paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
PBfever Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Sypders, Egos, Autocockers, Ions,
Marker Setup: Smart parts Ion, Eggy 2 with y-board, WGP 3000psi 50ci HP tank, Redz Clamping feedneck.

Recommended
Upgrades:
A Revy
Barrel Or Flatline
Expansion champer
Strengths: Durable, customizable. Its a Tippmann
Cheap in $$
Weaknesses: stock barrel is not the best
A little heavy
Review: I got to test this Marker today. Boy its a good one :D
This marker is one of the best mechanical markers you can get.
I tested two Tippmann 98 customs and one of them had a SP Progressive and the other had a Flatline
Progressive:Accurate, looks wierd

Flatline:VERY acurate! Shoots very far.

This marker rocks!!!
Conclusion: I would recommend this to EVERY body!! this marker is cool!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Andrei_Shubin Saturday, May 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I only use tippmann.
Marker Setup: look at profile
Recommended
Upgrades:
I highly suggest a new barrel FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!!!(J&J work well) because, the stock is pretty bad, and get a response. If you you have the extra money get a nitro tank its way better than co2.
Strengths: Good Price
VERY Reliable
Accurate
Never chops balls
A.C.T.
"MADE IN USA"!!

Weaknesses: Bad ratings
Upgrades are a little pricy.
Review: First, if your a beginner get this gun its cheep,reliable, and accurate and especially good for woods ball.
Second, this gun is made to take a beating and i mean beating like take a hammer and beat the heck out of this gun.
Third, this is the most customizable marker out there. You can customize it to the end of the univers and back. There are so many choices to put on your gun your head will spin!
Also, it now has A.T.C = Anti-Chop Technology!! (Not that tippmanns needed it anyway because they are so well made they never really chop balls)
One more thing dont be an idiot and get a laser dot scope or any scope you will be wasting you money! They are ussless in paintball. Trust me i know some people who regret it.
Conclusion: So, if you want your moneys worth get a tippmann, they will never let you down!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 21st, 2007 at 1:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannkilla22 Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5 and tons of other blowbacks
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Egg II/w Z-board
Pure Energy 48/3000

MR1 stock
12 oz pure energy
VL200

Proto Rail coming soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL
Strengths: Durability
Reliability
Does What it's supposed to
It's very upgradable
Weaknesses: inaccurate with the stock barrel (typical blow back)
Heavier than other blowbacks
Review: This seems to be the marker of choice for fields to use as a rental, and for a good reason. It's just reliable... It always did what it was supposed to whenever I had to use it when my Diablo Wrath wasn't working. My teammate has had his own for years and it still works like new. I personally prefer spyders(like my MR1, which is so reliable and just as great as the 98 custom), but I'm not gonna be biased against a good blow back that's not a spdyer and this is one of those markers that I just have to respect. I have been to the Tippmann factory in Fort Wayne, IN and I saw with my own eyes how much they really try to make good products for their customers when I took a tour of the place guided by pro player Corey Rogge(Played for Tippmann Effect). It's actually desent in speedball stock if you have skill and are good at pulling the trigger fast and consistantly.
Conclusion: If your into rec ball or woods/milsim ball then this is definatly a good choice.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 24th, 2007 at 3:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

us pball Thursday, May 24th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
shocker
ego-eteck
pirahna r6
diablo mongoose
Marker Setup: shocker sft 04
q-lock
custom color green to black fade
halo b w/rip
3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Hopper
E-grip
Strengths: Very durable
Accurate
Weaknesses: Speed
Weight
Size
Review: This was my first paintball gun i have had it for 3 years in it still is in good shape this is the most durable gun i have ever seen.But it is very very slow compared to my shocker it shoots about 4 or 5 balls a second.Next it can get very heavy if you get alot of upgrades like i have.I would rather not waste my money and save for an ion or something.
Conclusion: Don buy it
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

shockerownage62 Sunday, May 20th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder extra
Marker Setup: 07 shocker nxt
virtue board
halo b w/ rip drive
freak barrel setup
pure energy 88/4500 nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
grips
bolt
Strengths: Durability
Weaknesses: Horribly inaccurate
Loud
Slow rate of fire
Single trigger
Review: i got this gun as a starting gun a while ago but i never really liked it. it didn't really chop paint at all but it was inaccurate, horribly inaccurate and it was loud. Another problem i had was that it came with a single trigger so you cant get any good rate of fire going. it also sucks up gas like no other.
Conclusion: I think this gun is good if its your first gun or fist semi-auto but other than that I wouldnt recomend it
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

mejack00 Wednesday, May 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i used a spyder victor tippman is way better all around
Marker Setup: i use a spyder victor a tippman 98
Strengths: Accuracy
Rate of fire(if you like woods)
Weaknesses: Weight
rate of fire (it sucks with speedball)
Review: Its alright i use it when i go too paintball places and don't bring my gun i hate how heavy it is but it is extremely accurate and it doesn't use allot of c02 i usually go a whole day of paint balling and maybe refill once its big when u add all the stuff together on it so its kind of bulky so it gets in ur way
Conclusion: iIsay if u like tippman product and u want a great woods ball gun and an accurate one this is it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

indiancreekman Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
That was my first gun so i've moved up quite a bit from tippmanns.
Marker Setup: A custom painted gloss black 98c.
Gloss black 32 degrees drop forward.
Flat black A5 cyclone feed.
Flat black rocket cock bolt sealer.
Flat black custom Oregon Paintball 14in. sniper barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
all the stuff u can fit on this mother and u will have a sweet woodsball gun, definenly a sniper barrel/ ceramic cuz it works better w/ co2.
Strengths: Youcan do about anything to one of these guns.
Weaknesses: Some of the internals are alluminum and the threads strip really easy.
Review: This was my first gun i bought for my self. it has never let me down and it is very reliable. i tried to sell it a while back and i just couldn't do it cuz of its durable metal frame it never gets cracked, never has gas leaks unless u screw with the lines. this gun is so customizable its freakin sweet.
Conclusion: Bottom line. if you have any other kind of speed ball gun i definitely recommend this gun. And stock mechanical spyders can not compare.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Naxon Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
J&J 14'' Ceramic Barrel
Double trigger kit
HPA - 3000 PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything else than the stock barrel is neccesary!
A doubletrigger or a responce trigger is never wrong to increase the BPS.
And since the marker is quite long... buy a drop forward!
Strengths: - Durability
- ACT System
- Lots of upgrades
- Reasonable prize
Weaknesses: - Hard to Field Strap
Review: The good parts:

Durability
Throw it on a rock, smash it to a tree, jump on it, whatever you do with it, the marker stays steady as a rock. Of course you will not avoid the scratches on it, but 98 C stays indact almost no matter what happens to it.

ACT System
Especially if you have upgraded you trigger and not the magazine, ACT is wonderful to have. Instead of having balls choped by the bolt when you are fireing the marker let's the ball fall down by letting the back bolt fire through but the front bolt stay in position.

Lots of upgrades
Not only has Tippmann themselves a lot of upgrades, so does many other manufacturers. Tippmann has the threads to make the marker fit with most barrels.
A plus is that 98 C bigger brothers (A-5) "Cyclone Feed" can be bought and attatched to the 98 C, making it almost as good as the A-5.

Reasonable Prize
I bought mine including a HPA system for 200$. It delivers a whole lot of quality for that prize.

The bad part:

Hard to field strap
It might just be me, but I feel that there are 2-3 parts who directly falls out of place when you field strap. If you want to change/check something, you will have to fix 'em all.
Conclusion: A really good beginners marker who, since it can be upgraded a whole lot, also fits more advanced players.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dylan is gnarly Monday, May 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Worr Games Trilogy, Pirahna EVO, Spyder TL, and tippmann pro carbine.
Marker Setup: J&J barrel and Carbon fiber barrel, x-chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, e-grip or RT, double trigger with e-grip, electric hopper, and HPA
Strengths: Accuracy
Durable
Fast
easy to clean
Weaknesses: Could be on the heavier side.
Review: This gun is a great beginner/pro gun it is unbelievably durable. It's an accurate gun(with a new barrel). It has unlimited accessories and upgrades. Overall one of the best guns you can buy. But if your a pro speedballer wouldn't recommend this gun. But if your just a person who will play anything and not go pro or tourney then this is a great gun for you. It is gas efficiant and could get a cyclone feed on it soo that also beats the a-5:).
Conclusion: OVerall a great gun for a beginner.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chezhed493 Sunday, May 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees Rebel
Spyder Xtra
Viewloder Triton 2
JT Tac-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
VL 200
14 inch Viewloader Carbon Compostie Barrel
Custom Made Drop Forward
Pure energy 72ci/3000psi

Invert Mini
Proto One Piece Barrel
Halo B
Pure Energy 72ci/3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel 10'' or longer
Drop Forward
Strengths: Durable, Easy to clean, take apart
Weaknesses: Come with a short barrel (8'')
Review: I bought a used 98 in the paper for 30 bucks. IT WAS A BEATER. The guy said he never cleaned, oiled, or taken apart the gun. I took it apart, degreased and stripped off the rust. After drying it off I replaced every o-ring and lubed them. After putting it back together, I screwed in my sniper barrel, and put about 200 rounds through it and it was dead on accurate from about 20 yards away. A couple days later I took it all apart, stripped the remaining paint off of it, and gave it a six-coat camo paint job. Waiting for the paint to dry I made a drop forward. To my suprise, it fit perfectly. There are a lot of upgrades available, or make you own like me.
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun. After being brought back from the dead, it operates perfectly. Great gun for noobs, and seasoned vets because its is reliable, and low maintenance.
Buy It!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media