paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  232  |  233  |  234  |  235  |  236  |  237  |  238  |  Last
        Next Page
Poirier Monday, March 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Double Trigger
-New Barrel (stock barrel is horrible)
-I heard the response trigger is great
Strengths: Great gun for the money. For beginner's it's pretty much a Tippmann or a Spyder. I chose the Tippmann Custom 98 and it's pretty damn good for a first gun. It rarely chops paint, I think I've only gotten about 3 chopped balls out of about 8 months of playing. It's accurate even with the stock barrel. Very easy to upgrade. I got a double trigger for it, only took me about 5 minutes to install. Great first gun!
Weaknesses: The stock barrel that comes with this gun is horrible when the gun is set on a high velocity.
Conclusion: Bottom line it's a great gun. Easy to upgrade, accurate, rarely chops balls, and a great price. This is an awesome beginner gun and I would recommend it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
TL plus: alright gun, my friends seems to break alot of balls and the balls that do make it out seem to go everywhere.
Rebel: doesn't compare its a piece of crap
Pirahna: breaks alot of balls and seems to have alot of problems
Pro Carbine: good gun because its by tippmann but doesn't compare to custom
Spyder Flash: good gun but seems to break balls even with a revy and battery runs out quick (with the rt you don't have to worry about a battery)
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98
16 inch Big Daddy (real sweet barrel)
Response trigger ( awesome and cheap)
Double trigger
Low pressure kit
Ricochet Hopper (feeds faster then a 12 volt revy and has an awesome lcd screen) a must for a true paintballer
Nitro
The jt Proteus mask with fan ( awesome mask and real comfortable, fan makes it even better by cooling you down and preventing fog
Sweet new paint job ( its black fade into a dark blue, makes the gun look even cooler)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Every single upgrade i have
they all work awesome and i can keep up with almost any gun
Strengths: Extremeley fast and accurate
Looks real sweet
good price and you don't have to worry about having problems cause you never will
Weaknesses: Hahahahahhaha are you kidding me
I have never had a probabley with this gun except for people complaining that i shouldn't be able to play against them
oh well its their fault for not buying one
Conclusion: if you don't get this gun your crazy

I Rat this about a 15 out 10 cause its so good
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Eh...a stingray II ice (which is pretty bad...), I've shot a spyder compact also tho
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, getting a flatline for it tommorow actually
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline. I read the reviews, people either love it or hate it, but at the shop at my home field, i saw one of these things fire and the difference is incredible
Strengths: -Sturdy (my friend tripped over a piece of wire and fell on it, pinning it between himself and a rock, and he just had to get a new hopper)
-Reliable
-Rarely chops paint
-Accurate
-Can be converted to full auto spending about $4.00 (must have an electric hopper tho, otherwise you will chop paint like there's no tommorow)
-Good with the CO2
Weaknesses: -Range isn't great (but easily improved with just about any barrel)
-Know what you're doing before taking it apart if you are unfamiliar with paintball guns...i spent over an hour on my hands and knees looking for the trigger spring the first time i cleaned and oiled it
Conclusion: Pretty much, it rocks. It can hold it's own against many other markers that are 2 or 3 times as expensive, it's got the foregrip which is nice for close range wet work (just twist your hand and let 'em rip!), and its durable. The customization is sweet too...im getting a flatline tommorow and prolly a stock in the near future.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, March 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder compact- tippmann is much better
also i have used the tippmann model 98
Marker Setup: i use the tippmann custom
i have a flatline barrel
get a Vader Thermal Mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a flatline barrel
Strengths: very durable, rarely chopps paint, rarely breaks.
accuracy and speed are fairly good
great beginner and intermediate gun
Weaknesses: nothin, but the stock barrel should be upgraded
the weight, but i can manage it
Conclusion: go out today, and buy this gun
u won't be dissatisfied
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nifareus Sunday, March 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
um none cause it is the best
Marker Setup: I have a tippmann 98 custom with the silver finish and a rear velocity adjuster i wanna get a flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
none if ur a newbie but if u have ur gun for a while get a new barrel and maybe A rear velocity adjuster and a remote set-up if ur gonna get a flatline
Strengths: This gun is accurate and is very durable and dependable a constant velocity and accuracy level with a flatline you can hit a freakin penny off of george bush's head without him knowing and god dang does this gun feel right u pick it up then u just wanna play paintball and man does it look good.
Weaknesses: I guess the stock barrel but not really
Conclusion: This gun is a must have and is good from when ur a newbie till when ur a pro so get this gun and it'll prob. outlive you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a procarbine(as a rental)
Marker Setup: tippman /w flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel
Strengths: durable
no break downs
my field uses this as a rental 'cause its so durable(along w/m98 and carbines)
pretty consistent
upgradeable
Weaknesses: the stock barrel sux
and u don't need that spring they have under the trigger because it makes the pull too heavy and the gun blowsback and catches the trigger anyway
Conclusion: great semi!!! if u have a flatline that gives it the best range in paintball and if u upgrade enough it will probably make a decent gun able to compete in tourneys
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noggins_1500 Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-Brass eagle avenger
-Spyder sonix
-Stingray 1
-Tippmann model 98
-Viewloader Genesis
Marker Setup: PMI Trracer (pump), Stingray 1.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (10-12"), maybe an Expansion chamber, it all depends on how much money you want to spend.
Strengths: -Probably THE most reliable marker out there.
-Not very loud compared to some markers
-CVX valve which improves consistency and performence in cold weather.
-Nice foregrip.
-Nice trigger, if you like single finger triggers.
-Has great accuracy with a good barrel, and the stock one if half-decent.
-The elbow pops out to the side with the push of a button for easy cleaning.
-Will last you for years and can take abuse.
-Very upgradeable, and can take some upgrades that are only for 98 customs (flatline, response trigger, e-bolt, etc.)
Weaknesses: -Its heavy.
-Sort of long.
-The stock barrel needs to be upgraded
-Upgrades for this gun are expensive
-When you upgrade it (heavily), it costs you just as much as a stock autococker would.
-It is big and bulky.
Conclusion: I have used these guns and i am amazed at how durable they are. These are good guns for begginers and are especially good in woods play. The only problem is size and weight, but most people can handle it. Some people love these guns, some people dont.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
this is a very good gun. it's not the best for compitition but it is the most reliable. when i was in a tourny both my friends gun messed up(rebel delux and an automag) but mine hasn't messed up once. this gun also has like the most upgrades you can get. it kicks ass buy it
Marker Setup: tippy custom-cp12" barrel-rocket cocker-12volt hopper-response trigger-nitro-drop forward-i think thats it
Recommended
Upgrades:
different barrel
response trigger
nitro
12volt hopper
Strengths: even with the stock barrel it is still really good it shoots strait (with the right paint) and when you get upgrades, which you will or i will kill you, it is the best gun to have. it has never failed to amuse me. it is the almighty king of guns
Weaknesses: without upgrade its still pretty good i won a tourny w/ no upgrades so it has no flaws it is god of all that apose it ---but you should get upgrades cause without getting upgrades it wont do its best and we all want our tippy's to be the best they can . so there are no bads imagine that
Conclusion: buy the god damn gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChipDale Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I haven't really used anything has durable, comfortable and upgradeable. Maybe an F4 is pretty similar?
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98, ACI F4 (My Dad's), Kingman Spyder Xtra with Boomstick (My old gun, now my Dad's)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline, with some Diablo Blaze.
Strengths: Even the stock barrel on this gun is good! Yes it has some accuracy issues, but its got nice range. It's durable, cool looking, and upgradeable! If that sounds cliched sorry, it is the truth. Dang I love this thing.
Weaknesses: The only bad thing with this marker was when I got it, it was leaking where the coil went into the valve. It wasn't really a problem because my dad had some stuff to fix it and we fixed it up. Otherwise I've had no problems.
Conclusion: Best marker I've used in my life, of course that isn't saying much but it is very well made. I would take it over my friends autococker for one thing, the flatline. Yes some people say it isn't the best barrel, but I know people who use it and for them it's really really nice. Yes you can buy a cocker with a flatline, but you can't install it afterwords, and it is not as good on the cocker. If you have enough cash for it, buy it. You can always use extra cash for upgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Pirahna
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, pretty much everything is stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, the stock one works it's just a little loud and doesn't have the best range.
Strengths: We have 9 guys playing, 5 have the 98 customs, 3 have Spyders, and 1Pirahna. Between the 5 Customs we broke 3 balls all day. The others broke paint every game. Not only that they had problems with the internals. The point is this gun is just flat out tougher and better built than any gun in it's class. The upgradeability is awesome, there is nothing you can't add to this gun. I also like the side elbow allowing you to site down the top of the gun instead of the side.
Weaknesses: If I find something I'll let you know.
Conclusion: Buy stock in Tippmann because they got a bright future.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  232  |  233  |  234  |  235  |  236  |  237  |  238  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media