paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  Last
        Next Page
Jaudette Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: i dont have a marker yet
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a barrel
Strengths: Dependability..........Dependability.........Dependability
Weaknesses: Chops cheap paint
Review: I tried this gun at a buddies house, i had never gone paintballing before ( i had but a blade isnt really a paintball gun) this was an OLD model 98, not a custon. the gun was to my knowledge a rental previously, the barrel was so stratched i ran my finger nail aroung the inside of the muzzle and heard ALOT of clicks as it skipped from one to another. just this fact alone makes the performance of this gun AMAZING. in this condition i shot it with anarchy paintballs first, they were at the bottom of the hopper, there were monster ball at the top. this was a very memorable match, it was me vs. two girls...lol. on had a scoped MR2, the other a victor. i was pinned behind a tree just big enough to give me cover. the MR2 was up un a 30 ft mound of dirt play in the sniper role. every time i stuck my head out ther was a three shot burst. i waited while they feebly tried to hit me, might i mention that no one moved. 1...2....3 i swung out, dang those remotes are nice, pop pop pop pop i unloaded about 10 she was about 50 feet away, i'm not saying i pepered her but it was enough for her to duck and cover. i did the samthing at the other player, it took two onslaughts, but i got the "sniper" thrice, and the victor, which was about 70 feet away i got once in the ankle. so i guess i won because they only skimmed my hopper once.

round two
ok so i can beat girls thats good but now the upper classmen decided to pick on the freshmen. my brother and his buddy (one of which has never played before) got hooked up with spyder victors. this round i had about 10 anarchysd left the just about 100 monsters. we called go when my bor was standing in the middle of nowhere, no cover, me being the good brother i am stupidly unloaded my anarchies from about 25 feet only one broke, the ONE bad thing about anarchies. i took cover but whats this? the other victor flanked me! i took three monsters (he unloaded about thirty, and chopped 20) dang the girls said these hurt but after being shot at point blank with an airsoft i think a pillow fight hurts worse! i dove for a low spot enclosed by low alders, and sapling spruce, this was a slightly pansy thing to do, because the only reason i had covver was because the spruce broke the balls before they could get to me. i was pinned. i weathered about a minute of suppressing fire before i dove behing a log ( taking a shot to the ankle) and started umloading at my brother. OH CRAP! i pulled the trigger there was a spray of yellow and little bits of shell went flying out the muzzle. i pulled it again the same, so i UNLAODED near completely every 3 shots or so an egg shaped projectile went flying for 30 fett before making a 90 degree turn. thats amazing difference i dont blame the gun AT ALL because of how good the anarchies were. in the end all i could do was lay some suppressing NOISE. thatr was annoying, i eventually ranout of paint and air, so the round was over.

Review
this gun is Fairly accurate with anarchy and a VERY scratched stock barrel
it was fun enought o make me start crusing ebay for one

this gun is loud, this can either be good or bad

i used a remote, so the gun wasnt too heavy, just heavy enough to make the noise and slight recaoil make you think you are in an action movie
Conclusion: BUY it get an ACT and maybe you will not chop
get some anarchys they are good
but if you get monster balls, you might as well get out your ball peen and put some major dents in the barrell
worth every penny,,,,,,,in used condition

i give it a nine because i dont really believe in 10s.....but if your not gonna buy it because of this, then yes it is a 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikeh9292 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Custom Pro- This was my friends old gun.It's not worth to spend the extra money on this, just get the 98.
Spyder Mr1.- They're both very similar. Great guns. But I would choose my Mr1 over the 98 I rented.( Old rental,scratched up, completely stock)
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr1
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel.

Or if you're into the Response trigger it can help.
Strengths: Very tough. Can take a beating.
Comfortable.
Reliable.
Upgradeable.
Rarely breaks balls.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel.
Review: My first 5 times I went paint balling with my friends I rented. This gun was great! My local field rents these guns out and they've been pretty beat up. Kids dropping them on rocks, in mud and puddles and everything and this gun still performed great. My first time going I was like the typical first timer staying back. So with the 8 inch stock barrel after a fair distance the balls started to curve. But this would be fixed with a new barrel. But further into my day after I got bunkerd and got used to the feeling of being hit I started to move up further with my team. And this gun had amazing accuracy at shorter distances.( About 35 feet approximately-) This gun showed me great times. Throughtout my 5 times paintballing with a 98 I have probably thrown 4000 balls and I can only recall about 5 balls breaking. That's AMAZING!
Conclusion: Get a new barrel and this gun is gold. This is a great gun. Takes a beating and still performs. This gun is worth getting for sure.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 6th, 2007 at 5:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

James Weese Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Intimidator, which broke A LOT of balls.
Marker Setup: Just a Stock 98 for now.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel. I don't have any real complaints about the stock barrel, no stock barrel is ever very good from what I can tell.
Strengths: Durable, Upgradable, Black, Rarely Breaks Balls even with the stock barrel
Weaknesses: Long
Review: I've been using this gun for a few months, and I can't say I have any realy complaints. It's a bit long which makes it a little more difficult to maneuver in tight spaces. There is more than enough good to counterbalance that though. It's black which makes it wonderful for night games, it's extremely durable I've dropped it about ten times and the only issues I've had is the mud in the barrel afterwards. It's easy to squeegee even with the barrel on, all you have to do is take the hopper off (make sure you're holding it at and angle so the paint doesn't fall out) and run the squeegee through there. It's also a very customizable gun since it's so popular. Almost every company makes parts for it. I've probably shot about 3000 paintballs out of it so far and I've had about 5 of them break on me, thoughof course any gun will break cheap paint so don't expect to buy Brass Eagle paint and get good results.It's accuracy isn't great, nor is it terrible, it would be better with a longer barrel, possibly a Smart Parts Progressive.
Conclusion: I think it's a great gun, especially for beginners. If you don't plan on going to something more expensive you can just customize it as you go.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilpete101 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman a5is good but nos as good as this
Marker Setup: Just stock with double trigger kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
double trigger kit
Strengths: Power accuracy and lovely shape never goes wrong
Weaknesses: Loud thats it
Review: Well the tippman 98 custom act is a fantastic gun with unlimetd upgrade ability every thing you buy will fit on the 98 and it can becom the most fantastic marker you will ever ever us buy this gun becaue you van take it to tournaments and whip their asses just like i have yeehah this gun is the best gun ever buy this gun thats an order.
Conclusion: Fab amazing brilliant
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

shortguydave Saturday, May 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: rental, all stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, bolt, e-trigger, electro hopper(if you get the e-trigger)
Strengths: Reliable, accurate, uprgradable, you can find them anywhere
Weaknesses: Crappy stock barrel, chops paint, heavy, and has minor kick
Review: Ive only rented this gun at my local field. it is a decent rental gun, but the stock barrel was terrible, it affected the accuracy too much. the gun also is too heavy to play speedball with. it chopped field paint twice but it was still pretty accurate ( as it can be w/ stock barrel). This gun is uber reliable and good for new players like me, but upgrade at least the barrel and bolt
Conclusion: It's a good gun, just get a better barrel and bolt
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a-5tippman Saturday, May 5th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
4 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5
Marker Setup: 98 custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
Strengths: Its accurate it looks good and it never chops paint i just love it.
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: I have benn using this gun every since i started plain paintball and i have loved it it has every thing i want because i love to pretend that im in the army when i play and i also love using a stock a-5 barrel on it. Also I love it because i put alot of upgrades in it that are not necessary and just make it look like militay gun and i also love playin with a 20 pound gun after i add the army barrel on it i say this gun is number 1 its the best.
Conclusion: Buy it just buy it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

zacziggie Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion- Blows it away.
Spyder Pilot- Better, but less durable.
Spyder Electra- Much, Much better.
Tippman A-5- Better than the 98, faster, too.
DM 4/5/6-...
PM 4/5/6/R/7-...
(Many other electronic guns)
Marker Setup: PMR- Ul Frame, UL Trigger, UL Barrel, Virtue Board
Halo- Victory 35
60/4500 Carbon Fiber
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel.
An E-Grip.
Strengths: Very Durable
Rather Cheap
Tippmann Made
Easy to shoot
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Slow BPS rate
Unaccurate with stock barrel
Kick
Review: The Tippmann 98 is a great gun for beginners. I personally prefer a Spyder as a beginning gun, but those are less readily available. The price is somewhat overpriced, but as you know, you get what you pay for in the paintball world. As far as price goes, you're better off with a Spyder.

A lot of people generally assume that Tippmanns are guns for "Noobs". This is true, many newer and younger players buy Tippmanns as their first guns, but for new players, this is a good gun.

My first gun was this gun, and I used it for a month before a man at the field offered me a Spyder Electra for 130 dollars. Now, within that month, it preformed beautifully. No problems, and durable as hell. I played woodsball every Saturday, for 7 hours at a time, and this puppy took it well.

Chopping - This thing will cut balls a lot more than electronic markers, or even some of the other low-end mechanical markers, but this will clean them out with a few more shots. However, if you're playing woodsball, this could be a problem.

Speed - Slow. 4 balls per second is my guess at max. Especially with the single trigger, you're finger will be bruised if you fire fast with this. In woodsball, this won't matter much.

Looks - Looks somewhat like a military gun, but this is what the mainstream people think of when they hear about "paintball".

Durability - It's a tank. This has been battered, beaten, and manhandled. It still preformed flawlessly, with only a few cosmetic scratches and chips.

Efficiency - Pretty good, i could get off a hopper and three pods from a 20 oz Co2 tank.

Price - Probably overpriced, but not much can compare to the durability. Beginners usually treat their guns recklessly without realizing it, and this was made to take that kind of abuse.

Popularity - The gun is very popular among first time players, and some might consider that bad. If it is popular, they must sell a lot of these guns, and that's always good.

This gun if a wonderful gun for a beginner, but if you play speedball, this would most likely not be the right gun for you. Also, if you're on a tight budget, this is fitting.
Conclusion: If you are new, and would like something that preforms and still is durable til it's last breath, buy this gun. Spyders are less durable, but generally better guns. (They're also much faster (the electronic ones anyways))
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 30th, 2007 at 1:57 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

corey08 Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, variety of spyders, autococker trilogy, and the a5
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 all stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
-a new trigger
-depends on what you like
-maybe a new barrel
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Hopper is on the side
-Cheap
-Reliable
Weaknesses: -Trigger
-Kind of loud
-Tightening of hopper
Review: I just got this marker at academy today. I wanted a gun that was cheap, reliable, and pretty good. I was going to get the autococker trilogy for 99$. Im very glad i didn't. I got the tippmann 98 custom package which included a mask (descent) , 9 ounce c02 (went ahead and got a 20 ounce), the stock marker, and some tools. i got that all for 170 $.when i got home i opened it up, by the looks and feels of it i already loved it. it was light, i like that cause im smaller. and the design was great. when i went to put the hopper on it wouldn't fit then i got a little confused . then i saw there was an allen wrench adjuster for the hopper i adjusted it and got the hopper on the the top bolt thing wouldn't go back on when i was tightening it. i finally got it all assembled in maybe 5 minutes. i went in my backyard and started to shoot trees, i was amazed by the performance of the gun. it was shooting incredibly hard and so very accurate. i aimed all the way across my yard at a skinny tree and i hit it, it was about 75 ft away. i couldn't get it to shoot very fast but it was very easy to pull the trigger and it didn't pull back very far. my friend came over with his autococker trilogy to compare the guns. by far the 98 was more accurate and had Way more distance. the only thing better on the trilogy was the speed and it still wasn't that great. my sister got home and loved my gun she wanted to shoot it so i let her, after she shot it she said it was boring shooting trees she wanted to shoot someone, so i thought who cares what damage can she do to me she probably has no aiming skills at all. i put the mask on and walked out there. i ran across the yard and she started to shoot when i was about 30 feet away she shot me 4 times when i was at a full sprint . i was amazed that the accuracy was that great. when i got up to the porch i had 4 bruises and scars from where i was hit .
Conclusion: I LOVE THIS GUN i reccomend it to anyone who is looking to spend not alot and have a good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iginla227 Thursday, April 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader orion semi automatic
Marker Setup: viewloader orion
brass eagle hopper
nxe barrel bag
jt mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
Strengths: Tough,Durable
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: the first time i went paintballing i didn't have a gun so i rented one of these. It worked well and shot straight. I actually got a couple of hits. I like the gun, its tough and durable
it is perfect for a rental. cause If your gonna rent you don't really need a smart parts ion
with a viewloader vlocity hopper(although it would be nice). It is the gun you should get if you want to "customize" it
Conclusion: Its a great gun, reasonable price, toughest and most durable gun out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

coconut18 Wednesday, April 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years40 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra- Great gun, solid performer. But I like the look and feel of the 98 better.
Tippmann 68-carbine- Tippmann, what else do you need to hear?
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
*14 inch J&J Ceramic Barrel
*Ricochet Apache hopper
*Double Trigger
Soon to come......
Cyclone Feed
Flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
* New Barrel, since stock barrel is only 8 inches and is inaccurate
Strengths: *Cheap
*Solid Construction
*Can take a beating
*Easy Maintenace
*Many people own one
Weaknesses: *I haven't had any problems with this marker yet.
Review: I have been playing paintball for 10 years now, and I have been using this gun for the past 3 years. I have played in 110 degree heat, 35 degree cold, in the rain, and dropped it in the dirt. This gun never has broken, I have never chopped a ball in the gun.

+Problems: After 3 years of product use, I have never experienced a problem with this gun. Just keep it well maintained and it will take care of you on the field

+Maintenance: Very easy to disassemble/reassemble, it only takes about 5 minutes or less. It comes apart in 2 halves, and doesn't have that many moving parts.

+Chops: I have never chopped a ball in this gun. The only ball breaks that I have ever experienced was in the barrel. Yes, a ball can break in the barrel if the barrel is has a small bore and the paintball is large bore which can squeze the ball until it breaks. OR If the barrel has a really large bore and the ball is small bore which can cause the ball to bang into the inside of the barrel and depending on the strength of the ball it will break.

+Upgrades: There are many upgrades out there to turn your marker into whatever you want it to be. It can be turned into a really fast speedball marker, or a perfect sniper marker in woodsball.

+Everyone in woodsball seems to own one: This is great, because if you ever have a problem with the marker just ask almosy any of these guys and they can help.

+Accurate: With a 14 inch J&J Ceramic barrel, with correct paint/barrel match I have hit a target at 100ft. with a 9 inch grouping of shots. Stock barrel is to short and needs to be a priority upgrade.

+Reliable: I have never had a problem with reliability. Every game I have played this marker has worked perfectly.

+I am giving this gun a 10 due to it's price, performance, my experience with it's use, and availiablity of upgrades.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this product to anyone from beginner to pro, because this gun is cheap, easy to upgrade, and is a solid performer. You CAN"T go wrong with a Tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 25th, 2007 at 6:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media