paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  276  |  277  |  278  |  279  |  280  |  281  |  282  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Sunday, August 26th, 2001
Strengths: In a word...Awesome! This gun is crafted with care and refinement. It's a great price and you even get a few goodies with it. It' the most versatile gun out there. You can make it the farthest reaching gun on the planet and one of the fastest, oh yeah don't forget accuracy. This is the the gun to get rather you're a beginner , intermediate, or advanced player. One gun one life.
Weaknesses: Nothing, except for the stock barrel but there are about a million barrels for the thing.
Conclusion: With the proper upgrades, quite possibly the greatest gun available. I'd also recommend a spyder compact. They're rather nifty, but they even fall short of tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, August 23rd, 2001
Strengths: This gun is really easy to use right out of the box. The grips have a good feel. Relatively inexpensive makes it good for beginners. Really easy to take the barrel out/ take hopper off/ take grip off, etc.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks! Get a new one. I got a J&J Ceramic 14" for mine and it works like a charm. When you oil the gun, oil has a tendency to go everywhere, in places you wouldn't expect.
Conclusion: Overall a good gun for the tight wad out there. I'm not sure I could suggest another gun, but look around.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, August 22nd, 2001
Strengths: This gun has no equal... It is one of the best priced guns on the market.

With the R/T kit it can shoot up to 13 balls a second...it easily keeps up with ,autocockers and any smart parts gun you can throw at it. Despite what the electro guns say. (They are just mad that they spent 500+ on a gun that chops more balls than my 98)

Its very accurate... with a 14''-16'' on it the range is awesome.

Out of around 12,000 balls so far...ive only chopped 3. My friend using a Shocker has chopped 12 and that is only out of about 6,000.

If you want a gun that will last you forever and serve you well..its a model 98 custom. Dont waste alot of money on other junk.
Weaknesses: It is loud... but that isnt always a bad thing. When people hear my gun shoot they dont want to be around it. When it flings 9 a second in your direction would you want to be there?

It is hard to field strip it. But you can fix that problem with finger screws...a quick replacement from the hex bit screws that Tippmann put on it.

The stock barrel isnt that great. Upgrade it if you would like.
Conclusion: This gun has no equal.. if you are looking for a good gun to start off with...Get it! Its a good price and will last you forever! If you are looking for a good gun to upgrade ...get it! It has a few really good upgrades that make it the perfect match for any electro gun on the market. And finaly...if you are looking for a gun that will last you a long time and not crap out on you when you are in the middle of a firefight...its the 98. Simple as that.

$124 - Gun
$89 - R/T kit
$70 - Forward Pro team intruder expansion chamber w/ front expansion chamber kit.
$55 - 9v revolution hopper (A must when you are running the r/t)

The look on an angels face when you are painting him a nice shade of green?

Priceless.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TIPPMANN* Tuesday, August 21st, 2001
Strengths: First of all everything is great about his gun. I have a flatline on my 98 and it shoots farther than anything i ever had then i added a double trigger and a rocket cocker and a colapsible stock and a six stage ex-chamber and it looks great and it shoots great.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel but nothing else.
Conclusion: I have shot about 3 cases around 6000 balls and not one ball has broken and the gun is so easy to customize so go get this gun it is cheap and a great gun for everyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, August 18th, 2001
Strengths: I got my gun for $129 and for that price I think that it is worth it, when u get a double trigger on it it will shoot faster than ever, easy to customize, easy to clean, and theres is alot of ways to custumize it. it also comes with a good sigth to aim with,and when u take the co2 of u wont loose alot of air.
Weaknesses: nothing
Conclusion: its a good gun
not that much money
easy to take apart
wont loose air when u screw co2 of
good stock barrel but only for short distance
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

andy Saturday, August 18th, 2001
Strengths: -short trigger pull
-sturdy feel
-very upgradeable (it needs it)
-cheap price
Weaknesses: -barrel sucks (and so do flatlines)
-too long w/ tank
-weight of gun is towards the right because of the hopper
Conclusion: -Don't buy it!!!
-Save for a Spyder SE or Xtra!!!(Better barrel and more features stock than a Tippmann)
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, August 16th, 2001
Strengths: -very nice grouping during games, from about 30 feet or so
-good reliability about 95%% of the time
-easy pull cocking pin and very fast recoil gives you a great r.p.s.(rounds per second)
-easy to clean and very durable
-comfortable grip and easy access to the bolt and chamber
-i have never had a ball break in this gun(even with the stock barrel
-very versatile to adapt to almost any part of the gun
Weaknesses: -get a new barrel! i waited for a while and i have much better luck with any new barrel
-it isn't very co2 efficient
-somewhat clean
-only nice grouping in games if you are full of co2
-when low on co2 gun is very unpredictable
Conclusion: i think this compare very well to other guns, yet the stock barrel must go, you idiots that read these have seen that same message on every review, now dont you think its time you start paying attention to these. abaut i think this gun is excellent for your paintball needs.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, August 16th, 2001
Strengths: this gun is great cause it really requires no maintance and the upgrades are plentiful and relitively cheap compaired to other guns. i purchased the flatline barrel with mine and the distance this thing shoots is incredible, my brother in law got the rt trigger and all i can say is wow damn things like an automatic it also can go Co2 or compressed air
Weaknesses: definetely get another barrel , and the paint does have a tendancy to chip but like my friend that works in this business said its the only way they keep their prices down that and the crappy stock barrel
Conclusion: great gun if you like to play wood games great gun to get started in the sport with and its very reliable i say buy it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, August 15th, 2001
Strengths: This product is the best in upgradability. Tippmann makes alot of things for this gun without you paying a hefty price tag when you buy this marker. My brother has a spyder shutter and i can shoot faster with a custom 98. Not that heavy and the weight is evenly distabuted with a 20 oz tank. Also very low priced. I payed 110 for mine as opposed to 230 for a shutter.
Weaknesses: The barrel is the worst part of it. If you buy this marker buy a barrel too. You won't be sorry. I have the silver coated one and the paint scratchs easy, but hey it just gives it a more used, broken in kinda feel. Also you need to carry an alan wrench on the field to adjust the velocity.
Conclusion: Buying a new barrel is a must if you get the custom 98. If you have the money go for the flatline. If not go for a dye broomstick or even lowerpriced cp. I would recommend this to anyone who is a first time buyer of a marker. Plus with all of the upgrades it gives you that sense that you know how your marker works.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DesertFox Tuesday, August 14th, 2001
Strengths: *Nice Feel
*I like the foregrip
*Not bad with CO2
*Lots of upgrades
*Works great stock...except for the barrel
*Nice threads for quick barrel cleaning
*Quick rate of fire
*No problems as of yet
*Has sights! not a site rail, but an adjustable sight
*Not hard to find someone who can tell you all about the gun or fix it.(Dosn't need fixing)
*Looks cool
Weaknesses: Well the paint scratches easily, The balance is just a bit off with a 20oz. But I dont mind it.

The front sight spring is a pain in the ass to put back in after stripping.
Conclusion: I love my Tippmann. However I hate the stock barrel, I polished it and id did make a great change in accuracy, I am still going to upgrade to a CP barrel. It's well worth the cost. And I have reccomended it to a lot of my friends and one has got it and he loves his. the only mandatory upgrade is the new barrel. I like the feel better then the spyders I have used. The internals are all fine so GET THIS GUN and SHOOT PAINT!!!!!!


I dont want to give any gun a 10 because nothing is perfect; but, it is better then a 9... I'd give it a 9.8 but since I cant 10!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  276  |  277  |  278  |  279  |  280  |  281  |  282  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media