paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  203  |  204  |  205  |  206  |  207  |  208  |  209  |  Last
        Next Page
falcon333 Thursday, November 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i dunno
Marker Setup: custom98, 20oz co2, 200rnd loader, expansion chamber, response trigger,
and soon to be 21" sniper barrel...
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber or a new barrel would definately be the first upgrades u should think about. Then look into extra stuff like a respnse trigger, etc.
Strengths: This gun will shoot accurate and far with a low trajectory right out of the box. This is definately one of those guns that you wont get laughed at using... (look how many interviews there are for this marker just on this site). This gun is definately one of the best markers in its pricerange
Weaknesses: it is a little loud, but a new barrel will fix that problem. it is also hard to field strip so any drop-in kits u get for this gun, take to ur local dealer and let them do it. trust me its worth it.
Conclusion: Over all this is a great gun for newbies. Once upgraded, this will be a pretty hard gun to beat.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jacobob57 Tuesday, November 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray nothing else
Marker Setup: Black Tippmann 98 Custom
Black 14 in. CP One Piece
Black Dead on Paintball Xcore 8 stage
Black Dead on Paintball Universal Drop Foward
Black 12 volt Revvy w/ X-Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel - I reccomend a one piece barrel such as CP, Dye, System X, J&J, ect., if u do go two piece get a boomstick, most accurate 2 piece for tippy
Drop Foward - Prefference, but I would highly reccomend trying one out, if u get one i suggest a long one, because the tippy is a long marker in the first place, it has made a world of difference to me
X-Chamber - If u run co2, but not neccesary
Revvy - get one, there is always a use even if u have a stock tippy, keeps balls moving, no blank shots, and if u upgrade to different gun, u will need one
Strengths: RELIABLE - I can't say enough about this, tippy's are built like tanks, u most likely will have 0 problems, except with o-rings
Accurate - with new barrel, the tippy can be very accurate
Best starter marker - very basic marker, doesn't have many problems, easily upgraded, can be tinkered with if ur into tinkering

BEST MARKER FOR A NEWB
Weaknesses: nothing really, i've only had macroline problems nothing else, just make sure u oil after every 2-3 times u've played
one complaint, without a drop extremely long gun
Conclusion: BEST NEWB MARKER, if u r thinking of getting into paintball, go with the custom 98, very reliable and durable, easily upgradeable, great marker for getting into paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonesycc Monday, November 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
I have only tested other peoples guns, but the 98 Custom has proven the better, mind you, they were all cheaper, I have never shot a 1500$ gun.
Marker Setup: I have, at this moment, no upgrades, which I plan on changing.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I am going to get the Flat-Line system, that is a must for anyone I think, but it mainly for long range shooting, but who doesnt want that. If I can, the Cyclone Feeding system is really nice, too.
Strengths: I have only broken one ball in my barrel, and that was because of the ball, long story. I have shot at least 1000 rounds and have had NO problems. Completely customizable, which is great, Flat-Line here I come. My range is good right now and served well when I played, its nice to have a reliable gun, and this is one IS.
Weaknesses: I dont think I can get the Cyclone Feeding system, other then that, its okaly dockaly. Ok, so there is one thing, so many stupid Alan Wrench screws, they are really annoying, but you can replace them with Philips screws, so its ok, if you really want to find the right size.
Conclusion: If you dont want to spend more than a fortune, buy this gun, it rocks. Customizable and durable, what more can you ask. It shoots straight up to around 100 feet, and with the Flat Line, 200 feet. You cant go wrong with this gun. During gameplay nothing is worse than having gun problems, eliminate then with a 98 Custom.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

harrisonpaint Thursday, November 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
whisper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
r / trigger
Strengths: use a good ball for the gun it will even improve i use 32 degrees competetion
and team colors or blaze. if ur going to change the barrel don't goo to very long one it will screw everything up on ur setup. go no longer then 14". it's very good on gas i can easily do 1600 paintball on a 20 oz. Co2 tank with out a problem.
there are so many changes that u can do it's unbelievable:
nitrogen
r / t
barrel
drop foward
alot of 32 degrees parts too
Weaknesses: don't try and be stupid by really tighten the screws they will be very hard to get out.
and there is not much more but watch very good when u go and take it apart somethings may go flying
Conclusion: if i were u i would be out there getting one right now instead of a cheap pump gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scott_1979 Tuesday, November 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL-68 (pump) The ultimate original pump gun, mine is busted after being over 12 years old but I could still send it to tippmann for repairs. It was a very reliable pump gun with minimal moving parts, the only hard part was adjusting the velocity, it needed to be field stripped to do so. I can't complain about this gun it was awesome and it was the very first large pump gun that I owned, I would not trade my expierence with the Tippmann SL-68 for anything. It's the gun that really got me started in paintball...
SL-68 2 (pump) An improved version of the classic, much easier to adjust velocity on this one, if you want a pump gun consider this gun especially if you can get a hold of a Lapco Bigshot barrel for it.
VM-68 Magnum (semi) This is the first gun that ever made me crap my pants when I was 14 years old. We all had pumps and this kid had this VM-68 it was awesome and extreamly accurate. Keep in mind this is when semi's were not a cool thing, they were sorta just coming out.
Splat master (pump) This was the first paintball gun I ever saw, shot, and was shot with, it's a classic sidearm.
PGP (pump) The first gun I ever owned was a PGP it was great ,and I hit the mark several times with it.
Bushmaster (pump) Back when bushmaster made a pump sniper gun this was a great marker of choice and it was easy to take a part as I remember. Very accurate.
Pro-Carbine (semi) This was a very intimidateing looking gun, the only complaint I have about it was when you broke a ball in the barrel the paint would leak out the porting and into the foregrip. Did I mention it was very bad ass looking?
Model 98 (semi) A great gun I shot one with a dye barrel and could hit soda cans from 60 feet away. This expierence with the model 98 is what led to me buying a custom 98 and sticking with the Tippmann Brand
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 with a 12in. Lapco Bigshot barrel and a remote w/20oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
12in. Lapco Bigshot barrel or similar barrel...
Strengths: The custom 98 is a very durable gun. I played paintball when it was still politically correct to call a marker a paint ball gun! We use to play in snow mobile helmets and we didn't know what the heck a chronograph was. Anyways my point is my friends and I were playing paintball before it was cool and the only thing there was to play was woods ball and not speedball. Tippmann makes a very good gun, I don't care for the flashy guns. Put it this way, if the S.W.A.T. team was going to play a game of paintball you know that they would be holding Tippmanns, there a very rugged gun and Tippmann backs what it claims with an excellent gun. I am not a newby to the sport and I I have been playing for over a decade and the Custom 98 is a great paint gun!
Weaknesses: I don't like how the buffer O-ring just floats in front of the end cap, at first I didn't know it did flaot so I took it apart and was like "what the heck is this?" but after some quick research I learned that it's supposed to just lay there and look like it fell off something. I also don't like the rubber bolt handle cover, it's the little rubber piece that you've probably lost after your first game of wood ball. The stock barrel is not as bad as everyone claims, but yes replace it. Other then those very minor things and the tiny sight spring that pops right off I love it. Be very careful when taking your gun apart especially if it's your first time. I don't reccommend doing it outside for the first time.
Conclusion: Beginner to expert (whatever an expert is?) get this gun if you want something solid. Buy this gun if you want a paint gun with some history behind it. Tippmann Custom 98 is a great marker. The SL-68 started my love affair with Tippmann guns and I feel confidant saying I will always own a Tippmann! This is great gun for the money about $120.00 expensive guns don't make great players and since a lot of people own those flashy expensive guns it's suddenly not so cool to own one. Point in case buy a Custom 98 show em your down to earth then make them beg for mercy and surrender with their autocockers in hand.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippycustom Monday, November 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pretty much all non-electro spyders.
Marker Setup: i have other setups but for the purpose of the review;
98 custom
double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel, double trigger (personal prefference) are a must, but if you plan on playing in the cold get a nitro tank
Strengths: see review
Weaknesses: see review
Review: Well i bought this gun used a little over a year ago. It worked fine for me, it put balls in the direction i wanted it to, and didnt chop very much at all. My biggest problem, was that i couldnt field strip it. when i did take it apart, there was a ton of pieces and i lost a few important pieces. Then i couldnt find them anywhere in any store untill recently. So i really couldnt use this gun for like 4 or 5 months. Another problem i had, was that it was slower then all of the other guns. Later on in the year, i bought an autococker so i just used this gun as a loaner to friends who came and played with us. it did the job.
Conclusion: In conclusion, you could buy a spyder for about the same price, and i recomend the spyder. I just didnt like haveing a disadvantage between me and the electro spyders.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 6th, 2003 at 7:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WoodPlaya Monday, November 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Double Trigger
Expansion Kit
200vl Hopper
Sight Rail
Rocket Cock
20oz Co2
TruFlight Barrel (soon to be changed)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, its too short. Also a rocket cock, it helps a lot with the dirt and crud that gets into your gun
Strengths: -Well if you threw it against a tree nothing would happen
-Realisitc Looking (looks like real gun)
-My friend put it under water and it still worked, so its waterproof
-Cheap Upgrades
-Lots of upgrades you can add-on
-A lot of variety, many stores carry the Tippmann

Weaknesses: -Kinda complicated when you take it apart, but you get use to it
-Loud, but that does not bother me.
-Color is plain, thats if you like em perdy colors
Conclusion: This is a kick ass gun, if you like to play in the woods this is your gun. It will last you a long time and it can always be better.

GET THIS GUN
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintBallDude78 Saturday, November 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
alot of other guns
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98c
-Smart Parts Progressive barrel(SHIBBY)
-Double Trigger
-Shocktech DropForward
-on/off adapter
-3000/68ci crossfire nitrogen tank
-12v Revy w/XBoard
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (Smart Parts Progressive Barrel) awesome
Double Trigger
12v revy if you can shoot fast
Don't get nitrogen for a tippmann unless you get the low pressure system because it doesn't do much! Just use Co2 until you get a new gun because its like $300 for nitro and low pressure so just save!
Strengths: -Shoots accurate with a new barrel(hehe) Hint: Progressive barrel
-indestructible I could through it on the ground and play a whole day with it without any problems *cough* *spyders suck* *cough*
-most customizable gun there is
-very good beginner gun
Weaknesses: nothin really except the stock barrel
Conclusion: This is the best beginner gun there is. Its indestructible and very cheap. I'm going to get an Impulse Vision for Christmas nad im gonna keep my tippy for my backup gun and most professionals think its very good too! I would but this gun if i just started its very low maintenance and indestructible. Buy this gun you newbies (lol). Remember we were all newbies once
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeremy Evans Saturday, November 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann pro carbien , A-5.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98w/ JaJ ceramic 14" barrle, cradle, exspansion chamber and rev hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a Barrle and wat ever there is so many upgrades for this Marker!!!
Strengths: Well lets see its acurate, very fast rate of fire, its smooth and has TIPPMANN'S awsome reliability. My 98 has been grate for me its rilly quiet and acurate allso I like its old school look.
Weaknesses: theres nothing bad about this marker other than the paint scratches easy wich every one knows but it dosn't rilly matter. Its not like the paint can be scrtched by a peice of cottun.
Conclusion: this gun is awsome I think its one of the most popular markers in the world. If you like old school looks and a gun you can beat up and dive in the dirt with and exspect it to still work this is defenetly the gun!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kloud11 Saturday, November 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix with Dye Boom 12oz Co2
Marker Setup: Model 98 Custom
20 oz Co2
Stock Barrel
View Loader Hopper
X-chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
CockRocket (Keeps it cleaner)
New Barrel (I'm looking - I heard the Flatline is good, along w/ Smart Parts All AMerican)
RT (Always cool to put out more shoots per second)
E-bolt (If you got the cash money it is a nice upgrade but I dont't think it is needed)
Remote/Stock (Not needed but makes it look like a Rifle and if thats what your going for then thats what you need)
Strengths: -Useable out of the book (I took it out, screwed in the Co2, and put a hopper on and started blasting away)
-Upgradable (Lots of upgrade, so many its hard to remember them all)
-Black (I like the fact it blends in the woods)
-Light Trigger (My dead granny could pull this trigger, but you dont have to worry about shooting your self because it wont go off if you just touch it)
-Inexpensive (about $250 when you make a first stage up grade, around $550 if you go for the pimped out look)
-Name (Tippmann is well know and give a nice warrenty)
-Tips (this might sound wierd but its nice to know that if you have a problem you can ask others on good ideas how to fix the problem and get recomandations on such things as new barrels)

Weaknesses: -Not Field Strippable (I heard how bad it is this first time you open the gun)
-Ok stock barrel (the barrel needs a upgrade, your first shoot always seems to fly 6 feet above where you point)
Conclusion: Great Gun!
Wroth getting if your a weekend warrior like my self and can't afford anything much more expensive!
I just love how you can upgrade it so much, it is very convient
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  203  |  204  |  205  |  206  |  207  |  208  |  209  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media