paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  194  |  195  |  196  |  197  |  198  |  199  |  200  |  Last
        Next Page
ZachTippmann Friday, February 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 which really rocks
Marker Setup: 98 Custom /w Nyte Stikk barrel.(upgrading will be fun)
Recommended
Upgrades:
You definitely need a new barrel. It's easy, theres dozens of barrels for the 98 custom(don't try the flatline though) Next get an expansion-chamber like I'm going to soon. It's not THAT serious, but it helps alot.
Strengths: Like everyone else says, it's a tank. People give it low ratings because it's ugly. THAT DOESN'T MEAN THE GUN SUCKS. I personally think it looks cool.(The silver)
The eblow pops out for sum easy cleaning.
Oooh yeah, so many sweet upgrades. I love it.
Weaknesses: Nothing really. Sure, it's hard to strip down, I'll give you that. The gun is awesome, I've beaten Angels, Autocockers, everything good with my $120 gun. What's bad about that?
Conclusion: Buy it. A noob can get it, and even the novices can use it (if you wanna trick out out ofcourse) I love it. I noticed how many reviews there are for this gun. People seem to like it, yes? Get it, go, go, now!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dyesupporter Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Black Piranha EXT 2K3
stock parts
pmi pure energy 48cu 3000psi nitro tank
black ricochet 2k
V-force cheild mask
system X-Point blank paintballs
Recommended
Upgrades:
-A new barrel
-a long drop forward
-expansion chamber
Strengths: This gun is built like a tank, and shoots like one too. I've never been able to go over 4bps with this gun but it doesnt matter i couldnt afford to shoot anymore. After two years of beating the hell outa' it, only paint scratches have occured, and its black so if your a neat freek just get some model paint and touch it up once in a while. It i a very good entry gun, it forces you to get good and make your shots count. It has a very solid feel and u never feel like its gonna break. If you keep the velocity up it will be fairly accurate.
Weaknesses: This is and odd gun, everything wrong with it can be remidied for about 100 dollers. First off, tippmann mest up buy giving this gun the worst stock barrel i have ever seen, its a chodified peice of crap, but like a said i spent 40 dollers on a 14inch barrel and now it is fine, the other is that the front grip sucks, and it has a hard time with nitro, so get an expansion chamber and now you can use co2 well and have a better foregrip. The last thing is the size, you have to get a drop forward, and i meen a big dropforward, if you get the tank hooked up and a new barrel its impossible to stay tight to the bunker and snap shooting from the frontline is not possible without taking a hit in the face, there a things wrong with this gun, but for about 100 dollers it becomes a very solid and reliable paintball gun. (incase ur an idiot 40 for a barrel 30 for an expansion chamber, and 30 for a drop forward, that 100 bux freinds)
Conclusion: If your just starting out, or if you want a real gun not a talon, i recomend this gun, but if you dont like the idia of spending 100 bux to make it good, still get it, im not taking anything away from it, im just stating what is lacking in the "good" department, this gun will work fine stock, i just dont like the feel of it with a chode for a barrel and a plastic grip thats all, i recomend this gun to all who are entering paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NCtippmann563 Monday, February 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Black Max, Talon... etc
Marker Setup: All stock for right this moment
Recommended
Upgrades:
14 in. J&J Ceramic Barrel
Strengths: Very durable, very dependable.
Weaknesses: Little bit loud, does kick a bit, but maybe that's the velocity setting.
Review: I've shot over 2000 paintballs out of mine and have yet to break one. Straight shooting with stock barrel. It's not the best barrel but it holds up. This gun is made of cast aluminum making it built like a M1A1 Abram. Fore handle is good for aiming. Very good adjustable sight.
Conclusion: Over all this is a very very very good gun and I would recomend this to anyone whether they be beginner or pro. Very affordable. This has to be one of the very best guns out there! Plus it's completely customizable.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 29th, 2003 at 12:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Card257 Saturday, February 1st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Model 98 (not custom), Very unique gun besides that
Marker Setup: Ironman Boomstick Barrel 12 Inch
12 Volt Viewloader Hopper
Collapsing Car Stock
Tippmann Expansion Chamber
3000psi Coil Remote
Tippmann Model 98 Response Trigger

Recommended
Upgrades:
---Stock worked awesome for me, but I recommend getting aftermarket barrel.
---Expansion chamber + Remote setup gives me 400-1000 extra good shots (depending on weather)
---Response trigger. Can't go wrong with a strong reliable full-auto gun!!!
---12 Volt hopper (Only necessary if you get response trigger)
Strengths: ---Virtually indestructable. This gun is a freaking tank!!!
---Never chops balls or breaks them in stock barrel.
---Seemingly verylight trigger pull.
---Packs enormous (underline enormous) power when configured properly!!!! Very awesome!!!!
---Front grip makes for good balance transfer throughout gun.
---Never fails you in game or out of game.
---I personally have never had a problem with mine at all except one broken ball (cheesy brass eagle ball from wal-mart!!)in all the time I have owned it.
---IS UNBELIEVEABLY UPGRADEABLE!!! LET THOSE DREAMS LOOSE!!! YOU CAN DO ANYTHING AT ALL TO THIS GUN!!! THERE ARE SO MANY AFTERMARKET UPGRADE OPTIONS!!!
---I don't care what others say i think it is very very easy to take apart. Just unscrew it and it opens everything up at your fingertips
Weaknesses: ---Not for field stripping. Not recommended either. Only because if you're dumb you might lose a screw or something! hehe
---Some people think it is a heavy gun. I just think they are weak people!~!
---That is basically all. I'm sure there are other problems, but I've never had them!~!~!~!~!~!~!~!~! hahahohohihihuhuhehe
Conclusion: Very solid, durable gun.
Tippmann has great service too!
Never has any problems really.
Great gun for any players, even pro. All you need to do is upgrade and it's just as good as an autococker or any of that stuff. It just takes a little work.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rhinodog Friday, January 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Friends A-5
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
X-Chamber
Fighter X Drop Forward 7.0
J&J Ceramic (Realtree Version from Ballistic Sports)
Rocket Cock (The good one)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everybody says to get a new barrel. I agree, but if you don't have the money, you can polish the inside of the stock barrel and it'll work pretty good for you.
Strengths: CHEAP!!
Solid
Very Durable
Easy to Upgrade
MOSTLY METAL (not sure what the previous dude was reviewing?)
Weaknesses: Long
That's about it.
Conclusion: Buy it. I think it's the best buy out there. If you want to play tourney speed ball, buy a cocker or an angel, because this game is all about image, don't ya know? (sarcasm) Go read 90%% of the post's on all of these forums, you'll see what I'm saying. I give it a 10, because it's the best bang for the buck out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

motherfu Thursday, January 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
TIppmann A-5, Spyder Tl +, Tippmann Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 w/ dye 18' boom stick and 16'32 Degrees carbon fiber barrel, Pmi nitro w/remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL! and some nitro if you got the dough
Strengths: 1. Tippmann quality
2. Tippmann durability
3. Decent accuracy with new barrel
4. Reliable
5. lots of upgrades out there
Weaknesses: 1. well the stock barrel is useful for something other than accuracy (ie its a pice of junk)
2. mostly plastic
3. a little akward at times
Conclusion: Man, i don't care if you are a newbie or a diehard used to angels and autocockers, this gun can hold its own against any grade of marker. Its ability to be highly customized is great. This paintball gun won't dissappoint you. ( I give 9 because there is always room for improvements) Ps buy nitro!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

motherfu Thursday, January 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
TIppmann A-5, Spyder Tl +, Tippmann Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 w/ dye 18' boom stick and 16'32 Degrees carbon fiber barrel, Pmi nitro w/remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL! and some nitro if you got the dough
Strengths: 1. Tippmann quality
2. Tippmann durability
3. Decent accuracy with new barrel
4. Reliable
5. lots of upgrades out there
Weaknesses: 1. well the stock barrel is useful for something other than accuracy (ie its a pice of junk)
2. mostly plastic
3. a little akward at times
Conclusion: Man, i don't care if you are a newbie or a diehard used to angels and autocockers, this gun can hold its own against any grade of marker. Its ability to be highly customized is great. This paintball gun won't dissappoint you. ( I give 9 because there is always room for improvements) Ps buy nitro!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gotmilk4 Wednesday, January 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
first semi-auto gun.
Marker Setup: lapco bigshot 12" bead blasted black
full boar shadow rear cocking
vertical adapter and x-core 8 stage expansion chamber
lapco drop foward
dead on double trigger
tippmann RT trigger system
soon-
LP kit
bob long torpedo regulator
nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel.
Strengths: everything that everyone else said about it (the good things)
Weaknesses: its a pain to take this gun apart. i like to mod my gun alot, so im always taking it apart. theres always little things getting in the way when u put it back (front sight, rear sight, trigger gaurd, etc). however, its not that bad. i cant really compare this to other semi's, but its not a whole lot of fun to clean the gun after you break a ball. you have to clean the barrel (duh), the front bolt (you have to take out the valve to get to some parts) and sometimes the outside and inside of the hopper.
Conclusion: good begginer gun. its not this amazing machine like alot of people say it is, but its still pretty good for the price. durable. a 9 because its not perfect, and hard to open up and clean.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gotshot Wednesday, January 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Talon Ghost, spyder classic, Spyder TL plus (which is a great gun)
Marker Setup: 20 oz tank, 14 in. J&J ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, electronic hopper.
Strengths: This gun made in USA it is built to last.
accurate works great in cold weather, never chops balls,
a fun gun, not too expensive. looks like a WW2 gun
Weaknesses: The gun is frustrating to put back togather after been taken apart
Conclusion: The best gun on the market for the price. Get this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nitro dan Wednesday, January 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
a pro carbine maby
Marker Setup: tippmann w/h dye ulterlite double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger and a barrel and hurry
Strengths: it is really accurate and rarely brakes down. it is highly upgradable. it has rear cockeing system upgrade as well as other upgrades to make this gun just like a auto cocker.
Weaknesses: the stock barrel is really bad and the volistey starts out really really low. im talking about 100-200 fps.
Conclusion: it is a great gun but make sure u turn the volistey up when u get this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  194  |  195  |  196  |  197  |  198  |  199  |  200  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media