paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  189  |  190  |  191  |  192  |  193  |  194  |  195  |  Last
        Next Page
quik Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months50 of 84 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 68 Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
20 oz. Co2
Home-made drop foward
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel(unless you polish it)
A expansion chamber(if you really want to)
maybe a D/F becuase with a 20oz co2 it does get somewhat end heavy.
Strengths: The ability to shoot liquid and gas co2, also its sturdyness.
Weaknesses: Its barrel, its end heavyness, and maybe the design? *shrugs*
Review: I got this gun for christmas, and so far, so good, thats all I got to say. Although before asking for it, I did some research for it, and concluded that this was one hell of a gun(for a begginer/intermediate, depends on those upgrades ^_^) to get . I got it, and I sure was correct. I wasnt expecting anything like a Angel or Cocker, but I'm happy with what I got. Hopefully, soon, I'm going to get some more upgrades for it, which would be nice to have.

Even though its a great gun, I cant just go and say that its the best begginer/intermediate gun around(heh, which it just might be). It does have some problems. I liked the layout of the old reviews more, so I'm going to go back to basics...

||||The Good||||
++Built very strong, is able to take a lickin' and keep on tickin.

++Co2 - It has the ability to shoot liquid and gas co2, so if you live in a colder state like me(michigan), and your not looking to spend 100+ for HPA(becuase your just plain cheap), then this gun definitley helps in winter.

++Paint - Shoots alot of different kinds of paint pretty well, just make sure you match the paint to the barrel, RPS Big Ball worked for me.

++X-Chamber - Honestly, there really isnt any need for one really, considering it can shoot liquid co2 almost as good as gas co2. But I'd say get one (or a Reg.) since your shots will be alot more consistant, no mo' velocity spikes ^_^.


||||The Bad||||
--The Barell - although it isnt THAT bad, mine seems to shoot pretty nice.

--Field Stripping - It'll take around 30-45 min. when you just start, but when you know what your doing, it takes about 10-15 minutes, max.

--Not Compact - Not as compact as I would like, and pretty long with a 12'' barrel and 20oz co2 on it, I'd advise a remote or drop foward(or cradle)
Conclusion: Its a great biggner/intermediate gun, and if your not *too* serious about paintballing, your not in it to compete with the big boys(even though you probably good with some well placed upgrades), and just in it for fun with your friends, I highly reccomend this gun, its easy to maintain and the upgrades are really easy(most) to put in. The good pretty much counteracts with the bad, and the bads can be remedied quite well. I'm not going to give it a 9 or 10, because those spaces are reserved for the Angels and Cockers.

If you are on a tight budget, and looking for a gun that can get the job done, the Tippmann 98 Custom is definitley for you! And if your NOT on a tight budget and want a even better Tippmann, look out for the A-5, its moving on up with the ranks of the big boys. Soon, I'm guessing that the gun will quite the hit, and maybe someday, you'll even see someone on a pro team(besides T-Effect) using a tricked ol' Tippmann ^_^.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
43 Comments - Add Comment

Meteora Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder flash, and classic
Marker Setup: flash w/remote and ricochet ak loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
None buy a spyder
Strengths: durable
Better than brass eagle (in my opinion only slightly)
Weaknesses: immpossible to cover in under 15 words
Review: Tippmanns are not the ultimate marker they are mediocre there are markers worse than it but there are many that are better. It is not the most accurate or fuel efficient as some of you may think. Honestly from what I gather from these reviews most of you are ignorant and worship it and make it sound like it is the only marker worth buying, i have news for you, its not I have used tippmanns before and I was not happy with its performance first of all every time i used it paintballs did chop mostly within the first few shots of the day. It does chop balls and frequently at that I have owned a $40 marker that chopped less than that. While the tippman is a durable marker it is not the best and you idjits need to learn that.
Conclusion: While it is better than some and it has decent accuracy but that is no different than most other markers with the same barrel length and velocity
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

lucky1_17 Tuesday, March 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Many Blow Back Guns
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c (bone stock) w/Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and what ever else would float your boat
Strengths: Very durable!!!! Could propably play in -30* weather
Weaknesses: ....looks i guess
Review: This is an awesome gun for newbies because it is so durable. It is also good for more advanced player because of the high amount of upgrades avaliable. I think that the gun could run on straight liquid CO2 which makes it so very awesome on those COLD days. I would get one of these guns no matter if you already have a great marker this is the best back up you could own.
Conclusion: If you want a very reliable, upgradable, play in any weather marker then look no further this is it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bushie03 Tuesday, March 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: BushMaster B2K3
Nitro+macroline+Drop Forward
Dye Stickies, Low Rise
All American 02 Back w/Freak Front
12v Revy w/ X board
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL:the stock 8.5 piece of tin barrel isnt good at all... i recommend DYE or Smart Parts barrels.
FRONT GRIP:get rid of that dum cheap plastic front "grip" and get a nice lapco one.
DROP FORWARD: get a nice long drop by psycho balistics or dead on to shorten up the 98 which is a soemwhat long gun.
TRIGGER: get a toxic or promark alluminum trigger instead fo the stock single plastic
thingy.
GRIP: the stock grips arnt even grips really, 2 hunks of tuff material, get dye stickies!
Strengths: EXTREMELY UPGRADEABLE! tippmann upgrades are everywhere!. VERY TUFF AND DURABLE, doesnt chop much at all.
Weaknesses: length.. its definitly a longer gun..field stripping also takes a long time!
Review: The tippmann 98 custom is a great entry gun and can be upgraded to an extreme level.. it definitly needs to be shortened though. It shoots good, good feeding system and is reliable. ur 98 will always work for you under any condition..probably even underwater.
An excellent entry gun probably the best low-mid end marker out there..very affordable as well... You can pick one up for jsut over 100 bucks.. sounds good to me. TIPPMANN CUSTOMER SERVICE IS NO DOUBT THE BEST. Call them or email them they fix your gun for free you jsut send it in. they send you free oil and stickers also, great for decorating your gun up or hopper... TIPPMANN CUSTOMER SERVICE IS THE BEST NO DOUBT.
Conclusion: Good gun.. definitly probbaly the best WOODS gun around.. It's nto the greatest speedball gun unless u can find a way to extrmely shorten in.. i give it a 8/10 mainly because its upgradeable but its also reliable and has great customer service.was a good gun for me. just wish it was a little shorter possible.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BunkerBreacher Monday, March 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine, PMI
Marker Setup: Tippman Model 98, Flatline Barrel, Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel,
Strengths: -Very easy to customize.
Weaknesses: -It starts out ugly as heck, Pay enough and it looks nice
Review: Strengths:
-Accurate considering its standard barrel
-Fast ROF for under $150
-Heavy Duty
-Built like a tank

Weaknesses:
-Short 8.5 Inch barrel gets you angry sometimes
-ROF can be better
-Gets a little heavy, but doesn't affect me other than when I'm not playing.

like this gun. It has treated me nicely. It's reliable, and very, very easily customizable. Other than a few minor problems, this gun is almost perfect.
Conclusion: Get this gun. I have enjoyed it very much, and plan on customizing it further.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NickSeiler Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months66 of 87 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
-CORE Hammer-Head
-KINGMAN Spyder Xtra
-KINGMAN Spyder TL
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom (black)
-14" J&J Ceramic Barrel (black)
-Vertical Adapter
-Pro Team Intruder expansion chamber
-14" Pro Team Commando barrel
-Pro Team Barrel Shroud/Guard
-Pro Team Front Sight
-Pro Team Sight Rail/Carry Handle
-Pro Team CAR stock
-12oz CO2 tank
-Viewloader 200 rd. hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
The first upgrade/accessory I would consider purchasing for a 98C would be a new barrel. While the stock barrel seemed to performa adequately whenever I initially tested it out, a better barrel can only add to the gun's performance. I've had only good experiences with the 14" J&J ceramic I bought, and I've heard goot things about the flatline from those who have installed it correctly. I would recommend getting an expansion chamber as well.
Strengths: -Great appearance
-Easily customizable
-Fairly lightweight
-Accurate
-Great deal (I got mine for $120)
Weaknesses: -No real complaints at all!
Review: I would highly recommend that anyone, newbie or veteran, check out the Tippmann 98 Custom when determining what marker to purchase next. This marker has everything you'd want in a paintball gun: low maintenance, durable, accurate, great appearance. With all the possible customization features you can add to the 98C, you're nearly guaranteed your own unique look to this gun. I've been very pleased with the performance of this gun in the times I've used it, and it would be the first on my list of markers to recommend to other players.
Conclusion: Buy it, and enjoy. This marker will not let you down on the field of combat. It's very accurate, has a great look and feel to it, and will stand up to any test you put it through. Highly recommended!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 10th, 2003 at 8:07 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

mariners02 Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rental gun at KC crusaders some kind of piranha.
Marker Setup: dye boom stick, and double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
You need the boom stick it makes the gun a lot more accurate. Double trigger is also a cheap but effictive upgrade.
Strengths: Verry durable and Verry accurate with dye boom stick. Handles all kinds of c02
Weaknesses: not much, it will break a paintball every once in a while.
Review: Verry good gun for starters durable, easy/cheap to upgrade. Great gun for people who go once a week-once a year and will never need repairs. I have never had any problems with it. I play in the woods a lot so it takes some major beatings but it still looks good.
Conclusion: if you are new to the sport or play all the time but dont want to have to do any work to your gun this is the one for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skilla22 Sunday, March 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle eradicator
Marker Setup: tippmann, 20oz.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, N2,
Strengths: this is a sturdy gun this gun won't break
Weaknesses: the stock barrel is horrible it's great otherwise
Review: The gun comes in 2 different colors it comes with adjustable site and bottomline a dapter it is the gun i have right now it is very customizable it has so many upgrades it's not even funny. this gun has great upgrades: rt trigger system, e-bolt these systems both increase your fire rate.
Conclusion: If you are a beginner this is gun for you you can customize it so much that there is no need for a new better gun unless you want faster feed then go with the A5
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dominater#7 Saturday, March 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
model 98, and thats it
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98 custom with double trigger frame, kapp drop forward, Rocket cock, and stock barrell.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double trigger frame, Drop forward. Rocket cock.
Strengths: Very accurate, Undistructable, Almost never chops balls.
Weaknesses: deffinetly not made for feild stripping and not the prettiest marker around.
Review: This marker shot well out of the box and it was all around good. When you get the upgrades it becomes great. It is a fairly fast marker and is more durable than a titanium boulder. It becomes great when you add in the upgrades. The only thing wrong is it is not very flashy but in the end it doesnt matter.
Conclusion: I recomend this marker to anyone who is looking for a reliable marker under $150. I personally think it is the best gun around for under about $160. I give it a nine because it is a pain in the @## to feild strip.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MontoVolcom Friday, March 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Um lots of semi-auto guns but the tippmann 98 custom is the best one ive used in its price range.
Marker Setup: Spyder Flash LCD, Nitro, 12vRevy, Dye Boomstick 14in.
Tippmann A-5
Tippman 98 Custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
The upgrades on this gun are nearly endless. But out of the box the barrel on this gun isnt that great get a longer barrel to increase range.
Strengths: Very durable, Doesnt chop much at all, easy to clean, fun fun fun.
Weaknesses: I havent found anything yet.
Review: I use the tippmann 98 custom as my woodsball and playaround gun. What can I say I love it. Its so durable. I dropped it off a small cliff once onto a rock and it didnt break! This is the perfect gun for a beginner out of the box. With the right upgrades youll be keeping up with the much higher end guns. I ordered a 98 response kit which ive tried. It makes the gun ten times as sweet.
Conclusion: Go and get it they are cheap, fun and very durable, you can buy them in kits at most of your sporting goods stores.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  189  |  190  |  191  |  192  |  193  |  194  |  195  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media