paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Amras86 Thursday, May 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Bravo One
JT Tac5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Basic
Flatline Barrel w/ Tactical Rails
GTA Expansion Chamber
Double Trigger
TechT Hair Pin Trigger Kit
Cyclone Feed System (Votex Mod, Lightning Rod, Squishy Paddles, QEPH)
Low Profile Hopper
Collapsible Stock
Red Hot Power Tube w/ Derlin Bolt
TechT Zero Kick Hammer
Response Trigger
Remote Line
Adjustable M16 Sight Rail

Tippmann Bravo One
G36 Barrel
Cyclone Feed System
Aluminum Power Tube w/ Derlin Bolt
E-Grip

Tippmann TPX
Remote Line Adapter
TechT Low Pressure Spring Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
My paintball marker, as it stands, is a pretty good setup. I did notice some of the parts worked well with others. For example, the hair pin trigger kit and response trigger work well. You really need to install parts and then try them a couple times and then go again.

I always recommend the flatline barrel or cyclone feed system. Can't go wrong.
Strengths: Highly Customizable
Light
Reliable
Easy disassembly
Weaknesses: Small Parts
Plastic Parts
Review: I bought this paintball marker because a few guys I worked with suggested we get into paintball and play every other weekend. I was told this paintball marker would be a good beginner marker to get. So I bought it and I've been using it for the past 6 months. I have always had a thing for modification to make everything unique so I bought the upgrades and tried them, bought more upgrades and tried them. I think I am at the point now I have nothing left to add to my marker that I would really want. I think this is probably the best paintball marker for new players.

Strengths:
Again, this marker is very customizable. It may not look like much when you first take it out of the box but after a few upgrades, it is a serious player on the field. The marker itself, without a co2 tank attached, is very light and maneuverable. After adding a tank it is still quite light. This marker, out of all that I have tried or used, has to be the most reliable. It's basically the AK-47 of paintball. You can drop it, get it dirty, throw it out a window(one of my friends did this from a two-story window to escape getting shot), and it will still work like the day it was bought. The disassembly of this marker is a bit confusing at first, you really need to take it apart without the parts moving from their locations. But once you do it once or twice, you will be able to take this marker apart with your eyes closed.

Weaknesses:
There are a lot of small parts in this marker. Personally, I've missed putting some of them back in when I've disassembled it. I find the worst part of the whole marker is the front sight spring. It's very tricky. You may want to buy a parts kit for this gun to keep with you while playing in case you ever need to field strip it. When I say plastic parts, I am mostly referring to the power tube. It is quite sturdy but I don't know. Something about a part that handles compressed air and below freezing temperatures doesn't seem right to be for some reason. I never had a problem with my power tube but I read reviews that the aluminum ones make the marker more consistent, which is why I got it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone who is either a beginner or a pro. You will never be disappointed by a Tippmann marker. I have all Tippmann markers, except my JT Tac5, and I never leave home to play without them.

Score: 9

I give this a 9 because its not perfect. Its a bit awkward to hold when the tank is attached to the ASA, the small parts can be a pain to deal with.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tacballer Wednesday, May 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
4 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: 16in Smart Parts Linear barrel
Flatline barrel
Gravity feed hopper
72ci Pure Energy compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel at a minimum
Cyclone Feed
Strengths: Powerful
Durable
Never jams
Simple tear down
Weaknesses: Heavy
Slow rate of fire
Accuracy (might just be mine)
Loud
Review: Now this was my first gun and it was definitely second hand. Mine is one of the older style so some of the issues I'm having with it may just be because it's old. This has become the gun I lone out or use as a backup if my Vibe goes down.

The good
My T98C has a hard time getting down to 300fps. it usually like to hover at 310-315 for most of the day and then dip to about 290 by the last few games. But trust me, people don't really like to be on the receiving end of a Tippmann. They tend to know that its a good powerful gun and the they will know when they get hit.

This is a great gun for beginners who have little or no experience with paintball and don't really have much finesse. The T98C will take just about anything you can dish out and keep working even under less than preferred conditions.

I've only gotten this thing to jam once and that was because a paintball broke in the barrel and part of the shell jammed up the bolt. Short of this incident I have yet to find any other way to make this thing quit

This is a pretty easy tear down for cleaning just unscrew all screws and pull apart the halves making sure that the spring doesn't go flying. clean whatever needs to be cleaned then simply put it back together in the reverse order that you took it apart.

The bad

Now this gun is a lil' on the heavy side and for those of us who like lightweight guns this may not be our first choice.

For the rate of fire it could better but for a mechanical gun its doin' pretty good. If you out shoot a gravity feed system on this gun it will chew up paint like it wasn't even there so I'd suggest investing in a Cyclone feed like the A-5 or a low end electric hopper because lets face it even the low grade ones can out feed the rate of fire.

Mine has an accuracy problem I don't know if anyone else has this problem though. Mine likes to pull to the right and it varies between shots. With the old Flatline I have (like 1st gen i think) it is even less accurate and so I don't even bother using it.

Finally this gun is LOUD. if you plan on trying to be sneaky and get behind the other team and start picking them off this is not the gun. They will hear you as soon as you fire the first shot and probably even be able to point you out if you are concealed. The Linear barrel I have for it does quiet the shot but only slightly.

Another note. Make sure you check your sear for wear during tear down. The sear is what locks the bolt back after you fire. My brother had an issue with the sear rounding off and subsequently the gun when fire would not stop firing because the bolt wouldn't catch and would start chopping every paintball fed to it. If this happens to your gun to stop the bolt you have to physically stop it and try to lock it back or detach the source of air. He had two sears go bad on him and luckily both times he replaced the sear it was free from Tippmann. Customer service is pretty awesome and should send you another one.
Conclusion: This gun will go to hell and back with you and still operate well. Not the best for experienced players but most definitely great for beginners looking for they're first gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chasethebarber Saturday, May 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 years4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, custom made foregrip(made by me, for me), JCS Folding Stock, 50 round hopper, home-made expansion chamber, retrofitted Spyder regulated ASA(running at 500psi), alternating between a 12in Progressive, 14in TearDrop and 16in Razzor for the barrel. I like to call it Tippmannstein.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A folding or collapsible stock, new barrel(12"-14")
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I am a woodsball player. I like my weapons accurate, quiet, and dependable. I bought a Spyder Xtra and used it for about 3 years...only to realize I wanted more. I knew several people that own Tippmanns, so I decided to get one and see how it compared. After having used both for the same amount of time, I shall now give a comparison.

Spyder Xtra
(Custom painted olive/black, 20" Smart Parts Progressive, VL 12v Revolution hopper, Crossfire 70/4500 tank.)

Strengths - Very accurate, fast, light, quiet, easy to work on.

Weaknesses - Too tall, drank too much gas with 20", chopped unless using electronic hopper, needed constant cleaning/oiling.

Summary - With this marker, I scared people. It was almost silent, it could hit coffee cans 50yds away with no problem, and I could disappear like a ghost. My only problems were gas consumption(I could get maybe 700 shots out of my tank), lubrication and chopping(if I wasn't using my revvy). I loved how easy it was to field strip, but the maintenance was just too much. Definitely a great gun, but it just wasn't good enough to suit me.





Tippmann 98 Custom
Custom made foregrip(made by me, for me), JCS Folding Stock, 50 round hopper, alternating between a 12in Progressive, 14in TearDrop and 16in Razzor for the barrel.

Strengths - Accurate, NEVER CHOPS, very customizable, has yet to break in 3 years, always goes bang.

Weaknesses - LONG, loud-ish, slow rate of fire, heavy, annoying to take apart.

Summary - This is the best marker I have ever found for woodsball. While it's louder than the Spyder, even the most seasoned of players soon learn to fear the bark of Old Tippy. I can use it with the same deadly efficiency as the Xtra, but without having to worry about running out of air.

If you apply a liberal lubrication of white lithium grease when you first get it, you can go years without taking it apart unless you break a ball. On that note, in 3 years of use, with 15,000+ balls fired through it, I have yet to have a single break(gravity fed, of course. e-hoppers aren't needed unless you have the response trigger). It's not as easy to hide with due to it's length and loud voice, but I couldn't be happier. Also, though it is heavy, the weight is very well balanced if you add a stock. EDIT: Since adding the regulator and expansion chamber, the accuracy/consistency have improved. Gas consumption has been cut nearly in half, and it's not quite as loud as it used to be. I call it Tippmannstein because it is UGLY, but very dangerous in the right hands.
Conclusion: If you want a marker for woodsball, I highly recommend the Tippmann. If you want a marker that is more versatile(in terms of play style) and isn't as expensive, go for the Spyder. Both are excellent guns with the right modifications and appropriately used skills, but the Tippmann will always outlast the competition.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 21st, 2010 at 5:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stevenhaemer Tuesday, May 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Pilot
Spyder Agressor
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
12in. Lapco Bigshot barrel with Apex tip
Viewforce electric Hopper
3000 psi HPA tank
24oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a better barrel
Electric Hopper
I'll go over this more in the Review.
Strengths: Durability
Speed(depends on user)
Weight
Customizable
Weaknesses: Speed like I said depends on user.
For some may be the Weight.
Review: So I've had this marker for a while and I love it. I consider this to be the best buy I've made so far. This marker is accurate enough with the stock barrel, although I recommend a better one. This marker is durable. I promise you, you will not find another beginner marker with its level of durability. Besides the stock barrel and hopper, this is a great gun to start out with.
OK, so upgrades. So there are many people out there that will buy m16 carrying handles and red dot sights and other stuff...you don't need it. All you need to have a decent marker is a good barrel, like the one I have, and an electric hopper. If you buy the response trigger or the E-trigger your defeating the purpose of this gun. This gun is meant for woods ball and woods ball only. If you want the E-trigger, go out and buy a better speed ball gun.
Over all, this is a great gun and for around 170 dollars, you have all you need to start a great sport with friend.
Conclusion: I recommend this product to beginners and veterans alike. Over all, 10/10 amazing gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kool catfish Saturday, April 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder aggresor
Strengths: Durable
Reliable
Well constructed
Cool
Does'nt chop
Weaknesses: Heavy
Long
Hard to pull trigger
Small trigger
I got a blister from holding it
Review: i rented this gun at hill 13, (I R A NOOB!) a great gun, had a realistic feel, and shot very well. this gun is VERY accurate too. It shoots pretty fast, kinda. This gun was very tight in constucting, no squeaking parts. Cheap too, but the barrel is too long.This gun is probably for a 3 month player who knows how to deal with it. The trigger is hard to pull, and it kinda hurts. My thumb also had a blister to form because it was soooo heavy, and the plastic was rough.
Conclusion: If you have 3 month experience of paintball, i would get it. But if you're a begginer like me, get a different gun. Do'nt get brass eagle though, they suck balz. Over all, i think this is a awesome gun! GET IT!
did i help u?

Kool catfish 9-10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 17th, 2010 at 6:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NLD Hammer Sunday, April 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, Ape board, Opsgear M-16 kit, Opsgear 18" barrel. etc.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a Lapco or Redz barrel.
Strengths: Reliability, acuracy (with a good barrel).
Weaknesses: Not field strippable.
Review: The 98 c was my first semi-auto paintball marker and it never let me down. Since then I've owned an Angel Led, an Angel 1, a PMR, an Autococker, and a Smart Parts Ion.
Nowadays I play only woodsball and use a Tippmann A-5. But still the 98 c was the only marker that never let me down. Today I use the 98c as a backup marker, with a 14" Redz Pepperstick barrel and it shoots just fine. Ofcourse it's not a sup-air marker..duh.
The 98 c, in my opinion, is reliable, fun, and pretty much foolproof.
Conclusion: It's difficult to rate this marker since it is not a hi-tech superlight 40 bps competitionmarker. But what it is, is a durable, reliable entry level funmachine, and I love it !!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Finn B. Sunday, March 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
(not custom) Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, expansion chamber, remote air line, 15" barrel, double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber, compressed air tank, remote air line, longer barrel
Strengths: Accuracy, powerful, medium weight, rarely chops balls.
Weaknesses: Amount of money to pay.
Review: This gun is very good for beginners, not too heavy or bulky, it is accurate, even with a short barrel, also rarely chops balls. Another thing about the tippmann 98, is is obviously customizable gun so if you want a double trigger, you just get one. It is a good gun for all levels of paintball players because it can be semi-automatic, or have 3 ball bursts, just a plain good gun. My friends have used them and they LOVE them.
Conclusion: You can't go wrong with a tippmann 98, easy to handle and a pretty accurate one too.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 29th, 2010 at 1:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

haydinian Wednesday, February 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: tippman 98 custom with hellfire stock,double trigger and bt red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hellfire stock
BT red dot
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Durable
Upgradable
Cheap
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is the best marker to buy especially if your just starting out. It can be upgraded until its not even funny and overall looks dirty. For such a low cost you can wreck over other players with their fancy high priced markers, with the right accessories and knowledge of the game the tippman 98 custom is mans best friend. If your just starting out or are a seasoned veteran this marker will get the job done.
Conclusion: If your looking for a new marker buy the Tippman 98 custom.For the cheap cost it is well worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ahsanrt1988 Thursday, February 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahanas
Marker Setup: PMI Extreme Razzor Barrel
Double Trigger
Polished internals

also have apex barell m16(dont use much)
SOon:
Red dot sight
electronic hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Polished internals(IF BUY A USED GUN, OIL EVERYTHING) YOutube how to do all this!!!!
2.NEW BARREL. Mine didnt shoot straight and i used evil paintballs 70 bucks a pop. good stuff.
2. Double Trigger with a pen spring( basically dis-assemble a pen and take a spring out and cut it about the same length as the old stock spring and insert it the same sspot , makes the trigger lighter to shoot.
3. Electric HOpper ( marker needs some speed, a guy running, shouldnt out run your balls, thats just a disgrace to your marker. It happened to me with stock hopper, single trigger)
4. Red dot sight.

REST IS ALL MUMBO JUMBO ! believe me i researched alotttt!!!!!!!.
Strengths: It doesnt chop balls!
Weaknesses: SLow rate of fire seriously.
Review: Overall good marker, just need those 4 upgrades and i think you will be good beginner, now if you wanna go pro, i suggest using rentals and save up for a $200+ marker. but im a beginner and recreational player, its not a cheap sport so i stick with playing it every once in a while. paints through the freaking roof..local facility 90 bucks for 2000 round case evil paintballs white fill :/ not avail online :(.

I hope i helped every beginner.
Conclusion: BUY IT, its a great starter, if upgraded right u can keep up with $200 markers!
Giving it a 8 cause of rate of fire and because of expensive price for upgrades that are really needed!!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbking44 Friday, January 22nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 - The Tippmann A5 is very similar to the 98 custom, but has the cyclone feeder thus it can shoot faster. The internals of both guns are very similar. In my opinion a stock A5 is a little better than the 98 custom, only because of the cyclone feeder.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom A.C.T. - Response Trigger, Cyclone Feeder, X-7 hopper, J&J 20 inch ceramic barrel, Apex Tip
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock gun is alright for begginers, but in my opinion the most important upgrade is the response trigger because it gives you so much more fire power.
Strengths: Many upgrade options. Very reliable. Cheap.
Weaknesses: None
Review: The 98 custom is a very reliable and good marker. There are many upgrades you can add on to it. For only about $140 you get a very good marker. Its also very easy to maintain its good working condition. I consider more of a woodsball marker than speedball, but if you get some fire power upgrades it does great in speedball.
Conclusion: I would for sure buy this gun if you haven't already. It's a great product and Tippmann did a great job on it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media