paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  Last
        Next Page
Rick James Thursday, March 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix-this was better
Marker Setup: 98c
14 inch SP Teardrop
Flame drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Durable
Shoots well
Awsome woodsball gun
Weaknesses: Slow
Heavy
Long
Review: Well my step dad bought me this gun for my first. This gun is very nice, but has a few flaws. For one its very heavy. Its also extremely long. There is a lot of upgrades avalible for it. It is a very nice gun. It always shoots and is sooooo hard to break.
Conclusion: Its a pretty good woodsball gun, i would have to say get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

*^RwK^* Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder extra
Marker Setup: (woodball)98 custom viewloader (speedball) spyder pilot evolution 3
Strengths: This gun shoots well
Weaknesses: But this gun breaks easy
Review: the Tippmann 98 custom breaks within a month. i was in the middle of a game when i ran out of paint so i took a pod when i lifted my hand up and the trigger fell out of its socked. so i had to surrender. i fixed it played another game and i went for my pods with my other hand and a few screws came out. this gun is accurate but breaks
Conclusion: I don't think it is the best gun you will have to repair it a lot
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

DJEXCLUSION91 Monday, March 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN 98 CUSTOM
TIPPMANN FLATLINE BARREL
TIPPMANN RESPONSE TRIGGER
TIPPMANN CYCLONE FEEDER
DEAD ON DOUBLE TRIGGER
TACAMO REMOTE CORD
PURE ENERGY 3000PSI TANK
Recommended
Upgrades:
RICHOTE HOPPER
TIPPMANN FLATLINE BARREL
TIPPMANN RESPONSE TRIGGER
TIPPMANN CYCLONE FEEDER
DEAD ON DOUBLE TRIGGER
Strengths: Durable,Inexpensive, Easy to use, Very customizable

Weaknesses: Pain to put back together. Can not be converted to electronic.
Review: This gun is great for both beginners and veteran. You can customize it to how you play. Will last forever. I have upgrade little by little with the parts above and I am extremely happy with it. Straight out of the box it may look dull and boring, but you can still do some damage on the paintball fields with it. Get the response trigger and you will not be semi auto no more. get the Flatline Barrel and add some significant range to you game. Get the Cyclone feeder and you gun will be able to keep up with the response triger rate of fire.
Conclusion: This gun is great! Tippmann makes the best scenario and woodsball guns. Would not trade my 98 Custom for the world.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

cjd2411 Saturday, March 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: 98 Custom A.C.T. with Cyclone Feed and Double Trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cyclone Feed, Douuble Trigger, Flatline Barrel, and Commando Stock
Strengths: Reliable, powerful, durable.
Weaknesses: None
Review: The 98 Custom, manufactured by Tippmann Pneumatics ( http://www.tippmann.com ) is an amazing marker, it combines a low price, with easiness of use and modification, insane performance, and a reliable, long lasting paintgun. First off, the 98 Custom has a .68 caliber, semi-auto open-bolt bow-back firing system. A.C.T. technology helps prevent paintballs from breaking inside the gun. With hundreds of upgrades for the marker, you fit the gun to your style. From magazines to kits, or scopes and sights. They are all compatible! If you play woodsball, this is for you! It is also a great backup gun. After a while, you will probably want to upgrade to an A-5.
Conclusion: Great gun, awesome performance!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blitzkreig Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Friend's JT Tac-5 - - - 98 custom is more reliable and I'd say overall better, but stock barrel for jt is better, and it has rear cocking if you prefer that over the Tippmann's side coker.
Marker Setup: Stock now, but I;m ordering a Ricochet G2K hopper and a 14 inch J&J Ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, probably 32 degrees, j&j, or custom products for cheaper ones
Strengths: -Not very expensive
-Reliable
See full description
Weaknesses: -Bad stock barrel
-Many screws in order to take apart
See full description
Review: PROS:
-Not very expensive ($180 for ACT, 9 oz. tank, gun, barrel, hopper, barrel condom)
-Reliable - I havent chopped one ball out of prob 3000 to 4000 rounds.
-Easy to clean ONCE TAKEN APART
-Easy to get through barrel with a squeegee without removing barrel
-Easy to adjust velocity
-Fairly good built on sights

CONS:
-Terrible stock barrel (Decent upgrade is only around $35)
-A ton of screws to remove to disassemble the gun
-IT takes more pressure than most guns to pull the trigger
Conclusion: Not very good stock, but one or 2 pretty cheap ups and your in business.
Great gun for ew players for woodsball!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Diablo52 Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Red Diablo Wrath
DXS 68/4500 N2 tank
Egg3
(Upgrades on the way)
Recommended
Upgrades:
ummm.... maybe!!! a barrel?
Strengths: Consistent, Decent accuracy, shoots decent length
Weaknesses: lil heavy with a 20 oz co2 tank, you get use to it,slow ROF
Review: My first time ever playing and i played speedball with the 98 custom, the team i was trying out for showed me the ropes and the basics. they put me every where with this thing back, mid , front, SNAKE!!! and i wiped out almost everyone. o and did i mention the guys i was playing against had ions and spyder electras.
Conclusion: My final word is that its a great gun for begginers, but thats it just begginers!!!
the only way i beat those guys with the ions and electras wasnt by speed but timing and strategy so if you are good at those 2 things this is the gun for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

montclair Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel upgrade..... get a werks, there very accurate
Strengths: Durable (well built), Accurate (With New barrel), Fully Customizable, great gun for all skills levels......
Weaknesses: Weakness with this gun is the barrel...but thats not hard to fix, getta new1
Review: This gun is one of the best paintball guns for beginners and experts, its fully customizable with many great upgrades. These are like AK 47s, very durable! and easy to clean. This is my favorite gun! I love it , it still works just as good as when i got it...If you really wanna own buy a response trigger and electric hopper!!
Conclusion: I recommend buyin a new barrel maybe a werks barrel if you can find one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb46816 Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
The only other guns i've used are spyder rodeo and spyder victor II
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
16'' Tippmann Sniper Barrel
vl 200
20 oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
The sniper barrel listed above
Strengths: -Very accurate w/16'' Sniper barrel
-Not too loud
Weaknesses: -Very big profile(w/16'' barrel and 20oz co2 tank w/o drop forward)
Review: ***All My Reviews Are Edited And Re-Edited***

This isn't actually my gun, it is a friend's that i used for a few games just to see how it compared to my gun. The Spyder Victor II is his also. My gun was so much smaller and lighter. But his gun was only more accurate just because of the sinper barrel. It is about a whole 36'' long and even with my arms fully extended the butt of the tank was against my chest, this gun was freckin' huge but also very mean.
Conclusion: If you get a 98c and only want cheap upgrade, get the 16'' tippmann sniper barrel. It gets a 10 with the ups.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cookie Monster Thursday, March 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ion-no real similarites
spyder xtra and v2- 98 is slightly better
wgp trilogy sport- xcels in different areas
Marker Setup: ion:
ricochet apache led
3000/48

98 custom
9oz
gravity hopper
tippmann double trigger
Strengths: Tough
simple
relativley cheap
hopper setup
sights
Weaknesses: Blow-back non-electro if thats a weakness...
barrel
there are electros forabout thesame price
Review: I used to be a woodsballer this gun did great...i moved on to speedball(:
that said it served me good. it's now my backup and is fine. you can run over it with a truck and not break it!!! not with spyder! Crunch...<cries>. the clamshell is good for people who are just starting and takes away from complexity. the sights are great!! the hooper falls down great for jams and civil war. great gun for noobs. fairy cheap. only problems r when u take it apart some stuff can fly out and its an air hog. the barrel ummm...*censored*. buts a good marker.

first review (:
no1s ever gonna read this outta the other 47587265 reviews.....

EDIT: just wanted to say for 1st time gun buyers there are electronic guns forabout the same price which, performance wise, are better. Remeber though these gns are more complicated and will break if run over by a car.
Conclusion: Great for new players tough and all around great. also awesme upgradability!!! just air hog and bad barrel!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 24th, 2007 at 1:36 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

angelofdeath2 Wednesday, February 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann A-5
tippmann X-7
some tournament markers
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with Empire twister barrell 16 inch
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel definitely but mine was quite accurate without a upgraded barrel
Strengths: It is accurate and durable and cheap.
Weaknesses: Its not very fast firing and its not too good at much of a distance.
Review: buy this gun if you are a begginer or just into laid back woodsball but definitly not a tourney weapon.
buy a longer barrel because it makes a huge difference too the accuracy but in saying that it is very accurate on its own.
it is very durable because I ran into a tree gun first and its fine and I have only chopped 1 ball and thats because i was firing too fast.
light trigger pull aswell.
Conclusion: In conclusion if you are after a gun thats built like a tank and that is fairly accurate and very cheap this is the one for you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media