paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  208  |  209  |  210  |  211  |  212  |  213  |  214  |  Last
        Next Page
Brass Eagle Man Saturday, August 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
B.E Stingray - Crap
B.E. Avenger - doesnt even match it
B.E Tiger Shark - Worst of the bunch
Spyder Shutter - Really good
Smart Parts Impulse - Way better
Marker Setup: Nothing much,planning on getting a flatline and a Response Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel,stock barrel isnt very good in field play but is kinda good in speedball because of its size.
Strengths: About everything,QUALITY,performance,sight with built in adjuster,powerfeed that can be folded down.Those are just a couple of the good reasons about this gun. P.S. the best gun to upgrade apon and that it has a built in foregrip.
Weaknesses: Barrel is kinda short for the price you pay.I bought my 98 Custom at a wholesale price of 235 dollars Canadian.
Conclusion: Awesome gun,i say buy it.If you play speedball alot get it.It is the a great gun for all players ranging from novice to expert.Im giving it 10 (i was gonna give it a 9 for its small barrel but that not a really big problem since most players buy an aftermarket barrel soon after purchase of the gun).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

galados Wednesday, August 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
this gun is in a class of its own
spyders/piranhas....nothing compares
Marker Setup: Silver Tippmann Custom 98 w/ 14" Dye excel / 14" 2002 All American / Tippmann flatline,32 degrees 6 stage x-chamber, GTA double trigger, 32 degrees gel rubber grip, GTA Railsed sight rail, Response trigger system, psycho ballistics rear velocity adjuster, model 98 rocket cock
Recommended
Upgrades:
well, all you really need is a barrel and your good to go.....as you can see i've dressed mine up quite a bit, but all you really need is a barel....but trust me you'll wanna put stuff on there
Strengths: everything, i couldnt ask for anything more from a gun....this thing is accurate, its trigger pull is great, its quiet, its gas efficient, its the most durable gun in the market and the cost is real cheap compared to other guns. Like if you were gonna buy some rip-off spyder or something for 200 you could get the tippmann 98 custom for like 120, and buy an 80$ barrel (like an aa or something) or just other upgrades
Weaknesses: its a bit long.... thats about it
oh yeah, you just cant atop investing parts in it cuz you love it so muchif you add up all the parts i bought for my gun, it probably would equal an autococker of some kind.....maybe a normal autococker or possible an sto......but stilll, i dont regret it
Conclusion: its my dream gun, its durable as hell, perfect to modify to whatever style of play you like.... you like to snipe, get a flatline, you like the real gun feel, get the car stock, you want it to shoot real fast, get response or the ebolt(you can shoot fast with it anyways), you like speedball, just keep the stock barrel on, and it will be fine(by the wa y, i didnt really comment on the stock barrel...its an ok barrel when your up-close, but for far ranges, like i said, get a longer better barrel). It is an amazing gun, get it, yyou wont regret it, and it will always be good to you even if you arent good to it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballknight Sunday, August 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None. This is my first marker.
Marker Setup: Custom 98
Response Trigger
Double Trigger
ACI (Sub Zero) Expansion Chamber
12V- Revvy
J&J Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the Response and Double Trigger, a 12v-Revvy and a better barrel.
Strengths: I enjoy the way you customize the Custom 98. I spent a good $250 "tuning" it and buying upgrades. If you factor in the cost of the Custom 98, you can easily spend $375 on this gun.

Personally I think it is worth it. You let the marker evolve around your experience as a player. If you are a newie, start out with this marker to see how your abilities are against other players and start adapting. Your first upgrade should be a better barrel and move from there.

Definitely get the Double and Response Trigger sets. That makes your BPS (Balls Per Second) go up tremendously so you have a decent leg to stand on against other players who use Cockers and Rainmakers.
Weaknesses: It is hard to disassemble to clean and then reassemble. There are far too many "little pieces" to get lost. You must have patience, especially when you start installing the custom kits.

Like I said you cannot go wrong with the Response and Double Trigger kits. Also, make sure you get a solid, mechanical hopper. Non-mechanised, stock hoppers suck the big one on this gun.
Conclusion: This gun is solid, no doubts.

My next gun will definitely be a Cocker, but for newbie to mid-skilled players, you cannot go wrong with the Custom 98.

There are some people who say I should have spent an extra hundred, considering I paid about $375 for my Custom 98 to get a Tourney-level gun, but that is the last thing a newbie should do.

As complicated the Custom 98 is to assemble, it teaches you the "ins-and-outs" of a marker. You can eventually apply this knowledge to other guns.

DO NOT get the Nitro-Low Pressure air kit for this marker. There is no need to get it, as it is too expensive. Lastly, on top of the kit, which is already $100 dollars, you need to get a decent tank which can easily cost you an additional $160 or so.

Nitro-Air is for Tourney-level players. Just get an expansion chamber if you want something fancy for your air system.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

adude Friday, August 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
trracer s/a
Marker Setup: Tippy 98c flatline barrel j&j pro1 barrel 3000psi remote 9and 20oz pure energy tanks Brass Eagle dot sight and hopefully soon a pro team f/x collapsable stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: It is very reliable. Easy to take apart. i cant break it. which is amazing. its metal. With the flatline it is dead accurate upto 125ft which is where the stock barrel is on the ground. IM not sure y ppl want the barrel to be dead accurate at 200+ft.
Weaknesses: I lost my valve bolts. Which made my gun not recock for a few days buy tippmann replaced them right away.
Conclusion: one awsome gun go buy it if u have 120 bucks and the flatline is worth the investment well any barrel upgrade is for that matter. i give it a 9 cause nothing is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Custom 98 Man Wednesday, August 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact 2000 and a Brass Eagle Blade (my starter marker... no comparison).
Marker Setup: I have the Tippman Custom 98 with no upgrades. 9 oz. tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new barrel. The stock barrel isn't too good. It is very inaccurate.
A bigger tank.
A response trigger kit (I've heard it's very good.)
Strengths: I'd say the best thing about this product is that it is very upgradeable. I like that it comes with a bottom line. I like that it comes with a front and rear sight (could use better, but comes on the gun) that isn't blocked by the elbow. The feed elbow is removeable for easy cleaning.
Weaknesses: Even though it is upgradeable, it starts with a slow trigger, inaccurate barrel and it was preset at 230, which made it seem wimpy out of the box.
Conclusion: Good gun if you upgrade it, but when you first get it out of the box, it is not that great. I like the gun but, it needs a barrel upgrade immediately. I would give it a 10 if it came with a better barrel, but because it starts out slow, I'm giving it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tzptosh Wednesday, August 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
some pump action piece of crap that was 30 bucks
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom.
All stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: all though the stock barrel isnt that good i thought that it shot straight enough to hit 3 people.
you gotta love the durability of the gun i was in the bushes and thorns and that sort of stuff and went back home and thought that i was going to have a scratched paintball gun on hand boy was i wrong it looked good as new!
you gotta love it, its tippmann.
didnt break one single ball and i didnt hear any thing about any ball breaks.
the front handle is very comfortable.
Weaknesses: very very hard to field strip couse there was so many little pieces all around and 1ns i put the ball latch the wrong way(acudently)and it wouldn fire.
the feeder were the balls go to the barrel didnt feed not even 5 balls a second.
the trigger pull was very hard so i couldnt fire very fast.
the trigger handle was not good at all i got a blister at the end of the day.
Conclusion: very good product that will last me a long time hopefully.
dont get it if you dont have patiance couse when you field strip it there is so many little parts that a person could puik ;(
i give it a 9 becouse thats what it deserves
over all a very good gun for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

splatdoc Wednesday, August 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tipman 98 custom with a expansion chamber and a powerfeed.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a powerfeed
Strengths: this is possibly the toughest gun for under 200 bucks. It keeps a short profile which for me makes it very easy to maneuver with. It comes standard with a four grip and does not require any stupid elbow. A all around good semi for the price.
Weaknesses: barrel sorta stinks and will be the next accessory on my list. if you by the gun in the factory package at only comes with a 9 oz tank, I could only get about 520-530 shot out of it so I bought another 9oz so I know I will always have one full. Although black and silver are nice colors I would get a custom paint job if I new were to get one. If anyone knows can you send me a link in my email jpk409@aol.com I would greatly appreciate it.
Conclusion: good gun stock.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigchap05 Wednesday, August 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders,Cockers
Marker Setup: 98 Custom,14" 02 Smart Parts Progressive barrel,Phyco Ballistics Double Trigger kit,Shocktech Drop Forward w/ ASA, 12vlt Hopper, 20oz Co2 w/ anti-syphoon,9oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel- 12" or 14" Smart Parts, CP, Lapco all good
Double Trigger
Anti-syphoon on your tanks to help with consistancy
Drop forward to cut down the length, Don't get something to long though so you can still shoulder your marker
Strengths: - Very Durable and Reliable
- Very upgradeable, but I wouldn't upgrade it to much
- Decent accuracy, its not the best but its pretty good
- I like the looks of it but thats your own opinion
-Only had 1 chop with mine in over 3000 rds
- It only cost me $122 for just the gun
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks, but most do
Can't be feild stipped but ussually doesn't need to be
Doesn't fire that fast but you can get it going fast enough
Inconsistant without expansion chamber / anti-syphoon
Long if you have a long barrel and dont have a Drop Forward
Conclusion: I recommend this product to anyone who is getting in to the sport or someone who wants a better gun that will always work. It will give you good performance for you money. Don't spend to much money in upgrades. Just buy a better gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Paintballer Tuesday, August 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel
Strengths: upgradable but the vert adapter is 30$ if you want an x-chamber on it
durable, has a THICK shell of metal and it won't break there aren't any small pieces that'll fall out while playing, hopper is tightened on with a bolt so there is no chance of that falling off
relatively simple to take apart and put back together (d@mn the rubber orange thing!!!)
gas line is a metal braid
relatively accurate
COMES WITH FREE ALLEN WRENCHES! YAY!

Weaknesses: the stock barrel sucks
doesnt come with a cloaking device (I'm killing space)
isnt full auto
not the best paintgun in existence
doesn't come with nightvision
Conclusion: good value and an excellent beginning gun good if upgraded
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

2005 Saturday, August 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder shutter, compact 2000, A-5, autococker the autococker is better than it because it is worth 300$ it is very good with the spyders
Marker Setup: tippmann 98custom with double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
the double trigger, expansion chamber drop forward, responsive trigger kit
Strengths: It is very reliable and trust worthy it can go through a lot of stuff that you put it through i like the feel of the foregrip and the pull of the trigger is very light. the hopper never falls off and the elbow doesnt break ever a revie fits perfect on to it. the bottomline wont leak or break very good workmanship on this gun. also its made in america the valve wont freeze and they work good in the winter the stock barrel works ok.
Weaknesses: its louder than the regular model 98 because it doesnt have the gills. the bolt doesnt wear down. they have bad paint jobs it flakes off after about a half a year of playing. it doesnt feed good without a powerfeed it jams up if you dont have one. it is kinda long should get a drop forward especially if you have a long barrel
Conclusion: This is a good barrel for people who are starting or are intermediate players and arent looking for a really expensive gun but are still looking for a high quality gun that can compete with any other gun even with a gun in higher price ranges.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  208  |  209  |  210  |  211  |  212  |  213  |  214  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media