paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  205  |  206  |  207  |  208  |  209  |  210  |  211  |  Last
        Next Page
dan0685 Friday, October 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custo
14 inch DYE Excel barrel
20 oz co2 tank
DYE sticky grip (green)
Responsive Trigger (AWESMOE)
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel,thats it pretty much
Strengths: this marker can compete with the best of them.you just need a few upgrades like a new barrel and trigger or somethin and you'll do great.for $120 , its a great buy.this gun is very accurate with just the stock barrel but when i put my 14 inch excel barrel on it , it can beat anyone.
Weaknesses: nothin' much except that the stock barrel is a tad loud.but for anything else , NOTHING!
Conclusion: this gun is awesome for a beginner and for a veteran with a few upgrades.i reccomend this gun to any kind of paintball player , front or back player.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lord demoas Friday, October 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
i hope i use many guns like this.
Marker Setup: 200 hopper, 14 inch thunderpig thru-flight barrel, pointsight, for normal play, snipper scope for sniping, and laser sight for tatical. 14 ounc. co2 tank, custom made bi-pod for snipping
Recommended
Upgrades:
good barrel,electro thingy (forgot what its called), some sort of sight, nitro, hehe, everything u can get your greesy little hands on.
Strengths: good fell, the front handle feels nice and smooth in your hands, the factory barrel is farally good in acuracy, but of course i only used brass eale balls untill now, damn them to hell, it would be easyer to list the bad about this gun so, read on my son...
Weaknesses: nothing really, i like this gun alot, its my baby...............it shoots alittle off to one side accasonally, but thats with factory barrel, but it doesn't that far off, this is the perfect gun for someone upgrading from a cheap semi-auto like the brass eagle samuri,( read my reveiw on it) damn them to hell.
Conclusion: ood gun could be better, not the best the world has ever seen, but i like it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sw187 Thursday, October 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
regular model 98, spyders tl + and compact 200, core sharc (POS)
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98 custom, 2x trigger, 14' JJ ceramic barrel, x-core expansion chamber, ricochet ak hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a new barrel, the JJ ceramic is very nice, I havent even considered getting a different one yet because mine works so well. 2x trigger is good if u want to shoot fast, I think it actually made my trigger pull a little lighter and shorter.
Strengths: -Very Accurate
-Durable and reliable
-Never chops balls (I have NEVER, in probably 30,000 shots, chopped a ball with this gun)
-Easy to maintain (And all of u little F@#&'s who are too retarded to open up ur tippmann and oil it, or think u need a "mechanical background" to open up a tippmann should go play with squirt guns or nerf guns) I had no problems taking my gun apart to oil it, the internals are VERY simple, all the parts are in one tube.
Weaknesses: -I disagree when people say customs are good for upgrading, because it takes a lot of time to install stuff such as the x chamber and the 2x trigger. I think putting parts on a spyder is much easier.
-Can't be field stripped
-low CO2 efficiency (get the x chamber)
-stock barrel is horrible
-heavier than most other co2 blowbacks
Conclusion: This is a great gun for all levels of players. Compared to other guns in its price range, it is definitely one of the best. If you are a new player, you should go with either this gun or a spyder. Tippmanns are more reliable and durable and accurate, but spyders are lighter and have better upgrades (sprint trigger owns, it is way better than the response trigger for the 98 custom becuase u can use it in tourneys and its easier to install).Im giving this gun a 9 because it is definitely in the top 10%% of guns in its class, but its not the best.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbguy10101 Thursday, October 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro Carbine, Joker, mmmmmmm cant remember
Marker Setup: Pro/Carbine with lapco dropfoward 14" ceramic barrel (soon to be J&J ceramic, the one I have sucks) , venturi bolt, RVA, soon to be custom hammer
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: For a base gun its not all that great, as put over exaggerated by PBguyz1, but it WORKS and it will work forever, I dont think it will break ever,

BUT THE POINT OF BUYING THIS GUN IS TO UPGRADE IT!!! EVEN THE NAME SAYS IT!!

If not upgraded, WITH a new barrel (this isnt an upgrade, its a nessacity...) , its still a nice gun
- very short trigger pull and its pretty light too
- convienent things like the flip down elbow and the adjustable sights
- I think its pretty small and compact
Weaknesses: Terrible, terrible, terrible, TERRIBLE stock barrel
Feild stripping sucks (lots of screws, then the whole gun comes in half LENGTHWISE and EVERY part comes out, even if you just want to get to the bolt or something, terrible...) this is also shows that the metal pieces arent machined by a machinist, they are stamped out
Conclusion: I think its a great gun, it has ALMOST everything you could need in a paintball game , fast ROF, RELAIBLE IN EVERY WAY, smallish and compact, not heavy, it shoots every time you squeeze the trigger,

but the barrel... is so terrible... if you get this gun its not worth it if you dont have SOME kind of new barrel, if worst comes to worst get a tru-flight barrel from ebay for like 15$....

im serious, anything at all
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moebius1842 Monday, October 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a couple semi auto paintball guns but none really fall into the same category of this gun..
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 w/ 12" 32 degrees terminator barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
In this order (my opinion)...Barrel, Expansion Chamber, Double Trigger, Rocket Cocker
Strengths: Being a bit skeptical about this gun I went out and bought one b/c I was tired and weary of picky, high maintnence markers...After opening the box i noticed it was larger than it seemed in pictures but not as heavy as I thought it would be.. Comfort was very impressive, i dont want to put it down, better feeling than any other gun i've shot...I read the manual and noticed it said 11 RPS...I grabbed a box of RPS Advantage paintballs and rigged it up with the 20 oz. and went outside and let loose on the trigger....it shoots fast, didnt break any balls after shooting about 150 consecutive shots...accuracy was better than i expected for a stock barrel but still not up to par....Things I love about this marker:
1. Foregrip
2. Open sights w/ adjustable rear site
3. Its not plastic (damned stingrays)
4. Attached feeder elbow that snaps open to make cleaning easier
5. Hopper is clamped into the elbow to prevent twisting
6. Highly Customizable
7. Easily taken care of (low maintnence) i'm not saying dont clean it, its just a little more durable then say a spyder or most other markers in this price range...
Weaknesses: The site rail on it is a 5/8" which means you need an adapter or some kind of raised rail to convert it to a 3/8" to accommodate most sites (if you use sights, the open sights work great and i'd recommend using them instead of sights), stock barrel is ok for stock but sucks compared to almost any after market barrels, pretty loud but then again you can fix that by getting a better barrel and a rocker cocker....not any louder than a stock piranha or a spyder..
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun to anyone just getting into the sport or someone who wants their gun to be different (customizing possibilities)...Its a fav. among scenario and rec players b/c of its ability to be customized to look like m-16s and car-14's and can even be turned into a speed ball contender
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 12:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tipp98cwbigshot Monday, October 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot my friend's Bushmaster, my friend's Spyder Extra, and my friend's Automag
Marker Setup: I currently use a Tippmann 98 custom with a lapco bigshot, 51/3000 tank (Crossfire stub), and soon (hopefully) a 12v Revolution with xboard.
Recommended
Upgrades:
First off...Barrel (as with any other gun...you think this one would be different?!) The lapco I think is a pretty good buy. I didn't want to spend the 100 bucks on a new barrel, so I read the reviews and the lapco seemed a good choice. (It is)
Strengths: 1. Extremely Durable- I have played in rain and shine, and it still shoots quite well
2. Semi-easy to strip: OK, It took me around 2 hours the first time I took it apart, but after a while it's quite easy. I can do it inbetween games usually, if I have any problems.
3. Side feed: Although it may not feed when you lean certain ways, I love the detachable feed neck. Ever chop a ball and couldn't squeegie all the way in there? The detachable neck makes it easier..
4. Comfortable...To me, it's a part of me when I play
5. Upgradeable: it can take nitro as is, (like mine) without any problems. You can also get barrels and all the parts you need without any trouble
6. If you buy it from pbgear or tippmann themselves, they have great customer service. I called a few days ago to get replacement front hopper sight springs and 2 extra bolts, and they are sending it to me free of charge..."It is covered under your warranty" And I didnt even pay extra!
7. Short and sweet trigger pull, without any mods.
8. Hmmm..I guess last but not least, a great gun all around
Weaknesses: The bad... :(

1. Make sure to wipe your gun down if you play in the rain. I left my water in my bag, and it leaked, causing some screws to rust (covered by warranty).
2. Lots of small parts if you take it apart. Make sure to have a clear workspace before stripping it. I lost the front sight spring at a field.
3. Ummm...although it's still kickin ass, my gun's outer paint has started to chip...Although, I do not know if it's from the normal wear and tear, or my water spill.
Conclusion: This is a great gun that I highly recommend. This was my first gun, and it should last me a few more years, until I decide to get a better one. This gun will stand the test of time, and it will take any abuse you can deal out. This is definitely a worthwhile investment...go out and get one today!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

raspy Sunday, October 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, an Old Classic Spyder (6-7 years old), Tippmann Pro-Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom - $120
VL 12v Revolution - $50
Smart Parts All American 14 inch - $80
Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger - $20
Tippmann Low Pressure Kit - $110
Tippmann Response Trigger - $75
Centerflag Hyper Inline Regulator with Low Pressure Spring - $100
Macroline Kit - $10
NW Spoon 8 inch Drop Forward with On/Off - $40
Pure Energy 68/4500 Preset 800psi Tank - $200
--------------------------
Total = $805 .. was it worth it?.. not really, but I would have spent twice-plus that amount if I had bought a high end marker, plus.. this is my first gun.

I have the pressure set to 350psi.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel - Smart Parts All American 14 inch is great, shoots most field paint flawlessly, never had a break.
VL 12v Revolution Hopper - You might not shoot that fast, but you should get this or the 9v, if you don't want to shake your gun every few shots.
Drop Forward - Mainly because the 98 Custom is just a long gun, especially with a 14 inch barrel. Plus, some of them come with On/Off valves.
Strengths: The Tippmann 98 Custom is very durable, it has the feel of an actual gun (which may be a bad thing or a good thing if you're into scenaric games). It's very customizable/upgradeable. It has never chopped a ball ever, I've probably shot around 15,000 paintballs, and not once has it chopped. Even with the response trigger and 12v Revolution, no chops.

Maintenance is certainly easy once you understand the basics of the internals, just read the manual. Intially, you'll want to take it apart to oil all the internals, but after that you don't have to take apart the gun to oil it.

Upgradeability is amazing, it can take all upgrades the model 98 can, except you don't have to make any modifications to the gun's casing. The casing is molded to fit the upgrades.

This gun upgraded accordingly can easily be played against most high end markers,--
Weaknesses: --granted you won't shoot as far, or as accurate as the other high end markers, you will be gloating when you paint a player with an angel, autococker, impulse, etc, etc...

Maintenance - taking it apart is quite a task the first time, unless you're lucky. Otherwise, you'll probably lose the front sight spring. It certainly has its tendency to spring out and fly somewhere when you take the gun apart. Putting it back together you have the same problem, trying to keep the front sight spring from flying out and aligning the holes with the rear sight.

Noise - the gun is loud, a ported barrel will certainly help the noise level, but you will still be heard. Unless you're on a field where you're only playing around 200 fps, you're going to be heard even from 30 feet away.
Conclusion: It's a great quality gun. Great for beginners to play with, to get the feel of how a marker actually works, to understand which upgrades will benefit gameplay, and which will only give it aesthetics.

I'm giving it a 9 because, it's costly to upgrade it to perform almost as well as some high end markers. For the same amount of money, you can get a high end marker with no upgrades albeit, but you'll feel better about it. All in all, this is a great beginner's marker. I certainly will not be selling mine unless I have to. With all my upgrades, it's like a piece of art.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

assmunchkin Friday, October 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder shutter, but it is not as good as a tippmann
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with a pmi 12oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel (which I am about to have) : )
Strengths: the gun is very reliable, upgradeable and if you have to take it apart you can get right to the problem ( i havent had to do this yet). it doesnt break balls ( i have gone through at least 3000 balls and none have broken because of tippmann excellence) it has a sensetive trigger and the hopper does not stick up as high as vert feed guns. built in elbow, easy to clean because you can take off the built in elbow. you can clean the barrell without having to take it off. it is made by a great company: TIPPMANN!! it is overall good gun. when it is suped up you can take them autococker owners to school. it has a very comfortable feel because of the comfy foregrip. again it is rugged and a good overall gun. Buy It!!
Weaknesses: stock barrell is not the greatest, but all stock barrels aren't, and the valve screws might get loose, but just make sure that their tight. o ther than that , nothing is bad
Conclusion: it is a nice gun and it wont eat up your wallet, and if you like upgrades then this is the gun for you. you can make this baby full auto or turn it into an m16 or a nice accurate sniper rifle. overall this is a good gun and you should buy it!
BUY THIS GUN IT IS VERY GOOD you will remember me when your brass eagle piece of crap explodes in your face. again I urge that you buy this awesome gun! you wont regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brutus Helpakka Wednesday, October 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Syder Shutter
Brass Eagle Tiger Shark
Mini-mag
Marker Setup: Grey Custom 98 with flatline barrel, veriticle adapter, aci 4-stage expansion chamber and 20 oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flat-line, expansion chamber (ACI 4-stage)
Strengths: 1. Cheap
2. Simple as it gets to maintain
3. For the system it barely shoots white
4. Loud (I personally find this good for a sniper)
5. The elbow system is one that I prefer
6. A lot of upgrades and all of them that I have come across are reliable
7. Flat line System
Weaknesses:
1. Canít take apart yourself with out mechanic background
2. Not a very good gun if kept stock
3. Installation of upgrades can get expensive but not as bad as old 98
Conclusion: All in all this is one of the best systems out there, including higher-level guns. This is the only gun that the flat line barrel system has shown to work on. The only reason you should by this gun is if you are a sniper and want the flat line system, other wise this gun is worthless for all other positions. With upgrades this gun is comparable next to no other gun because of the flat line system, but as stock it is a 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

camoman5000 Tuesday, October 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT 4.0,Procrabine,Avenger,ect.
Marker Setup: JT 4.0
16.In. Tru-Flight along with stock barrel
9oz. w/ on/off valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, rear cocking,drop forward,basically everything on the gun cept for the main receiver
Strengths: Looks awesome
Feels good in hands
Shoots pretty fast for the gun itself
Kinda reliable

Sorry, but yeah, thats about it
Weaknesses: Ok, both my friends have stock 98s. Both guzzle C02 and have other problems involving C02, both are inacurate, both are a pain to take apart. Now, both of these guns have problems, not to mention a few more guys I know have the same problems. Coincidence???? I'm beginning to wonder.
Conclusion: Save money and get something better, but I'm not gonna give this gun a 1 though, cause it is pretty reliable and easy to use if you baby it a bit. If you're rich enough, and won't give up on the Tippmann, buy it,and spend 500 bucks on upgrades. Before you buy one,please test them out.I'm glad I didn't get one, just from my experience, but hey, if you want to, go for it
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  205  |  206  |  207  |  208  |  209  |  210  |  211  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media