paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  197  |  198  |  199  |  200  |  201  |  202  |  203  |  Last
        Next Page
JStell44 Thursday, January 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All kinds of Spiders, Vengeance Autocockers, WGP Autocockers.
The Tippman 98 is probably one of the best markers that I have ever used.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Tippman X-chamber kit
Tippman Response Trigger Kit
J&J ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response Trigger, J&J ceramic Barrel
Strengths: Extremely durable, reliable, easy to afford marker
Extremely Accurate
Easy to Maintain and upgrade
Is very easy on CO2-about 900 shots on a 20oz
Me and 2 friends all originally started out with tippmanns. Its an excellent marker for any paintballer (newbie, Veteran, etc.) We all put so many upgrades on them and they were extremely accurate. Finnally though me and my other friend decided to upgrade to autocockers. We both invested $550 into one and it was the worst mistake we ever made. First of all their just plain difficult. Second of all they didn't even come close to being accurate as our tippmanns. I was really mad and was sorry I had bothered in spending all that money in an autococker.
Weaknesses: I've shot many expensive paintball markers and I can tell you that this marker is just as good. The only really bad thing i eyeballed is that if you're new to the tippmann you shouldn't take it apart. I had to learn that the hard way. There's about a thousand little tiny pieces.
Conclusion: Other than all the small pieces to it this is probably the best marker you can get for your money anywhere. Just remember what I said about wishing I had my Tippmann back after buying an autococker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vjeon Wednesday, January 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
have used autococker but dont really knwo which one......it was a friends
Marker Setup: own a tippman custom 98 w/ smart parts 14" progressive barrel. i have also made with 1/4" thick aluminum, a 2" drop and 3" forward (drop forward) and it works just perfectly and costed me nothing to make. i cant believe people spend $50+ on drops....sheesh. i also use the 3000psi pure energy tank and stock everything else. I'm using a romote to my ass pod pack so my over all length of the marker is pretty small and sleek. DO NOT GET A 14" BARREL AND NOT GET A DROP FORWARD AND A REMOTE>>> TOO LONG!!!
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would definetely get a 12" barrel. the 14" is a little long but i still like it. CO2 licks so get compressed air. um.....i would also get or make a drop forward because the tippmann stock 98 is sort of ugly and the drop forward makes it look real good. FOR SNIPERS: get the flatline barrel. its a lot of bucks but if you snipe, its damn good. dont get a folding stock and keep the tank on teh back.... taht means you'll basically have two rifle butts. its ugly and combersome. i would personally use a remote, folding stock, flatline or 14" barrel and a partridge in a pear tree. FOR SPEEDBALLERS: stock marker with compressed air tank. MAYBE.... reactive trigger.
Strengths: DAMN CHEAP!! this gun was all i could afford. BUT it is pretty good for 250 Canadian (166 approx US). it comes with a hopper which is good. what i really like is teh simplicity of design. in that i mean: low maintenance, easy to disassemble, easy to clean, and incredibly strong. i like to compare this gun to an AK 47 because the AK is known to be still useable after a sherman tank runs it over. it has a flat silver or black finish which is good for bush ball and has a front grip that looks pretty life like. my office staff saw me bring this gun to work and they almost had a heart atttack because w/o the hopper and tank, it look pretty real. like: single trigger, adjustable sights, looks, feel, and price. OH YEAH!!!! i have never broke a ball. EVER!
Weaknesses: i used this gun in a outdoor field with heavy bush with the stock barrel. every single shot curved slightly after 30'......i missed 25%% of first shot targets because of this (very disconcerting). i was using diablo midnight balls, no wind, no rain. THerefore, the stock 8.5" barrel sucks harsh!!! The gun is also overall pretty long. the front grip is about 6" forward from teh grip. making the overall length of tehmarker about 2'. the stock hopper doesnt feed as smoothly as teh marker shoots (blanks). using my 14" smart parts, i overlapped three balls at 50' HELL YEAH!!!!
Conclusion: i would buy this marker again if i had to do it over again. with the right upgrades this gun is lethal! im talking more accurate that a stock angel. it shoots good and is really reliable for woods shooting. i would not recommend it for speedball due to its size but its the #1 choice for outdoor players on a budget. my rating is based on a 100%% perfect gun (which doesnt exist) being 10. i gave it a seven becasue it desperately needs upgrades. compared to anything else for teh same price i give it a 20/10. NOTE: if you have the money GET THE A5!!!!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DarkOnE12321 Wednesday, January 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Marker Setup: 20 Ounce co2 with 21" CMI Tru Flight Loco Barrel, With Drop Forward Kit, and Double Trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrell, and maybe a double trigger upgrade.
Strengths: The good is everything almost, not very many balls break, and it's very accurate, the stock barrell unlike other stock barrels is a pretty good barrel.
Weaknesses: Not really that much besides the fact the if a paintball breaks you gotta use an allen key to open it to clean it.
Conclusion: Buy this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TremorPB Monday, January 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Rebels, etc, but they dont compare!
Marker Setup: •Tippmann 98 Custom
•Lapco Bigshot Alluminum 12 inch
•Pyscho Ballistics Drop Forward
•Pyscho Ballistics 8 Stage X - Core
•Double Trigger
•12 vt. Revvy w/ Xboard
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel is must since the stock barrel is crap.
An expansion chamber is wise to keep that liquid CO2 out of the gun.
Anything that makes your Tippmann easier to shoot, more accurate.
Check out my setup (above), it blows away most mid priced gun (300-400).
Strengths: This gun is very reliable! I have never had a major problem with it. I

If you clean it after every game, oil any moving parts, etc, youll be fine.

You can buy it just about anywhere, even Sports Authority (dont go there)

You can upgrade these things to an extreme! (which i would recomend)

They are great starter guns. Dont buy a spyder for your first gun, they will break.
Weaknesses: They suck out of the box. Theyre great guns, but you have to upgrade them alot.

They have a reputation of being a newbie gun, but I have shot out many people with it. I have used it in a local NTS Tournament and have been able to compete with people w/ angels, so that actually not a bad thing for me. :-)
Conclusion: This is a great gun. If your just getting started in paintball, this is a wise buy.

From newbies to even amateur (Tippmann Effect won the IAO 7 man using tippmanns), these are great guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j_watsy2003 Monday, January 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angels, Spiders, Autocockers, Other Tippmans, unfortunatly brass eagle stuff too. Trust me when i tell you this: I have used every gun out there.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom
14" DYE Boom Stick Barrel
Tippman Double Trigger Kit
ADCO Sure Shot Red Dot Scope
Tippman Rear Velocity Adjustor
Extreme Rage Timer Grip
9 oz. tank with butt-stock
(Considering Response Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Boom Stick barrel
Strengths: Highly upgradable, durable (built like a tank!), looks like a freakin machine gun (just be careful where you take it), menacing. With some upgrades like mine, it can be pretty itimidating.
Weaknesses: You may be thinking "Oh i need an electronic, I'll get killed with a semi-auto!". Listen, If you are a good enough player, you won't need a electro. People mostly use electros because they have lousy aim and have to fire ten rounds at a person just to get a decent hit, and trust me, most of the time, they still can't hit their target. Besides, it uses too much CO2 and paintballs, and you need to spend even more money on an electronic hopper (in short - electros are WAY OVER RATED). If you are still worried about it, Tippman makes an electronic system for the 98 Custom.
Conclusion: I'm a tournament player from way back, and out of the hundreds of guns I've used, this is probably the only gun I've ever used that can actually compete with the Angels and Autocockers. I've used both, and I kid you not, I think that the 98c is BETTER!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Joff Monday, January 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Site Inferno, site Spyder (both on CO2)
Marker Setup: 98c, stock barrel, Autofeed hopper, double trigger, no anti-syphon tube, no expansion chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a motorised hopper - possibly 9V Revvy (as most people sell them to upgrade to a 12V or a Halo) as you won't need a high bps rate with a stock 98c.
I'm still using the stock barrel and while it's not the best, it's better than some would have you believe - perhaps they should practice their technique a bit more...
Double trigger - my 98c was secondhand and it came with the double trigger already on, but I couldn't imagine playing without it now! It's far more flexible in that you can choose how you play the trigger.

I'm currently awaiting delivery of the following upgrades:
Hyper Starr bolt
32* Quiet Riot barrel (14")
Expansion chamber
Maddmann spring kit
Strengths: The reliability and the simplicity of it.

You screw in the CO2, fill a hopper and fire the marker.
I play a few walkons against others with everything from Spyders and Infernos up to Cockers, Angels and Timmy's - I'm one of the only ones that hasn't had to strip the marker during the day to breaks :)
Weaknesses: The range isn't great on my setup. I also fire clouds of CO2 (due to my lack of anti-syphon, etc and the random weather in the UK).

Tippmann International customer support is extremely lacking - I would consider an Inferno if you're in the UK and want to get spares and parts from a variety of places.

Take the marker apart for the first time - and I dare you not to be worried about where all the little pieces go :)
This is my first paintball marker so it's been a steep learning curve, but worth it.
Conclusion: For the price I paid for my secondhand marker I can't really complain - it's just a shame that there's not much help for Tippy owners in the UK from Tippmann or their UK importers :(

The gun itself is indestructible and will keep on firing no matter what you throw at it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

truthneverhype Sunday, January 12th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I shot a coulple other guns (Rebel, Spyder Genesis, Pirahna E-force, and a Black Magic 2002) Not that all of those guns are similar but anybody who owns one knows! Within it's Price range...There is nothing like a Tippmann 98!
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98, Full boar Shadow, Pro-Team Hyper star bolt, J&J Ceramic, Lapco Direct Feed, Ricochet AK, Dye Stickys, D.O.P. Pro1 Drop, Macroline kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel is a must....Motorized hopper...Expansion Chamber or Regulator...and Nitro for better shot to shot velocity. BUT, it shoots great right out of the box....If you like to upgrade like me the above are priority number one!
Strengths: >The Gun Shoots great right out of the box.....You really don't need anything for it! Some times it is just fun to make it yours (customize) So if you feel the need, do so.
>The gun is a tank...go ahead beat the crap out of it. Abuse it. Hurt it. (Don't enjoy it too much you sicko!) I'm tuff on my equipment but this gun is known for it's extremely rugged design. Most fields use these gun as rentals and everybody knows rentals take a beating.
>Great Balence, Great Feel. The gun has a miltary feel to it like a rifle. the balance is wonderful...even with a full hopper your arms rarely get tired.
>You have a sight rail. Most people overlook this feature. Makes aiming a breeze point aim and shoot.......no more guesswork with the vertical feeds.
>Low maintainence. I read some guy from team tippmann effect hasn't oiled or touched his gun since he started playing tounment ball. 1 plus years. Try doing that with a rebel, spyder, pirhana, etc. I just wash the paint off mine and I've never had any problems.
>Upgrades Everywhere! More upgrades than you can throw a stick at. Go ahead...make it your own. Add what you want and paint it. It will be one of a kind. Truly Custom.
>Great Customer Service. These guys are nice. They are good people and will work with you help you with any problem or questions you may have. Fast responses...if you have any problem at all.
>Maybe the Best Feature: Ball chops are so rare I've had one since I've own this gun. YES thats right ONE! I've put at least 10000 both premium and crappy house paint through the gun. That is unheard of.....I don't even own a squeegie!
Weaknesses: >A bit long for my taste. Too long for speedball when stock but a good drop foward will fix that though.
>A few plastic pieces. I have a strange plastic prejustice....I can't stand the stuff but there is very little on the gun that is plastic. And if you are like me you can replace most parts with metal ones like I did. (Delrin is plastic too!)
>Stock Barrel isn't great. Still It's not bad but tippmann put more time in it's stock barrel than spyder, pirhana, or 32 degrees.
>It's not pretty. In fact I think it's down right ugly. It has a very diffrent look to it. Not all the bells and whisles that you would see on most guns in it's price range.
>Pain in the rear to field strip. You better pack a lunch.....
Conclusion: If you want a shiny piece of crap with bells and whistles, buy a Sypder...Clone or ext. I don't care what anybody says: Polish a turd all you want it's still a turd.
If you want quailty for a great price, buy a tippmann. It's not pretty like most but You will not be disappointed. Trust me. Probably the best starter gun you could get a player just begining in the game. They are fun to upgrade with easy to install drop in parts and you couldn't find a better marker for the price!
Everything Considered....I give it a 9 because of the field strip time. But you many never have to. I recommend to all novice players.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBaller13 Saturday, January 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Many different Spyders, Brass Eagle.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c- 14" SP All American barrell, Tippmann X Chamber,
32 Degrees Star Fire Bolt, rear velocity adjuster, rocket cock, Tippmann
double trigger, silenced and polished intenals, and a 20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A nice barrell right from the start.... then possibly an expansion chamber
and a rocket cock. Don't put too much $ into this gun.
Strengths: Intergrity- This marker was built to last.
Price- Pretty cheap even after a few select upgrades.
Low Maintenance- Give it some oil and your good for the next few outings.
Looks- Unless your into those girly, rainbow brite looking guns, this one looks
good and keeps you from standing out.
Performance- Works awesome right out of the box
Service- Those nice people at Tippmann always help you out with
questions and send parts out if you need them.

Weaknesses: -The marker is a tad long, but that can be adjusted.
-A little loud....but it can be silenced quite a bit.
-The first time you field strip might be a little overwhelming.
-Its easy to waste your money (I did) on a lot of little upgrades that don't make much difference.
-Possibly a bit heavy, but now i'm being picky.
Conclusion: I can't say enough good things about it. I play rough and sometimes I don't
always want to maintain things every day.....don't have to worry about that
with this marker. As I said, its easy to go crazy with upgrades. I went cheap
on my first barrell....big mistake. If you put too much into it, you defeated its
purpose. Start with something better if thats your intentions.....maybe an A-5.
Its definately worth the money.....its obviously not the best out there, but it
can defiantely hang.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TippmannMan14 Saturday, January 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a couple of Brass Eagles but they don't even compare to the Tippmann.
Marker Setup: I don't have any upgrades yet.
Strengths: 1. Very accurate
2. Light
3. Its Comfortable
4. Fast fire rate
5. Looks cool
6. Very durable
Weaknesses: Not much to say. The only thing I can think of is that it only has a lingle trigger and I like a double. But thats no big deal.
Conclusion: I recommend you get this product. Its a great gun and its cheap. Good for experienced and un experienced players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deehrhead Friday, January 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranahs and stingray II - not as good
tippmann pro/carbine and spyders - about the same
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom w/RT, rocket cock, sling, expansion chamber, firestar bolt, Ricochet AK hopper, pro-team 14" forend w/front sight, rear sight, and car stock. Plus remote 4+1 harness and a sling. Zeus G2, spare clip and a holster for a secondary.
Recommended
Upgrades:
anything you want, it is there. but to be honest stock will work fine
Strengths: Great gun!
Weaknesses: Nothing abosolutely nothing, if ur a rifleman this is the marker you want.
Review: this is a great gun, i got it in, tried it out with about 100 rounds just for some light shooting. the next morning i put 500 rounds through it with 3 different types of balls and didnt have a single break. the stock barrel is short but it is never the less accurate. the gun doesnt make the shooter, i'm a big hunter and shooter and right out of stock this gun will do just about anything i want. i still cant wait til i get my upgrades into it to make it even better.
Conclusion: This gun is a must buy, and so is any other tippmanns. go out buy it. its that simple
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 26th, 2004 at 10:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  197  |  198  |  199  |  200  |  201  |  202  |  203  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media