependibility
its a friggin tank...it will always shoot.

The Bad...

the clamshell design means that everytime u insert a barrel, its gonna point in a SLIGHTLY different direction than last time meaning that if u are using a red dot sight, u will need to make sure its sighted in before u rely on it to aim ur shots.
Conclusion: Buy It... with some good upgrades, you can kick some rear w/ this gun

TRASH THOSE ELECTROS!!!!

If anyone wants information about getting upgrades, doing trigger mods or ANYTHING about the model 98 custom, feel free to email me at sirhc849@aol.com. i will be glad to help u out. also, if u want, email me w/ your setup.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 13th, 2004 at 3:13 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  171  |  172  |  173  |  174  |  175  |  176  |  177  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media