paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  201  |  202  |  203  |  204  |  205  |  206  |  207  |  Last
        Next Page
riderman Saturday, December 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e99 and tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: Spyder e99 with dye ultralight barrel and a mako bolt and ricachet ak hopper and a remote

Tippmann A-5 with 16inch sniper barrel and a response trigger and expansion chamber

Tippmann custom 98 with 16inch sniper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and a response trigger
Strengths: works great. looks cool and is a great beginner gun never chops paint and is really good.
Weaknesses: grips are pretty wide and it is pretty loud and it has a long trigger pull
Conclusion: great overall gun and it is made by a great company and i would recommend this gun to begginers getting in to the sport.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

morty Thursday, December 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nada
Marker Setup: 98 custom
16'' cp barrel
expo with vertical adapter
voodoo folding stock
reaction trigger
spee T cocker
12 ounce tank
ballistic 7'' drop forward
double trigger
power feed
m16 sight rail
12 volt revy
(is that enough for you???)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel is a MUST!!!
reaction trigger is nice
drop forward is a MUST!!! think big (7'')
Strengths: it is unbreakable!!!
it is cheap!!!
it is accuarate with a proper aftermarket barrel
it looks kool
tippmann has great customer service
it is very upgradable
it is sooooo comfy
Weaknesses: it is heavy. but this is ok if your not a little girl. real guns are heavy too but you dont hear soldiers complain!!!
it is loud. this can be annoying if you are the sniper type. but once again its nothing a new barrel wont fix
it is pretty much crap right out of the box
Conclusion: great gun all around!!!!!!!!!!!!!! for a beginer or a pro. it can easily be the best gun on the field with a little time and a little money. i love it and i still upgrade. its kinda like my hobby.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Klinty Wednesday, December 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray 2 Ice (I have nothing against the stingray!) Rebel LE (Decent), Tippmann 68 Carbine (Decent)
Marker Setup: M98
Smart Parts All American 2 Peice 14" Barrel
12 Oz. Co2 Tank
& 4 X 15 daisey bb gun scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on your taste
Strengths: Not only is the gun very good out of the box, but it can be customized to keep up with a lot of more expensive guns too. ($500 and less). It's fairly cheap for what you get, lots of upgrades available, looks good, plus, even though it's probably the most widely used marker nowadays, no two decked out tippmanns are alike!
Weaknesses: Mine had a lot of problems, but they were probably my fault, first the bolt whouldn't re-cock, but that was because I had the velocity up too high and it wedged out some scres, also was that I diddn't oil it, so it fired sluggish and eventually the valve went out on me, which I may add, tippmann fixed for free!
Conclusion: I gave this marker a perfect 10 because it has never let me down unless it was my fault, and it is a good newbie marker that, if you're brave enough, you can play some local tourneys with!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

greg445 Wednesday, December 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, it's at the top of it's class
Marker Setup: silver 98 custom
32 degrees sticky grips
physco ballistics drop forward w/ dye mini gauge
micro hose
14" smart parts all american barrel
physco ballistics double trigger
tippman expantion chamber
tippman response trigger
physco ballistics rear volocity adjuster
12v rev. clear hopper
physco ballistics bolt
smart on/off valve
anti-syphon
20 oz. 12oz. tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
drop forward
expantion chamber
RT trigger
hone gun
Strengths: The marker never fails. The 98 custom is the most reliable marker I have ever owned. The modifications that can be done to it are endless. Also the price is right.
Weaknesses: Nothing bad about this marker except the stock barrel.
Conclusion: It is great for a first marker and even better for a back up marker.
It's the best gun in it's class.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bam87 Tuesday, December 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder shutter
black dragun basic
jt 5.0
spyder e99
spyder sonix
vl triton
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom smart parts 14 inch teardrop vl xboard revvy 12oz aluminum remote line harness x chamber 2x trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
decent barrel to quiet it down, with the stock its purty loud. a harness is helpful cause it lightens things up
Strengths: -its worth every penny. i paid 123 bucks for this and im glad i did. its accurate, and with my teardrop its quieter than any other semi blow back ive ever heard. in fact i shot it once and my friend who wasnt lookin didnt even know i shot it till he saw the paint break on a rock (we were test firing in a dry creek, not playing a game). It's very durable, and rugged. It's capable of shooting pretty darn fast. Theres a lot of things you can do to modify it and upgrade it. It's setup for those drop in kits that you can get from TIppmann
Weaknesses: Things are a pain in the butt to add in. Taking apart the gun alone was a hassle for me. One end would click together but the other wouldnt, the front sight spring would pop out and itd take me a minute to find the lil thing. Basically its just kinda rough to take apart and put back together. but when you get those upgrades in its well worth it.
Conclusion: Excellent gun for what you pay for, many things available on the market to make it different. Yeah, tons of people may have 'em but thats cause its sucha great gun. You pay 120 or so bucks and get a quality marker, especially for a beginner. I know two newbies that bought em and theyre rockin with them
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

terriblesoldier Monday, December 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
indian creek puma....a good newbie gun..
Marker Setup: -Tippman 98 custom
-Response trigger
-Double trigger
-Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward
-68ci 3000psi Nitro
-Starr fire bolt
-CP 12in barrel
-VL revolution with X-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
Strengths: this gun is tight....its probably the deadliest looking when its all tricked out........or if its not its still awesome...if u have the black one its great for woods play....very reliable..its never jammed on me yet...broke a couple of balls but that was with crappy paint and stock barrel
Weaknesses: well you have to buy it, air and paint to have a blast
Conclusion: this product got me through some rough times..but it hasn't failed me yet..so i suggest it to anybody who wants to get in to paintball..or if your looking for a really fun, cheap gun that will get you out of anything and bring you out on top
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikaspyder Monday, December 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle avenger
some of the worse spyders
tippmann A5
procarbine
Marker Setup: sPyDeR E99
47ci pmi nitro tank
psychoballistics drop froward
10 inches of ss hose
j&j cermic barrel
cmi thunder pig barrel (18)
20 smart parts antisiphon w/ on/off
12 volt revy with Xboard
1 millimeter trigger job
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a new barrel, and if u really like this marker, get a drop, xchamber or a regulator, maybe a flatline
Strengths: its cheap, reliable, i rarely see one break, my spyder has more problems. the price, easy maintance, service
Weaknesses: without a flatline or a longer barrel, this thing has no accuracy, i freaken balls arch when shot. i have more acuracy with a blow gun or a slingshot. its heavy when you actually get some upgrades on it.
Conclusion: this marker is great for anyone who just started paintballing. its easy to maintane, and rarely breaks. this os a great marker for people are that are anxious to starts paintballing. on the other hand, me being a spyder fan, ii rather propose getting a spyder because you can get many more after market upgrades and parts for them, and for cheaper.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dkdexter0023 Monday, December 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
my crappy rebel
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom 98, pmi hopper, smart parts big daddy 16 in........gettin double trigger and front grip soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel and maybe some other stuff like a trigger, front grip
Strengths: cheap, shoots straight and hard, easy to clean, not complicated

every one thinks tippmannns suck but they dont i have gotten a lot of people out with this gun( my big daddy is helpful to) and all of them have expensive guns...
Weaknesses: stock barrel is all can think of
and some of the plastic parts like the front grip the trigger and some more parts in the inside but nothing bad has happend yet so its all cool
Conclusion: real good gun for the price and i got me a lot of kills with this beast

i love my tippmann

i got my tippmann and big daddy barrel for only 180, thas pretty good......

So i give this reliable gun a solid 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jose Sunday, December 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL Plus(not as good)
Bone Daddy RG(not even close)
Viewloader Genesis Surge 1 and 2(Don't get me started)
Sheridan XTS Nemesis(not as good)

Marker Setup: M98 Custom w/ 14" Smart Parts Progressive, Rocket Cock, Starr Fire bolt, 32 degrees flames drop forward, Tippmann expansion kit, E-dot sights, Tippmann response trigger, Double trigger and 20oz CO2 w/ on/off and antisiphon.
Recommended
Upgrades:
all of the above barrel first
Strengths: Great accuracy
So very reliable
Amazing for the price
Extremely upgradeable
light
looks good
Weaknesses: hard to field strip (very long to do but not impossible at all)
stock barrel is onle 8 1/2 inces and horrible
thats all really
Conclusion: Very Very nice gun. Certrainly above average I love it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NemeS!S Sunday, December 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
BE tigershark Really sux
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 C
SP Teardrop 12" Barrel
X-Pasion Chamber
Shocktech D/F
Recommended
Upgrades:
x-chamber
new barrel
Drop forward
nitro
Strengths: nice gun
-accuracy
-range
-feeling-
-easy techins good for beginners
- good price...and nice customizable and upgradable
-good service and its a tippmann itsays all
Weaknesses: loud fix it with a new barrel
long.fix it with a Drop forward
gasineffective( about 700 shots out of 180z)
Conclusion: nice gun the 2 problems above can be fixed....
gasinffeciency int that bad.
NICE GUN!!!
BUY IT !!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  201  |  202  |  203  |  204  |  205  |  206  |  207  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media