paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  278  |  279  |  280  |  281  |  282  |  283  |  284  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Sunday, August 5th, 2001
Strengths: Everything! I have a Double trigger, 12" Dye Ironman Series Boomstick, an ACI Sub-Zero 6 Stage Expansion Chamber, and my gun has outshot ALL competitors! The gun has NEVER broken down on me!!! All you do its load up your hopper, screw in the CO2 and get ready to have some serious fun!
Weaknesses: The Stock barrel is horrid, but can hit your target after about 6 or 7 shots. Contrary to Tippmann's belief, the Model 98 and the 98 Custom's barrels are NOT MICRO-HONED, POLISHED, OR EXTREMELY ACCURATE!
Conclusion: This is the BEST product I believe you can buy! Instead of WASTING $1000-$2000 on an Angel LCD or some STO Autococker, buy a Tippmann 98 Custom! Buy a Barrel, Expansion Chamber, Double Trigger, and RT Kit and you're gonna out shoot the other guy. Even though its not the gun that makes a good player, its the gun that will decide a match between equal or better opponents. The Stock 98 Custom (or Model 98) can hold its own against Cockers, Automags, and Angels, but upgraded, its the ultimate gun! Lets look at all of this: $124 for the 98 Custom. RT- $100, Barrel - $100, Expansion Chamber - $ 60, Double Trigger - $30. Grand Total - $414.
Angel LCD - $1000+!!!!! Grand Total - RIDICULOUS! RT Kit, 12" Boomstick, Expansion Kit, Double Trigger and you save $600+ and you can BEAT an ANGEL, AUTOCOCKER, AUTOMAG, INTIMIDATOR, any gun you come across, your Custom 98 WILL hold its own!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, August 1st, 2001
Strengths: -This is an excellent Marker for the price

- The first day I played with it a shot a dude in the head that was bout 50 yards away behind a tree.(stock Barrel too)

-This gun isnt the quickest to field strip, but it doesnt need it. Its built like a tank.

-It doesnt curve much if the barrel is screwed in right and the velocity is right.

-Doesn't hog CO2, I got 23 shot with a 12 gram before it ran too low

-Blends in for woodball

-Can squeegie without removing barrel
Weaknesses: -The paint job scratches easy

-A tad bit loud( I fixed this by putting double sided foam sticky tape on the rear bolt and it completely silenced the internals and makes it ALOT more slient. go to m98center.com to find more mods)

-Elbow rattles

Conclusion: This gun is excellent for the beginner. With some mods this gun can give higher priced markers a run for their money. If you want a durable gun then stay away from Spiders and get a TIpmman. Tippmann has one of the best warranties in the buisness and makes LOTS of upgrades for this marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:03 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, August 1st, 2001
Strengths: This is a very nice gun. Short and light trigger pull. Easy to upgrade. Very inexpensive. Has adjustable sights. Its very well built.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is pretty crappy (good thing Lapco got there lathe fixed). I polished it with some Mothers mag and aluminum polish. It works better but not that much.
Conclusion: Don't buy a Spyder, buy a Tippmann. Spyder brags about quick and easy field stripping, only because you need it when you own a Spyder. My Tippmann has never needed to be fixed once. So my advice to you is: buy one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, August 1st, 2001
Strengths: Boy oh boy! i love my gun! this puppy is so good... got a j&j 12'' and an expansion chamber... shoots like a dream! I took on a shocker only to get shot but ohh well i had sooooo much fun. This gun is sweet if you are a weekend player like me and will play over 10 times a year i recomend this gun strongly.
Weaknesses: ouch! a few bad spot, part where co2 screws in comes lose sometimes. what else... well i cant think of anyhting else!
Conclusion: well like i said, if you are really wanting alot of gun for not alot of money go with a tippman custom. if u are a wusy coward go with the spyder compact 2000 =)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 31st, 2001
Strengths: Great gun I took it apart right when I got home even though I didn't know anything about it. It was really easy, put it back together in five minutes. the trigger pull is really light for a tippmann. It's easy to upgrade!!!
PMI El Tigre paint works great
Weaknesses: Barrel kinda sucks!
The gun is long without a drop forward
Conclusion: It's a great gun for the money. Durable!! Great for beginners and advanced. A lot better than spyders.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 30th, 2001
Strengths: -accurate up to 100ft(with a custom parts 14")
-durable
-tons of aftermarket parts
-easy to cock and shoot
Weaknesses: with my new custom parts barrel, it quieted the guns noise a little, but when i made a "barrel extension" on it but that just made it louder. this gun is just plane loud.
Conclusion: dont buy this gun in stores, it is cheaper on line. it is a very good gun, for beginers and intermidiate players. it has much better accuracy than any spyder my friends have. you should deffinatly get this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, July 29th, 2001
Strengths: I'm no expert on paintball, all I know is that it works much better then my old gun, which was an F2-Illustrator.
I've shot around 1200 balls through it and as far as I can tell, no ball breaks. There have been afew double shots though, but nothing major.
Pretty quiet, not as loud as the F2. Accurate but then again I got a new barrel, PMI Action Pursuit, around 14 inches I think.
Weaknesses: The accuracy was awful when I used it on a cold rainy day, even with the technologies it says it has for handling situations like that..
Never used my Stock Barrel in a game, heard it isn't the best.
Conclusion: Here's the story.
When I first started playing paintball, back in late May, I bougt a F2 Illustrator. I'd play and it was fun, I'd get around 1-4 kills a game but I would always have tons of problems with the gun. Ball breakings, double firing, accuracy problems. (we play with around 10-20 people, 5-10 per side)

Then I got a Custom 98, first day I played with it I got around 10 or 11 kills. Second time I played I got around 5, and my gun was not liking the rain and cold much. And when I played today, with less people then usual I got around 8-9 kills, I was on pace to beat my old record if I had played longer and more offensively. My accuracy improved from either the gun or pratice, all I know is that I'm happy. More kills, and I use much less paint then before. From around 400-500, to 200-400. We play in the forest, the gun is rugged, I've droped it down hills and nothing happend to it.

Compare to my F2, its much better.
I recommend this gun, if your are willing to buy a new barrel.

I personally think it could be cheaper, but its not that bad of a price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ctyblu Sunday, July 29th, 2001
Strengths: This is a really great marker. For me the good things are its reliability, consistancy and sturdiness. You can take the 98 for a serious ride and it just keeps going like the energizer bunny.
With a good barrel it shoots accurately. ( I use a Teardrop...see the review for this)
Easy to maintain.
Feels good in the hand.
Plenty of upgrades
Does not chop balls
A good manufacturer that will do anything within reason to help the customer.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel must go immediately. It is good for close range but the accuracy goes down after 20ft or more.

The ball feeder does shake a little but you can go to M98center to get a fix.

I am a lefty so the ball feeder gets in the way.
Conclusion: I determined that this was the marker for me after using many times it on the field as a rental. Some of the rental guns looked like someone tied them to a truck and dragged them at 50MPH. They would never let me down. While the guys with the AutoCocker and Shutter were tinkering with their guns we would mow them down. I am not saying that those markers are bad but it depends on what you want when you play.
If you want to hose down players with extreme amounts of paint playing speed ball all the time, then a Cocker is the weapon.
If you want a simple gun that will not let you down then the 98 is first choice.

In my opinion, if you add the RT trigger with a Nitro system you can give the guys with the electric guns a run for there money.

The marker performed above expectations in the cold weather and the extreme hot and humid conditions that is the norm in South Louisiana.


If you need a great gun that will last a lifetime the 98 will not disappoint you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Plonk3r Sunday, July 29th, 2001
Strengths: Just about everything!
-Comfortable grip on both grips!
-Trigger pull is soft. Almost feels like you didn't pull it which is good for sniping.
-shoots straight when velocity is turned down a little with stock barrel.
-light (to me)
-small (to me)
-DURABLE! Like the AK-47 of paintball guns! WILL NOT BREAK ON YOU!
-compact, But then again I like the one cylender markers
-blends in with woods making it an excellent sniper rifle.
-Able to be customized easily
-NO CONNECTING PINS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (for raptor users you know what im talking about.)
-Doesen't sound like your breaking the damn thing when you fire it. (That pinging sound.)
-Sounds manly (a pop instead of a piiiiiing!)
-Front grip makes stablizing it easier.
-Sturdy feel of gun will not make you scared when you run with it and bump it.
-I like the velocity screw on the side of the gun.
-balls WILL NOT chop in this thing!!!
What can I say? Its an awesome gun!!!
Weaknesses: -elbow rattles a little but you wont tell when you have paintballs in it
-I dont like the lettering on the side of it but I guess its ok because when people see that Tippmann custom 98 label on it they will fear you!
-Stock barrel not the best in the world.(But when is it ever good?)
-I guess its kinda loud but I never snipe so i dont care.

Conclusion: Tippmann has won my respect. Only a genius could make such a beutiful piece of work like the Custom 98. They are the best and I hope they make more guns in the future and CRUSH Brass Eagle! (My last gun was a Raptor. Never have I've seen such a P.O.S in my life! You complain about the C98 bieng loud and heavy but you never picked up this monstrosity of a PB gun before.)

LONG LIVE TIPPMANN!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, July 28th, 2001
Strengths: low breakage:With a 16 inch razzor barrel ive only had two ball breaks..PMI.
accurate:Ive hit targets at 150 yards+
tough as nails:droped it in sand and kept on shooting then fell on it (im a big guy 260lbs) and it just kept on blazen away.
Weaknesses: If your a little fella this gun is not for you.

With a 3-pos retractable ar-15 style stock and 16 inch barrel the gun is huge and heavy.
Conclusion: This gun is the best out there no doubts in my mind I love it.
It may take a few dollars to get it how you like it but you can do anything to this gun almost as far as "customizing" it goes.

Get it,it owns all!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  278  |  279  |  280  |  281  |  282  |  283  |  284  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media